4 players required

NB GIN

6 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

Lots of people hide behind the first ten games instead of facing up to the reality that since the end of October our form was relegation form.  We got pumped 5-0 off Livi ffs. 

Some people probably do. However, a lot of it will be frustration as it shows what we’re capable of.

• Replies 117

• Inch Hearts

• Robbo-Jambo

• JamboAl

• iantjambo

13 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

You obviously didn’t see Rafal Grzelak then.

Don't...his game against Rangers at Murrayfield  :facepalm:

Inch Hearts
7 minutes ago, JamboAl said:

That was about the time the multiple serious injuries to key players.

Hardly a coincidence.

Injuries or not you don’t get dicked 5-0 to Livi. 

4 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

Almost a year to the day when we beat Celtic 4-0.

These footballing anomalies happen from time to time.

11 hours ago, NB GIN said:

Don’t think we are a million miles away from a decent team 

striker that can score goals doesn’t have to be 6 feet plus 

2 decent footballers in the middle of the park 

good winger direct player 

With what we have at the club Naismith returning we won’t be far away 

hopefully he just doesn’t sign players because they are tall we need skill and pace not height 

We are deluded if we think this is going to happen. We are dealing in the free transfer market and quality is at a premium. All the indications are that we are going for big powerful athletes rather than an emphasis on skill & pace. I am reluctant to place too much hope on Naismith. I believe he will sign but given his recent injury history the likelihood is that he will spend a bit of time on the treatment table. Hope I am very wrong on all these counts.

3 hours ago, Selkirkhmfc1874 said:

Need new number 1, striker+Naismith, winger and midfield playmaker at the very least in my opinion 

That is the correct answer.

They are the actual priorities.

9 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

As I said that was around the time serious injuries started to kick in, 5-0 or no 5-0.

Inch Hearts
Just now, iantjambo said:

Almost a year to the day when we beat Celtic 4-0.

These footballing anomalies happen from time to time.

While true we also got pumped 5-0 to Celtic the month before Livi, in between was a 2-0 shambles in Paisley, then lost to Dundee at home.

2 minutes ago, Robbo-Jambo said:

That is the correct answer.

They are the actual priorities.

I think we need another LB as well. Even on loan or one year deal. Garuccio out long term and Aidy White is obviously injury prone. I don’t want us to have to rely on young Hickey too much.

Inch Hearts
Just now, JamboAl said:

As I said that was around the time serious injuries started to kick in, 5-0 or no 5-0.

Will you ever stop hiding behind injuries Al?  Look at the teams that night, look where Livingston had came from.  Injuries or not we should never lose 5-0 to a club the size of Livi with the players we had to theirs.  Lithgow and Robinson played that night for them ffs. 

Inch Hearts
Just now, iantjambo said:

I think we need another LB as well. Even on loan or one year deal. Garuccio out long term and Aidy White is obviously injury prone. I don’t want us to have to rely on young Hickey too much.

White needs a fair chance regardless of injuries regardless of any apprehensions surrounding him being good enough after injuries to compete at our level. 

2 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

Will you ever stop hiding behind injuries Al?  Look at the teams that night, look where Livingston had came from.  Injuries or not we should never lose 5-0 to a club the size of Livi with the players we had to theirs.  Lithgow and Robinson played that night for them ffs. 

Will you ever stop insisting that injuries did not disrupt our season and can you stop infesting every thread with your theories about last season.

The thread is about players required and the very title means the future..

Now please give it up and try to take things forward in a positive manner.

In terms of players what do you think is required?

7 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

White needs a fair chance regardless of injuries regardless of any apprehensions surrounding him being good enough after injuries to compete at our level. 

Of course he does but we can’t ignore the fact that he’s injury prone and we need to make sure we have adequate cover.

11 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

That is very true.

I believe the first four postions quoted in Selkirks post are the main priorties to fill first though.

Inch Hearts
6 minutes ago, JamboAl said:

Will you ever stop insisting that injuries did not disrupt our season and can you stop infesting every thread with your theories about last season.

The thread is about players required and the very title means the future..

Now please give it up and try to take things forward in a positive manner.

In terms of players what do you think is required?

I’ve never once said injuries didn’t disrupt the season.  It was still a shambles regardless of injuries and Livi was humiliating when player for player even on that night our team should have been far superior.  You have to look at the context of why I mentioned that game.

In terms of players I think we need a left back to cover for another gamble we signed.  Two midfielders including a creative player and a winger if we are playing big guys up top and two forwards.  Then pray to god Naismith keeps fit.  Bryson would have been ideal with his experience engine and footballing abilities.  

Inch Hearts
7 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

Of course he does but we can’t ignore the fact that he’s injury prone and we need to make sure we have adequate cover.

Yeah I agree and past history suggests that it won’t work out anyway. 

2 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

I’ve never once said injuries didn’t disrupt the season.  It was still a shambles regardless of injuries and Livi was humiliating when player for player even on that night our team should have been far superior.  You have to look at the context of why I mentioned that game.

In terms of players I think we need a left back to cover for another gamble we signed.  Two midfielders including a creative player and a winger if we are playing big guys up top and two forwards.  Then pray to god Naismith keeps fit.  Bryson would have been ideal with his experience engine and footballing abilities.  

Even looking forward you can't resist a negative.

IMO left back is nowhere near the problem it has been of late.  In addition to White, we now have Hickey although we must guard against over exposing him and Burns can provide cover at LB as indeed Brandon can.  With Halkett arriving we can also play 3 at the back if desired and play with wing backs.  Ultimately how much cover we have for each and every position will depend on the finance available

Inch Hearts
2 minutes ago, JamboAl said:

Even looking forward you can't resist a negative.

IMO left back is nowhere near the problem it has been of late.  In addition to White, we now have Hickey although we must guard against over exposing him and Burns can provide cover at LB as indeed Brandon can.  With Halkett arriving we can also play 3 at the back if desired and play with wing backs.  Ultimately how much cover we have for each and every position will depend on the finance available

We don’t need cover for left back or a youngster playing there regularly we need a fit ready to go left back.  You blame injuries for everything then talk about other players covering and playing the dire three at the back which means Mulraney is wasted at times too.   We don’t need a midfielder covering at left back, it leads to losing to Dundee and Livingston (heavily).  

What dig?  It’s a fact the player is a massive gamble isn’t it? 

Edited by Inch Hearts

9 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

We don’t need cover for left back or a youngster playing there regularly we need a fit ready to go left back.  You blame injuries for everything then talk about other players covering and playing the dire three at the back which means Mulraney is wasted at times too.   We don’t need a midfielder covering at left back, it leads to losing to Dundee and Livingston (heavily).  

What dig?  It’s a fact the player is a massive gamble isn’t it? 

If you say so.

Captain Bubblebeard

Striker, winger/wide player, creative midfielder, keeper, strong cover for RB/someone to compete with Smith would be my preferences.

That would assume one/both of Godinho/Brandon leaving (neither Good enough imo), Lee and/or Djoum leaving, Keena able to chip in through the season and White being first team ready/standard. All quite big ifs. If Lee and Djoum both leave then a further, mobile centre mid also needed.

First XI

New Keeper

Smith

White

Berra

Souttar

Halkett

Haring

New Creative Mid

Naismith

New Wide Player/Mulraney

Uche

with backup/rotation of

Bobby - GK

New RB - RB

Hickey/Garuccio - LB

Clevid - CB

Bozanic - DM

Clare/Cochrane - CM

Mulraney/C Smith/MacDonald - AM

New striker/Keena - striker

I’m sure I’m missing a couple of obvious names there - the likes of Irving hopefully also stepping up and contributing too.

Even with the above though, a couple of key medium/long term injuries again and we’re back down to relying on developing players to step up and hit the ground running.

2 minutes ago, Section Q said:

How many clubs have had a left back problem for five years.....?

I'd say at least Hamilton... 

Sowah (do) left them to join us then rejoined them again. 

Inch Hearts
7 minutes ago, JamboAl said:

If you say so.

Okay, an established fit and healthy left back shouldn’t be a priority. Let’s stick midfielders there and hope for the best ?

sandylejambo

Does anyone else think that Levein is waiting for the transfer window to close at the end of Aug so he can pickup the best of the players who will not have a club at the time? He has done this before, it's alright if you don't mind the players you've got and are sure they'll do the business but the players he's got at his disposal have proven they can't do it, We are desperate for a midfielder and goal scorer, I don't fancy playing catch up this year. If he has got players in mind, who are they and how is it other teams are parading their signings? A boost for the fans wouldn't go amiss, it might even help season ticket sales. I'm just not looking forward to this season with the players we have.

5 hours ago, J80MBO said:

Take away 1st ten games of season we would have finished 2nd bottom of league.

To strongly competing for 3rd or 4th I would be astonished if 4 signings gotnis there.

Need 7 or 8 plus arguably new manager as much as I like levein as a hearts person....and good few current team booted out.

For a team that with 2nd bottom form for 80% of season I am not sure how we could "not be a million miles away from decent team" unless you mean achieving top 6 as target.

We were tank rotten last season in pretty much every aspect. Lucky cup draws papered over cracks.

Well said,??????someone who is actually stating the truth,,,  we need a few players in to strengthen the team,whether we get them or not  remains to be seen ? A goalkeeper must be top priority,,then a natural goalscorer......

1 hour ago, Inch Hearts said:

Okay, an established fit and healthy left back shouldn’t be a priority. Let’s stick midfielders there and hope for the best ?

If you say so

Brighton Jambo
1 hour ago, Inch Hearts said:

We have four potential left backs on our books, three specialists (White, Hickey, Garruccio) and one left sided player who has played there before (Burns).  We also have Mulraney if we play with wing backs

We have a limited budget so aside from centre half the left back position is literally the last position we should be spending that budget. 

5 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

We have four potential left backs on our books, three specialists (White, Hickey, Garruccio) and one left sided player who has played there before (Burns).  We also have Mulraney if we play with wing backs

We have a limited budget so aside from centre half the left back position is literally the last position we should be spending that budget. 

How many other teams have 3 specialist LBs?

Inch Hearts
12 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Hickey is still developing White is injured and a gamble and Garruccio isn’t good enough.  The four players even Mulraney to make it five are all at best squad players.  We need a proven ready to go LB the equivalent of Smith. Even Hickey was playing midfield before this season and is still a wee lad.  None are specialist at all. 

Edited by Inch Hearts

People cannot be serious about Craig Gordon?? There was a reason Hibs reserve goalkeeper replaced him at Celtic...mainly because he’s finished as a top level goalkeeper. He did incredibly well to make a comeback but that’s his time up. Welcome to come back as a keeper coach but not a chance I’d want him as no 1.

6 hours ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Reality? Removing games that suit your argument. Modern discourse in a nutshell. 

Indeed and with that awareness comes the ability to step out of the drivel that some purport to be 'the truth'.  

David McCaig
2 hours ago, Captain Bubblebeard said:

Striker, winger/wide player, creative midfielder, keeper, strong cover for RB/someone to compete with Smith would be my preferences.

That would assume one/both of Godinho/Brandon leaving (neither Good enough imo), Lee and/or Djoum leaving, Keena able to chip in through the season and White being first team ready/standard. All quite big ifs. If Lee and Djoum both leave then a further, mobile centre mid also needed.

First XI

New Keeper

Smith

White

Berra

Souttar

Halkett

Haring

New Creative Mid

Naismith

New Wide Player/Mulraney

Uche

with backup/rotation of

Bobby - GK

New RB - RB

Hickey/Garuccio - LB

Clevid - CB

Bozanic - DM

Clare/Cochrane - CM

Mulraney/C Smith/MacDonald - AM

New striker/Keena - striker

I’m sure I’m missing a couple of obvious names there - the likes of Irving hopefully also stepping up and contributing too.

Even with the above though, a couple of key medium/long term injuries again and we’re back down to relying on developing players to step up and hit the ground running.

If we're playing 3 at the back then it has to be noted that wing-back is by far the weakest of the 3 positions that Michael Smith can play.

In my opinion he is an excellent sweeper, solid right-back and extremely limited wing back.

People wanting Gordon to return clearly haven't seen the same Gordon that I have since he went to Celtic. Not even half the goalkeeper he was and he is much older now.  Can't even get a game over Scott Bain he would command a fair wage and is injury prone. He has also tainted himself at Celtic IMO. 

If he could rediscover the magic he had with us before he wouldn't be leaving Celtic simple as that. 

1 hour ago, Rudy T said:

People cannot be serious about Craig Gordon?? There was a reason Hibs reserve goalkeeper replaced him at Celtic...mainly because he’s finished as a top level goalkeeper. He did incredibly well to make a comeback but that’s his time up. Welcome to come back as a keeper coach but not a chance I’d want him as no 1.

Serious or not it is a possibility that it is going to happen

12 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

People wanting Gordon to return clearly haven't seen the same Gordon that I have since he went to Celtic. Not even half the goalkeeper he was and he is much older now.  Can't even get a game over Scott Bain he would command a fair wage and is injury prone. He has also tainted himself at Celtic IMO. 

If he could rediscover the magic he had with us before he wouldn't be leaving Celtic simple as that. 

I agree in part - he's not as good as he used to be. 

However, he is better than what we have. 

We aren't going to get a keeper of Gordon's quality in his peak. 

He'd be an upgrade on what we I have I reckon. 

Mr Elwood P
1 hour ago, Rudy T said:

Hearts don’t play at the ‘top level’. Gordon would still be a great signing for us. Anyone in any doubt, watch the Old Firm match from the Olly Lee day out. It could easily have been 4-0 or 5-0 Rangers but for Gordon.

Ronnie Simpson went to Hibs when he was about 90.  Did brilliantly.  Got capped for Scotland and did brilliantly again.

Craig Gordon still got a few great seasons in him imo.

Mr Elwood P
4 hours ago, iantjambo said:

If Hickey is ready for a Scottish Cup Final he’s ready to compete with White & Garuccio for left back. It would be madness to sign another left back. Hickey is the same age, also similar physically, to  Kieran Tierney when he broke into the Celtic team. 

48 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

A distinct possibility or a remote possibility ? 

Distinct as I mentioned in the Shankland thread. 

19 minutes ago, Mr Elwood P said:

If Hickey is ready for a Scottish Cup Final he’s ready to compete with White & Garuccio for left back. It would be madness to sign another left back. Hickey is the same age, also similar physically, to  Kieran Tierney when he broke into the Celtic team. 

Correct and the only way he'll gain experience is by being played (but not overexposed).

If we were restricted to 4 players (assuming no one else leaves) I would opt for a keeper, MF, winger and striker.

Goalie:  good frees seem a bit thin on the ground so I would try to borrow either Dachmann (Watford) or Elliot (Newcastle)

MF: Morrison (WBA) or Adam (Stoke)

Winger: Ariybi (Forest - loan) or Taylor (Rotherham)

Striker: Aneke, Magennis or Washington would do

If however Souttar was sold, or Naismith and/or Djoum didn't stay, it's a different ball game as would be the case also if we had money to spend on full transfers.

TommiGronlund

Personally don't feel there is much between Bobby and Craig Gordon.... Actually felt Liam Kelly would of been a better acquisition. Hopefully things spur into action soon 

9 hours ago, iantjambo said:

So, take out almost a quarter of the league season just to strengthen your argument?

Surely if you do that, you have to take away every teams first ten results.

If you take away our five goals in the 2012 cup final, we would’ve lost y’know.

Ok include first ten games...

We still rotten. Point still stands.

will-i-am-a-jambo

Think Scott Fox left Ross County and as far as lm aware hasn't a new club. Could he be an option for goalie?

Edited by will-i-am-a-jambo

10 minutes ago, will-i-am-a-jambo said:

Think Scott Fox left Ross County and as far as lm aware hasn't a new club. Could he be an option for goalie?

No better than what we have at the moment imo.

11 hours ago, J80MBO said:

To strongly competing for 3rd or 4th I would be astonished if 4 signings gotnis there.

Need 7 or 8 plus arguably new manager as much as I like levein as a hearts person....and good few current team booted out.

For a team that with 2nd bottom form for 80% of season I am not sure how we could "not be a million miles away from decent team" unless you mean achieving top 6 as target.

We were tank rotten last season in pretty much every aspect. Lucky cup draws papered over cracks.

11 hours ago, J80MBO said:

I’m afraid you are correct and a lot of these posts could have been written last season and we finished 6 ☹️ So old optimism is fine but this squad some real players in . 

2 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

Craig Gordon is ten times better than the feckin bombscare we currently have. 

2 hours ago, Mr Elwood P said:

Hearts don’t play at the ‘top level’. Gordon would still be a great signing for us. Anyone in any doubt, watch the Old Firm match from the Olly Lee day out. It could easily have been 4-0 or 5-0 Rangers but for Gordon.

I’ll say it again Hibs reserve goalkeeper replaced Craig Gordon as number 1. If Gordon wasn’t an ex Hearts player you’d all be saying the same, he’s not better than what we have he’s very similar, makes mistakes now, is slow and he’s never been able to come for a cross, the problem is he was so good in the past he didn’t need to come for crosses his reactions were incredible...not now.

I’ll guarantee if Levein wasn’t manager this signing would never happen any other manager would be looking to take us forward signings like Gordon will ensure we stand still.

1 hour ago, Rudy T said:

I’ll say it again Hibs reserve goalkeeper replaced Craig Gordon as number 1. If Gordon wasn’t an ex Hearts player you’d all be saying the same, he’s not better than what we have he’s very similar, makes mistakes now, is slow and he’s never been able to come for a cross, the problem is he was so good in the past he didn’t need to come for crosses his reactions were incredible...not now.

I’ll guarantee if Levein wasn’t manager this signing would never happen any other manager would be looking to take us forward signings like Gordon will ensure we stand still.

Rodgers had a thing about goalies distributing the ball with feet - passing it out and helping the team retain possession basically. He signed a goalie almost immediately he arrived because he doubted Gordon's ability in that regard. He signed de Vries on the basis of his distribution - said so at the time - as that's how he liked his goalies to play.

Lennon may see things differently and anyhow, I though Bain's kicking was abysmal in the cup final.

But anyhow Gordon wasn't dropped due to his actual goalkeeping ability declining. Not by Rodgers anyhow. And Gordon to his credit fought off the challenge from de Vries. The whole Bain thing is weird (like an awfy lot of Celtic's transfer activity recently). I can't see him staying Celtic No. 1.

Folk saying we need more than 4 players as 4 players won't make enough difference. 

Same posters at some point have quite rightly pointed out our over reliance on Naismith cost us. 

Aye, so one player can make a difference, but not four?