• ri Alban

• Victorian

• Cade

• maroonlegions

1 hour ago, Pans Jambo said:

You must earn a lot more than 50k P/A I’m thinking.

Or maybe youre Ruth Davidson?

No and no.

I am actually set to benefit from the policy on Student Loans of the SNP. It’s a much better policy than the UK government.

2 hours ago, EH11_2NL said:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZAxA-9D4X3o

This all you need to watch. Bojo is probably the most dangerous man in UK politics for a long time. Eddie Mair was magnificent.

Yip, Bojo had nowhere to hide, his incoherent babble and stuttering in his replies to his past was  like watching  a worm on a fishing hook squirming with no chance of getting away.

15 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

No and no.

I am actually set to benefit from the policy on Student Loans of the SNP. It’s a much better policy than the UK government.

So why are you defending a Westminster Tory serial liar then.:cornette:

Your rebuttals and defensive arguments in favour of Bojo  the clown  just went down the toilet mate, no real substance  or common sense in them and not in the least water tight.

Edited by maroonlegions

5 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

So why are you defending a Westminster Tory serial liar then.:cornette:

Your rebuttals and defensive arguments in favour of Bojo  the clown  just went down the toilet mate, no real substance  or common sense in them and not in the least water tight.

Perhaps I’m am not as partisan as you and capable of independent thinking.

32 minutes ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

I'm not against that.

A nice tropical fish display. ?

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

A nice tropical fish display. ?

Let's face it, if tanks were deployed in George Square one night, it's a given at least one will be ''missing'' in the morning. 

1 minute ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

Let's face it, if tanks were deployed in George Square one night, it's a given at least one will be ''missing'' in the morning. 

Up oan bricks. :D

1 hour ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

Perhaps I’m am not as partisan as you and capable of independent thinking.

You capable of independent thinking , that"s a belter  when  you cannot answer  direct questions i have  ask you. 

You have by that response  LOST the argument mate, classic avoidance tactic , by the use of  attacking the me personally  and not my  questions  and challenges  put forward to you previously.

Uncomfortable questions or challenges  usually weeds out the real face behind the mask.

When your response  is not an answer  to my questions then your real face becomes evident , that you support a known racist and homophobic man who will be handed keys to number 10. 

I will ask  you again do you CONDONE or not Boris Johnson's racist  and homophobic comments and if not why.

Boris%2BJohnson%2BBribe%2BTax%2Bcut%2B9.6%2Bbillion.png

And  you see nothing wrong in this.
Edited by maroonlegions

Please feel free to frame this question that you are meant to have asked in ten words or less and I will happily answer it.

1 minute ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

Please feel free to frame this question that you are meant to have asked in ten words or less and I will happily answer it.

Nope, stop arsing about now and answer the questions i have previously put to you on whether you condone Boris Johnson's RACIST  and HOMOPHOBIC remarks and also his remarks about the families of the 7/7 attacks to feck off.   I will not embarrass you further by pulling up these direct question i have asked you previously.

2 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

Nope, stop arsing about now and answer the questions i have previously put to you on whether you condone Boris Johnson's RACIST  and HOMOPHOBIC remarks and also his remarks about the families of the 7/7 attacks to feck off.   I will not embarrass you further by pulling up these direct question i have asked you previously.

He’s a total joke and should be nowhere near government.

Neither should the utter fraud whose arse you lick.

Edited by Dusk_Till_Dawn

I don’t consider Boris a rascist. He wa then mayor of London a much more multicultural society than Scotland and 54% though he did a good job which would be hard to achieve if he was a rascist.

He did though criticise the burka. 

I have worked with Muslims, been to the Annandale mosque and the Blackhall mosque, been to Muslims houses for Eid and no one has wore a burka.

One time I have walked along George St and seen a women walking behind her husband wearing a burka but it is not the norm and whilst most Muslims are more conservative regarding mixing of the sexes making your wife wear a burka is not the norm for Muslims in Scotland so Boris is in tune with them.

He's a ****ing fool. The fact that he looks likely to be our PM is an embarrassment. With him and Trump in power, it's like the basis of some badly written prophecy in a 2nd rate Apocalyptic Antichrist B-Movie. And yet that's what we're getting. Do-Jo running half the western world. It'd be hilarious if it wasn't so ****ing tragic. 

Edited by Normthebarman

20 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

I don’t consider Boris a rascist. He wa then mayor of London a much more multicultural society than Scotland and 54% though he did a good job which would be hard to achieve if he was a rascist.

I have worked with Muslims, been to the Annandale mosque and the Blackhall mosque, been to Muslims houses for Eid and no one has wore a burka.

One time I have walked along George St and seen a women walking behind her husband wearing a burka but it is not the norm and whilst most Muslims are more conservative regarding mixing of the sexes making your wife wear a burka is not the norm for Muslims in Scotland so Boris is in tune with them.

Fact check about Boris’s time as Mayor of London: Ch4. 

https://www.channel4.com/news/factcheck/factcheck-boris-johnsons-broken-promises-as-london-mayor

21 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

As Professor Travers says, “a lot of London’s success has not been because of Boris Johnson, but in politics there is a lot to be said for luck”. 

10 categories. Maximum score 50, actual score 29. Average 2.9

He'd have my vote

As others have said, he's a ****ing fool and should be nowhere near Government

21 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

As Professor Travers says, “a lot of London’s success has not been because of Boris Johnson, but in politics there is a lot to be said for luck”. 

10 categories. Maximum score 50, actual score 29. Average 2.9

He'd have my vote

As others have said, he's a ****ing fool and should be nowhere near Government

So if Boris is that bad then who should be PM?

Tom Peck of the Independent: "People are criticising Boris Johnson for not turning up to this Channel 4 debate but, in fairness, it is Father’s Day. He’s got a lot of places to be."

44 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

To be honest I have absolutely no idea. I find politics these days even more depressing than ever. They're a pitiful bunch and I wouldn't trust any of them. I despise what this Government has done to the most vulnerable in our society, but I have no faith in any of the opposition to make a decent fist of things.

As a self employed business man who has had elderly parents and in laws whose needs differed widely in terms of the support they required from the State, I have to go back a fair way to a time when I was as disillusioned with the state of our country and those who consider themselves to be our potential leaders.

Sorry that doesn't answer your question

17 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

To be honest I have absolutely no idea. I find politics these days even more depressing than ever. They're a pitiful bunch and I wouldn't trust any of them. I despise what this Government has done to the most vulnerable in our society, but I have no faith in any of the opposition to make a decent fist of things.

As a self employed business man who has had elderly parents and in laws whose needs differed widely in terms of the support they required from the State, I have to go back a fair way to a time when I was as disillusioned with the state of our country and those who consider themselves to be our potential leaders.

Sorry that doesn't answer your question

Interesting I believe people are products of their environment. I have worked mostly in small business so am more centre right than say my Grandad who worked as a unionised electrician in a hospital so was very left wing. Compared with socialist Scandinavia we do not look after our family and vulnerable people as well but they do not have small business in the way we do. 

26 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

Interesting I believe people are products of their environment. I have worked mostly in small business so am more centre right than say my Grandad who worked as a unionised electrician in a hospital so was very left wing. Compared with socialist Scandinavia we do not look after our family and vulnerable people as well but they do not have small business in the way we do. 

Not picking on you but can you explain the connection between small business and right leaning politics? 

6 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Not picking on you but can you explain the connection between small business and right leaning politics? 

Yip I’d be interested to learn more too 

35 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

I’ve worked for 40 years with 25 of those being in the financial sector with Edinburgh’s biggest employers.

For the last 15 years I’ve worked for myself

If I’m a product of any environment it’s the one that I was brought up in as a kid. To look after others in need and less fortunate than me, and to treat folks as I’d wanted to be treated myself.

I’m not sure what relevance there is in your last sentence. Would be keen to read more 

26 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Thanks I think that small businesses believe in free markets, free trade and minimal regulation. These views are shared more by those on the right than the left who prefer a more controlled environment.

26 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

I’ve worked for 40 years with 25 of those being in the financial sector with Edinburgh’s biggest employers.

For the last 15 years I’ve worked for myself

If I’m a product of any environment it’s the one that I was brought up in as a kid. To look after others in need and less fortunate than me, and to treat folks as I’d wanted to be treated myself.

I’m not sure what relevance there is in your last sentence. Would be keen to read more 

In the 70s there wasn’t a lot of small business in the UK. In the 80s there was a major policy of deregulation that helped people become more entrepreneurial and encouraged small business. In Scandinavia they did not have a period of deregulation and therefore business is still heavily regulated and as a result there is not a lot of small business.

Well I hope he wins.

Scotland will be Independent within five years imo.

He hates us anyway so should not object to us leaving the UK.

7 hours ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

Thanks I think that small businesses believe in free markets, free trade and minimal regulation. These views are shared more by those on the right than the left who prefer a more controlled environment.

Im by no means an expert but “free market” sounds a lot like what the tories are about to walk away from.

Minimal regulation is (in the banking sector anyway) the reason the crash happened 10 years ago (which the “right leaning” made  sure that the less well off are still paying for).

Does your post suggest it also adds up to paying less tax?

I dont know but your answer sounds like something Starbucks, Boots, Apple or Amazon would say. Not a small business venture. 

As I said. Not an expert. Just my opinion. 

10 hours ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

Hopefully our next pm will be Nicola Sturgeon. Can't believe there are still people who would rather have BJ in charge of a UK over independence 

Bojo as PM :gok:

Unreal.  Thanks ??

8 hours ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

Thanks for your explanation. I do personally believe in those things too but haven’t lost my ‘left’ leanings. I don’t prefer a more controlled environment and find that small businesses are very much tied up in regulation 

8 hours ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

In the 70s there wasn’t a lot of small business in the UK. In the 80s there was a major policy of deregulation that helped people become more entrepreneurial and encouraged small business. In Scandinavia they did not have a period of deregulation and therefore business is still heavily regulated and as a result there is not a lot of small business.

Thanks

Im by no means an expert but “free market” sounds a lot like what the tories are about to walk away from.

Minimal regulation is (in the banking sector anyway) the reason the crash happened 10 years ago (which the “right leaning” made  sure that the less well off are still paying for).

I dont know but your answer sounds like something Starbucks, Boots, Apple or Amazon would say. Not a small business venture. 

I’m inclined to agree with you. My wee £80k pa business has very different priorities and issues from the types of business you mention 

17 hours ago, maroonlegions said:

You are endorsing a homophobic , racist , this says a lot about you and you aint fooling no one. 

You talk of Debating , your joking, how can you debate with someone who EVADES questions, refusing to answer them if they are too awkward , or will in essence reveal their true  agenda or beliefs for a support of a man whose  beliefs DENY others their right to be who they are.

You can spin Boris all you want and try and make out he is fit for government but he is not.

You speak  cheaply of  democracy and freedom of speech like a game show host , and at the same time are FULL of  bare faced hypocrisy when you support a man who  DENIES homosexuals, muslims  and mainly poor people their freedoms. 

You also speak of name calling,  well look no further to your serial liar Boris , for its he who is ahead in that game.

Cb_tY0cWoAAfp-m.jpg 

See to be fair, 20 years ago my views on gay marriage were different to what they are now.

As are my views on a great many things.

Or are we all to be forever pinned to our thoughts in our teens/20's or whatever.

I find that pretty stupid- most peoples views evolve.

find something in the last year or so ( and there is plenty) but to hang people over something so long ago is daft

I just don’t agree with that view of the financial crisis. There was plenty of regulation they just regulated the wrong thing. I also don’t see how the poor paid for it. I had Northern Rock shares and the government stole £4 billion in capital from shareholders, charged a premium for providing interest, sold the mortgage book and made a £8 billion profit. As far as I can see the only problem was that we were spending too much money as a country at the time the crisis hit and when tax receipts went down then we had to cut out cloth accordingly. 

This is is very much about how you run your finances, Norway have run their finances in a prudent manner that allows for busts in their economy without having to cut spending, we had Gordon Brown who thought he had abolished busts only to get hit by one of the biggest ever that he was totally unprepared for.

29 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

See to be fair, 20 years ago my views on gay marriage were different to what they are now.

As are my views on a great many things.

Or are we all to be forever pinned to our thoughts in our teens/20's or whatever.

I find that pretty stupid- most peoples views evolve.

find something in the last year or so ( and there is plenty) but to hang people over something so long ago is daft

Boris is quite happy to cash in on Gove's embarrassment over something that happened many years ago.

Gove no longer takes drugs but I'm not sure Boris has changed that much.

Anyway I find the thought of the English version of Donald Trump very scary.

Scotland should get out of the UK asap imo.

5 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Boris is quite happy to cash in on Gove's embarrassment over something that happened many years ago.

Gove no longer takes drugs but I'm not sure Boris has changed that much.

Anyway I find the thought of the English version of Donald Trump very scary.

Scotland should get out of the UK asap imo.

THe gove thing is about the fact he was writing articles attacking middle class coke users whilst being one himself at that exact moment in time, not the use itself.

I could not care less if someone was a recovered heroin addict - what is in the past is in the past.

At some point things need to be let go

3 years of this *****. No deal Brexit almost certain now. The British working class are ****ed.

53 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

I just don’t agree with that view of the financial crisis. There was plenty of regulation they just regulated the wrong thing. I also don’t see how the poor paid for it. I had Northern Rock shares and the government stole £4 billion in capital from shareholders, charged a premium for providing interest, sold the mortgage book and made a £8 billion profit. As far as I can see the only problem was that we were spending too much money as a country at the time the crisis hit and when tax receipts went down then we had to cut out cloth accordingly. 

This is is very much about how you run your finances, Norway have run their finances in a prudent manner that allows for busts in their economy without having to cut spending, we had Gordon Brown who thought he had abolished busts only to get hit by one of the biggest ever that he was totally unprepared for.

Austerity and cuts to every budget that affects the less well off whilst at the same time allowing corporations to "squirrel" massive profits off-shore to evade taxation that could/should have been used for vital public services.

Tax receipts went down because we have the "working poor" who have no choice but to go cap in hand to the government to ask for a hand out. This is because the same corporations lobby our government to allow zero hours contracts and rates of pay that folk cant actually live off. Its the rich looking after the rich.

Dont kid yourself on, theres PLENTY money swilling around to cover everything. Its distribution, taxation and "trickle down economics" thats broken.

Shares or whatever; most folk will have been affected. My pension hasnt really recovered as yet and I dont hold out much hope for it given the value of sterling and what we face come 31st October with Boris in the driving seat!

I'm glad you mentioned Norway. Dont forget they actually saved up their oil wealth whist we allowed the Westminster government to piss 40 years of profits against the wall to cover their incompetence in running a nations finances.

Brown is a prime example of someone who would be rotting in prison if we followed the Iceland model.

Anyway, I digress (as did you). I still dont understand the connection to wee business and right leaning support.

16 hours ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

You seem to lump economic and social thinking all into the one basket. People can right or left in an economic sense and the opposite in a social. Too simplistic to throw folk into one basket for everything. 

14 hours ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

Again, I think you've a very simplistic view on these things. 

London Murders Per Year:

Boris as mayor:

2008: 154

2009: 129

2010: 124

2011: 118

2012: 104

2013: 107

2014: 94

2015: 119

2016: 110

Sadiq Khan:

2017: 116

2018: 137

2019: 56 (so far)

Boris is also under investigation for misconduct in public office over the £40million of taxpayer's money lost on his vanity garden bridge.

And for his purchase of 3 ancient, obsolete water cannons which have since been scrapped at a loss to the taxpayer of £300k.

But Khan's a muzzie, eh?

48 minutes ago, Lord halifax said:

Done ok as mayor of London.

Well better than the present one.

Not really. Closing down fire stations and police stations and selling them to his mates was great. He did a Trump on his affordable housing achievements by lying through his teeth. He actually failed to deliver a single, sustainable affordable home but claimed 55000 which was half his manifesto commitment anyway. Even the Boris Bike was Ken Livingstone's baby in reality. His first act as Mayor was to slash budgets to minority ethnic community groups. 

Sadiq has been poor but not that bad. Unfortunately his failure to explain his alleged association with terrorists and slow response to terror attacks and Grenfell have let him down.

The reality is though, that the GLA and the Mayor have very little power, and the people of London are shafted as a result.

On 16/06/2019 at 16:15, Maiden Gorgie said:

Welcome to the Republic of Scotland

Fingers crossed.

Boris should be in jail - nevermind number 10 ffs. 

On 16/06/2019 at 19:46, Diadora Van Basten said:

Explain this then. Boris being RACIST to the Scots, can you understand English. I am posting in a non English language.

Boris IS a racist,  you ARE also  supporting a homophobic and a man who once said in the lines of FECK EM, to the families of the 7/7 attacks.

You are sounding like a racist  and homophobic apologist, Still no comment on his comments regarding the families on the 7/7 attacks.

Your cheap cop outs are cringeworthy , embarrassing.  

Edited by maroonlegions