Conor Washington signs for Hearts ( updated )

• Replies 860

• Mr Elwood P

• Geoff Kilpatrick

• Absolute Scenes

Not to tempt fate, but Chris Halkett, Conor Washington, Steven Naismith and Jamie Walker for free or Christian Doidge for 350,000? Tough call.

9 minutes ago, tartofmidlothian said:

I missed the line about Jamie Walker at the end of that report as well. It says he was back in training with Wigan yesterday, but he's expected to sort out his release and join us before the Ireland trip.

15 minutes ago, NB GIN said:

Dont know much about him but 16 appearances last year 0goals 

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conor_Washington

Cool. I suppose his knees being wrecked or some mysterious pelvic issue thats kept him sidelined for the last 18 months is too much to ask for.

Ragin'

Nae bother our medical and back room team will soon have him out for 8 months.

Am I doing this right?

7 minutes ago, Barack said:

Sorry...

YouTube. You tube!

(not meaning to sound so offensive, always loved how that massive media format doesn't really translate in Scottish slang).

Its like Vanecek all over again. YouTube highlights amazing but ...

Sincerely hope he does well well if he signs.

Brighton Jambo
2 minutes ago, Natural Orders said:

Sounds like our type of striker 

I’m going to assume given your post count this is very dry humour.

if however you are seriously questioning the logic of signing such as this give yourself a massive slap 

Don’t know a huge amount about him, but he’s played a lot of games in the English Championship for big clubs over the last 4 seasons and is a current international, so sounds like and excellent signing.

Don’t see how anyone could be negative about this if it goes through.

5 minutes ago, adayinmay said:

(not meaning to sound so offensive, always loved how that massive media format doesn't really translate in Scottish slang).

It does if you use the right slang word...

Choob

2 minutes ago, Barack said:

Hi, Welcome to Jambos Kickback.

You must be new here...

FarmerTweedy
9 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

I’m going to assume given your post count this is very dry humour.

if however you are seriously questioning the logic of signing such as this give yourself a massive slap 

He's better known as QuestionMarkInHamilton!

13 minutes ago, adayinmay said:

YouTube. You tube!

Its like Vanecek all over again. YouTube highlights amazing but ...

Sincerely hope he does well well if he signs.

He's been a regular for Northern Ireland over the past 5 years, playing out wide and as an out and out striker. Exactly what we need.

Mr Elwood P
24 minutes ago, Barack said:

Sorry...

Nah we're not wanting any of that down at Tynecastle, thank you very much.

1 minute ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Conor Washington >>>>> Jamie Walker

I would be very happy with this.

Is one not a striker and one a midfielder? Why not both?

1 minute ago, ToqueJambo said:

Is one not a striker and one a midfielder? Why not both?

Washington can play wide as well as playing up front. Walker's days of playing in wider areas are gone and playing off the striker is Naismith's remit. I doubt Walker would be happy being paid as a back-up so to me he would be an expensive sub (if fit).

Mr Elwood P
4 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Conor Washington >>>>> Jamie Walker

I would be very happy with this.

More likely Walker passing the ball to Washington.

One can only assume we are working through the Wyscout network alphabetically. We've just had V for Vanacek and now we're into W territory with Walker & Washington!

Just now, Mr Elwood P said:

One can only assume we are working through the Wyscout network alphabetically. We've just had V for Vanacek and now we're into W territory with Walker & Washington!

I think we are working through the MacPhee Northern Ireland contact network with Washington. Its been decent so far.

I’m sure O’Neill rates him higher than Lafferty.

Would be an excellent signing.

Mr Elwood P
Just now, Barack said:

We've had Zeefuik though...

Aye that was the end of the last cycle of duds. We've come full circle now, allegedly!

Just now, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Washington can play wide as well as playing up front. Walker's days of playing in wider areas are gone and playing off the striker is Naismith's remit. I doubt Walker would be happy being paid as a back-up so to me he would be an expensive sub (if fit).

JW is an attacking midfielder - his wider area days were mostly gone even when he was playing well for us. I don't see him and Washington competing position-wise at all or style of play wise either. Washington seems to be a striker.

2 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

JW is an attacking midfielder - his wider area days were mostly gone even when he was playing well for us. I don't see him and Washington competing position-wise at all or style of play wise either. Washington seems to be a striker.

Steven Naismith is an attacking midfielder.

Steven Naismith >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Jamie Walker

4 minutes ago, Mr Elwood P said:

I think we could only afford to pay for access to half the alphabet :( (filtered for players over 6' with injury problems) Levein oot!

4 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

I like having a squad of good players personally, to cover for injuries and things. Anyhow, I'm sure none of our players will get injured next season, especially not Naismith.

Opshuns:

Uche/Washington

Naismith/Mulraney   Clare/Naismith   Walker/Washington

Haring   Djoum/Cochrane

Hickey/White   Berra/Halkett   Souttar   Smith/Brandon

Zlamal

Mr Elwood P
2 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Aye but they are only gonna manage 5 games each as their collective knees are made of glass so we need another 6 similar attacking midfielders to cover all the league matches. 5 if we include Clare. He might stretch to 10 games.

Edited by Mr Elwood P

Just now, Mr Elwood P said:

Aye but they are only gonna manage 5 games each as their collective knees are made of glass so we need another 6 similar attack midfielders to cover all the league matches. 5 if we include Clare. He might stretch to 10 games.

Absolutely.

Hands up when you get things wrong.........so hands up but there you go.

Anyway this will be confirmed on Thursday

Mr Elwood P
1 minute ago, Notts1874 said:

Hands up when you get things wrong.........so hands up but there you go.

Anyway this will be confirmed on Thursday

ITK?

This definitely the window cleaner spotted at Edinburgh airport on route to Magaluf then? 

Just now, Barack said:

Changed the game with his running & goal recently, against the Estonians.

He wouldn't just be sat around the penalty box, put it that way.

Correct. A rarity these days in that he is a player who wants to take opponents on. He could be a great foil for Uche or could easily swap in a flexible formation with Naismith who likes to drift in from the left.

His record is just okay as a striker

He got a big move in 2016 and it did not seem to work out nor his move to Sheffield United last season so he still has things to prove

Our Assistant Manager has seen him at close quarters so you'd like to think we have a pretty good idea of his talents but it's the type of signing you hope will work out.

I'd imagine his wages will be pretty high at our level so lets look on the positive side and be happy we have boosted the squad in one of the areas that needed some improvement