Most frightening book or film

LeftBack

Tonight ive watched silence of the lambs and listened to (on audible) 'And then there were none'by Agatha Christie. The latter starts with the poem.. Ten little Indians (i know what the original is.. .) and i must admit to having a real shiver at both. So what movies or books have given you the fear 

IT the book is genuinely terrifying, there was a Peter Straub book called Mr X that was pretty damned good.

I have watched loads of horrors, scary films but the one that genuinely gives me the fear is Eden Lake, group of young chavs terrorising a couple. A young Jack O'Connell is fantastically evil 

The end of the Wicker Man when Edward Woodward sees the wicker man for the first time

The Omen is pretty spooky

Whistle and I'll come by M R James

Children of The Stones scary for a kid's programme

sunblestjambo
6 minutes ago, Bozi said:

IT the book is genuinely terrifying, there was a Peter Straub book called Mr X that was pretty damned good.

I have watched loads of horrors, scary films but the one that genuinely gives me the fear is Eden Lake, group of young chavs terrorising a couple. A young Jack O'Connell is fantastically evil 

The chapter in IT where Beverley goes back to her childhood home and is welcomed in by the old dear. As it gradually dawns on you what’s happening... easily the scariest thing I’ve ever read.  I see it’s been used as the basis for the advert for the second film too.  

4 minutes ago, sunblestjambo said:

The chapter in IT where Beverley goes back to her childhood home and is welcomed in by the old dear. As it gradually dawns on you what’s happening... easily the scariest thing I’ve ever read.  I see it’s been used as the basis for the advert for the second film too.  

Aye when I seen that trailer I was hugely pleased at how well they had done it

17 minutes ago, Bozi said:

7 minutes ago, sunblestjambo said:

2 minutes ago, Bozi said:

Aye when I seen that trailer I was hugely pleased at how well they had done it

Agree with all of these, I read IT many years ago and found myself at 2 in the morning unable to out it down but exhilarated (AKA scared shitless) by the story...not read a book since that has had that effect on me.. 

They seem to have, finally, translated a King book onto the screen that does the book justice, the trailer for the new film is amazing...

25 minutes ago, The White Cockade said:

The end of the Wicker Man when Edward Woodward sees the wicker man for the first time

The Omen is pretty spooky

Whistle and I'll come by M R James

Children of The Stones scary for a kid's programme

Fantastic short story. 

The beast house by Richard laymon and house of leaves by  Mark Z. Danielewski are good. 

Blair with project is still the only horror film to give me goosebumps. Mainly due to the ending. 

I do love Texas chainsaw massacre. Probably my favourite horror of all time. 

Recently films like, the witch, the babadook, and bone tomahawk have impressed. 

The Alfred Hitchcock film "Psycho", starring Tony Perkins and Janet Leigh.

It got my adrenaline going a couple of times.

The Shankhill Butchers is the most frightening book I have read. Absolutely horrific stuff. 

57 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

The Alfred Hitchcock film "Psycho", starring Tony Perkins and Janet Leigh.

It got my adrenaline going a couple of times

A couple of times??? Never slept for a week after seeing this.

3 hours ago, LeftBack said:

A couple of times??? Never slept for a week after seeing this.

I know what you mean. It was terrifying.  Brilliantly done by Hitchcock.

59 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

I know what you mean. It was terrifying.  Brilliantly done by Hitchcock.

Two facts... Once janet leigh was in the shower Hitchcock turned water to freezing cold - hence the screams!- and the blood was chocolate syrup. I know that because my mother told me... And we know a mother is a boys best friend... 

8 hours ago, Dino Velvet said:

Recently films like, the witch, the babadook, and bone tomahawk have impressed. 

Wait... Are you mark kermode? 

Three film I really want to watch but my wife seen the trailers and flat out refuses to watch them?

American Werewolf in London.

That movie ****ed me up royally for months. I begged my Dad constantly to let me watch it and he eventually relented. Wish he hadn't in the end. Had to have the landing light on and bedroom door open at night. Constant nightmares.

It was the dream sequences that screwed with my head.

Great movie mind.

When I was at primary school I saw the TV show Salems Lot. To this day the thought of it still spooks me. 

More recent ones - Blair Witch, watched it on my own and as has been said, the ending gave me goosebumps. 

Babadook was decent too. 

4 hours ago, Bozi said:

Wait... Are you mark kermode? 

Three film I really want to watch but my wife seen the trailers and flat out refuses to watch them?

Get them watched. They’re cracking films. 

REC films are, imo, genuinely scary. 

Book? Some of the tales by Jim Corbett in the early 1900's India about hunting man eating Tigers and Leopards were spine tingling!!! 

14 hours ago, Bozi said:

Eden Lake is a good call just cause it feels pretty dam real and could happen.

15 hours ago, Bozi said:

Eden Lake is a great shout. The ending gives me a sick feeling in my stomach.

Psycho 1 and 2 has always succeeded in freaking me out. Particularly the shower scene and the end of the first one when Norman Bates face changes into the skeletal image of his mothers.

I can’t say I’ve ever read a book and been scared by it.

Edited by iantjambo

9 hours ago, LeftBack said:

Two facts... Once janet leigh was in the shower Hitchcock turned water to freezing cold - hence the screams!- and the blood was chocolate syrup. I know that because my mother told me... And we know a mother is a boys best friend... 

The stabbing sound was made by plunging a knife into a watermelon.

feedtheroman2

Fourth kind genuinely spooks me out. 

That possession scene when she's being interviewed for real (supposedly) gives me the chills!

The Shining scared the shit out of me when I saw it for the first time (aged 14). Also found Audition proper freaky.More recent horrors that I’ve really enjoyed are Bone Tomahawk, It Follows, Them and Hereditary. 

I'm not a fan of horror films and have probably only seen about a dozen in my life. However I appreciate that they are a huge thing and the best ones are very skilfully written and directed. Sadly a few years ago some people seemed to want something different and the "slasher porn" type of films became fashionable and some fans just wanted to see as much torture and gore as possible. 

2 minutes ago, Tazio said:

I'm not a fan of horror films and have probably only seen about a dozen in my life. However I appreciate that they are a huge thing and the best ones are very skilfully written and directed. Sadly a few years ago some people seemed to want something different and the "slasher porn" type of films became fashionable and some fans just wanted to see as much torture and gore as possible. 

The older types of horrors piss all over the more modern ones imo. The new ones, as you say, rely too much on blood and gore. The older movies relied on atmosphere, which made them so much better.

11 minutes ago, Barack said:

Don't find these kinds of things "scary" etc. But The Mist, by Stephen King, is a good read. Even if it's more of a novella, than an actual book.

Far better than the nightmare(s) that was the film version(s).

This has minded me of The Fog. Saw it when I was at primary school and didnt sleep that night. You could tell all the kids who had watched it (in the days when we had 3 channels) as we were all shatered and struggling to keep our eyes open. 

Transcendental

At that time in our lives when reading is seen as not cool (mid-teens) I mInd half the kids at school were banging on about James Herbert’s The Rats Trilogy. 

Excellent stuff that gave me nightmares for many a month. 

For some reason I found the Ring quite scary ?

But Woman in Black was a great movie - used atmosphere and setting to bring it to life 

Rupert Pupkin
On 14/06/2019 at 22:25, Seymour M Hersh said:

Jaws.

Read it recently, after wanting to for years. Must say the ending of the book is a bit of an  anti-climax. It just fizzles out, the ending in the film is far better.

Edited by Rupert Pupkin

There was a BBC adaptation of Dracula in the late 70s, which was very creepy.  I shared a bedroom with my wee brother at the time, and after watching that he took to using clothes pegs on the curtains, to make sure they closed with no gaps.

Event Horizon is pretty damn scary.

The Exorcist scared the hell out of me when I first watched it.

American Werewolf in London gave me nightmares as I was just a bairn when I watched it.

When I was wee the BBC programme Ghostwatch terrified the absolute bejesus out of me - terrifying as thought it was genuinely real!

27 minutes ago, Gavman81 said:

When I was wee the BBC programme Ghostwatch terrified the absolute bejesus out of me - terrifying as thought it was genuinely real!

I remember that. It’s on YouTube if you fancy reliving the fear :D

28 Days later if you aren't counting more recent jump scare heavy films like Paranormal Activity.

Matthew Le Tissier
On 15/06/2019 at 08:18, Der Kaiser said:

American Werewolf in London.

That movie ****ed me up royally for months. I begged my Dad constantly to let me watch it and he eventually relented. Wish he hadn't in the end. Had to have the landing light on and bedroom door open at night. Constant nightmares.

It was the dream sequences that screwed with my head.

Great movie mind.

I was 5 when I watched and must have done my mum and dads heads in to watch it ? watched and ****ed me up big time for years. Didn’t help that my dad and big brother decided to scratch and howl at my door that night ?

For those of a certain age, some of the 'Hammer House of Horror' TV series gave me many nightmares. Also remember a particular Dracula adaptation and young viewings of Jaws and Alien having an impact :D

On 15/06/2019 at 15:12, iantjambo said:

The older types of horrors piss all over the more modern ones imo. The new ones, as you say, rely too much on blood and gore. The older movies relied on atmosphere, which made them so much better.

Alright grandad! ?

Check out It Follows and Them. Not gory in the slightest (both are 15s), just quality horrors. 

Threads.

Scariest TV movie of all time, ever.

55 minutes ago, Zico said:

Alright grandad! ?

Check out It Follows and Them. Not gory in the slightest (both are 15s), just quality horrors. 

I actually am a grandad so get it roond ye ?? :D

30 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

? worth checking those films out though. No gore, all atmosphere. 

1 hour ago, iantjambo said:

They should make a horror movie about grandads. That would be scary, prune juice and diapers all over the place! :wink: