• Lord Beni of Gorgie

9 minutes ago, 19/05/2012 said:

Any chance Washington will be playing or do we think it will be too soon

Joins us July 1st,  so no

1 minute ago, letsalldothebeattie said:

Trialist? 

Doubt it will happen this week. Hope so. Just can't see it. 

3 hours ago, 19/05/2012 said:

Any chance Washington will be playing or do we think it will be too soon

No he's injured out for the season

Hungry hippo
2 hours ago, letsalldothebeattie said:

Trialist? 

Don't think he would be allowed if he's still under contract at Sheff Utd until June 30th.

2 hours ago, daveyhmfc said:

Any  cheap ways of getting to Arbroath? The trains are too expensive.

Megabus to Dundee then lots of buses between Dundee and Arbroath .buses every few minutes between Dundee and Arbroath

Looking forward to a wee day out tomorrow, my wife's coming with me to the game. We''ll get a bite to eat somewhere, a pint or two and then along to the game. The handy thing in Arbroath is that everything's in walking distance of everything else, so get the car parked up for the day when you arrive, and leave it 'til you're ready to head home. 'Mon The Hearts !.

1 hour ago, Forza Cuore said:

10.30 train up. Spot of (liquid) lunch, match, pint, down the road.

Any half decent pubs in Arbroath?

The Westport Bar right next to the station is not too bad, Tutties Neuk is right across from the ground, and the Old Brewhouse up on the eastern side of the marina has tables outside. Nice wee place, Arbroath. 

Forza Cuore
6 minutes ago, August Landmesser said:

The Westport Bar right next to the station is not too bad, Tutties Neuk is right across from the ground, and the Old Brewhouse up on the eastern side of the marina has tables outside. Nice wee place, Arbroath. 

Thanks mate. Looking forward to it...hopefully only need the 3 layers of clothing as well haha

4 hours ago, Forza Cuore said:

10.30 train up. Spot of (liquid) lunch, match, pint, down the road.

Any half decent pubs in Arbroath?

Central Bar is "interesting" if you're a fan of Star Wars. ?

2 hours ago, iainmac said:

Central Bar is "interesting" if you're a fan of Star Wars. ?

I know the smoke haddock but do they also chew baccy?

Last time I was there was in the late seventies round about Christmas time. We won 7-0 with the buzzbomb and Willie Gibson each getting a hat-trick. Something sticks in my mind about a special prize going to those that scored 3 - was it bottles/cases of plonk? Maybe someone with a better memory can shed some light on that? Anyway, I'd settle for a two or three goal win tomorrow.

Edited by JohnB

26 minutes ago, Tasavallan said:

I know the smoke haddock but do they also chew baccy?

I think the women in there do. 

24/7 karaoke! 

Blackshades
25 minutes ago, HighTimes said:

Anyone suggest best place to park near the ground?

If it's a hot sunny day parking in that bit of Arbroath is near impossible as near beach and play areas.

28 minutes ago, JohnB said:

Last time I was there was in the late seventies round about Christmas time. We won 7-0 with the buzzbomb and Willie Gibson each getting a hat-trick. Something sticks in my mind about a special prize going to those that scored 3 - was it bottles/cases of plonk? Maybe someone with a better memory can shed some light on that? Anyway, I'd settle for a two or three goal win tomorrow.

Big bottle of whisky iirc. 

grumpy rebus
3 hours ago, JohnB said:

I was there and think it was a case of champers. 

And I think Eamonn Bannon scored a hat trick about a week later. (against Killie I think) 

That season we also won 1-0 there on the last day of the season to clinch promotion. 

2 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Very young squad travelling tomorrow   

Any news on who?

andythejambo
3 hours ago, JohnB said:

It was a case of Bell's whisky for any hat-trick. Bell's were the sponsors of the league back then.

22 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Wee Hickey?  Think he turns 17 next month.

21 hours ago, scabber said:

Megabus to Dundee then lots of buses between Dundee and Arbroath .buses every few minutes between Dundee and Arbroath

73 from the town takes you to Arbroath. 

Looking forward to it tomorrow should be a decent run out for the side as Arbroath done well last season. 

3-0 the JTs.

I was chatting to a boy at work about how we were both at the promotion winning game at Gayfield back in 70's 75/76 was it?74/75?. Anyway he hits me with this nugget. "Aye, I was at that game, he says." One o ma mates got lifted for hitting a polis dug in the puss wi a pie". Brilliant, them were the days. 

No animals were harmed in the making of this post.

3 hours ago, soonbe110 said:

wouldn't surprise me as the first Irish game is on Monday.

3 hours ago, Kiwidoug said:

Wee Hickey?  Think he turns 17 next month.

Think he will be going to Ireland not Arbroath. 

Blackshades
28 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Number of u17/18’s 

If it was to be all kids. it would be a hearts X1 and not made out to be a first team game.

28 minutes ago, Blackshades said:

If it was to be all kids. it would be a hearts X1 and not made out to be a first team game.

Who said it was all kids? 

3 hours ago, soonbe110 said:

Number of u17/18’s 

When does the team head to Ireland? Thought this would be a kickabout for a bunch of the older guys before they head off.

7 hours ago, soonbe110 said:

You did make it out that it was going to be a game full of kids .

Edited by scabber

Heading up for this one today with the daughter and grand daughter. Was hoping to chill out in the back garden but champing at the bit to see the famous today 

1 hour ago, scabber said:

You did make it out that it was going to be a game full of kids .

Just said it was a young squad. 

WheatfieldWarrior

We're travelling up on the train, for the for this one, I hope the young squad gives a good account of themselves.  Great to get the games started again.

Jay sandison has been promoted to the first team squad for this one. Can’t wait to see him get his first start as I have been watching him play since he was six. 

20 hours ago, HighTimes said:

Anyone suggest best place to park near the ground?

There’s a car park right outside. If you get there early you’ll be fine. Failing that there’s houses and flats right opposite the ground, parking is free around there.