Fifa Women's World Cup

3 minutes ago, Elmo said:

It’s been a great build up profile wise and no doubt ladies football is massively on the up. 

I think this is the breakthrough event. 

I don’t mind watching it but you have to hold your breath anytime someone has any type of shot as the keepers are erratic at best. 

Thats definitely my view. Some good outfield players but the keepers need some coaching. Fair play to the sport as its definitely on the up and you never know, Scotland might actually be an OK team! 

• Replies 2.6k

• Maroon Sailor

• Lovecraft

• kila

Looking forward to watching the opening match tonight. Beers in the fridge for Scotland on Sunday as well.

Much prefer our national women than the men! 

I take very little interest in our national team these days (male or female), but I always want us to win.

Add in the fact we are playing Ingerlund,  I wish our squad all the best.

Got round to watching the documentary mentioned on here a few pages back. Really good watch. You can tell how much it means to them to play for their country and how proud and excited they are to have qualified for the world cup.

The men's team should be made to watch it on repeat until they display similar characteristics.

letsalldothebeattie

Never been one for watching much of the women’s game but given it’s a World Cup & we are actually bloody in it I’ll watch it. An Auld Enemy clash to start for Scotland bring it on

1 minute ago, jonnothejambo said:

I see that Hope Solo, the former US goalie, is working for the BBC.

She was a fine keeper.....

I'll say no more about anything else....

Defo a keeper.

Bull's-eye
14 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

No ****in need for that J.

Had forgotten but had to Google.

You sir are a wrong un.

Bowfin. 

2 minutes ago, Artful Dodger said:

No ****in need for that J.

Had forgotten but had to Google.

You sir are a wrong un.

Bowfin

:cornette_dog:

Oooft    Look at the size of the big Virgil  Van Dijk type  unit for France.

I'd let her throw me about for a dollar.

Edited by Olly Lee's left boot

Heartsofgold
20 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Was she not done for battering he husband?

1 minute ago, Heartsofgold said:

Was she not done for battering he husband?

I'd take a beating from her

20 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Screenshot_20190607-200417_Chrome.jpg.0875d96141a82f866e81f0dd4e91626b.jpg

Screenshot_20190607-200450_Chrome.jpg.a550abca3ca28d3480932ddd7a5ae195.jpg

France V Korea and a full 20 seconds into the game on the BBC and they mention the Mens World Cup and surprise surprise Englands men won the 8th World cup competition in 1966. I had absolutely no idea of this at all, well done them. Wankers

2 minutes ago, Olly Lee's left boot said:

ffs 1966 mentioned in the first minute!

For those who missed it commentator said "this is the 8th womens World Cup. England's men won the 8th World Cup. But more of England later" 

19 seconds in (re above might have been 12 seconds) 

Edited by Mikey1874

Hats off to the commentator who managed to mention England's men winning the WC in 1966 within 15 seconds of the game starting.  It has to be a joke inside the commentators union surely as to who can do it the fastest?

What a hoot.

1 minute ago, JackLadd said:

Phil Neville is a perv in my book. 

Any male coach that is coaching a group of women is pumpin' some of them.

like a drill Sergeant, make them hate him and unit as a team. old team building tactic, just a different method.

1 minute ago, joondalupjambo said:

Hats off to the commentator who managed to mention England's men winning the WC in 1966 within 15 seconds of the game starting.  It has to be a joke inside the commentators union surely as to who can do it the fastest?

What a hoot.

Remember when England were relevant in world politics......................

Just now, Olly Lee's left boot said:

Any male coach that is coaching a group of women is pumpin' some of them.

like a drill Sergeant, make them hate him and unit as a team. old team building tactic, just a different method.

I bet wee Nev has them well drilled. 

4 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

For those who missed it commentator said "this is the 8th womens World Cup. England's men won the 8th World Cup. But more of England later" 

19 seconds in (re above might have been 12 seconds) 

He actually said more of England v Scotland later.

All you could hear were women screaming in the crowd. 

Sounded like the final orgy scenes in a 70s porno apparently.

Did you watch them with the sound off Jonno ?

Aye. 

The wee French winger is a great dribbler. 

Which movie was that in then ?

jambomjm74

Goal keeper for Korea is mince...

Heading the ball, doesn’t appear to be something anyone is willing to do.

atmosphere is very family friendly and quite different. 

For a World Cup and all the coverage, it’s not got enough to keep me interested. Sorry but 15 mins is enough for me. 

It’s a very very different game from the man’s game ... all this equal investment stuff from politicians and press doesn’t match to the product on show. 

Just now, Artful Dodger said:

The Dodger is tipping les bleus to lift the trophy. 

I think you shall find Engerlund have already won it.

England mention alert

"Should play France in semi finals" 

Scots might have something to say about that. 

4 minutes ago, Artful Dodger said:

The Dodger is tipping les bleus to lift the trophy. 

Australia Dodger, good value at 16/1. Samantha Kerr is a good bet for top goalscorer as well. 

Another tight VAR offside

Back to 1-0

Need to change the offside rule to allow these tight ones where only part of body is in front 

Edited by Mikey1874