• ri Alban

• Maroon Sailor

• The Real Maroonblood

• AlphonseCapone

1 hour ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

At least we had a Royal Navy able to do escorting duties back then. 

True.

coconut doug
20 hours ago, Australis...... said:

How long will it take for Jeremy Corbyn to come out and back Iran?

Has it happened yet?

How long will it take, for some Tory who won't be fighting, to tell us that we need to take military action? 

8 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

At least we had a Royal Navy able to do escorting duties back then. 

The Royal Fleet Auxiliary are doing more RN roles now. They will have an embarked flight, Booties, Ledet teams, Battle Staff - basically used as platforms now out in the gulf and caribbean fitted with Military Tasking Equipment.

1 hour ago, coconut doug said:

Has it happened yet?

How long will it take, for some Tory who won't be fighting, to tell us that we need to take military action? 

To be fair Labour have previous.

But your point was more than valid.

1 hour ago, coconut doug said:

Has it happened yet?

3 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

The Royal Fleet Auxiliary are doing more RN roles now. They will have an embarked flight, Booties, Ledet teams, Battle Staff - basically used as platforms now out in the gulf and caribbean fitted with Military Tasking Equipment.

It’ll be converted car ferries next. 😎

To be fair if you were the Iranians you'd target british flagged shipping. 

What are we going to do?

We've got no navy to speak of and other than bumping our gums diplomatically we've got nothing. Hunt suggests there will be "dire consequences". Like what?

No doubt the hotline to Washington will be ringing off the hook as we try to get the school bully to sort it all out for us.

Why did Hunt immediately say that we aren't considering military options? I'm not trying to open up a debate on what the British military is or isn't capable of but surely you don't admit publicly that you are taking that option off the table, even if you aren't seriously considering it. 

1 hour ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Why did Hunt immediately say that we aren't considering military options? I'm not trying to open up a debate on what the British military is or isn't capable of but surely you don't admit publicly that you are taking that option off the table, even if you aren't seriously considering it. 

Probably knows that Boris will be his boss next week. 

1 hour ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Because he knows there's nothing we can do militarily. 

To rule it out stops him looking like a dick when the Iranians pish themselves laughing at the threat. 

10 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

To rule it out stops him looking like a dick when the Iranians pish themselves laughing at the threat. 

Correct. The U.S. could very little during the embassy hostage crisis during the height of their cold war might so we have no chance. Military action just makes it harder to get the ship and crew back. 

Here's the context of the UKs inability to do anything.

Add in the single aircraft carrier with the bent propeller and no aircraft. 

IMG_20190721_171324.jpg

6 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

IMG_20190721_171324.jpg

They've sent one of the Nuclear subs.

31 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

IMG_20190721_171324.jpg

The Iranians will be quaking in their boots.

2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I don't think anything makes Jeremy Hunt stop looking like a dick tbf. 

Is the British military really as shite as you're saying though? I don't pay attention to these things tbh but aren't they in the top 10 militaries in the world? 

17 minutes ago, Cade said:

gonnae no gies oor ship back?

Home-Guard-Edinburgh.jpg

That's what the Scottish Navy would be if the Nats got their way

21 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Lolol

56 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Is the British military really as shite as you're saying though? I don't pay attention to these things tbh but aren't they in the top 10 militaries in the world? 

I think theres 3 military powers then the rest are a bag of shite, however I've genuinely got no idea of the UK's military strength or readiness.

The navy is not the force it was due to years of cuts against a backdrop of changing global circumstances.

Put it this way I suspect the UK couldn't pull off a Falklands again even if they wanted to. 

14 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I think theres 3 military powers then the rest are a bag of shite, however I've genuinely got no idea of the UK's military strength or readiness.

The navy is not the force it was due to years of cuts against a backdrop of changing global circumstances.

Put it this way I suspect the UK couldn't pull off a Falklands again even if they wanted to. 

Rule Brittania is history.

3 hours ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Yes, but only a few can operate ( at all ) several thousand miles from home. The UK can but is quite limited. 

To be fair a Scottish Navy wouldn’t be seizing Iranian tankers in the med and wouldn’t have, or need, blue water capabilities or ambitions. The UK has the ambitions but not really the capability. 

Better call Saul

Correct... We were lucky to pull it off at all! 

I'm sure that the Iranians have taken their lead from Wee Nippy who was jumping up and down threatening the Irish fishing fleet the other week!

40 minutes ago, systemx said:

I'm sure that the Iranians have taken their lead from Wee Nippy who was jumping up and down threatening the Irish fishing fleet the other week!

Or, like the the UK are doing now, to try and show they are relevant, when they aren't?

Cruyff Turn
2 hours ago, davemclaren said:

To be fair a Scottish Navy wouldn’t be seizing Iranian tankers in the med and wouldn’t have, or need, blue water capabilities or ambitions. The UK has the ambitions but not really the capability. 

It certainly doesn’t have to fleets needed to throw its weight around the globe but the technology and weaponry on one UK’s type 42 Destroyers and one Sub would be enough to Destroy the entire Iranian Navy and most of Iran. 

9 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

That's fine, as we know we're a small country and will act accordingly. I'm sure you and others can join the Billy big baws brigade and get your baws bootit, again and again, have America jump in and then tell the world how hard you are.

2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

That's fine, as we know we're a small country and will act accordingly. I'm sure you and others can join the Billy big baws brigade and get your baws bootit, again and again, have America jump in and then tell the world how hard you are.

I’m sure it’s the nats that are supposed to be obsessed is it not?

How can a thread about another gulf crisis turn into Scotland bashing?

7 hours ago, Cruyff Turn said:

It certainly doesn’t have to fleets needed to throw its weight around the globe but the technology and weaponry on one UK’s type 42 Destroyers and one Sub would be enough to Destroy the entire Iranian Navy and most of Iran. 

While a wee speed boat with some nutter holding a hand held missile launcher has a decent chance against a big expensive warship, as has been shown previously. 

Yes, we could launch a nuclear strike in Iran but everyone knows we wont. 

8 hours ago, Cruyff Turn said:

Sadly most of the UK'S type 42 craft are up on blocks getting overhauled or fixed. What's the range on a cruise missile and how far from Portsmouth to Tehran?

As for the nuclear option.....the Donald wouldn't sanction us firing a nuke. Not now not ever. 

3 hours ago, Boris said:

Kipling had it right all those years ago.

The first condition of understanding a foreign country is to smell it.

3 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

I’m sure it’s the nats that are supposed to be obsessed is it not?

How can a thread about another gulf crisis turn into Scotland bashing?

It's a Scottish tanker, that's why the UK government don't give a shit.

3 hours ago, Boris said:

Kipling had it right all those years ago.

Indeed. Can't beat a Cherry Bakewell...

1 minute ago, Craig_ said:

Indeed. Can't beat a Cherry Bakewell...

Fern tarts/cakes, just.

Cruyff Turn
3 hours ago, davemclaren said:

While a wee speed boat with some nutter holding a hand held missile launcher has a decent chance against a big expensive warship, as has been shown previously. 

Yes, we could launch a nuclear strike in Iran but everyone knows we wont. 

Sadly most of the UK'S type 42 craft are up on blocks getting overhauled or fixed. What's the range on a cruise missile and how far from Portsmouth to Tehran?

As for the nuclear option.....the Donald wouldn't sanction us firing a nuke. Not now not ever. 

Still, when they are operating correctly, the Iranians technology is no match for them. 

I doubt we’d ever use Nukes.

What I was referring to was not Nukes. but Cruise missiles etc... 

They’ve got those MoaB’s too which more or less do the same job minus the radiation. 

The thing with Iran is, the US have wanted to go to war with Iran for a while now. Obama did the right thing bu stopping them from developing a Nuke by lifting sanctions. Now that Trumps burned that deal, Iran are looking to develop a Nuke again and with John Bolton & others in Trumps ear, things are becoming increasingly hostile. 

I don’t think we will ever put soldiers on the ground in Iran, but I think at some stage, that Iran’s military bases, it’s scientific & development sites, the key infrastructure around that, will be attacked by the US at some point. if it continues to go how it is going. 

Edited by Cruyff Turn

15 hours ago, Cruyff Turn said:

The 42's have all gone replaced by the 45's

Trouble with the Fleet now is waiting for the 26's to come through whilst spending shed loads of money on the Duke class frigates after the shed load they spent on the carriers.

12 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Scotland would be a sitting duck if the Nats got their way

Pompeo tells the UK it's responsible for protecting it's own ships.

Grabbed an Iranian oil tanker on US orders, then thrown under a bus.

Special relationship.

1 minute ago, Cade said:

Pompeo tells the UK it's responsible for protecting it's own ships.

Grabbed an Iranian oil tanker on US orders, then thrown under a bus.

Special relationship.

There's more of that to come. 

Team UK is vulnerable. Brexit makes us desperate and we'll get the deal we're given. 

8 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Scotland would be a sitting duck if the Nats got their way

I must have slept through all the invasions of Ireland, Sweden, Iceland, Denmark, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and other small European nations with tiny navies.

1 minute ago, Cade said:

I must have slept through all the invasions of Ireland, Sweden, Iceland, Denmark, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and other small European nations with tiny navies.

I know. Mental thinking.

6 minutes ago, Cade said:

They protect themselves then ?

2 minutes ago, Cade said:

Jeremy Hunt has proposed, get this.............a European task force under UK control to escort ships in the gulf

:phface:

Yes Minister.

10 minutes ago, Cade said:

You certainly haven't got any grasp of the history of small European nations regardless of their military capabilities. Most recently the Germans sold the Lithuanians billions of pounds worth of military hardware on the never never to repel the threat of the nice Russian people. 😂 and Sweden a small European nation? who happen to own said tanker 🤣. Priceless