Toe punts?

Not enough toe punts in today's game. 

Dieing art or good riddince? 

Imo, the toe punt is a underutilised weapon. 

Bobby - Berra (punt) - bounce of Uche's head- Washington toe punt. 

:glorious:

washniklaw

I’m a fan of these as you can generate decent power very quickly before a keeper ‘sets’ himself. Romario made a career out of that type of finish.

I also believe that nutmegs are shockingly overrated by almost everyone.

Prefer no nonsense/efficient  football.

3 minutes ago, andfultons baggio said:

David Narey vs Brazil!

Great memories think alike, was just about to post this ?

52 minutes ago, jr ewing said:

We called it a toe bash.

2 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

Toe poke

Close thread.

Fair doos

Toe bash

Tae poke 

Tae bash

Toe poke 

Toe/ tae punt 

Toey. 

All the same, Surley? 

Think a good old tae bash is under utilised tho. 

24 minutes ago, washniklaw said:

I’m a fan of these as you can generate decent power very quickly before a keeper ‘sets’ himself. Romario made a career out of that type of finish.

I agree, although I think  a nutmeg finish v the keeper is actually under rated, I think strikers look for it more than they  get credit for. 

Edited by Olly Lee's left boot

Jambo, Goodbye

Is that how Drew Busby used to smash them in, or did he stick is laces through it?

6 hours ago, Olly Lee's left boot said:

Toe punt? You just made that up. It's basher or poke in England. Toe punt. :D

All the better wi a float away baw, great when I was a kid , keeper never knew where it was going, in fact nae body knew where it was going ??

7 hours ago, washniklaw said:

Or 'megs as they now seem to be called. They certianly seem to have become a 'thing' these days that they never used to be. Some of the clips you see online of training sessions where someone nutmegs another are cringeworthy with the whooping, screaching and that moronic high pitched laughing that young men have to do these days.

7 hours ago, i8hibsh said:

Toe poke

Close thread.

Nope. Toe poke is the more subtle technique (like Romario used frequently). A tae punt is the more aggressive form where the ball shoots off and often doesn't have any revolutions. A great weapon for anyone who used to play 'long bangers'. ? 

Never did understand the snobbery around these. Remember scoring a penalty at school and being mocked by the keeper for “toe bashing” it......before he turned around to pick the ball out the net. 

Weird. 

1 hour ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Nope. Toe poke is the more subtle technique (like Romario used frequently). A tae punt is the more aggressive form where the ball shoots off and often doesn't have any revolutions. A great weapon for anyone who used to play 'long bangers'. ? 

Well clarified. 

If you got hit by a toe punt you knew all about it. 

Toe poke, not so much. 

9 hours ago, jr ewing said:

We called it a toe bash.

Something forwards should adopt when in the box, a good toe bash will find the net, when placing it gives the keeper time.

Toe Bash. Shortened to TB. 

Nae Moochin 

Nae TB's 

5 minutes ago, Salad Fingers said:

Toe Bash. Shortened to TB. 

Nae Moochin 

Nae TB's 

Or TP for toe punt.....

Sub4TiddlerMurray

9 hours ago, Olly Lee's left boot said:

Fair doos

Toe bash

Tae poke 

Tae bash

Toe poke 

Toe/ tae punt 

Toey. 

All the same, Surley? 

WRONG WRONG WRONG!!!

39 minutes ago, Olly Lee's left boot said:

Well clarified. 

If you got hit by a toe punt you knew all about it. 

Toe poke, not so much. 

WHAT THE ACTUAL!!??

....there’s no such thing as a toe punt!!! There’s only two things:

...as pointed out by a few ITK folk above

1. Toe poke: to get a toe on the ball during a stramash in order to nudge over the line

2. Toe bash: to scud the ball full pelt with yer toe, giving it the full Ernie Winchester

anything else is just made up nonsense by the snowflake brigade 

AlimOzturk
4 hours ago, Sub4TiddlerMurray said:

WRONG WRONG WRONG!!!

WHAT THE ACTUAL!!??

1. Toe poke: to get a toe on the ball during a stramash in order to nudge over the line

2. Toe bash: to scud the ball full pelt with yer toe, giving it the full Ernie Winchester

I always referred to a toe punt as a punt up the field with the toes or "punting" it to a different a person. A toe bash is a shot at goal

Jamboelite
15 hours ago, Olly Lee's left boot said:

Toe punts/Toe bash if done well is a skill, my mate used to be superb at them when he didn't have time or space.

Edited by Jamboelite

Frowned upon when I was a kid. The other 45 players on the pitch, including the 2 backyanne goalies, would accuse you of being a shite footballer for resorting to the toebash. You had to pick up your goalpost jumper and go home.

13 hours ago, Superunknown said:

Toe poke nutmeg 

Was James Mcpake one of the worst central defenders of all time? 

Used to always toe-blast a penalty, when I got to hit one. 100% record over 20 years in the amateur game.

Only ever hit one.

edit: In Glasgow it's given the correct term of TOE-BLAST

Edited by OmiyaHearts

6 hours ago, Sub4TiddlerMurray said:

WRONG WRONG WRONG!!!

WHAT THE ACTUAL!!??

Aye, I agree toe poke was a a wee nudge. 

A toe bash is  full rocket mode. 

18 hours ago, The White Cockade said:

Aye toe bashers we called them in Gracie 

Toe bash in Royston/West Pilton too.

sidjamesbottle
18 hours ago, Olly Lee's left boot said:

Fair doos

Toe bash

Tae poke 

Tae bash

Toe poke 

Toe/ tae punt 

Toey. 

All the same, Surley? 

It was a tae banger as a youngster from Granton

7 minutes ago, The White Cockade said:

Anybody play miss a kicky against a wall 

Aye I mentioned it in another thread. One ball, a wall and as many players as wanted to play. Either one or two touches and you had to hit the wall. Failure to do so you were oot.

We called it shapes.

6 hours ago, TheStig said:

We called it a tammy tae punt. No idea why

We called it a Todd Landers ?

purely cos one episode of neighbours back in the late 80’s a character was playing ‘soccer’ and all he done was toe bash/poke it

2 minutes ago, been here before said:

Aye I mentioned it in another thread. One ball, a wall and as many players as wanted to play. Either one or two touches and you had to hit the wall. Failure to do so you were oot.

We called it shapes.

Shapes....blast from the past that ?

45 minutes ago, been here before said:

We called it shapes.

We just called it miss a kicky

one touch only

On 02/07/2019 at 22:39, kila said:

Great for penalties when I was a kid. If I don’t even know where it is going, keeper certainly doesn’t!

Laughed out loud at this.

I still get a couple toe punts in during my weekly 5s.

Is there no way we could organise a long bangers competition somehow or other at Tynecastle?

Id be up for that*

Make it a charity thing, Big Hearts or something. We could lob in a few shekels to enter...

*Ive had a drink! ?

24 minutes ago, been here before said:

Is there no way we could organise a long bangers competition somehow or other at Tynecastle?

Id be up for that*

Make it a charity thing, Big Hearts or something. We could lob in a few shekels to enter...

*Ive had a drink! ?

Be a recruitment open day.