• The Real Maroonblood

• Tazio

• Governor Tarkin

4 minutes ago, theshed said:

How bad is the weather at the moment and no sign of it getting any better soon 

Looks like it’s going to pish down all week and probably for the rest of the summer.

The polar opposite of when I was home last year although that was a freak, I suppose. Cloud, rain and blowing a near gale half the time.

It's enough to force a person into the pub. 

1 minute ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

The polar opposite of when I was home last year although that was a freak, I suppose. Cloud, rain and blowing a near gale half the time.

It's enough to force a person into the pub. 

Your last sentence :thumbsup:

Jambo-Jimbo

Jetstream will probably be a bit further South than it normally is, so less high pressure to keep the crap weather at bay.

Seems to be the usual North - South split as the South of England has been basking in 28c whilst up here we are lucky if the temperature is in the teens.

1 hour ago, heartandsoul said:

Heating on in June. Ah well at least the electricity companies will be happy...

Are you a Lothian bus driver by any chance? 

1 hour ago, Mauricio Pinilla said:

That’s the first thing I thought of too!

Come the winter though, not a peep of hot air to be had.

22 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

We have a shite climate. Thank feck we were away last month in Spain. Beautiful weather with not a cloud in the sky. 

If this pish keeps up we will be offski again for a few days. 

I feckin hate our climate.

I get what you’re saying Jonno but, it’s actually not much fun living in the heat for about ten months of the year, as we do.

It’s now starting to get silly hot here already and will remain this way until about mid-November.

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

I get what you’re saying Jonno but, it’s actually not much fun living in the heat for about ten months of the year, as we do.

It’s now starting to get silly hot here already and will remain this way until about mid-November.

This. The heat is shite.

We don't have it like you do in the South of France but we put up with enough from mid may through to October. 23+ degrees is horrible to live in. Last summer was just nasty in the South East of England.

20 degrees today, which is ideal with jeans and a t shirt. 

3 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

This. The heat is shite.

We don't have it like you do in the South of France but we put up with enough from mid may through to October. 23+ degrees is horrible to live in. Last summer was just nasty in the South East of England.

20 degrees today, which is ideal with jeans and a t shirt. 

20 degrees (maybe 2 or 3 more) is fine but when it tops 30 (actually hit 43 last summer) it’s just way too much.

Shorts and t-shirt weather, as you say, is the best.

heartandsoul
2 hours ago, Mauricio Pinilla said:

Lol. No am not a bus driver but know what you mean. Was on a bus yesterday, heating full on....

When I was younger I looked on the Scottish weather as a challenge to be relished. Now I just think our weather is sh!t. 

3 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

I can understand that, mon ami. 

It would be nice to get even a few guaranteed weeks of sunny weather instead of this shite. 

Anyway we will be down under in November where the sun will be out.

G’day.

Craig Gordons Gloves

My wife and kids are heading to Scotland for the month and she's absolutely delighted to be going from sunshine and mid 70s to rain and low 50s.

When i say delighted, what i really mean is that she's well pissed off.

3 hours ago, heartandsoul said:

Lol. No am not a bus driver but know what you mean. Was on a bus yesterday, heating full on....

Some buses the heating cant be turned off by the driver on others the passengers are probably arseholes and deserve to be uncomfortable.

Maple Leaf

It's not just Scotland.  Much of North America is having a cooler and wetter spring than normal.

I agree with the comments of @Morgan and others regarding the heat.  Anything over 30 degrees is too much for me. I used to love being in Palm Springs or Phoenix, desert country, where it would be 40+ and dry as dust. Not now. 

:tumbleweed:

Captain Sausage

Live in Surrey. It’s beautiful. 

Bit warm in the summer, but we have air con in the house so nights are enjoyable. 

Was back in Scotland for a few weeks, reminded me how good the weather is down south. 

Very smug :smugger:

23 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

It's not just Scotland.  Much of North America is having a cooler and wetter spring than normal.

I agree with the comments of @Morgan and others regarding the heat.  Anything over 30 degrees is too much for me. I used to love being in Palm Springs or Phoenix, desert country, where it would be 40+ and dry as dust. Not now. 

Feel much the same, Ron. We have this plan to move to La Paz (assuming a few things still to be sorted) but quite honestly when we were down there in January I felt like I was sweating my bollocks off even then AND it was between 22 and 28, feck knows how the high 30's and upwards will feel.

She's mad keen though and loved it (I certainly had nowt bad to say about the place) but after close to 50 years I'd only just reluctantly accepted Calgary. :rolleyes5:

Too expensive to retire in Calgary, same for over here along with the weather factor, add to that the low cost of living down there .........

Still have no idea though. (quelle surprise)

Maple Leaf
25 minutes ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

Feel much the same, Ron. We have this plan to move to La Paz (assuming a few things still to be sorted) but quite honestly when we were down there in January I felt like I was sweating my bollocks off even then AND it was between 22 and 28, feck knows how the high 30's and upwards will feel.

She's mad keen though and loved it (I certainly had nowt bad to say about the place) but after close to 50 years I'd only just reluctantly accepted Calgary. :rolleyes5:

Too expensive to retire in Calgary, same for over here along with the weather factor, add to that the low cost of living down there .........

Still have no idea though. (quelle surprise)

Decisions, decisions, eh Jim?

I was once told that the best climate is one with four distinct seasons, and that sounds about right to me. As long as the winter season is short, which rules out all of Canada except southern BC.

11 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

I was once told that the best climate is one with four distinct seasons, and that sounds about right to me. As long as the winter season is short, which rules out all of Canada except southern BC.

Was looking for some Solomon--like advice Ron. :P

You're right on about the four seasons though. 

Edited by J.T.F.Robertson

1 hour ago, Maple Leaf said:

So Scotland then?  :unsure: 

Maple Leaf
4 hours ago, graygo said:

So Scotland then?  :unsure: 

Could be.  Four rainy seasons, from what I remember. 

Cauld with rain, mild with rain, warm with rain, mild with rain.  That works.

6 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

Not far off the truth.

Sun is shining today though :) 

Montgomery Brewster
19 minutes ago, graygo said:

Not far off the truth.

Sun is shining today though :) 

Hope you have a brolly. Its to pish with rain this afternoon 

1 minute ago, Montgomery Brewster said:

Hope you have a brolly. Its to pish with rain this afternoon 

No doubt.

Restonbabe
14 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

Is the 4 seasons all within the space of a 40 minute peorid in May however? 

Only in scotland 

12 minutes ago, Restonbabe said:

Only in scotland 

Naw. Scottish weather isn't unique in any way whatsoever.

9 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

Doesn't quite work. It is never warm with rain.  ☺️

1 hour ago, Restonbabe said:

Only in scotland 

That can happen anywhere tbh.

AlimOzturk

The weather really isn't that bad. We don't get Hurricanes, Monsoons  Lightening storms, tornadoes and other catastrophic events for starters. 

It can be dull, cold, windy and wet but give me that over 30-40 degree heat any day. If I want that I'll go on holiday and actually enjoy it because so k don't have to suffer it every day  

Edited by AlimOzturk

Sorry, my fault regarding the weather ⛈️

Bought a mountain bike in April and we've had very few sunny days since. 

From a mental health point of view I'm weird in the way that I believe things always go against me. For example, I don't usually watch Hearts games on TV as they always lose when I do - Dare I say Celtic scored in the final around 3 minutes after I switched the game on. 

Maple Leaf
8 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

The weather really isn't that bad. We don't get Hurricanes, Monsoons  Lightening storms, tornadoes and other catastrophic events for starters. 

It can be dull, cold, windy and wet but give me that over 30-40 degree heat any day. If I want that I'll go on holiday and actually enjoy it because so k don't have to suffer it every day  

Correct. There are countless places with worse weather than Edinburgh.

10 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Agree with this as a lot of countries have extreme weather conditions.

On 03/06/2019 at 08:40, theshed said:

How bad is the weather at the moment and no sign of it getting any better soon 

If it's any consolation (probably not, right enough) the weather was also shite in Orkney over the past couple of weeks. Global Warming or not, last summer was just the job, as far as I'm concerned!

Edited by Auld Reekin'

1 hour ago, AlimOzturk said:

2 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

Really good post, Alim.

A lot of good points condensed into a couple of paragraphs.

We have a Maritime climate without large variations in temperature. Plenty of worse places and climates, totally agree on that - I'd still prefer a nice Mediterranean climate any day of the week though. 

21 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

I know what you mean, when I lived in Osoyoos my golf buddy and  I used to go out at noon in high thirties walk a hilly course because no one else was stupid enough to do it and we had the whole course to ourselves. We felt like rich estate owners  This last few days it has been in the thirties, my wife and I have been in the house with the AC on complaining about the heat.

5 minutes ago, Toggie88 said:

We have a Maritime climate without large variations in temperature. Plenty of worse places and climates, totally agree on that - I'd still prefer a nice Mediterranean climate any day of the week though. 

You'd maybe like it 'any day of the week" and it is very pleasant, apart from the near 7 months of heat we get here each year. It becomes very tiresome. The other 5 months or so, as you allude to, are really nice and temperate. ?

Our friends always tell us that we are too hard to please, but I'd love them to try coping with it!!  :lol: 

4 minutes ago, bobsharp said:

I know what you mean, when I lived in Osoyoos my golf buddy and  I used to go out at noon in high thirties walk a hilly course because no one else was stupid enough to do it and we had the whole course to ourselves. We felt like rich estate owners  This last few days it has been in the thirties, my wife and I have been in the house with the AC on complaining about the heat.

You and your heavy metal bands Bob!

:wink: 

4 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

I hear you. I mean, I like a nice warm day from time to time but only if I can really enjoy it. Commuting and working in 25 degree weather is ****ing torture.

Plus, this country doesn't deserve nice hot weather. Being on the continent makes me realise how shite it is here when it's nice. Over there every bar, restaurant, cafe etc. Has lots of outdoor seating, full of people just relaxing, socialising in a dignified manner.

Here when the suns out at a reasonably decent temperature, it's near impossible to find a beer garden that isn't rammed full, a lot of people probably can't be trusted to sit out unsupervised, and the streets are rammed full of skinny pale jakeys with no tops on and bottles of bucky by their side.

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

You and your heavy metal bands Bob!

:wink: 

Just love them I was actually worried that someone would make a mistake and thought I meant air conditioning.