Edinburgh weather

theshed

1 minute ago, Mauricio Pinilla said:

So we all agree that hot weather in Britain is intolerable. Good to see. 

Surprised to hear you saying this.

You’ve never mentioned it before.  :wink: 

• Replies 175

• The Real Maroonblood

• Tazio

• Governor Tarkin

6 minutes ago, bobsharp said:

Just love them I was actually worried that someone would make a mistake and thought I meant air conditioning.

Top answer Bob. :clap:

Feck being in 40 degree heat all the time sweating your bollox off

Best thing about being in the likes of Dubai is walking in to a hotel (boozer) and feeling the ice cold air con 

You re-hydrate on the swallies then they put the saltiest nuts on the bar to nibble on with the result of having a mouth as dry as Ghandi's left flip flop

7 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Surprised to hear you saying this.

You’ve never mentioned it before.  :wink: 

I'm just glad I was right that people secretly hate it 

39 minutes ago, Mauricio Pinilla said:

So we all agree that hot weather in Britain is intolerable. Good to see. 

30+ degrees every day would be intolerable after a while. That doesn't happen in Edinburgh.

6 sunny days at 18-23 degrees, with perhaps a rainy Monday every week, would be bloody brilliant. 

1 hour ago, Mauricio Pinilla said:

I'm just glad I was right that people secretly hate it 

You get all the office ‘patter’ about ‘how much they love it’ and ‘it’ll be the only hot day this year, enjoy it’ and ‘that’ll be our summer over then’ and the classic ‘We had our summer in April, it lasted two days’.

Load of feckin bollocks!

1 hour ago, Ray Gin said:

30+ degrees every day would be intolerable after a while.

It is Ray, believe me.

6 sunny days at 18-23 degrees, with perhaps a rainy Monday every week, would be bloody brilliant. 

Idyllic.

Maple Leaf

30+ degrees every day would be intolerable after a while.

I had a cousin who lived in Southern California for a few years. The heat was so intense that they used to put the garden sprinkler on so that it splashed against the window.  The familiar sound of rain against the window made them feel cooler.

17 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

I had a cousin who lived in Southern California for a few years. The heat was so intense that they used to put the garden sprinkler on so that it splashed against the window.  The familiar sound of rain against the window made them feel cooler.

California heat is a strange one. It always feels a lot hotter than the reported temperature. I was out there a few weeks ago and it was being reported as around 80f but it sure as hell felt a lot hotter. 

18 minutes ago, Tazio said:

California heat is a strange one. It always feels a lot hotter than the reported temperature. I was out there a few weeks ago and it was being reported as around 80f but it sure as hell felt a lot hotter. 

Maybe I just like the heat but I've spent a decent amount of time in and around LA/Santa Barbara and I've found the temp always ideal. NorCal's little chilly for me.

Pain in the arse as a wuss motorcyclist. Hate riding in rain. Love to live somewhere with four seasons. Not all in the same day either

I have been lucky, both my twenty months in Egypt, and my thirteen years in Osoyoos were in areas of extreme summer heats, apart from the benefit of youth in Egypt and a much younger person in Osoyoos I found the heat manageable because both were dry desert heat. I find it more onerous when it involves the humidity of the more coastal regions, and as before stated I find it like everything else I enjoyed in life, crap, my only pleasure now is being annoyed at and complaining about everything, weather, food,sports teams, politics, pric e of food morals etc. I get great pleasure from my misery and ability to spread same.

13 hours ago, bobsharp said:

I have been lucky, both my twenty months in Egypt, and my thirteen years in Osoyoos were in areas of extreme summer heats, apart from the benefit of youth in Egypt and a much younger person in Osoyoos I found the heat manageable because both were dry desert heat. I find it more onerous when it involves the humidity of the more coastal regions, and as before stated I find it like everything else I enjoyed in life, crap, my only pleasure now is being annoyed at and complaining about everything, weather, food,sports teams, politics, pric e of food morals etc. I get great pleasure from my misery and ability to spread same.

Being a long-time Hearts' fan will certainly help with that!   :)

18 hours ago, Morgan said:

Top answer Bob. :clap:

Sure was. Gave me one of those "spit-oot" laughs. :D

20 hours ago, Locky said:

I hear you. I mean, I like a nice warm day from time to time but only if I can really enjoy it. Commuting and working in 25 degree weather is ****ing torture.

Plus, this country doesn't deserve nice hot weather. Being on the continent makes me realise how shite it is here when it's nice. Over there every bar, restaurant, cafe etc. Has lots of outdoor seating, full of people just relaxing, socialising in a dignified manner.

Here when the suns out at a reasonably decent temperature, it's near impossible to find a beer garden that isn't rammed full, a lot of people probably can't be trusted to sit out unsupervised, and the streets are rammed full of skinny pale jakeys with no tops on and bottles of bucky by their side.

This!!!!!

heartandsoul

Going through to Hampden for the Scotland game on Saturday and what's the weather forecast........yes heavy rain....ah well.

17 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

Well I got feckin soaked again while visiting the capital today. Couldn't even see the top of the effin castle. My wife even had a scarf on. 

It's feckin June. 

I feckin hate this piss poor climate. Everything is far too green for my liking. 

The Italian pricks wear scarves all year round, Jonno.

Even on the beach.  :facepalm:

1 minute ago, jonnothejambo said:

Muppets. You can clear the beach of the reverse gear clowns by blowing up a paper bag and bursting it. 

I’ll give it a go!

• 2 years later...
18 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Some bam will be along in a second to tell you how our weather is better than England’s.

The climate in this country is terrible. Even with a little bit of a dry spell, there hasn’t be all that much sunshine. I’m hoping that mental weather  north America is having makes its way across. 

RLS got it spot on in Picturesque Notes.

'The ancient and famous metropolis of the North sits overlooking a windy estuary from the slope and summit of three hills. No situation could be more commanding for the head city of a kingdom; none better chosen for noble prospects. From her tall precipice and terraced gardens she looks far and wide on the sea and broad champaigns. To the east you may catch at sunset the spark of the May lighthouse, where the Firth expands into the German Ocean; and away to the west, over all the carse of Stirling, you can see the first snows upon Ben Ledi.

But Edinburgh pays cruelly for her high seat in one of the vilest climates under heaven. She is liable to be beaten upon by all the winds that blow, to be drenched with rain, to be buried in cold sea fogs out of the east, and powdered with the snow as it comes flying southward from the Highland hills. The weather is raw and boisterous in winter, shifty and ungenial in summer, and a downright meteorological purgatory in the spring. The delicate die early, and I, as a survivor, among bleak winds and plumping rain, have been sometimes tempted to envy them their fate. For all who love shelter and the blessings of the sun, who hate dark weather and perpetual tilting against squalls, there could scarcely be found a more unhomely and harassing place of residence.'

:muggy:

I'm working with a Turkish bloke just now, there was a conversation a couple of days ago when the sun was out about what a scorcher of a day it was and he looked at us like we were mental. 

17 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

RLS got it spot on in Picturesque Notes.

'The ancient and famous metropolis of the North sits overlooking a windy estuary from the slope and summit of three hills. No situation could be more commanding for the head city of a kingdom; none better chosen for noble prospects. From her tall precipice and terraced gardens she looks far and wide on the sea and broad champaigns. To the east you may catch at sunset the spark of the May lighthouse, where the Firth expands into the German Ocean; and away to the west, over all the carse of Stirling, you can see the first snows upon Ben Ledi.

But Edinburgh pays cruelly for her high seat in one of the vilest climates under heaven. She is liable to be beaten upon by all the winds that blow, to be drenched with rain, to be buried in cold sea fogs out of the east, and powdered with the snow as it comes flying southward from the Highland hills. The weather is raw and boisterous in winter, shifty and ungenial in summer, and a downright meteorological purgatory in the spring. The delicate die early, and I, as a survivor, among bleak winds and plumping rain, have been sometimes tempted to envy them their fate. For all who love shelter and the blessings of the sun, who hate dark weather and perpetual tilting against squalls, there could scarcely be found a more unhomely and harassing place of residence.'

I'll need to show this to Mrs KvC... She is forever raging at the shit weather we have, this will pour fuel on that fire...her heid might explode :lol:

We're in Dunfermline nowadays but the point remains :)

36 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Had lovely sunny weather here in Dunblane for the last few days. Bit cloudier today but quite warm.

Probably pish it down at the weekend.

Aye it's had it's moments this year, but I suppose we were spoiled with much of last year and were hoping (beyond hope) for more of the same.

It's to pish down over the weekend an d most of next week. Lightening and stuff.

Big thunderclaps here in west Edinburgh. Just as I’m about to have to leave the house and get a bus. Going to risk the brollie and hope the lightning ignores me. 

Was down at Gullane with the dog this morning. Sat and had an ice cream - both of us.

Same dogs now cowering under the sofa 

I’m about to brace the elements and brush the water away from the front step as it’s getting pretty close to the top 

3 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

Was down at Gullane with the dog this morning. Sat and had an ice cream - both of us.

Same dogs now cowering under the sofa 

I’m about to brace the elements and brush the water away from the front step as it’s getting pretty close to the top 

Nae guid without photo's...

**** it I’ve phoned and cancelled. No way I’m going out in that rain. It’s filled the slabbed area in the front garden and is creeping towards the front door. This is biblical. 

Took the bairn to 5 sisters zoo this afternoon, so lucky I went early and left around half 3 or I'd have been rubber ducked coming back to Edinburgh in that. Jeez... 

13 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Muppet in the Merc making sure the water is tipping over his gunnels...and everyone else's

4 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

West Granton Road right outside my window.

20210704_175154.jpg

How come the VW Golf/Polo in the background is above the high water mark?

Edited by OBE

Stockbridge videos are outrageous, utter disgrace. Millions spent on flood defences.

7 minutes ago, OBE said:

How come the VW Golf/Polo in the background is above the high water mark?

I think the car's in the Lidl carpark there, it's a bit back, and a good bit down, from the road. Difficult to see in JF's photo.

Edinburgh council really shafting the city over their neglect with the drains.

OK it was torrential rain, but there's plenty city drains that have been clogged for months or years. Every time I walk down Robertson Avenue I notice the drains have weeds coming out of them and I first noticed years ago ffs.

I don't think they proactively check or maintain them. Just wait until the area is flooded and then look into what the cause might've been.

Saw a video of water coming through the new St James Quarter's roof 🤣 Not even a month old.

Edited by kila

40 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

**** thats about a whole 2 inches of water.

Stay safe everyone.

Pray 4 Stockbridge.

1 minute ago, Lord BJ said:

As much as the council are a shambles is it not Scottish Water responsible for water and drainage?

Ah so it is. Still, the council could proactively check and report issues with drains on the roads to Scottish Water. Instead it's a pass the buck while we pay our council tax...

Could even get those given community service to go out and inspect them to save money. Sure there's thousands of drains all over the city but I don't think there is a shortage of convicts.

2 minutes ago, kila said:

Ah so it is. Still, the council could proactively check and report issues with drains on the roads to Scottish Water. Instead it's a pass the buck while we pay our council tax...

Could even get those given community service to go out and inspect them to save money. Sure there's thousands of drains all over the city but I don't think there is a shortage of convicts.

I've never seen Scottish Water clearing the street drains.

It's always been the yellow council sucker trucks.

1 minute ago, Gulpener said:

That's the only ones I've seen. 

frankblack
1 minute ago, Gulpener said:

Cramond Brigg is prone to flooding and causing complete gridlock at rush hour.  Sod all ever been done about it.

5 minutes ago, kila said:

Probably weren't able to clean the gulleys due to spaces for people

2 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Probably weren't able to clean the gulleys due to spaces for people

Areas around me that are flooded have no spaces for people bits (yet)