***OFFICIAL SCOTLAND VS CYPRUS THREAD***

Portable Badger
29 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

Any word on ticket sales for tonight?

Time for the Dot Counters to swing into action !!

• Replies 418

• Jambof3tornado

• Lovecraft

• gashauskis9

• Mr Elwood P

2 hours ago, TheOak88 said:

Genuinely didn’t even know till today about this game. The interest in the national team must surely be at an all time low. 

All the the best to Clarke tho. Hopefully a decent win. 

Aye, same. I had no idea until I saw the match thread.

I don't give much of a shit about the National Team TBH, hope they do well though. Clarke is a good manager. 3-0 Scotland.

Really wish the new manager the best of luck and hope he can turn our fortunes around.

He won't be a plaything of the GFA or the OF so in that regard the authorities have taken a major gamble.

We have a superstar in Robertson and enough good players from what I've seen to be competitive.

I'm going 5-0.

4 hours ago, Calebs Grandad said:

Out with the Scotland game just a wee mention that £2 treble on Kazakhstan, San Marino and Liechtenstein will pay around £250,000. 

No way can that lose should be putting more than 2 quid if on, so you give me 50 quid I’ll put it on for you?

Edited by Rudy T

Bull's-eye
15 minutes ago, jumpship said:

I've got the really horrible feeling..

Think we are in for a really disappointing night. 

Expectation levels aren't high enough to be disappointed. 

9 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

No way can that lose should be putting more than 2 quid if on, so you give me 50 quid I’ll put it on for you?

It can, Lichtenstein 2 down and San Marino 4 down.

Still 20 minutes to go though so still a chance. 

3 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

IMG_20190608_183042.jpg

No real surprises there. Think Souttar should be starting ahead of either CB’s but hey ho.

I think Brophy could be a surprise.

Marshall though :vrface:

Edited by iantjambo

6 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

IMG_20190608_183042.jpg

Soapy not starting is disappointing.

Hope the game is better than the NI game which has been brilliant!

Edited by Jambof3tornado
NI turnaround!

SpruceBringsteen

I was absolute daft for Clarke being manager, gave me a sense of enthusiasm that I've not had probably since the World Cup in 1998.

Fair play to him then for swiftly kicking it right back out of me with that starting line up. :lol:

I would have gone for Armstrong before McGinn, Bain before Marshall and Souter before Mulgrew.

16 minutes ago, graygo said:

It can, Lichtenstein 2 down and San Marino 4 down.

Still 20 minutes to go though so still a chance. 

9-0 Russia now

17 minutes ago, SpruceBringsteen said:

I was absolute daft for Clarke being manager, gave me a sense of enthusiasm that I've not had probably since the World Cup in 1998.

Fair play to him then for swiftly kicking it right back out of me with that starting line up. :lol:

Who's leading the line?  Brophy?

Or is it 4-6-0?

20 minutes ago, Cygnet said:

Scott McKenna ahead of Souttar :rofl:

They're pretty much equals tbh. 

Mulgrew ahead of Soutar is the issue. 

David Marshall hasn't let us down either. 

Edited by Homme

19 minutes ago, Cygnet said:

Scott McKenna ahead of Souttar :rofl:

That's two Scotland managers who have went with him over Souttar.

Must be better than we give him credit for.

Who is Kenny Maclean?  Can't be bothered googling him.  Have honestly never heard of him.

Hungry hippo
3 minutes ago, JamboAl said:

Who's leading the line?  Brophy?

Or is it 4-6-0?

Brophy is a striker.

Just now, Kiwidoug said:

Who is Kenny Maclean?  Can't be bothered googling him.  Have honestly never heard of him.

Ex Aberdeen attacking midfielder. Now with Norwich.

Sky sports main event still showing the cricket World Cup. Anyone any idea if its on an alternative channel or whether we have to wait for the f****g cricket to finish?? 

2 minutes ago, Aaron78 said:

Sky sports main event still showing the cricket World Cup. Anyone any idea if its on an alternative channel or whether we have to wait for the f****g cricket to finish?? 

They usually switch over in time. 

4 minutes ago, Hungry hippo said:

Brophy is a striker.

Not a very big one.

I may be wrong but I always thought of him as a winger or No 10 rather than a leader of the line.

2 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Ex Aberdeen attacking midfielder. Now with Norwich.

Thanks Mikey.  Hope he's good and I hope they are all good.  Underwhelmed with the line up but hopefully good enough to make my 5-0 prediction a reality.

Best of luck to them and best of luck to the women.  Bitterly disappointed that the women's game isn't televised here.

Schevchenko

Bain is murder, really glad he's out.  If McGregor or Gordon were playing we'd be cooking with gas.

9 minutes ago, Aaron78 said:

On now.

Just in case you switched off.

Hungry hippo
8 minutes ago, JamboAl said:

Not a very big one.

I may be wrong but I always thought of him as a winger or No 10 rather than a leader of the line.

Not very tall but he played the number 9 role most games last season for Killie.

thought i'd read the fixtures wrong "england v scotland" sunday, didn't realise the GFA had a game as well. i'll keep my enthusiasm for the fixture not blighted by which old firm team were/are you connected to and sectarianism.

c'mon the scottish ladies, not picked just because of their association with celtic and sevco, you know all the players are bursting a gut to play and not pulling out because celtic/sevco have a game coming up.

nae scott browns retiring then coming back for a 1 off glamour game against england

Portable Badger

Get the feckin cricket back on !!!!

No way do I want to watch McKenna & Friggin Mulgrew playing ahead of Souttar - what a disappointment by Clarke

2 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

Crowd numbers looking pretty low so far.

30 sheets a piece to watch the worst Scotland squad in years v Cyprus? Anything more than 10k is bloody outstanding imo

Obviously disappointed Soapy doesn't start but a fresh start for Scotland,  hopefully a big improvement 

1 minute ago, Thommo414 said:

30 sheets a piece to watch the worst Scotland squad in years v Cyprus? Anything more than 10k is bloody outstanding imo

NO way are they charging £30 a ticket?

FFS

from £27 for adults regardless who we are playing.

£27 for San Marino too

Idiots

1 minute ago, Thommo414 said:

crowd noise will be turned down in case you hear somebody from the spartan crowd shouting  sectarian pish at clarke AGAIN

To be fair with the goals we’ve been letting in an experienced CB isn’t a bad thing. Both full backs are attack minded as well so no bad thing to have an older experienced head in there.

This is my first Scotland thread since before McLeish was appointed. Good to be back.