Scottish clubs in Europe 19/20

Inch Hearts
4 minutes ago, Tynieman said:

Spot on. It's tedious these people with clear anti-Levein/Budge agendas. Don't know how lucky we are. 

Lemming. 

• Replies 1.1k

• Lovecraft

• Boab

Inch Hearts
2 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

4-2

Danish goalie is honking

Its a good team they are pumping though.  Rangers look extremely dangerous playing with pace and skill. 

4 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

Its a good team they are pumping though.  Rangers look extremely dangerous playing with pace and skill. 

Yeah.  The Danes have good players.  Lots of Brazilians.

Just seen Aberdeen bringing on Dean Campbell, away in a European tie. Thats whst happens when you have a manager who believes in your ability. We have Cochrane\McDonald who will probably be put out on loan as we have bought a raft of players in their positions. Those 2 boys should have been playing 25+ games in the 1st team this season and not 10 mins here and there. 

Shows the management have no faith in the boys.  Look at Motherwell last year, did it with Hastie and Turnbull and stuck with them, Aberdeen again with Ferguson. All young players who have been given a run of games and paid back their managers in spades.

We keep going on about our academy and its players, why not keep the money we waste and give these boys a chance, we know they can play, and with a run they would get so much better.is it a good move bringing in a 35yr old for a season or putting in an 18\19yr old, why bring players back when you have talent in your squad already.

Time to show a bit of faith and start putting these boys thst excite you so much onto the pitch.

Cruyff Turn
6 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

Yeah.  The Danes have good players.  Lots of Brazilians.

No chance they’ll be going through a hairy patch any time soon then? 😉

3 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

Ventspils, that name usually catches my attention.

Aberdeen 2-0 down now. 

Skacelesque 2nd goal 

Cruyff Turn
4 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

Ventspils, that name usually catches my attention.

Aberdeen 2-0 down now. 

Sounds like a plumbing term, Ventspils 🤷‍♂️

Just now, 1971fozzy said:

Sheep will do well to go through now. 

Outplayed tonight. Really predictable 

Haringshairband
7 minutes ago, Naisysback said:

Just seen Aberdeen bringing on Dean Campbell, away in a European tie. Thats whst happens when you have a manager who believes in your ability.

You could have just stopped here. Do we have to bash Levein on every thread?

Did anyone just see that Rangers advert at the end of the match there.

#everyoneanyone

**** off

12 minutes ago, Naisysback said:

Just seen Aberdeen bringing on Dean Campbell, away in a European tie. Thats whst happens when you have a manager who believes in your ability. We have Cochrane\McDonald who will probably be put out on loan as we have bought a raft of players in their positions. Those 2 boys should have been playing 25+ games in the 1st team this season and not 10 mins here and there. 

Shows the management have no faith in the boys.  Look at Motherwell last year, did it with Hastie and Turnbull and stuck with them, Aberdeen again with Ferguson. All young players who have been given a run of games and paid back their managers in spades.

We keep going on about our academy and its players, why not keep the money we waste and give these boys a chance, we know they can play, and with a run they would get so much better.is it a good move bringing in a 35yr old for a season or putting in an 18\19yr old, why bring players back when you have talent in your squad already.

Time to show a bit of faith and start putting these boys thst excite you so much onto the pitch.

Er, we started a 16 year old in a cup final and another in a game against Celtic we won 4-0. At 17 Hickey has started the season our first choice LB. In the last couple of seasons before their injuries players like Cochrane and Morrison have racked up 30 games or so. We've given more game time to teenagers than any other team, with several establishing themselves in the squad.

5 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Er, we started a 16 year old in a cup final and another in a game against Celtic we won 4-0. At 17 Hickey has started the season our first choice LB. In the last couple of seasons before their injuries players like Cochrane and Morrison have racked up 30 games or so. We've given more game time to teenagers than any other team, with several establishing themselves in the squad.

Absolutely correct. Mcinnes might have been well advised not to bring on Campbell. 

Poorly planned post really 

1 minute ago, Mikey1874 said:

"McInnes has never made it past the 3rd qualifying round of the Europa League with Aberdeen" 

Tactically inept against developed nations 

Start every game with Cochrane and Mcdonald and we will have an even worse season than last. 

Seriously what is wrong with folk? 

8 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

"McInnes has never made it past the 3rd qualifying round of the Europa League with Aberdeen" 

A string of embarrassing exits to teams from much worse leagues than ours.

Inch Hearts
28 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Is the Croatian league worse then the Scottish?  English Premiership extra time last season.  It’s hardly Malta territory is it? 

1 hour ago, ToqueJambo said:

Woah there buddy!  Kindly stop polluting this forum with facts, it upsets some of the regulars, don't you know?

Croatia are higher in the nation coefficient so that’s a no !

1 hour ago, Zlatanable said:

Keeper looks gobsmacked to turn round and see that ball is in the net ...he nearly falls over in shock 😂

Coburg Hearts
2 minutes ago, Boab said:

He was possibly not referring to tonight?

NaturalOrder74

Sheep are just not good enough to represent us in Europe need to establish ourselves back into that Europe spot to give our country a chance stop giving it to diddy teams like Aberdeen killie etc 

25 minutes ago, Boab said:

Partly because Aberdeen are so bad in Europe! I'm pretty sure we have better overall quality in our league, same with the Greek, Turkish, Belarus, Serbian and Cypriot leagues that are also above us.

Hickey there only because Garruccio and Whyte injured. Cochrane played most of his games 2 seasons ago, last season he struggled to get a game. Mcdonald the same. Why bring in players who cant get a game anywhere else when you have your own.

How do u get better, prove you can handle it if you dont get games. You highlight the games they have played, do you think they have kicked on, cemented a place, become important players....no. as soon as 1st season was over  17 players were brought in. This time it will be 6\7...forcing the young ones further away from the squad.

I dont know if u have seen the reserve league but it is dire, and that will not benefit the best young players in the country. This year Irving has started in cm but we are linked with 2 to come in, they will go straight in so will Haring when fit so that means no space for academy players.

We like to highlight what we do, but we need to keep going with it, then we will have a Tierney, McGregor in our team. Give them games  they are good enough....

1 hour ago, Inch Hearts said:

Is the Croatian league worse then the Scottish?  English Premiership extra time last season.  It’s hardly Malta territory is it? 

I would say so by several measures, historical and current. Aside from Dynamo Zagreb who do they have? And even Celtic are better than them in UEFA's standings. I'd fancy our top 6 vs theirs any day. Not Aberdeen though,. They're rubbish in Europe.

4 minutes ago, Naisysback said:

Hickey there only because Garruccio and Whyte injured. Cochrane played most of his games 2 seasons ago, last season he struggled to get a game. Mcdonald the same. Why bring in players who cant get a game anywhere else when you have your own.

How do u get better, prove you can handle it if you dont get games. You highlight the games they have played, do you think they have kicked on, cemented a place, become important players....no. as soon as 1st season was over  17 players were brought in. This time it will be 6\7...forcing the young ones further away from the squad.

I dont know if u have seen the reserve league but it is dire, and that will not benefit the best young players in the country. This year Irving has started in cm but we are linked with 2 to come in, they will go straight in so will Haring when fit so that means no space for academy players.

We like to highlight what we do, but we need to keep going with it, then we will have a Tierney, McGregor in our team. Give them games  they are good enough....

I'm not sure what you're saying. Our record with youngsters is excellent. 

Inch Hearts
8 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

I would say so by several measures, historical and current. Aside from Dynamo Zagreb who do they have? And even Celtic are better than them in UEFA's standings. I'd fancy our top 6 vs theirs any day. Not Aberdeen though,. They're rubbish in Europe.

They are higher up the European rankings than Scotland for a reason and it’s not Aberdeen’s fault.  They might be shite but they always qualify for Europe. 

6 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

I'd have to say  by any measures they are better than us, apart from supplying players to world's best teams, like Real Madrid, Barcelona, Inter, Milan. Juventus, Liverpool, Chelsea etc, the World Cup finalists still have good sides, Rijeka just beat the team that beat us at the weekend, Hadjuk Split not bad. You still fancy Hibs an d us to beat them?

tokyowalnut
30 minutes ago, Naisysback said:

But they're not good enough. Cochrane is far from a first choice midfielder. Are you suggesting we don't bring in higher quality players and just throw young players in until they come good? We are such an unforgiving support, only have to look at Morrison last year. 

Hickey got in because he is developing well, if he wasn't, a senior player would've been played at left back in the final.

Anyway, off topic. 

Glad Rangers won, the more games they have to play the better. Aberdeen have a chance at home.

Edited by tokyowalnut

42 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Partly because Aberdeen are so bad in Europe! I'm pretty sure we have better overall quality in our league, same with the Greek, Turkish, Belarus, Serbian and Cypriot leagues that are also above us.

Aye, we’ve got a better record in Europe than Aberdeen right enough!  And us getting beaten by part time Maltese teams really helps our coefficient.

39 minutes ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

Aye, we’ve got a better record in Europe than Aberdeen right enough!  And us getting beaten by part time Maltese teams really helps our coefficient.

Quite.

Some people talk some pish. 

I don't think Hearts would do any worse than the sheep.

To me, though I don't see much of them, when I do they appear to be little more than long ball hatchet men who if they can't keep you out of it physically are at a loss for further options.

They're no footballing side and perhaps a bit of actual football is what's required to get to those lucrative group stages. I would prefer almost anybody among the expected contenders to take that spot ahead of the sheep.

They might not do much better as Killie embarrassingly demonstrated but I doubt most of those we expect to have a chance of a Euro spot could do much worse. 

3 hours ago, Inch Hearts said:

They are higher up the European rankings than Scotland for a reason and it’s not Aberdeen’s fault.  They might be shite but they always qualify for Europe. 

They have to take some of the fault. The OF winning the last two seasons has boosted our co efficiency to within 0.375 of a point to Croatia and Aberdeen are solely at fault for not closing that gap further.  

Aberdeen bring on some kid and folk use it to bash levein. Quality stuff. As if Aberdeen haven't brought in bryson, Ojo and Gallagher to play in midfield ahead of their teenagers. 

kirkierobroy

Poor show from Aberdeen - usual bottling from the last Scottish club in Europe.

Thought Danish football was better than that - losing 4-2 at home to Sevco?

Inch Hearts
10 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

They have to take some of the fault. The OF winning the last two seasons has boosted our co efficiency to within 0.375 of a point to Croatia and Aberdeen are solely at fault for not closing that gap further.  

What about Killie and Hibs in recent seasons?  The last two seasons Aberdeen went out against Burnley now a decent Croatian mob.  It’s losing to even shitter league that’s made it worse.  Aberdeen get part of the blame but not mainly down to them. Maltese and Luxembourg sides have turned Scottish teams over recently too. 

Celtic failed to reach the champions league which didn’t help, neither did Hibs against Molde or Rangers against that Progres side. Killie losing to the welsh side is a far worse disaster. 

Edited by Inch Hearts

18 hours ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

Excuse me for not joining the Aberdeen love-in. They've had multiple chances in the Europa League and have failed miserably.

Radio were saying last night that next week’s 2nd leg will be McInnes’s 30th European game as Aberdeen Manager in 5 seasons. 

We’ve played 68 European matches in our entire history. Not so sure it’s been Aberdeen that are to blame for our poor coefficient ranking. 

12 minutes ago, Anderson5 said:

Radio were saying last night that next week’s 2nd leg will be McInnes’s 30th European game as Aberdeen Manager in 5 seasons. 

We’ve played 68 European matches in our entire history. Not so sure it’s been Aberdeen that are to blame for our poor coefficient ranking. 

30 matches v 68 ties surely ????

21 minutes ago, Anderson5 said:

Best is getting to 3rd qualifying round 

Reading some of the stuff on here I wonder what folk have been watching for the last 3 or 4 years :cornette:

The closest thing to a 2 legged affair was over 180 minutes trying to dispose of Partick Thistle in a domestic cup tie :lol:

1 minute ago, Boab said:

You’ve missed oot the Fairs Cup.

We’ve played 80 games.

UEFA don’t recognise the Fairs Cup as a competition. I presume because qualification was by invite only and all matches were seen as pre season friendlies. 

It would be like counting the current  International Champions Cup as a competitive tournament.