1970s supporters - quick question.

19 minutes ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

F172867E-D869-4AA0-96DD-D59402A6FB4A.jpeg

Shite!!, I'm hopeless, who the hell is that?

Carruthers walking down on left is all I think I can get.

• Replies 151

• Maroon Sailor

• Tommy Brown

• queensferryjambo

1 hour ago, Tommy Brown said:

Not Cammy, he is a bit younger than these. Clunie next to JJ.

It is annoying me who he is?

Someone, please.

Could he be Lawrence Tierney??

Radio Ga Ga
12 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Shite!!, I'm hopeless, who the hell is that?

Carruthers walking down on left is all I think I can get.

Roald Jensen 

2 minutes ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

Roald Jensen 

Kniksen it is

1 hour ago, farin said:

You'll remember these faces Morgan. 

B3D8C31C-843E-4458-9B86-D52ACE6EE04A.jpeg.c545bc55aa38c77b1028fd5c5834d74d.jpeg

E73CDCF7-F83E-4147-9A32-1093B160D830.jpeg

4EEC1D75-B64D-4D45-83DB-61E58525668E.jpeg

F804C738-F1FB-4800-AED6-7346C33B492C.jpeg

Cumming as usual fitter than the first team - what age would he have been then - 50?

3 hours ago, Morgan said:

I too think it’s Carruthers kicking.

In the picture of six, I reckon the second in from the right is Paul Rodger?

Paul Rodgers?, did we get him on a "free"...😂🇱🇻

3 hours ago, farin said:

Only 36 then. 

Doh!

looked at the thread title not the caption!

Loved watching us in black & white at Tynecastle in those days.😁

Seriously, the answer to the question is, the stripes are maroon, wanted one of those strips so bad at the. Time.

10 hours ago, queensferryjambo said:

One of these shirts? These are pinky and very odd :)

27654355_825169597655405_387195556467731829_n.jpg

9 hours ago, Wilson said:

Don't think that is Dave Clunie-he'd be first team then-looks more like Drew Young. ( This is taken from a colour brochure the club put out -it's in my loft!)

Definitely Drew Young

made his debut against Airdrie in 1970, QF of the Texaco Cup and scored in a 5-0 win

played regularly for the rest of the season, was a sub in the final against Wolves.

However he was surprisingly freed that summer.

subsequently signed for Airdrie, then Hamilton Accies where he was still regularly playing till the early 1980s

TorinoJambo
8 hours ago, millerjames398 said:

I would say it's Billy Menmuir third from right.

Edited by TorinoJambo
Wrong player

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope
12 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

Interesting kick off time, most likely an international at Murray field.

There used to be a flood of rugby fans would enter when the gates would be opened with about 20 minutes remaining. No floodlights at Murray field back then.

I mind one home game against Aberdeen, when it looked like a load of their supporters turned up in the second half.  It was Welsh supporters coming in after beating Scotland at Murrayfield, of course.

Ballitojambo

Edinburgh used to get invaded when the welsh came up, thousands of them, one year the Hearts game was called off late ( perhaps away to Aberdeen ? ) we were

already in the haymarket bar ( used to pick up the Tollcross bus there) and ended up staying to watch the rugby with dozens of welsh boys who came up without

tickets, fantastic bunch, great afternoon just about every one of them tried to swap scarves with us, of course there was no way we were going to give up a beautiful

maroon and white scarf for a red and white rag but a great day, would have been late seventies early eighties.

3 hours ago, TorinoJambo said:

Sorry mate, it was a wee joke, paul Rodgers was the lead singer of 70s rock band free, i thought mr morgan would have picked up on it😂

12 hours ago, millerjames398 said:

Yeah he was rubbish but I heard he is 'all right now'.............

I'll get my coat.........

4 hours ago, TorinoJambo said:

Billy Menmuir is not in that photo.

This is him.

67EB06C4-616A-4552-862C-29154F498D9E.jpeg

20 minutes ago, millerjames398 said:

Sorry mate, it was a wee joke, paul Rodgers was the lead singer of 70s rock band free, i thought mr morgan would have picked up on it😂

Sorry I let you down, MJ!

Bit slow last night. If you know what I mean!  :) 

:cheers:

4 hours ago, Morgan said:

Sorry I let you down, MJ!

Bit slow last night. If you know what I mean!  :) 

:cheers:

No worries mate👍🏼, as long as you had a good one😉😂

4 hours ago, queensferryjambo said:

Yeah he was rubbish but I heard he is 'all right now'.............

I'll get my coat.........

👏🏼👏🏼 thats what im talkin about 😂

5 minutes ago, millerjames398 said:

No worries mate👍🏼, as long as you had a good one😉😂

Certainly did!

Not so hot today mind.  :lol: 

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Certainly did!

Not so hot today mind.  :lol: 

The weather,  or your good self?😂🇱🇻

34 minutes ago, millerjames398 said:

The weather,  or your good self?😂🇱🇻

To be honest with you, both!

But mainly me.

:sadrobbo:

iwasthere1954
23 hours ago, queensferryjambo said:

Found another black and white one vs Stirling Albion the cup apparently - worthy of posting anyway :)

26cf5f9a9c98e2e0d5e7c3f88e2aeeb7.jpg

iwasthere1954
2 minutes ago, iwasthere1954 said:

What a fantastic photograph. Seeing the Gorgie Road end brings back so many great memories

22 hours ago, jambokev said:

This was my first game, maroon and white stripes....3 nil win 14th February 1976...... I was 14 !

Did you get a lift up off Davie Anderson or get the bus? 

48 minutes ago, Morgan said:

To be honest with you, both!

But mainly me.

:sadrobbo:

😂 its always the last time, till the next mate👍🏼

22 hours ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

Can’t make up my mind when this dates? Definitely v Berwick Rangers

A11B1D33-2D45-4B67-A827-71986309E67E.jpeg

25 August 1979-80 Berwick 1 Hearts 3, O'Connor hat trick.  Colin More, Pat McShane (I think), Laurence Tierney, Frank Liddell and Thomson Allan.

Radio Ga Ga
12 minutes ago, henryheart said:

25 August 1979-80 Berwick 1 Hearts 3, O'Connor hat trick.  Colin More, Pat McShane (I think), Laurence Tierney, Frank Liddell and Thomson Allan.

Thanks for confirming 👍

12 hours ago, brawlad74 said:

Did you get a lift up off Davie Anderson or get the bus? 

Eastern Scottish bus in those days mate .....about eight of us on that day !.

Big day oot for the Gala boys ! 

Edited by jambokev

10 hours ago, jambokev said:

Eastern Scottish bus in those days mate .....about eight of us on that day !.

Big day oot for the Gala boys ! 

Aye Kev, was good days going up by bus, youse are spoilt now with the train..All the best to you and Border Hearts for this season, cheers 

TorinoJambo
On 18 July 2019 at 13:57, Morgan said:

Billy Menmuir is not in that photo.

This is him.

67EB06C4-616A-4552-862C-29154F498D9E.jpeg

So it is. Cheers.

TorinoJambo
On 18 July 2019 at 13:37, millerjames398 said:

I loved Free and Paul Rogers of course but I thought you were meaning Jim Rodger, who did play for us around then. Memories play tricks at our age!!!

Edited by TorinoJambo

55 minutes ago, TorinoJambo said:

I loved Free and Paul Rogers of course but I thought you were meaning Jim Rodger, who did play for us around then. Memories play tricks at our age!!!

No worries mate👍🏼 im 40 and think ive already got the early stages of dementia sometimes😂🇱🇻

Cambo_Jambo
On 17/07/2019 at 20:11, queensferryjambo said:

Will have a wee search of the cards as well. Good shout. Thanks for that

Worth while getting in touch with @scotsfootycards on Twitter pal. He's got everything ever made I think.

Was on A View From The Terrace with that Hibs weirdo Fowler.

1 hour ago, brawlad74 said:

Aye Kev, was good days going up by bus, youse are spoilt now with the train..All the best to you and Border Hearts for this season, cheers 

Cheers mate,Supporters Bus is still the best way for us to get to games although some go up by train and make a day of it !

All the best to you as well.

On 17/07/2019 at 23:05, busbyblitz said:

Thought Don Murray signed from Newport County. Once again i could maybe be wrong

Yeah...I'm also thinking it was Newport.

avhudtheteeshirt
On 17/07/2019 at 20:30, queensferryjambo said:

Apologies I found this picture of a programme cover so looks like it was season 1975/76 not 76/77.

1975 76.jpg

Great photo, I'm standing at the pillar on the right in the enclosure, was my preferred place at Tynie for years.

We could do with a "buzz bomb" right now, just not sure how long he would last on the field these days????

8 hours ago, Deek said:

Is it Moilneaux?

Yes, it was Molineux - Cruicky wore all black in that game because his typical yellow  top clashed with the Wolves old gold strip. 

So, Andy the Photo Doctor on Twitter done this, absolutely fantastic, gives a clearer picture on how the kit looked. 

Brilliant job, Brilliant kit. 

If anyone wants their old family photos doctored or colourised then Andy is your man.

Take a look at Andy The Photo Dr 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 (@andythephotoDr): https://twitter.com/andythephotoDr?s=09

PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS AND STICK IT ON EBAY, there's enough folk ripping Hearts fans off with copied material and over priced pre season programmes and teamsheets. 

IMG_20190722_000215.jpg

IMG_20190722_000220.jpg

36 minutes ago, dannymack said:

IMG_20190722_000220.jpg

That is just fantastic.

Thanks for getting this done.