Mr Elwood P

6 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

I honestly don't know. Ask Robbie Neilson. 

Robbie and Levein both went on the record at the time. You really need help.

• Replies 233

• Enzo Chiefo

• Mr Elwood P

• Inch Hearts

1 hour ago, rick witter said:

0-0 borefest with 2 managers who don’t want to lose but won’t go all out for the win. 

Hearts last 5 games under Neilson:

Inverness Caledonian Thistle 3 – 3 Heart of Midlothian

Heart of Midlothian 2 – 2 St Johnstone 

Hamilton Academical 3 – 3 Heart of Midlothian 

Heart of Midlothian 3 – 0 Motherwell

Heart of Midlothian 2 – 0 Rangers

The 6th was Neilson's team with Daly caretaking:

Ross County 2 – 2 Heart Of Midlothian

Oh the boredom! Oh the utter arseholery and dimness of the Robbie Oot brigade. Levien I can kind of understand. He's never been my favourite Hearts manager and his league form has been mixed to say the least, but Neilson did everything in a very understated, classy way and got great results for a guy in his first head coach job.

Mr Elwood P
1 hour ago, Prof said:

An irrelevant comment. The whole point of good management is to build a team from average players. 

Not irrelevant, the players were clearly not good enough as demonstrated by all the evidence. Almost everyone of them play in the Scottish lower leagues now! 

4 hours ago, Jodami said:

Neilson obviously moved on too quickly but I think there is more to the story than just issues with a group of idiots in the fan base. Several posters have commented on Levein being dead set against the Sammon signing and the writing was already on the wall on that score when he left. How was the relationship with them at that time? How much did the club really  want to keep him? Was Cathro an idea that had been floated behind the scenes already? 

Taking an extremely curious job at an odd time of the season looks even stranger now than it did then. 

Ultimately I think he was a victim of losing the cup tie against Hibs and Sow going at that time did him no favours although the club had to take the money. 

Levein didn't want Robbie to go but knew there was no point trying to persuade him to stay once he made his mind up. I don't think there were any moves for Cathro behind the scenes but the rest of your post is on the button I think.

5 hours ago, The Merse said:

Neilson has done little since leaving Hearts to suggest he’s the manager some people seem to think he is.

We’ve made poor appointments since but I still feel we were on the start of a downward trajectory under Robbie.

But aye, it’s the fans fault that we’re utter shite now.

Was it the 5 game unbeaten run culminating in the beating of Rangers to leave us in 2nd position near Christmas that made you feel we were on a downward trajectory?

Enzo Chiefo
14 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

Robbie and Levein both went on the record at the time. You really need help.

Wtf are you talking about? Did they say that he was driven out by fans?  Robbie didn't even see the dastardly plane.

Edited by Enzo Chiefo

3 hours ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

Yip. I quit subscribing also. Tired of being warned when interacting with the faces constantly getting away with it. Paid members being warned for arguing with non paying trolls. ''Go figure''.

The thing that pisses me off most is that there are some posters whose opinions I disagree with who make sensible, well argued points and make me at least consider my position - I don’t need or want an echo chamber. But they get lost in the faecal mass of fuhken Levine/fuhken Nanny McFee/fuhken Gran Budge/fuhken it’s all shite, that ruin every, single ‘fuhken’ thread. 

Edited by Zico

Levein on Neilson:

'Robbie's a very logical person. He has always said he wanted to manage at the top level down in England. He explained to me that he felt if he could go down to England in a good, stable job and do a good job there, then he would have a better chance of getting a higher level club. He saw that as his pathway.

'Whether I agree with him or not is almost irrelevant.'

Don’t think Levein wanted rid.

6 hours ago, SpruceBringsteen said:

I mean they were/are absolute cretins, but if wee Robbie did leave because a dozen wingnuts paid to have a banner flown, I'm afraid I do have to agree that his bollocks must be the size of a couple of frozen peas.

From "We are Hearts, we fear no-one" to "I'm off, some punter who has to stamp his hoof to count to 5 hired a plane" isn't a great look tbh.

Is the right answer.

In any event, after losing to a pub team, Neilson should have gone IMO. However, both Levein and Budge wanted him to stay but he thought MK Dons were a better opportunity. The truth is he will never manage at a higher level than Heart of Midlothian.

19 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Wtf are you talking about? Did they say that he was driven out by fans?  Robbie didn't even see the dastardly plane.

“When something like the plane incident happens, it’s probably a bit of a compliment that somebody has gone to all that expense. Looking back on it, it has helped me. Anything that’s going to happen now - whether somebody puts something on the internet or does something inside a stadium - I’ll think: ‘That’s not really anything to fret about until they start flying a plane to get you out.’ Once it gets to that level, then it’s decent."

Neilson basically saying that whatever happens to him in his managerial career in future, nothing will be as bad as that plane banner. What an embarrassment that was. As always, the majority of normal Hearts fans won the day, but still it gave our fans a bad rep in the media for being miserable, football-illiterate, entitled weirdos that we still haven't shaken off. And that at a time when our fans were seen as one of the best fanbases in Europe for the way we saved our club.

Every Hearts fan should condemn the plane thing unreservedly. I am deeply suspicious of anyone who doesn't or who attempts to gloss over it as somehow just an indication of Neilson's apparent lack of managerial talent (despite his outstanding win % record for us).

Just now, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Is the right answer.

In any event, after losing to a pub team, Neilson should have gone IMO. However, both Levein and Budge wanted him to stay but he thought MK Dons were a better opportunity. The truth is he will never manage at a higher level than Heart of Midlothian.

Brendan Rodgers lost to way worse than a pub team in Europe then only put 3 past them at home. Derek McInnes lost to pub teams in Europe (going by your definition) several times.

FarmerTweedy
7 hours ago, Central Belt 1874 said:

It was a stupid gamble, and one that the club did not need to make. Neilson, along with Levein, at that point had built a solid foundation on which to build upon. 

Instead we went down the cheap option, both in the dugout and on the pitch, and we have two 6th place finishes and 6 months of dreadful performances to show for it.

It had nothing to do with cheap options. Levein had seen Cathro's work coaching kids, and the excellent results he was achieving, while Levein was at Dundee Utd, and had viewed from afar the apparently very good work he'd been doing as a first team coach/assistant head coach more recently, and believed Cathro had the potential to become an exceptional head coach. He also knew that wherever Cathro's first head coach job was, if he was indeed a big success, he'd straight away move way beyond the reach of clubs like Hearts. So, Levein was keen to get Cathro to Hearts early on, and have Hearts be the club to give Cathro that first opportunity as head coach. Obviously, it was a gamble, and one that went very wrong, and there's plenty of debate to be had over whether Levein should have been more aware of the shortcomings that caused Cathro to fail, or whether he should have allowed Cathro to overhaul the squad so drastically when he came in (which is what really caused the whole thing to have such a lengthy effect on the club), but one thing that definitely isn't the case is that Cathro was appointed because he was a cheap option. 

4 minutes ago, FarmerTweedy said:

It had nothing to do with cheap options. Levein had seen Cathro's work coaching kids, and the excellent results he was achieving, while Levein was at Dundee Utd, and had viewed from afar the apparently very good work he'd been doing as a first team coach/assistant head coach more recently, and believed Cathro had the potential to become an exceptional head coach. He also knew that wherever Cathro's first head coach job was, if he was indeed a big success, he'd straight away move way beyond the reach of clubs like Hearts. So, Levein was keen to get Cathro to Hearts early on, and have Hearts be the club to give Cathro that first opportunity as head coach. Obviously, it was a gamble, and one that went very wrong, and there's plenty of debate to be had over whether Levein should have been more aware of the shortcomings that caused Cathro to fail, or whether he should have allowed Cathro to overhaul the squad so drastically when he came in (which is what really caused the whole thing to have such a lengthy effect on the club), but one thing that definitely isn't the case is that Cathro was appointed because he was a cheap option. 

I kind of agree but Levein is on record as saying his preferred strategy is to develop young coaches party as they are cheaper than experienced guys. I remember Houston leaving D UT because they wouldn't pay him the 200 grand a year he wanted. If that's the salaries we're looking at I don't see anything wrong with younger coaches. To be fair to Levein he also talent-spotted Neilson and Ross Jacka nd both look likely to have decent careers. McPhee too. Maybe at least one of Daly, Fox and Kirk can make it as well. Cathro seems like a very good coach still but just not cut out for the No. 1 job which I would have thought Levein would have seen.

My beef with the Cathro thing is how exactly did Levein go about developing Cathro after he gave him the Hearts job. Couldn't;t he have mentored him or did the media nonsense about him interfering as DoF make him shy of being seen to do that?

5 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Brendan Rodgers lost to way worse than a pub team in Europe then only put 3 past them at home. Derek McInnes lost to pub teams in Europe (going by your definition) several times.

Zzzzz! Not this canard again. We got knocked out. Septic took the embarrassment in stride and went through.

And yes, McInnes has lost to pub teams in Europe. What's your point?

Enzo Chiefo
7 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

“When something like the plane incident happens, it’s probably a bit of a compliment that somebody has gone to all that expense. Looking back on it, it has helped me. Anything that’s going to happen now - whether somebody puts something on the internet or does something inside a stadium - I’ll think: ‘That’s not really anything to fret about until they start flying a plane to get you out.’ Once it gets to that level, then it’s decent."

Neilson basically saying that whatever happens to him in his managerial career in future, nothing will be as bad as that plane banner. What an embarrassment that was. As always, the majority of normal Hearts fans won the day, but still it gave our fans a bad rep in the media for being miserable, football-illiterate, entitled weirdos that we still haven't shaken off. And that at a time when our fans were seen as one of the best fanbases in Europe for the way we saved our club.

Sounds like he was making light of it. It's not as if there were chants in the stadium, protests etc. A couple of isolated incidents by a handful of fans. I've been at an EGM when 12 police officers surrounded the top table in order to escort Chris Robinson out of the Gorgie Suite. What happened to Neilson was a bit bizarre but well down the scale as protests go.

1 minute ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Zzzzz! Not this canard again. We got knocked out. Septic took the embarrassment in stride and went through.

And yes, McInnes has lost to pub teams in Europe. What's your point?

My point is obviously that McInnes didn't get the sack as club owners and a lot of fans know that these July European qualifier games  against obscure clubs before pre-season has barely started are total banana skins. 

4 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Sounds like he was making light of it. It's not as if there were chants in the stadium, protests etc. A couple of isolated incidents by a handful of fans. I've been at an EGM when 12 police officers surrounded the top table in order to escort Chris Robinson out of the Gorgie Suite. What happened to Neilson was a bit bizarre but well down the scale as protests go.

It was a lot more than bizarre. So cringeworthy,

31 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

See posts from Mothy and TJ. Facts getting in the way of your negative speculation about Levein's interference. Robbie said he would have benefitted froma DOF at MK Dons.

6 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

My point is obviously that McInnes didn't get the sack as club owners and a lot of fans know that these July European qualifier games  against obscure clubs before pre-season has barely started are total banana skins. 

Cool. And were Budge and Levein going to sack Neilson? No. I was stating my opinion on that.

If Neilson was so good there would have been a clamour to get him back from MK Dons, particularly as Levein was reluctant to be in the hot seat. As it was, his record at MK Dons was only of interest to the obsessed on here.

Enzo Chiefo
5 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

See posts from Mothy and TJ. Facts getting in the way of your negative speculation about Levein's interference. Robbie said he would have benefitted froma DOF at MK Dons.

Have you read my posts? Or did you just jump in with a 2 footed verbal launch, in order to suit your agenda? Posters are taking opinions from random players about Neilson instead of listening to what he said himself. He left of his own accord, he was not driven out by fans. I simply laid out options as to why he wanted to leave, none of which I claimed was a fact. 

Central Belt 1874
20 minutes ago, FarmerTweedy said:

All of what you say may have been the case, but it was still a cheap option, and the players brought in were on the cheap, and the league positions, cup performances and all round play suggest that that this was the case.

3 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Cool. And were Budge and Levein going to sack Neilson? No. I was stating my opinion on that.

If Neilson was so good there would have been a clamour to get him back from MK Dons, particularly as Levein was reluctant to be in the hot seat. As it was, his record at MK Dons was only of interest to the obsessed on here.

Outside of the true great managers, most of them tend to do well at one or two clubs only. Neilson did very well for us and I think will do a very solid job at D Utd. Couldn't care less what he did in England. He actually lasted a lot longer than many more experienced managers down there. It's a cut throat businesses in England.

1 minute ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Have you read my posts? Or did you just jump in with a 2 footed verbal launch, in order to suit your agenda? Posters are taking opinions from random players about Neilson instead of listening to what he said himself. He left of his own accord, he was not driven out by fans. I simply laid out options as to why he wanted to leave, none of which I claimed was a fact. 

Who says he was driven out? I highly doubt it helped persuade him to stay though.

Enzo Chiefo
1 minute ago, ToqueJambo said:

Who says he was driven out? I highly doubt it helped persuade him to stay though.

There are several posters on this thread claiming that as fact.

ABBA Super Trouper

He is Super Souttar

He is John Souttar

He's our number 4

He plays like Beckenbauer

And he play's in Maroon

10 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Outside of the true great managers, most of them tend to do well at one or two clubs only. Neilson did very well for us and I think will do a very solid job at D Utd. Couldn't care less what he did in England. He actually lasted a lot longer than many more experienced managers down there. It's a cut throat businesses in England.

I'm not really bothered how he does but he thought Franchise FC had more potential than HMFC. That is a fundamental lack of judgment IMO.

Inch Hearts
11 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

I'm not really bothered how he does but he thought Franchise FC had more potential than HMFC. That is a fundamental lack of judgment IMO.

Mark Burchill said he never though so he was lying when he said it and ultimately got hounded out by a few boo boys while the rest gave him unlimited backing and right behind him.  

That’s what some would have you believe on here.  

This is is the current Dundee Utd manager by the way, guy who failed to get them promoted after relegating the club he left for (into English Leagues fourth tier) and it isn’t Jack Ross.  Another genius decision but he’s not allowed to be mentioned. 

Edited by Inch Hearts

5 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

So everyone who leaves Hearts or any club does so because they think their next club has "more potential" (whatever that means) than their current club and it's not just a simple career move for more money and/or new experiences, etc, etc... ? It certainly hasn't harmed his career anyhow. Good luck to him, apart from on July 12th.

Mr Elwood P
14 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

They probably do if we are honest. They are in the English League Two, they've played in the English Championship and tiny teams like Bournemouth play in the EPL. Just being in the English pyramid system gives teams huge potential. Whether or not that potential can be realised is a completely different matter. I'm not sure what Hearts potential really is? Celtic seem so financially dominant that I can't see us being anywhere near a Premiership title. 

Edited by Mr Elwood P

1 hour ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Is the right answer.

Mk Don's was a better opportunity for him

20 minutes ago, Mr Elwood P said:

They probably do if we are honest. They are in the English League Two, they've played in the English Championship and tiny teams like Bournemouth play in the EPL. Just being in the English pyramid system gives teams huge potential. Whether or not that potential can be realised is a completely different matter. I'm not sure what Hearts potential really is? Celtic seem so financially dominant that I can't see us being anywhere near a Premiership title. 

Franchise FC are a stain on the English game. That said, this is a league where half and half scarves are tolerated.

6 minutes ago, jambocub said:

Mk Don's was a better opportunity for him

I disagree

1 minute ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

I disagree

But you're not Robbie neilson. And that's about the size of it

4 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Franchise FC are a stain on the English game. That said, this is a league where half and half scarves are tolerated.

You're remarkably exercised by a team in another country's league? Who cares!

Mr Elwood P
12 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Do you get half and half scarves in League Two? I'd quite like a half and half Scunthorpe United / Northampton Town scarf.

20 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

You're remarkably exercised by a team in another country's league? Who cares!

The creation of Franchise FC was a stain on the game and Wimbledon were shafted in the process. Maybe you aren't old enough to remember it.

24 minutes ago, jambocub said:

But you're not Robbie neilson. And that's about the size of it

Nor are you.

10 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

The creation of Franchise FC was a stain on the game and Wimbledon were shafted in the process. Maybe you aren't old enough to remember it.

I went to see old Wimbledon. Just don’t care about or follow other country’s minor leagues.

Just now, ToqueJambo said:

I went to see old Wimbledon. Just don’t care about or follow other country’s minor leagues.

Each to their own.

FarmerTweedy
9 hours ago, OTT said:

Its actually a really good article considering the rag which published it.

I don't want to sound negative, but it frustrates me no end quote like this - “He was big on the importance of the gym and that was ideal for me.” Walker had a similar one when he was 20ish about recognising how important diet is (something about still eating sweets all the time).

YOU'RE A PROFESSIONAL ATHLETE GO TO THE ****ING GYM AND EAT RIGHT!!!!!!

I'm not directing that ire at Souttar or Walker, its the education they're receiving and its clearly not been good enough. Perhaps someone who has a keen interest in the youth teams might be able to confirm if the lads are getting a better education on what I would consider professionalism now? (since walker came through pre Levein and Soapy at Utd).

I remember folk making comments about the difference in size (muscle build) between our lads and Man City/ Evertons during the friendlies. Again, they might have better, more skillful players but physicality is something which is completely within our control and not something any of our lads should allow themselves to be second best in.

What you say is true to an extent, in that young players can improve their physicality through their diet and training regime, but a couple of points to remember are that genetics and upbringing have an influence on this too, and also,, a club with our budget and standing is limited in terms of ability to compete with other clubs that have bigger budgets, are more glamorous, play in bigger leagues, etc, to attract and retain talented youngsters, and in some (probably most) cases, where a youth player has both talent and physicality, we simply won't be able to get them to come to us ahead of bigger and/or richer clubs, so we'll often have to settle for either signing talented youngsters with a severe lack of physique, and hope they hit a growth spurt in their mid-to-late teens, or sign kids that are proper units when they're young but lack something in ability, and hope that we can coach them into quality players over time.  Your Man Citys, Evertons, etc, are able to sign up the young players that are both highly talented and also have natural physicality ahead of us. 

FarmerTweedy
10 hours ago, Selkirkhmfc1874 said:

Think the big mistake we made when robbie left was appointing somebody who never had been head coach before! When robbie left we should've appointed experienced proven manager in my opinion 

You do realise that when we appointed Robbie, we were appointing somebody who had never been head coach before? 

34 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Nor are you.

But Robbie said it himself that he thought it was a better opportunity to get to a higher level in England nothing wrong with that .

Not sure why you'd doubt the man himself on his own words

Inch Hearts
5 minutes ago, jambocub said:

But Robbie said it himself that he thought it was a better opportunity to get to a higher level in England nothing wrong with that .

Many do on here when using it to go against some of the support and give abuse freely to “mindless idiots who hounded him out” I don’t doubt Robbie though and he shouldn’t have left. He didn’t leave because he was weak minded and hounded by a few like some would have you believe.

A Robbie Neilson thread gives the usual bullies the opportunity to rip into anyone they like.  

FarmerTweedy
8 hours ago, Iamborg said:

The Maltese fiasco and the Vermin cup game lost him support , add in the diabolical away performances 

and its no surprise the Phoodle bolted before he was sacked .

This is the first post of yours I've seen. It's good that you've made it completely clear in this one post whether you're a complete and utter walloper or not!

FarmerTweedy
6 hours ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

Yip. I quit subscribing also. Tired of being warned when interacting with the faces constantly getting away with it. Paid members being warned for arguing with non paying trolls. ''Go figure''.

The only reason I subscribe is that I know there's regularly a surplus which gets donated to charity, so I view it as making a charity donation to ensure I can access the site at busy times such as when matches are on, rather than actually being paying to read some of the utter drivel (including obvious trolling, some of it from obvious h1b5 fans) that saturates the place. 

1 hour ago, jambocub said:

I'm just saying that the idea of Franchise FC ever being bigger than us is a non-starter in my eyes. He thought different. I wonder if he still thinks that.

10 hours ago, Sir Gio said:

Levein didn't want Neilson to go.

Levein managing now is a result of Neilson jumping due to the hump, of ridiculous criticism. 

The embarrassment would therefore be with those who didn't rate Neilson which Levein clearly did 

Neilson left due to an inflated - misplaced - belief in his own ability, more money, and what he saw was the opportunity to progress in England. Don’t kid yourself on that it was because a few half wits won a bet and hired a plane with a banner.

9 hours ago, Mr Elwood P said:

Please be kind enough to remind us of the last Hearts manager to be sacked whilst we were sitting in 2nd place? Neilson was rubbish in the Cups, Levein’s been rubbish in the league. Nobody is happy!

Probably Rix

10 hours ago, tcjambo said:

Virtually every Hearts fan praised the decsion to bravely appoint Cathro. If it had paid off it would have emphasised skill over strength. Unfortunately Cathro seems to have lacked the personality to inspire. A lot of hindsight being shown by those that supposedly knew better.

Cathro lacked communication skills, that is all. He was hammered for that.

I still believe he could have been successful had he been given the same time as Levein has been given, and the section of support that are so willing to forgive the pish we have had to watch under Levein offered the same patience to Cathro.

It’s a funny old game right enough.

jamtartan74
21 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

I'm just saying that the idea of Franchise FC ever being bigger than us is a non-starter in my eyes. He thought different. I wonder if he still thinks that.

I’m not convinced he thought they would ever be bigger than us, they play in a different environment to us with potential for great things financially and to play against the best if he was a success. I was disappointed for him it never worked out as he hoped, the guy is a Hearts legend as player and manager, the criticism he gets or got is ridiculous. Some Hearts fans are completely deluded in expectations and demands as if they think it’s our right to be winning trophies every season or sack the manager, he had us sitting in a great position when he left and I for 1 am grateful for what he done as our manager/head coach. Reality check needed for some people on this board.