Locomotiv Leipzig 1976

Radio Ga Ga

I was born the day of the first leg. 15th September 1976. I’m obviously just a bairn compared to some of the posters on this thread 🥴

...as an aside tho, it’s interesting that in this thread which is populated by predominantly aulder heids, there’s no bitching or moaning about anything and everything Heart of Midlothian. Makes for a nice read. 👍🏼

• Replies 101

• martoon

• Tommy Brown

• Mr Sifter

15 minutes ago, farin said:

Wee blast from the past for you Morgan 😊

1BB9C78C-2C31-4232-ADA5-13B43C5B9577.thumb.jpeg.3de0dd16f291f75c4dd2b30464e5c1e8.jpeg

Would love to get an A4 print of that away programme Farin. Alas, I wouldn’t even know where to start 😕

19 minutes ago, farin said:

Wee blast from the past for you Morgan 😊

1BB9C78C-2C31-4232-ADA5-13B43C5B9577.thumb.jpeg.3de0dd16f291f75c4dd2b30464e5c1e8.jpeg

As usual, your collection never fails to impress me, Farin.  :clap:

7 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said:

I was born the day of the first leg. 15th September 1976. I’m obviously just a bairn compared to some of the posters on this thread 🥴

...as an aside tho, it’s interesting that in this thread which is populated by predominantly aulder heids, there’s no bitching or moaning about anything and everything Heart of Midlothian. Makes for a nice read. 👍🏼

You make a good and valid point, Mr S.  :thumbsup:

10 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said:

Would love to get an A4 print of that away programme Farin. Alas, I wouldn’t even know where to start 😕

There is footage of the 2nd round away leg in Hamburg, Mr S. You've probably seen it but, apart from the 1970's defending, we gave a good account of ourselves. 

They picked us off with ease in the 2nd leg at Tynecastle. 

I'll let the age thing slide. Cheeky bugger. 😉

Edit: I replied to the right poster but the wrong post. 

Edited by martoon

1 hour ago, farin said:

Print this image off & try it.  Just got myself a new wi-fi printer/scanner, it’s not set up though.. 

F3F6A2F3-209E-4B7F-BA44-B211236AED60.thumb.jpeg.81f1db56a15c265a74113d1273ff0088.jpeg

Cheers Farin, I’m not too tech savvy but I’ll give this a try and see how I get on 👍🏼

1 hour ago, martoon said:

There is footage of the 2nd round away leg in Hamburg, Mr S. You've probably seen it but, apart from the 1970's defending, we gave a good account of ourselves. 

They picked us off with ease in the 2nd leg at Tynecastle. 

I'll let the age thing slide. Cheeky bugger. 😉

Edit: I replied to the right poster but the wrong post. 

Sorry about the wee age dig mate. Bairns will be bairns eh? 😉

The footage of the away leg was held by then LWT London Weekend Television and was shown on their Saturdsy lunchtime show On The Ball which was in direct competition to the BBCs Footballl Focus. That's the Hamburg away leg.

Fantastic game in an era that was grim for most fans . Funnily enough gave us a bit of hope of what might be possible.  

I'm sure a hardy bunch travelled behind the iron curtain for the first leg .( Theres a few loyalty points surely) Massive Steam Engine on the terrace iirc. .

52 minutes ago, dannymack said:

Absolutely PATHETIC defending FFS talk about giving yourself a hard time never mind the opposition ! 

Shocking isn't it? :lol:

3 hours ago, Mr Sifter said:

Sorry about the wee age dig mate. Bairns will be bairns eh? 😉

I'm actually only 8 years older than you. I was just a bairn myself in 1976.

Edited by martoon

Jingle Bells
49 minutes ago, hibsarepants said:

Who was the goalie again ?  Garland ?

Think it was Brian Wilson.

Hearts Heritage

What wasn't widely reported was that Leipzig missed a penalty in the away leg with 8 minutes to go that would have made it 3-0 rather than 2-0.

My mates and I had none of this running on the park malarkey at the end of the game. We took off down McLeod St. heading towards the Rosie where we got three double rounds of pints and whisky (closing time was 10pm in those days) then catch the bus to Broxburn in time to see the highlights with Alan Weeks. I think he was co-opted into the commentary as there were more European  ties than the BBC had footie commentators. A Thoroughly Grand Evening........ 

9 hours ago, dannymack said:

Busby and Park the scorers. What a fine header of a football Drew Busby was.

34 minutes ago, farin said:

Seeing as I have them out here’s another 2. 👍🏻

EC74A8BD-A0C3-4538-B0F2-640037AD7A78.thumb.jpeg.0f62fa265d5a939d80ccc7f99d21afbf.jpeg

You’re nothing but a big show-off!

:wink:  :thumbsup:

I posted of this game to celebrate my 1000 JKB post.

great night that lives with us auldies for all time.

Things I didnt know or not recall:- 

was the missed penalty to make the away leg 3-0. (never knew that)

Jimmy Cant still with us at the time. (dont remember)

First invaded the park when we won the Reserve league Cup, then this glorious nighr.

had to wat a few years before the winning Div 1 with a last gasp Frankie Liddell header.

On 05/08/2019 at 23:29, Stupidheid said:

Fantastic night, although don't think we were doing very well in the league at the time. 

I remember feeling deflated when after we had scored twice to draw level on aggregate they scored to make it 2-1  - as that meant we needed to score another two to go through.   

...and I remember  Busby's delicate cross for #5 😬

..............just about took Willie's heid off.

On 06/08/2019 at 11:59, TorinoJambo said:

My favourite European game. It pished down all day and we played a high tempo game. By the way, Loco were a TOP side, nabbing the best East German talent every year (Dukla Praha did the same in Czechoslovakia and Steauea Bucharest in Romania-one of the perks of the establishment in communist countries at the time). 

Must be 5hite if you were having to watch a league where that happened all the time

:kirklol:

3 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

I posted of this game to celebrate my 1000 JKB post.

great night that lives with us auldies for all time.

Things I didnt know or not recall:- 

was the missed penalty to make the away leg 3-0. (never knew that)

Jimmy Cant still with us at the time. (dont remember)

First invaded the park when we won the Reserve league Cup, then this glorious nighr.

had to wat a few years before the winning Div 1 with a last gasp Frankie Liddell header.

Would that be 1973, Tommy? 

I read, online, some pages from the New Year day match programme that year (apologies) and noticed we were due to play Aberdeen reserves on the 2nd of Jan at Tynecastle in the semi final. 

I've wondered since how many brave souls showed up and what the atmosphere must have been like. 

I was only 4 ¹/² at the time so have no memory of that awful day or, obviously, the Reserve Cup win. 

40 minutes ago, martoon said:

Would that be 1973, Tommy? 

I read, online, some pages from the New Year day match programme that year (apologies) and noticed we were due to play Aberdeen reserves on the 2nd of Jan at Tynecastle in the semi final. 

I've wondered since how many brave souls showed up and what the atmosphere must have been like. 

I was only 4 ¹/² at the time so have no memory of that awful day or, obviously, the Reserve Cup win. 

around that time, aye

We beat Dundee Utd 3-0, think we won the first leg at Tannadice too. (3-1??)

About 4.5k crammed into the old stand and enclosures. Place was rocking.

Pitch ivasion, the lot

:lot:

On 08/08/2019 at 02:08, martoon said:

I'm actually only 8 years older than you. I was just a bairn myself in 1976.

So you’re 51/52 then? Christ, yer still a young pup yersel martoon!! 

28 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said:

Just turned 51, bud.

My daughter's 15, our address is 5/1, so everything is very 2012 Cup final at the mo. :lol:

50 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

around that time, aye

We beat Dundee Utd 3-0, think we won the first leg at Tannadice too. (3-1??)

About 4.5k crammed into the old stand and enclosures. Place was rocking.

Pitch ivasion, the lot

:lot:

Sounds a bit like the 1989 Reserve Cup win. 3-1 v. Dundee Utd at Tynecastle and 5k+ in the old main. 

No pitch invasion though. :)

The Leipzig game at Tynie is probably the best game at home in terms of enjoyment. 

The old days of fag smoke swirling out from the shed. 

I was in the Navaar beforehand. 

1 minute ago, jambovambo said:

The Leipzig game at Tynie is probably the best game at home in terms of enjoyment. 

The old days of fag smoke swirling out from the shed. 

I was in the Navaar beforehand. 

The Nirvana Hotel?

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

The Nirvana Hotel?

Thought it was the Navaar House Hotel ...?

Maybe it was the Nirvana ...

17 minutes ago, martoon said:

Just turned 51, bud.

My daughter's 15, our address is 5/1, so everything is very 2012 Cup final at the mo. :lol:

57 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said:

Young pups run free.

2 minutes ago, jambovambo said:

Thought it was the Navaar House Hotel ...?

Maybe it was the Nirvana ...

If the Navaar House Hotel was in Penicuik, then I apologise, you are correct. :thumbsup:

I assumed you meant the Nirvana.

Duh. 

You’re right ...

There is also a Navaar House Hotel in Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh ...

But yup the Nirvana ... now the Ardmillan Hotel cos I just looked st a map. 

2 minutes ago, jambovambo said:

Duh. 

You’re right ...

There is also a Navaar House Hotel in Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh ...

But yup the Nirvana ... now the Ardmillan Hotel cos I just looked st a map. 

We used to go to the Nirvana after every home game, then up to the Diggers.

Didnt know it was now called the Ardmillan Hotel though.

Cheers :cheers:

1 hour ago, The White Cockade said:

Brian Wilson was a comedy goalkeeper

A lot worse than our current duo

Yes. A free transfer from Arbroath.

Yet he was in our team in place of Jim Cruickshank, albeit towards the end of his career.

2 hours ago, Morgan said:

We used to go to the Nirvana after every home game, then up to the Diggers.

Didnt know it was now called the Ardmillan Hotel though.

Cheers :cheers:

Drank in the Nirvana from the late '80's on, Morg. I remember it changing to the Ardmillan Hotel but not when (mid '90's?). Too pissed for it to register, no doubt.

Angie the barmaid and a bearded glass collector from Balerno are the only staff I recall. Both Hibs, but decent enough; for scuttlers. 

Not been in there since around 2006. My mate was banned and now, at 51, I'm a mature, responsible parent/uncle who attends with the next generation.

:jambobanana:

Edited by martoon

11 hours ago, Busby8 said:

Must be 5hite if you were having to watch a league where that happened all the time

:kirklol:

Must have been. Dukla and Steauea were Army, so any good player in another team - they just called them up and hey presto! Loco were what it says on the tin. Same thing though, good job on the railways - hey presto in the team. These teams won everything every year but we're hated by most fans and when communism ended they fell away.

Edited by TorinoJambo

2 hours ago, TorinoJambo said:

Must have been. Dukla and Steauea were Army, so any good player in another team - they just called them up and hey presto! Loco were what it says on the tin. Same thing though, good job on the railways - hey presto in the team. These teams won everything every year but we're hated by most fans and when communism ended they fell away.

Awwww mate, thanks for the input but my reply had really been a very poor attempt at irony.

Cruickshank was the goalie that night I think.  I only remember Brian Wilson playing once and it was a nightmare 😱 performance in a 4-3 defeat at home to Celtic. 

On 06/08/2019 at 13:12, The White Cockade said:

best game ever

was in the old enclosure

great performance considering how poor we were in the late 70's

I was in the enclosure too. Remember Jim Brown's goal and thought it was a cross. 😂

Edited by Roxy Hearts

4 hours ago, jambovambo said:

Point you’re making is ,.,Brian Wilson was in goals for the home leg v Leipzig... not Cruikie 

Eh?

I was replying to poster who thought Wilson only played against Celtic. I stated that he played on both Hamburg games. 

Cruicky played both Leipzig games from memory.

1 hour ago, Stupidheid said:

😱😱  I must have blanked out his other 16 appearances  - unfortunately his performance against Celtic mentally scarred me and has stuck in my mind. 

This 13 yo sitting on a barrier high in the school end, can still vividly see him fumble an easy header for Lennox to pull it back to 3-2.

edit

Must admit to being stunned to see had played so many, too.

In tose days ther were very thin green glooves, he taped them on around his wrists.

I had a pair of them and when dry the ball slipped out, but when wet they stuck to the ball.

Nothing like the ones of today.

:lol: just thought of Sepp Maher's glooves in the '74 WC, they were huge.

Edited by Tommy Brown