AFCON

7 hours ago, Cade said:

AFCON is getting worse each time out.

The standard of play is awful and there is always, always back-room drama with at least one nation about money, contracts, player strikes, no-shows and other such nonsense.

40% of each match is diving, 40% is brutal two-footed lunges, 10% is moaning at the ref and 10% playing football.

Attendances are pitiful, but that can partly put down to security concerns keeping punters away as well as high costs of travel.

It's a bloody awful tournament these days.

Started early this year:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/48761790

"Nigeria's players are in dispute with the country's football federation in the build-up to their Africa Cup of Nations match against Guinea." 

Literally 1 game in. Shambles :lol:

• Replies 102

• Lovecraft

• Lord Beni of Gorgie

• Cade

• Inch Hearts

10 hours ago, Mr Elwood P said:

Thought that was some awful racist humour, was ready to come

flying in with a two footed lunge. Turns out that’s the lads actual name! 

Don't do that shit Elwood. What a wonderful name Yaya Banana 

6 hours ago, tian447 said:

Started early this year:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/48761790

"Nigeria's players are in dispute with the country's football federation in the build-up to their Africa Cup of Nations match against Guinea." 

Literally 1 game in. Shambles :lol:

Wouldn't be AFCON if Nigeria weren't trying to steal money.

13 minutes ago, RobboM said:

Cameroon v Ghana on live atm. Eurosport 1 (ignore the listings)

Don't see Djoum starting or even quoted on the bench.

on bbc he is not listed in starting 11 or bench

4 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

Obviously he's being disciplined for trying to get back for the friendly at Arbroath ?

1 hour ago, RobboM said:

Cameroon v Ghana on live atm. Eurosport 1 (ignore the listings)

Don't see Djoum starting or even quoted on the bench.

No word of him being injured. Maybe something or being rested. 

We get money for him appearing in these games I think. 

Presumably picked up an injury in the first match hence the substitution 

17 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

We get money for him appearing in these games I think. 

Presumably picked up an injury in the first match hence the substitution 

Not now.  Pretty sure his contract has actually expired.

5 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

I'm pretty certain Aberdeen picked up money for a player in Euro 16 that was out of contract. 

Whether Afcon pay out I have no idea 

38 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

I doubt it has anything to do with his contract, but instead with who holds the player’s permanent registration, which we still will until we release him (which we have not yet). In any case, good chance his contract ends 30 June, given that seems to be the arbitrary date many contracts end on. 

On 26/06/2019 at 10:07, HotelMikeFoxtrotCharlie said:

Terrible tournament, why is the quality of african keeper generally so poor?

It's the defenders too. Unless they were brought up and trained in France but chose to play for an African country they are more atheletes than defenders...We've experienced that ourselves in last 10 years...I reckon kids football is still laregely the old 100 kids chasing a ball way.

15 hours ago, milky_26 said:

Oh dear. Back to Hearts for a cushy wee number it is then. Hope  CL has sailed that ship wi JW.

1 hour ago, milky_26 said:

madagascar 2-0 up on nigeria

They like to move it, move it.

The Nigerians obviously had cash on a 2-0 win for Madagascar.

Wouldn't be surprised to see it in the news soon.

Djoum starts for Cameroon. I only caught the last couple of minutes of the first half and he's been booked.

HT Benin 0-0 Cameroon

heartmussel
3 minutes ago, RobboM said:

Djoum subbed after 66 mins. Can't tell you how he played coz I was watching the cricket ?

Certainly wouldn’t have impressed any interested parties.

40 minutes ago, RobboM said:

Djoum subbed after 66 mins. Can't tell you how he played coz I was watching the cricket ?

And me. Plucky Bangladesh. 

Booked Hooked and through.  To be honest he will be ****ed for months. About turn from me. Time for a change 

42 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

Booked Hooked and through.  To be honest he will be ****ed for months. About turn from me. Time for a change 

Yep.  Playing against the mighty Benin in a pish Cameroon team that everyone seems to think is a big deal.

Edited by Lovecraft

4 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

Yep.  Playing against the mighty Benin in a pish Cameroon team that everyone seems to think is a big deal.

Another game where the result suited both teams. Both qualified. 

1 hour ago, Sir Gio said:

He should have sorted our his future before going. He's probably worried about getting an injury and being left in the lurch.

4 minutes ago, tcjambo said:

He should have sorted our his future before going. He's probably worried about getting an injury and being left in the lurch.

He won't be back until August probably now. A few weeks fitness work. September probably before back. This is of course with him making a prompt decision. 

3 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

He won't be back until August probably now. A few weeks fitness work. September probably before back. This is of course with him making a prompt decision. 

i still prefer him to come back. We can shift Clare central and also play Walker in the number 10 slot. That leaves the right wing to be filled. Not too upset if Lee leaves although he's a better player than some acknowledge.

Edited by tcjambo

Have given Djoum too much leeway with this contract. 

Should have had a cut off date for him to make his mind up and not leave us  short if he moves quite late in the window. 

On 29/06/2019 at 21:29, Sir Gio said:

I'm pretty certain Aberdeen picked up money for a player in Euro 16 that was out of contract. 

Whether Afcon pay out I have no idea 

Not totally sure its ethical to be taking money out of africa tbh

41 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

Djoum is taking the piss out of Levein.

Hardly. Is it not pretty clear he’s going to make his decision after this tournament? If Hearts want to revoke the offer made to him, that’s up to the club. Everyone who matters is pretty clear on the decision timeline, and no piss being taken. 

Uganda now on strike from training after a pay dispute. 

Nothing like the pride of playing for your country, eh? :lol:

On 25/06/2019 at 18:30, Cade said:

there is always, always back-room drama with at least one nation about money, contracts, player strikes, no-shows and other such nonsense.

:greggy:

Cameroon/Nigeria is a not terrible game to be fair.

Nigeria led early on then Cameroon hit back with a quick-fire double and Nigeria have just done their own quick-fire double to lead 3-2 just after the hour mark!

:scenes:

Tunisia: Miss a penalty

Tunisian keeper: Makes excellent penalty save.

Also Tunisian keeper: Punches ball against one of his own defenders, resulting in an own goal. This will end up being the winner.

Football is a cruel mistress.

2 minutes ago, Cade said:

Tunisia: Miss a penalty

Tunisian keeper: Makes excellent penalty save.

Also Tunisian keeper: Punches ball against one of his own defenders, resulting in an own goal. This will end up being the winner.

Football is a cruel mistress.

VAR strikes again with penalty given then ref decides to look again after 2 minutes then changes his mind....Senegal hold on but....

1 minute ago, CJGJ said:

VAR strikes again with penalty given then ref decides to look again after 2 minutes then changes his mind....Senegal hold on but....

AT least he got the right decision in the end.

It was 100% a header and not a handball.

VAR almost always gets the right decision but it needs to be seriously streamlined and handled much faster.

Final tonight

Reckon Algeria will win it, they've been by far the best and most consistent team in the tournament.

Not sure if Senegal have what it takes.

Algeria already beat them 1-0 way back in the group stage.