Mr Elwood P

11 hours ago, Central Belt 1874 said:

What a load of shite. The fans had no option but to support a decision they had no say on. The majority of people will look for the positives in the decisions their club make.

It was a very poor choice, the footballing community thought it was a poor choice, and it turned out to be a poor choice. 

Since when did the fans have a say on who is appointed manager or head coach? 

Given you said that the majority of people look for the positives then their must also be minority that don’t. That means those fans have taken the option not to support the decision.

If you are going to accuse people of talking shite it might be an idea to practice what you preach.

• Replies 233

• Enzo Chiefo

• Mr Elwood P

• Inch Hearts

The Comedian
2 hours ago, jamtartan74 said:

I’m not convinced he thought they would ever be bigger than us, they play in a different environment to us with potential for great things financially and to play against the best if he was a success. I was disappointed for him it never worked out as he hoped, the guy is a Hearts legend as player and manager, the criticism he gets or got is ridiculous. Some Hearts fans are completely deluded in expectations and demands as if they think it’s our right to be winning trophies every season or sack the manager, he had us sitting in a great position when he left and I for 1 am grateful for what he done as our manager/head coach. Reality check needed for some people on this board. 

The reality is he's managing in the Jock first division.

:levein_interesting:

Edited by The Comedian

5 hours ago, FarmerTweedy said:

You do realise that when we appointed Robbie, we were appointing somebody who had never been head coach before? 

Yes but that was when we were in the championship not when we were 3rd in the top league 

jamtartan74
2 hours ago, The Comedian said:

The reality is he's managing in the Jock first division.

The reality is, I was talking about his time with us not where he is now, crack on though. 

Jamboelite
18 hours ago, greggy123 said:

If they manage to beat us on Friday, I don’t think it could get much more embarrassing for levein. 

**** me this place is an asylum.

1 minute ago, Jamboelite said:

One Flew Over the Cuckold’s Nest

16 hours ago, Icon of Symmetry said:

How many supports do the following, during times of reasonable success -with a rookie manager- though?

Hire a wee plane to drag a banner ridiculing the head coach

Paint bedsheets calling for his head and stick them around the city centre.

Photoshop the owner who saved us and the DoF who was rebuilding us on to pornographic material, alongside the head coach.

Distribute posters calling the head coach “phoodle” - suggesting he was a puppet of Levein and had some kind of tenuous Celtic link.

Whinge and moan about winning games, and riding high in the league, because they do not like the style of football.

Its ludicrous the way he was treated, and it clearly played a part in him f-ing off in an attempt to try and repeat his achievements in the Scottish championship, down South.

Yes all clubs have some arseholes who attach themselves to them... we unfortunately have a growing and sizeable number of complete morons unfortunately. 

Yip, and the downward trajectory...... When was this?

The treatment Neilson got from our fans was nothing more than utterly cringeworthy. All because of a shan comment he made in an interview about a money spinning replay.

The same people who wanted Neilson gone, are the same people who will be berating Levein. And as previously mentioned, Levein being here as manager, is somewhat linked to the fact these ***** wanted Neilson gone anyway.

So we employed a guy that had never been a head coach, who got us out of the Championship in his first year, leaving Sevco and the other mob floundering, Then in his first year in the Premiership got us to third in the league before he left to try improve himself.  How can any sane person have a go at Robbie Neilson.... oh I forgot we lost to the other mob in the Cup, sackable offence.    Some people should get a life.

I'd take him back next year when Levein moves back upstairs.....  

Have hard hat on now awaiting enslaught.....

21 hours ago, greggy123 said:

If they manage to beat us on Friday, I don’t think it could get much more embarrassing for levein. 

Safest job in Britain.

I'm honestly not trolling but a part of me still believes the whole plane \ phoodle \ bedsheets thing MUST have been Hobos. And me hoping that is true is directly cos I cannot bear to think we have anyone so utterly childish in our ranks.

The same pranks haven't been pulled for Levein and that suggests it was only done while cracks appeared in a good thing. The lot behind it took an opportunity they currently aren't worried about.

I'll join the hard-hat wearers and sit tight.. :D

3 hours ago, Jamboelite said:

What is wrong with what I said. I don’t see how it couldn’t be embarrassing for him if the manager he sorted of mentored was to come to Tynecastle and get a result in a competitive game. It’s not like things are plain sailing for levein and he needs to start the season well. He’s already stated that we don’t need any more players and if the team he assembled isn’t good enough to beat a championship side then it’s worrying. 

Inch Hearts
35 minutes ago, RENE said:

So we employed a guy that had never been a head coach, who got us out of the Championship in his first year, leaving Sevco and the other mob floundering, Then in his first year in the Premiership got us to third in the league before he left to try improve himself.  How can any sane person have a go at Robbie Neilson.... oh I forgot we lost to the other mob in the Cup, sackable offence.    Some people should get a life.

I don’t think many are giving Neilson a hard time on this thread, only the posters claiming he left because he’s a shitebag and a section of the support got to him.

He would be welcomed back if he merited it but right now he’s failed at MK Dons massively and has failed to take Dundee Utd up.  If he gets them promoted and he’s the outstanding candidate in the future it might happen. 

3 hours ago, RENE said:

Well, the psychologist confirmed I'm of sound mind but yet here I am still annoyed with Robbie Neilson for a couple of things during his tenure.

Let's start with the Scottish Cup. The fact that we lost a commanding lead against out biggest rivals and then lost the money spinning replay to send us out hurt. It hurt a lot when they went on to win the thing because we knew we were better than them and it shouldn't have happened. It still niggles now that they've won a trophy more recently than us.

Next, Europe. One of the many great things about Hearts IMO was our proud record of never having lost a European tie when we were seeded. We've also had some cracking wins in the 'league' competitions, Basle being a massive highlight of mine when Robbie himself scored that amazing winner. So Birkirkara hurt too. The players and Robbie let us down in that tie and so I'm still a little bit annoyed at him for that too.

The plusses - the Championship season was amazing, never been prouder to be a Hearts fan after the relegation and financial trouble and the way we destroyed the competition that season. Amazing. I was right behind the goals when Ozturk's equalised smashed off the bar and in and it'll be one of my all time favourite celebrations til the day I die no doubt. I thank Robbie for that season and the memories.

Back up in the Premiership it was all going well and that win against Rangers took us up to second, albeit with Aberdeen having a game or two in hand IIRC. But yet he thought a move to MK Dons was better than continuing to manage Hearts?? As has already been covered, he'll never manage a bigger team now that's for sure. If the plane boys got to him that much then that's a shame but surely he was stronger than that and that surely wasn't the reason he actually left. Him leaving Hearts for a diddy team well I'll leave it at that.

So anyway, highs and lows a plenty with Robbie and I'll continue to remember him as I see fit is that's ok with you?

17 hours ago, FarmerTweedy said:

What you say is true to an extent, in that young players can improve their physicality through their diet and training regime, but a couple of points to remember are that genetics and upbringing have an influence on this too, and also,, a club with our budget and standing is limited in terms of ability to compete with other clubs that have bigger budgets, are more glamorous, play in bigger leagues, etc, to attract and retain talented youngsters, and in some (probably most) cases, where a youth player has both talent and physicality, we simply won't be able to get them to come to us ahead of bigger and/or richer clubs, so we'll often have to settle for either signing talented youngsters with a severe lack of physique, and hope they hit a growth spurt in their mid-to-late teens, or sign kids that are proper units when they're young but lack something in ability, and hope that we can coach them into quality players over time.  Your Man Citys, Evertons, etc, are able to sign up the young players that are both highly talented and also have natural physicality ahead of us. 

Thats a fair point. When a scout sees a lad that has talent and the right build he must fall over himself to get him signed up. I think that is a crucial point to differentiate on though, we're all different builds, you've got chubby wee guys, lanky string beans etc. That is outside our control*, you just have to hope from the clubs perspective once they had the lads under their supervision they're able to emphasise the importance of all of this. I do understand that many kids will be coming from homes where diet and exercise may not be high on the agenda, so its incumbent on the club the to emphasise this from pretty much day 1.

* Wayne Rooney, Jermaine Defoe, Leo Messi, are just 3 of thousands of smaller guys who've made a career despite their lack of stature, Neymar is built like a twig too. I'm sure one of the points a poster made on here when we played everton was how hard it was for our players to get guys like Aaron Lennon off the ball.

Point is, there are external factors yes, but once a lad hits 16, he should be able to motivate himself to get bulking up, eating right etc. Whats that saying, you can lead a horse to water but can't make it drink? I think there is a limit to how far the club can actually go without the lads meeting them somewhere in between.

8 hours ago, Locky said:

The treatment Neilson got from our fans was nothing more than utterly cringeworthy. All because of a shan comment he made in an interview about a money spinning replay.

The same people who wanted Neilson gone, are the same people who will be berating Levein. And as previously mentioned, Levein being here as manager, is somewhat linked to the fact these ***** wanted Neilson gone anyway.

For the record, I did suggest us getting Neilson back if Levein didn't fancy this season.

However, 

The style of football played was awful and his attitude towards the derbies and willingness to downplay their importance as a fixture wasn't on. We aren't Celtic or Rangers, we've not got cup after cup to look forward to. Winning the derbies is hugely important for the fans and as a result it should never, ever be a fixture the manager downplays. The inference from his downplaying is that he didn't like/cope the pressure. Thats never a good sign. 

He did have us at the right end of the table to his credit and has been pointed out winning the championship despite the huns and hibs being there at a canter was a massive achievement which shouldn't be understated. We very easily could have pulled a hibs and got stuck. Something happened between winning the championship and actually being promoted which changed the style of football radically to functional but eye bleeding from fast paced and exciting. 

Personally, would love an explanation on how that happened, if it was conscious and what the thinking was

3 hours ago, Poseidon said:

Well, the psychologist confirmed I'm of sound mind but yet here I am still annoyed with Robbie Neilson for a couple of things during his tenure.

Let's start with the Scottish Cup. The fact that we lost a commanding lead against out biggest rivals and then lost the money spinning replay to send us out hurt. It hurt a lot when they went on to win the thing because we knew we were better than them and it shouldn't have happened. It still niggles now that they've won a trophy more recently than us.

Next, Europe. One of the many great things about Hearts IMO was our proud record of never having lost a European tie when we were seeded. We've also had some cracking wins in the 'league' competitions, Basle being a massive highlight of mine when Robbie himself scored that amazing winner. So Birkirkara hurt too. The players and Robbie let us down in that tie and so I'm still a little bit annoyed at him for that too.

The plusses - the Championship season was amazing, never been prouder to be a Hearts fan after the relegation and financial trouble and the way we destroyed the competition that season. Amazing. I was right behind the goals when Ozturk's equalised smashed off the bar and in and it'll be one of my all time favourite celebrations til the day I die no doubt. I thank Robbie for that season and the memories.

Back up in the Premiership it was all going well and that win against Rangers took us up to second, albeit with Aberdeen having a game or two in hand IIRC. But yet he thought a move to MK Dons was better than continuing to manage Hearts?? As has already been covered, he'll never manage a bigger team now that's for sure. If the plane boys got to him that much then that's a shame but surely he was stronger than that and that surely wasn't the reason he actually left. Him leaving Hearts for a diddy team well I'll leave it at that.

So anyway, highs and lows a plenty with Robbie and I'll continue to remember him as I see fit is that's ok with you?

The plane thing wasn't as bad as the Walters bananas game or the sectarian stuff that rears its head now and then, but it's up there (along with the wider Neilson and Levein Oot "campaigns") as something that made me genuinely despise some of my fellow fans.

Neilson and several players have also made comments as well, and there have been 2 or 3 incidences of players' spouses being abused, not to mention many stories about how impatient Tynecastle crowd is these days - which risks it not being the fortress it once was as good opposing managers will try to capitalise on it, as Neilson will I'm sure.

Part of Hibs decline was down to how the Hibs crowd were so nervous and quick to get on the backs of their players. There's a risk of us going that way if some so-called Jambos don't pull themselves together and start backing the team for the full 90 mins no matter who's in charge. Some of the comments fearing a LC game vs Dundee Utd are just embarrassing.

2 minutes ago, OTT said:

For the record, I did suggest us getting Neilson back if Levein didn't fancy this season.

However, 

The style of football played was awful and his attitude towards the derbies and willingness to downplay their importance as a fixture wasn't on. We aren't Celtic or Rangers, we've not got cup after cup to look forward to. Winning the derbies is hugely important for the fans and as a result it should never, ever be a fixture the manager downplays. The inference from his downplaying is that he didn't like/cope the pressure. Thats never a good sign. 

He did have us at the right end of the table to his credit and has been pointed out winning the championship despite the huns and hibs being there at a canter was a massive achievement which shouldn't be understated. We very easily could have pulled a hibs and got stuck. Something happened between winning the championship and actually being promoted which changed the style of football radically to functional but eye bleeding from fast paced and exciting. 

Personally, would love an explanation on how that happened, if it was conscious and what the thinking was

You can trace it back to when we lost Sow and failed to replace him under Neilson, until he got Bjorn Jonsson up to speed and scoring. We didn't have the attacking players so we played a more cautious game IMO, until as I say Bjorn came onto a game. Muirhead started looking useful too, and even Sammon off the bench for cameos. Cathro of course put a stop to that be getting rid of all three players despite the positive signs!

You can criticise Neilson for that and say we should have kept attacking, but personally I think at that stage in our comeback from admin he wanted to pick up points and get us into Europe whatever way he could, partly for financial reasons for the club. Budge probably wanted that too. Our strengths were in defence and midfield so he focused on that. Ironically, when Bjorn and the team started scoring again in his last few games, the defence - which had been mostly very stingy under Neilson - started leaking bad goals.

I doubt we would have lost the cup derby with Sow in the team either.

I agree with Toque

Johnsen was just starting to prove - and has since proven in a better league - that he was a good signing but took a while

to settle

When he left we were just seeing the best of him and Djoum in an attaching sense.

Although not wins I dont see how 3-3 draws or beating Rangers at home

or ripping Motherwell apart can be described as eye-bleeding football.

Seems a bit weird.

On 08/07/2019 at 01:01, FarmerTweedy said:

This is the first post of yours I've seen. It's good that you've made it completely clear in this one post whether you're a complete and utter walloper or not!

:insufferable:

This thread is now ridiculously off topic but anyway.

Let's not pretend, the real reason Neilson got hounded like he did by the plane & banners mob wasn't because of the Hibs cup game or the Birkirkara tie or any other football related issue. It was because he told them to stop being bigots, that's where it started, and it is the reason budge still gets mindless abuse from the mouth breathers now as well.

They are and always will be complete *****.

Edited by Texia

DuncansDoughnuts
1 hour ago, Texia said:

Let's not pretend, the real reason Neilson got hounded like he did by the plane & banners mob wasn't because of the Hibs cup game or the Birkirkara tie or any other football related issue. It was because he told them to stop being bigots, that's where it started, and it is the reason budge still gets mindless abuse from the mouth breathers now as well.

1 hour ago, Texia said:

Well said. 

It’s the Tommy Robinson supporting morons. 

23 hours ago, ToqueJambo said:

You can trace it back to when we lost Sow and failed to replace him under Neilson, until he got Bjorn Jonsson up to speed and scoring. We didn't have the attacking players so we played a more cautious game IMO, until as I say Bjorn came onto a game. Muirhead started looking useful too, and even Sammon off the bench for cameos. Cathro of course put a stop to that be getting rid of all three players despite the positive signs!

You can criticise Neilson for that and say we should have kept attacking, but personally I think at that stage in our comeback from admin he wanted to pick up points and get us into Europe whatever way he could, partly for financial reasons for the club. Budge probably wanted that too. Our strengths were in defence and midfield so he focused on that. Ironically, when Bjorn and the team started scoring again in his last few games, the defence - which had been mostly very stingy under Neilson - started leaking bad goals.

I doubt we would have lost the cup derby with Sow in the team either.

Apologies, meant to respond yesterday. 

Thats a cracking summary. Makes a lot of sense and can see the parallels between Sow and Johnson. Allowing Cathro to do that ran completely contrary to the whole idea of DOF. Annoys me quite a bit since we've taken 2 bloody years to recover.

Was actually going to post this as a thread, but seems unnecessary, Tifo did a really good explanation on what a DOF is supposed to do and I think its worth a watch to better inform folk on what Leveins remit is following the traditional model of what a DOF actually is..

1 hour ago, OTT said:

Thats a cracking summary. Makes a lot of sense and can see the parallels between Sow and Johnson. Allowing Cathro to do that ran completely contrary to the whole idea of DOF. Annoys me quite a bit since we've taken 2 bloody years to recover.

Was actually going to post this as a thread, but seems unnecessary, Tifo did a really good explanation on what a DOF is supposed to do and I think its worth a watch to better inform folk on what Leveins remit is following the traditional model of what a DOF actually is..

Very interesting. I think Levein could be a great DoF if that's his main focus (especially the youth development and coach recruitment side) and in his first couple of seasons did very well working with Neilson. I think he'd made up his mind to bring Cathro in at some stage before Neilson was even our head coach and his stubborn side kicked in when Neilson left. Maybe he wanted to prove everyone wrong or something.

I don't think he did a great job as DoF at all when Cathro was here - very poor in fact in terms of sanctioning that unneeded squad overhaul around January - and Budge was right to make him clean up that mess himself. We've spent a lot of money trying to get back to where Neilson had us in terms a decent, competitive  squad since Cathro left and that really is all down to Levein seemingly giving Cathro complete freedom to recruit as many players he wanted and let go some perfectly decent ones.

It's a shame because despite what the Neilson oot lot say the "football department" was progressing nicely on and off the park under Levein's leadership. Won the championship, back in Europe, challenging at the top end of the table again the next season, plus our recruitment strategy actually worked with bringing in Sow then selling him for a whopping profit.

Mr Elwood P
1 hour ago, OTT said:

I would maybe put that in a thread itself. Very very interesting, although perhaps too highbrow for some of the shallower thinkers amongst the JKB community.

2 hours ago, Mr Elwood P said:

I would maybe put that in a thread itself. Very very interesting, although perhaps too highbrow for some of the shallower thinkers amongst the JKB community.

I think it's worthy of a thread too. Anyhow, Neilson seems to like it and do well when he has a DoF/Sporting Director. He's got one now at D Utd in Tony Ashgar. Like this video says, they don't need to be ex players, etc. His job description:

"Responsible for the clubs sporting performance and guardian of the clubs future. Protecting the investment of the clubs owners and bringing on-field success through effective strategic leadership in the short, medium and long term. Supporting the 1st team and head coach, Identifying and employing the best department heads, creating the clubs culture and DNA across all teams from 1st team to Academy, managing the movement of players in and out of the club, oversee the academy and development pathways, overseeing the training ground and identifying and utilising marginal gains to create an elite sporting organisation culture."

I don't know why anyone would not want a DoF. I like the "guardian of the clubs future" bit.

Mr Elwood P
34 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

I think it's worthy of a thread too. Anyhow, Neilson seems to like it and do well when he has a DoF/Sporting Director. He's got one now at D Utd in Tony Ashgar. Like this video says, they don't need to be ex players, etc. His job description:

"Responsible for the clubs sporting performance and guardian of the clubs future. Protecting the investment of the clubs owners and bringing on-field success through effective strategic leadership in the short, medium and long term. Supporting the 1st team and head coach, Identifying and employing the best department heads, creating the clubs culture and DNA across all teams from 1st team to Academy, managing the movement of players in and out of the club, oversee the academy and development pathways, overseeing the training ground and identifying and utilising marginal gains to create an elite sporting organisation culture."

I don't know why anyone would not want a DoF. I like the "guardian of the clubs future" bit.

I don’t know either. Very interesting that Hearts adopting the DOF model was jumped on by both the east coast and west coast media, yet the fact that Rangers have a DOF seems a point seldom raised!

14 minutes ago, Mr Elwood P said:

I don’t know either. Very interesting that Hearts adopting the DOF model was jumped on by both the east coast and west coast media, yet the fact that Rangers have a DOF seems a point seldom raised!

Celtic too, and they've been signing players who have never spoken to Lennon. Not a peep from the media.

Mr Elwood P
14 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Celtic too, and they've been signing players who have never spoken to Lennon. Not a peep from the media.

Strange that eh?

On 07/07/2019 at 15:01, OTT said:

Its actually a really good article considering the rag which published it.

I don't want to sound negative, but it frustrates me no end quote like this - “He was big on the importance of the gym and that was ideal for me.” Walker had a similar one when he was 20ish about recognising how important diet is (something about still eating sweets all the time).

YOU'RE A PROFESSIONAL ATHLETE GO TO THE ****ING GYM AND EAT RIGHT!!!!!!

I'm not directing that ire at Souttar or Walker, its the education they're receiving and its clearly not been good enough. Perhaps someone who has a keen interest in the youth teams might be able to confirm if the lads are getting a better education on what I would consider professionalism now? (since walker came through pre Levein and Soapy at Utd).

I remember folk making comments about the difference in size (muscle build) between our lads and Man City/ Evertons during the friendlies. Again, they might have better, more skillful players but physicality is something which is completely within our control and not something any of our lads should allow themselves to be second best in. 

Scottish people are desperately stupid when it comes to diet and exercise. You only have to look at the difference between our own skinny little players and proper professional footballers from abroad. Seeing young players up town after a game is horrendous and probably the reason most of them never amount to nothing. Paterson was lucky in that he was born with an African Queens arse then realised he could get properly fit at a young age. 

On 08/07/2019 at 12:16, i8hibsh said:

Safest job in Britain.

Bollocks. 

15 hours ago, Texia said:

So club policy is being dictated by around a dozen teenagers?

1 hour ago, Nookie Bear said:

So club policy is being dictated by around a dozen teenagers?

I'm not sure he said it was and let's be honest they aren't all teenagers (physically at least). 

I think he means the reason Neilson became a target for morons.