Zlamal thug sentenced

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-48855542

150 hours community service and a 12 month football banning order

A Hibs fan who punched Hearts goalkeeper Zdenek Zlamal during a game has been banned from football matches in Scotland for 12 months and ordered to perform 150 hours of unpaid work.

Edward Harrold, 21, from Musselburgh, was found guilty of the attack at Tynecastle Stadium after a trial at Edinburgh Sheriff Court in May.

Sentence had been deferred until Wednesday for reports.

Sheriff Alison Stirling said Harrold had a previous football conviction.

The attack happened during the Edinburgh derby match on 31 October last year.

Head down

In his evidence, Zlamal had told Sheriff Stirling how he had gone to collect the ball after it had gone behind his goal into the Hibs section of the crowd.

He said: "I was going to pick up the ball and throw it back into the game when someone hit me."

Zlamal said he did not see who had hit him, adding: "I couldn't because my head was down.

"My nose was sore, but it was not anything.

"I was looking if there was blood from my nose, but I was not bleeding."

The goalkeeper said he had fallen down because of the shock of being hit and added: "After I checked my nose, I felt fine and got on with the game".

When defence solicitor, Ross Jenkins, asked Zlamal why he had gone back and clapped to the Hibs fans, he replied: "It was the best way to answer the fist, because some people who are hurt punch back, but that is not my way".

Mr Jenkins put it to Zlamal he had been "tapped on the nose and theatrically fell to the ground". The keeper replied: "I never in my life was making it up. I don't like to be pretending to anything".

During the same game, Hibs manager Neil Lennon - now the boss at Celtic - was hit by a coin thrown from the Hearts supporters' section of the stand.

Edited by Footballfirst

Too lenient.,  heavy fine or jail term and life ban from the fitba at a minimum.

11 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

When defence solicitor, Ross Jenkins, asked Zlamal why he had gone back and clapped to the Hibs fans, he replied: "It was the best way to answer the fist, because some people who are hurt punch back, but that is not my way".

Mr Jenkins put it to Zlamal he had been "tapped on the nose and theatrically fell to the ground". The keeper replied: "I never in my life was making it up. I don't like to be pretending to anything".

Desperate defending!

Very surprised he wasn't banned from football matches for longer, particularly as he has a previous football conviction. 

John Wilson was banned for five years. 

So maybe when it's being talked about in the media they can change from "allegedly" and "appeared", or as it's reported in today's Sun, " a Hibs fan infamously aimed a punch at him". 

Eh no, he was bloody hit!! 

14 minutes ago, Jeff said:

First bit of work the guy will have done

He started a new job just before this went to trial and got quickly suspended when they caught wind of it. :) 

Defence lawyers, who would want to be one, or could take it seriously

7 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

Gotta be a lot of money in defending scumbags I'd assume 

8 minutes ago, Thommo414 said:

Gotta be a lot of money in defending scumbags I'd assume 

Somebody has to do it. Not all people charged are actually guilty. 

Just now, davemclaren said:

Its absolutely true Dave and why we need them. I don't know the stats, talking from total ignorance, but I would imagine most of their days are trying to find wild angles for wasters

3 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

And not all the police are corrupt. 

Bull's-eye
14 minutes ago, Prof said:

The scumbag should have been jailed and banned for life by Hibs. 

Your joking.

Should be made to attend Hibs games home and away for the rest of his life.

Just now, leginten said:

150 hours, eh?

I think the judge had a wee smirk when he handed down the sentence. ?

Hold on a wee minute here.

He's been previously banned but when it comes to a high octane Derby game the Hibees say, "Here you go pal. Have a front row seat"

Hibs should come under some scrutiny here surely?

Phil Dunphy

I've met the laddie, I used to coach his little brother at football. Even when he was a little boy, he was a ****ing arsehole. "Look at me!" type of wee prick.

He'll get himself into some proper trouble sometime.

jambogirlglasgow
9 minutes ago, poultry said:

I think the judge had a wee smirk when he handed down the sentence. ?

He??

1 hour ago, Locky said:

He started a new job just before this went to trial and got quickly suspended when they caught wind of it. :) 

kirkierobroy

A previous football offence and he's only banned for 12 months? A shade lenient. Maybe he's a secret Old Firm supporter.

Sentence seems quite lenient considering other sentences given out to other football ned tramps who have done ridiculous things in the past few years. 

1 hour ago, davemclaren said:

Is that you Sir Cliff? ? 

I agree with the poster who said forcing him to watch Hibs every week would have have been a much stricter sentence.

150 hours community service is about right, solicitor probably claimed he is in full time employment 

12 months ban seems very light, hopefully Hearts ban him from Tynecastle for longer 

Being banned from watching Hibs for 12 months. That's like a reward.

What's the community service gonna be? Ice cream tasting at Luqa's

Couldn't care less about the community service but a years ban for attacking a player ffs :laugh:

Examples need to be made of these arseholes, including any of our own fans caught lobbing coins or doing similar.  

Radio Ga Ga
1 hour ago, Sir Gio said:

Try and get hold of the book Defending the Defenceless, a real eye opener

No idea here but in reality what do these football bans mean?  How are they no monitored?  If a mate of somebody who has been banned buys a ticket for a game what is to stop the banned guys using them?  Always wondered.

1 minute ago, joondalupjambo said:

No idea here but in reality what do these football bans mean?  How are they no monitored?  If a mate of somebody who has been banned buys a ticket for a game what is to stop the banned guys using them?  Always wondered.

They may have to report to a police station when matches are on. 

Just now, iainmac said:

They may have to report to a police station when matches are on. 

There are still Police stations? :)

Just now, joondalupjambo said:

There are still Police stations? :)

Well, there's at least one! Maybe a case of

"stand in front of that CCTV camera and don't move for 90m" ? 

1 minute ago, iainmac said:

Well, there's at least one! Maybe a case of

"stand in front of that CCTV camera and don't move for 90m" ? 

They would not tag them would they?

Always the young guy or the wee guy and sometimes both.

I wish nothing but an eternity of pain and misery for this lowlife piece of filth.

****ing sewer rat!

jambogirlglasgow
32 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

They are difficult to monitor but if found to have breached it then custody likely as it’s a blatant breach of a court order. 

Hibee that pushed Rangers player Tavernier = 100 days in jail

Hibee that punched Hearts player Zamal = 150 hours community service

Zero consistency in the justice system.

:wtf:

Stephen Muddie
32 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

Always the young guy or the wee guy and sometimes both.

I wish nothing but an eternity of pain and misery for this lowlife piece of filth.

****ing sewer rat!

Unless it's the tall guy or the adult guy or in Jungle John's case... both

WheatfieldWarrior
2 hours ago, kirkierobroy said:

A previous football offence and he's only banned for 12 months? A shade lenient. Maybe he's a secret Old Firm supporter.

The length of the banning order does seem a bit short - I'd be looking for at least 10 years.

If it was a hearts fan committing the offence I'd be looking for the same.

WheatfieldWarrior
45 minutes ago, Cade said:

Hibee that pushed Rangers player Tavernier = 100 days in jail

Hibee that punched Hearts player Zamal = 150 hours community service

Zero consistency in the justice system.

:wtf:

Agree, I think the offences are broadly comparable.

jambogirlglasgow
8 minutes ago, WheatfieldWarrior said:

The length of the banning order does seem a bit short - I'd be looking for at least 10 years.

If it was a hearts fan committing the offence I'd be looking for the same.

5  years is the maximum if no custodial sentence imposed.