Haring Injury

Section Q

Sparkymarky1874

Why is he still not fit? Can't believe the season is about to start and we still players injured or/and unfit 

• Replies 281

• Inch Hearts

• Alex Kintner

11 minutes ago, Sparkymarky1874 said:

Why is he still not fit? Can't believe the season is about to start and we still players injured or/and unfit 

Because some injuries take longer to heal,  I would think. 

15 minutes ago, Sparkymarky1874 said:

Maybe he hasn't recovered as well or as quickly  as the doctors hoped - it does happen, and not necessarily anyone's fault

2 minutes ago, jambopilms said:

I can't imagine playing through the injury around Xmas has helped. 

Or in the cup final. These decisions tend to be made between the medical staff, coaching staff and player themselves. 

22 minutes ago, GorgieRules22 said:

Shambles

If something presents itself as a hernia you treat it as a hernia. If it doesn't heal as expected you look deeper, and that's where we are now. It isn't shambolic, it's just how diagnostics works.

Everyone expected Peter to get better with rest over summer, and it's only now that it's possible to know there's something else going on. 

Just now, scott herbertson said:

Maybe he hasn't recovered as well or as quickly  as the doctors hoped - it does happen, and not necessarily anyone's fault

Well except for Levein. At least thats what I would imagine we'll hear pretty soon. Dr. Craig Levein is to blame for all ongoing and new injuries Hearts players suffer will be the new call.

Not even sure where he gets the strengh to bother getting up in the morning.

We should have signed a replacement/back-up in January.....even a loan to ensure the guy was given the adequate time to heal and get fit again.

For it to be a few days before the season starts and not have the engine room anywhere near ready Is beyond poor.

It’s Sunday pub league stuff at times.

40 minutes ago, GorgieRules22 said:

Shambles

Totally agree mate. Shouldn’t be wasting valuable club money on experts when the JKB witch doctors would’ve had him cured immediately. 

3 minutes ago, Zico said:

Totally agree mate. Shouldn’t be wasting valuable club money on experts when the JKB witch doctors would’ve had him cured immediately. 

Magic sticks time I think. 

GorgieRules22
15 minutes ago, Smithee said:

If something presents itself as a hernia you treat it as a hernia. If it doesn't heal as expected you look deeper, and that's where we are now. It isn't shambolic, it's just how diagnostics works.

Everyone expected Peter to get better with rest over summer, and it's only now that it's possible to know there's something else going on. 

We must be the only club in Scotland that’s manager constantly bangs on about players being slightly unfit etc....he goes on to say Uche isn’t 100% fit, why ? He’s had all summer if swanning around the States and posting pictures of himself on social media of how fit he is. Then you have Walker,White etc who we signed yet we knew they have problems.

20 minutes ago, alwaysthereinspirit said:

Well except for Levein. At least thats what I would imagine we'll hear pretty soon. Dr. Craig Levein is to blame for all ongoing and new injuries Hearts players suffer will be the new call.

Not even sure where he gets the strengh to bother getting up in the morning.

Funny you should say that he's blaming himself for playing Haring in the cup final,  reckons it was maybe a mistake taking the risk 

Edited by jamborich

1 minute ago, davemclaren said:

Magic sticks time I think. 

We stopped the star jumps and wheelbarrow races and look at all the injury problems we have as a result. 

24 minutes ago, Smithee said:

The hernia repair was done therefore the hernia existed. I'm not sure if this is related to the surgery or not.

Like Levein has said, the groin area is notoriously tricky to diagnose.  They thought they had it sorted - it's patently something else though.

It can be tiny muscle tears in the groin, back issues, posture, even muscular issues elsewhere but putting pressure on the groin area,  Remember Mickey Cameron had a long running groin issue and an American specialist got him to wear a gumshield when he played, which fixed the issue - a good example of how off the wall/difficult to pinpoint these things can be.

That's not to say I've total faith in our medical team, by the way.  I think we've been very, very unlucky with injuries - many of them freak and rare - but I do wonder if our team need looked at.

14 minutes ago, jamborich said:

Funny you should say that he's blaming himself for playing Haring in the cup final,  reckons it was maybe a mistake taking the risk 

Maybe in hindsight but cant imagine us being in that game for as long as we were without him. It as a decision that probably at the time was the right one. 

Inch Hearts
Just now, alwaysthereinspirit said:

Maybe in hindsight but cant imagine us being in that game for as long as we were without him. It as a decision that probably at the time was the right one. 

How can you justify it being the correct decision at the time it it’s been admitted it was a gamble now the player isn’t ready for the start of the following season?  A gamble to try and win the cup against the odds instead of having one of the most valuable players ready for the following season?  That’s not even mentioning being rushed back over winter as there was no cover.  It’s ludicrous it can be defended in any way.  The player himself must be ragin’

1 minute ago, Inch Hearts said:

How can you justify it being the correct decision at the time it it’s been admitted it was a gamble now the player isn’t ready for the start of the following season?  A gamble to try and win the cup against the odds instead of having one of the most valuable players ready for the following season?  That’s not even mentioning being rushed back over winter as there was no cover.  It’s ludicrous it can be defended in any way.  The player himself must be ragin’

😄😄😄😳😳😳

1 minute ago, Inch Hearts said:

You don’t think there was any consultation with the player prior to the final?

Inch Hearts
1 minute ago, Whatever said:

You don’t think there was any consultation with the player prior to the final?

The management staff telling him how good he is and really needed for the final?  Of course so, he’s hardly going to tell them to ram it is he?  It was a gamble that everyone has lost out on long term now it seems. 

4 minutes ago, TheBigO said:

Like Levein has said, the groin area is notoriously tricky to diagnose.  They thought they had it sorted - it's patently something else though.

It can be tiny muscle tears in the groin, back issues, posture, even muscular issues elsewhere but putting pressure on the groin area,  Remember Mickey Cameron had a long running groin issue and an American specialist got him to wear a gumshield when he played, which fixed the issue - a good example of how off the wall/difficult to pinpoint these things can be.

That's not to say I've total faith in our medical team, by the way.  I think we've been very, very unlucky with injuries - many of them freak and rare - but I do wonder if our team need looked at.

Years ago I had a growth near my testies. Scared the crap out of me. Went to the doctor, he had a wee feel around and asked me if I had any foot issues. I'm immediately thinking he's a quack. I had an ingrown toe nail I didn't know about that was poison. A gland near my balls was taking the poison from my toe and distributing it slowly back into my body to get rid of it. 3 days of antibiotics and it was gone. Not the same thing but your analogy of weird things in relation to the body shows how complex it can be. I'm sure they'll find the issue with Harring.

6 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

I'm out.

5 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

The management staff telling him how good he is and really needed for the final?  Of course so, he’s hardly going to tell them to ram it is he?  It was a gamble that everyone has lost out on long term now it seems. 

:tlj:

1 hour ago, Inch Hearts said:

Haring played for 80 mins....he went off and Celtic scored with a ball through the middle two minutes later.

This was a gamble well worth taking for a game of that magnitude imo and Haring wouldn’t have played if he didn’t want to or feel it wasn’t worth the risk.

Edited by DH1986

Inch Hearts
4 minutes ago, DH1986 said:

Haring played for 80 mins....he went off and Celtic scored with a ball through the middle two minutes later.

This was a gamble well worth taking for a game of that magnitude imo and Haring wouldn’t have played if he didn’t want to or feel it wasn’t worth the risk.

He played 80 mins and is now out for ages it looks like.  Celtic won and now we have no player.  

7 minutes ago, DH1986 said:

I don't imagine there are too many players around who would have opted out of a Cup Final, do you?

He and CL would have thought it worth the risk and had we won then I am sure we would all have agreed.

The fact he is now struggling with a groin injury which could well have been the result of him playing on for so long with his hernia problem is the consequence but I am not quite so sure it was just down to that one game.

I just hope CL has got someone lined up to replace him until he is fully fit again and the sooner the better.

17 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

He played 80 mins and is now out for ages it looks like.  Celtic won and now we have no player.  

You do understand the concept of a gamble I assume? I also think it was worth the risk at the time. It hasn't paid off but I guess everyone doesn't have the benefit of your infallible hindsight. 

Inch Hearts
1 minute ago, HoGwash said:

You do understand the concept of a gamble I assume? I also think it was worth the risk at the time. It hasn't paid off but I guess everyone doesn't have the benefit of your infallible hindsight. 

What was the chances of it paying off?  The risk is Celtic won as expected and now Haring is out and a replacement is needed.  If it was a 50/50 chance of winning the cup then aye bash on but not at the odds it was.  Probably why Tierney was nowhere near the Celtic team, because the odds outweigh the risk.  If Celtic played Aberdeen or the rangers in the final the odds would have shortened meaning more of a risk to be made. 

2 hours ago, Zico said:

The experts that haven’t diagnosed the problem yet, ten months after he started having problems. Time to pay for better experts and medical staff perhaps.

2 hours ago, alwaysthereinspirit said:

Years ago I had a growth near my testies. Scared the crap out of me. Went to the doctor, he had a wee feel around and asked me if I had any foot issues. I'm immediately thinking he's a quack. I had an ingrown toe nail I didn't know about that was poison. A gland near my balls was taking the poison from my toe and distributing it slowly back into my body to get rid of it. 3 days of antibiotics and it was gone. Not the same thing but your analogy of weird things in relation to the body shows how complex it can be. I'm sure they'll find the issue with Harring.

Your doctor diagnosed the problem immediately though, we still don’t know what’s wrong with him. They’ve known for over two weeks he’s not fit, and an even longer period that Djoum and Lee are away and nobody has been signed. Hopefully they have someone lined up as we weren’t good enough in midfield last season.

55 minutes ago, DH1986 said:

Indeed, Berra had to go and win the ball and his partner didn’t cover.

2 hours ago, Inch Hearts said:

Cup finals are what players dream of playing. Most don’t get to. Of course he wanted to play.

FFS luhvein, stop trying to win cup finals!

Good old one-incher. Sometimes the inability to hide quotes from ignored morons has its benefits. 

20 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Your doctor diagnosed the problem immediately though, we still don’t know what’s wrong with him. They’ve known for over two weeks he’s not fit, and an even longer period that Djoum and Lee are away and nobody has been signed. Hopefully they have someone lined up as we weren’t good enough in midfield last season.

We knew he had a hernia, it was diagnosed and treated, but turns out there's something else.

13 minutes ago, Smithee said:

We knew he had a hernia, it was diagnosed and treated, but turns out there's something else.

Do you know that for a fact, so it’s just a coincidence he has another problem in exactly the same area? Right up there with it just being unlucky that we suffer so many injuries every season, two years running that every outfield player has been injured at some point which is way above average.

Hopefully the specialist gets to the bottom of it and it gets sorted. 

A bit like Uche last season , injuries can be worse than first thought.  Praying that Naismith is up and running for Pittodrie.

God knows what some on here would have said about Colin Cameron's injury which kept him out for a while and not at full fitness

A gum shield was the solution despite all the experts the club used...they should have asked JKB at the time and hey presto

You have to love the medical experts we have on this board and that for them 'rest' does not apply

If you are injured it's the clubs fault, if you are not fit in a week it's the clubs fault, 2 weeks the clubs fault, 3 weeks the clubs fault and that of the surgeon, 5 weeks the club, Levein, the surgeon because he was clearly second rate

Over and above that its the second expert/surgeons fault because we had to use him and the clubs fault because we didn't use the second expert first

31 minutes ago, Smithee said:

This. A little different than a cut finger and a band aid. Some injuries are obviously a process of elimination. Blaming Levein is scraping the barrel even for JKB.

Soapy Soutar

I went to my gp 4 times in a 6 month period with severe stomach pains and sickness and each time told it was a bug or something i ate,few weeks later i spent a fortnight in hospital when my gallbladder burst.It turns out id been suffering gallatones.

Anyway im not bitter the doc made what he thought was the right call,the body is a very complex thing.To blame CL or any the coaching staff is nonsense everyone wants him git and well and on the park sometimes in life shit happens and nobody is to blame

45 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Do you know that for a fact, so it’s just a coincidence he has another problem in exactly the same area? Right up there with it just being unlucky that we suffer so many injuries every season, two years running that every outfield player has been injured at some point which is way above average.

Well yeah, I know he had a hernia, he certainly had a hernia operation, and now there's something else. What exactly are you getting at when you ask if I know that for a fact?

I'd think it was more likely that the hernia and other issue are related rather than it being some coincidence or Levein induced problem.

WheatfieldWarrior
5 hours ago, jamborich said:

I didn't read his comments that way - He certainly says that pushing him to be ready for the cup final may have aggravated the situation and he has to take some responsibility for that, but honestly, I would have done the same.

Having him sit out the SC final to help him be fit for 4 games against lower league opposition in the diddy cup would have been ridiculous.

Alex Kintner
6 hours ago, mitch41 said:

Peter Haring is one of the first names on our team sheet and i’d of thought he’d be given the best 

consultant & medical treatment available. Given that this injury has persisted for over 6 months 

and with all the technology at Riccarton we’ve keep hearing about the lad must be really pissed 

off. Fingers crossed this consultant he’s away to see can get to the bottom of this injury.

Over 6 months 😂

Alex Kintner

Has the JKB update included an amalgamation with the Hearts FC Facebook page. The standard of posting seems to be particularly horrendous over the last 24 hours 😳

1 hour ago, Smithee said:

Well yeah, I know he had a hernia, he certainly had a hernia operation, and now there's something else. What exactly are you getting at when you ask if I know that for a fact?

I'd think it was more likely that the hernia and other issue are related rather than it being some coincidence or Levein induced problem.

That’s what I was indicating, do we actually know it was a hernia problem if that operation didn’t clear I up. I don’t blame Levein for playing him before Xmas or in the final, I would like him to try and find a solution to the injury problems that will ultimately cost him his job if it goes on.

6 minutes ago, To Be Frank said:

Has the JKB update included an amalgamation with the Hearts FC Facebook page. The standard of posting seems to be particularly horrendous over the last 24 hours 😳

Schooooolllll's out for.... summer!

12 minutes ago, To Be Frank said:

Think Some posters are logging on from Parkfield school in Birmingham annaw.

6 hours ago, Inch Hearts said:

This has to be one of the most bizarre things I've ever read from anyone claiming to be a football fan.

https://www.90min.com/posts/4321760-10-instances-where-footballers-played-through-a-serious-injury

3 hours ago, CJGJ said:

God knows what some on here would have said about Colin Cameron's injury which kept him out for a while and not at full fitness

A gum shield was the solution despite all the experts the club used...they should have asked JKB at the time and hey presto

You have to love the medical experts we have on this board and that for them 'rest' does not apply

If you are injured it's the clubs fault, if you are not fit in a week it's the clubs fault, 2 weeks the clubs fault, 3 weeks the clubs fault and that of the surgeon, 5 weeks the club, Levein, the surgeon because he was clearly second rate

Over and above that its the second expert/surgeons fault because we had to use him and the clubs fault because we didn't use the second expert first

Great example. Our best player ruined by JJ, everyone at the club and multiple specialists before one of them could figure out what it was, told him to smoke 20 John Player Special a day and he saved us from relegation. But no, according to folk on here who struggle to piss and shit at the same time, two paracetamol and a pint of Tennents is all it takes to sort any injury. 

Edited by Zico