Betfred Cup - fixtures announced ( updated )

CJGJ

Missing Cowden away which I'm slightly disappointed about. Shite ground and the place is a shitehole but I weirdly enjoyed the trips through there in the championship.

Won't make united at home either, hopefully be able to catch that on holiday though.

Back for the Stenny and East Fife games. What was the ticket allocation for the game against Raith at East Fife last year?

• Replies 480

• Jambo 4 Ever

• been here before

• Mr Elwood P

letsalldothebeattie

Happy with the fixtures only need to ask for an early finish for Cowdenbeath away. Can’t wait to get back into competitive games. It’s only just been over a week since the final and I’m hating not having Hearts ruin my weekends. 12th July can’t come quick enough 

5 minutes ago, Icon of Symmetry said:

That should be 12 points right there.

Agreed. United at home might not be as straight forward as the others but anything other than four wins would be massively disappointing.

3 minutes ago, Icon of Symmetry said:

You can do as you please, guv'. ?

I don't think we can expect 12 points though - we are not that good at the moment

1 minute ago, Texia said:

Agreed. United at home might not be as straight forward as the others but anything other than four wins would be massively disappointing.

With them entering their fourth season (?) in the wilderness, and with small crowds, you would expect them to be a different animal to the team that used to regularly give us a bloody nose a few seasons ago, but they are almost certainly going to be our toughest opponents. First game of the season at home under the floodlights though? I'd be all but expecting a positive result. Shouldn't take any team lightly, but I would make us clear favourites at home.

3 minutes ago, Jambo_in_Hamilton said:

I don't think we can expect 12 points though - we are not that good at the moment

You can expect what you like, matey. ?

2 minutes ago, Icon of Symmetry said:

You can expect what you like, matey. ?

you really think we can win 4 games in a row?

Just now, Jambo_in_Hamilton said:

you really think we can win 4 games in a row?

Questionable?

Mr Elwood P
6 minutes ago, Jambo_in_Hamilton said:

Could have left it at that ...

Clearly you’ve not been paying attention again. We’re specialists in winning easy cup ties now. It’s mediocre league games that we struggle with. Beat Dundee United and we will win the group with either 12 or 10 points. 

1 minute ago, Mr Elwood P said:

Could have left it at that ...

Clearly you’ve not been paying attention again. We’re specialists in winning easy cup ties now. It’s mediocre league games that we struggle with. Beat Dundee United and we will win the group with either 12 or 10 points. 

I think we will struggle to beat Dundee UTD

Rick James

Buzzing for the Dundee United game. Perfect Friday night fixture. They'll bring a decent crowd too.

I'm in Greece for Cowdenbeath and won't go to Stenny at home due to football training, but my first trip to Methil should be a laugh.

Mr Elwood P

I think we will struggle to beat Dundee UTD

Did you watch them in the play offs? We will start the season very much on the front foot. The task is to maintain that past Halloween this time. 

Scott980612

good to get Dundee Utd first - win that & hopefully get a good buzz around the place early on.  

First game I’ll make will be the stenny game - looking forward to proper football starting back already. 

Never been to East Fife, going to tick that of the list of grounds visited.  Disappointed that there's no trip to Stenny.

Can't bring myself to go back to Cowdenbeath after the two trips there in the Championship season.

jamtartan74

My 1st child will be born around the time this starts so I will miss all the games and will get to a handful of league games although I have renewed my season ticket but will pick and choose the games. We should win this group comfortably though. 

Was really hoping for a game at Tannadice, for purely selfish reasons :lol: 

Cowdenbeath alright to get to on the train, but Methil will be a pain in the arse - will have to take the car, so won't be able to enjoy a wee bevvy!

BigCGilmour

Was desperate for stenny away, couple of minutes walk... they'll be really happy with cash injection.

32 minutes ago, Jambo_in_Hamilton said:

You're right, we haven't won a game since last season, and the team didn't even turn up at the weekend.

Boooooo, everyone oot!!111!

1 minute ago, August Landmesser said:

You're right, we haven't won a game since last season, and the team didn't even turn up at the weekend.

Boooooo, everyone oot!!111!

We have only won 4 games in 2019

Edited by Jambo_in_Hamilton

I had a feeling we'd have got East Fife at home and Stenny away

Never mind

12 points has to be achievable

How many have we won in 2019?

We have not won a single League Cup game in 2019.

We haven't beaten Cowdenbeath or East Fife for a year, and I can't even remember when we last beat Stenhousemuir. 

Might as well not bother showing up.

Might have to miss the midweek ones due to work but happy enough with the other two. East Fife may be a struggle to get tickets for though.

14 minutes ago, Jambo_in_Hamilton said:

Beat St Johnstone 2-0, Livvy 1-0 in January. Auchinleck 4-0 and Kilmarnock 2-1 in February. Aberdeen 2-1, Partick Thistle 2-1 and  Dundee 1-0 in March and  Inverness 3-0 in April.

You're right. Thats only 4.

1 minute ago, Gambo said:

On holiday for them all?

Could well be a blessing.

In 2 months you could be posting the same words with the phrase 'Thank fxxk I was....' preceding it.

4 wins is the minimum. Seeding helps for next round. 

3 wins and a draw probably enough to win the group / qualify as one of best 4 runners up. 

All lower league sides. Unsure why anyone would expect us to lose. 

35 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

I wonder if the Cowdenbeath hospitality still involves the local curry house providing the food.  

I've heard good things about it.

I actually really like Central Park. I’ve been to way more stock car meets there than football games, but great memories all the same.

34 minutes ago, been here before said:

Beat St Johnstone 2-0, Livvy 1-0 in January. Auchinleck 4-0 and Kilmarnock 2-1 in February. Aberdeen 2-1, Partick Thistle 2-1 and  Dundee 1-0 in March and  Inverness 3-0 in April.

You're right. Thats only 4.

4 league games

3 minutes ago, Jambo_in_Hamilton said:

4 league games

That's not what you posted and these aren't league games, caught out again

16 minutes ago, Jambo_in_Hamilton said:

4 league games

Are cup victories somehow different?

Mr Elwood P
1 hour ago, Jambo_in_Hamilton said:

No wonder you’re always asking questions! You have the lowest base level of football knowledge on this forum. That is a staggering achievement.

1 minute ago, Mr Elwood P said:

No wonder you’re always asking questions! You have the lowest base level of football knowledge on this forum. That is a staggering achievement.

On a thread about cup games he's talking about the amount of league games won in 2019. 

The 4 cup games won in 2019 dont count when on a thread about cup games.

:

Shame will miss the only real match but an opportunity to get to a couple of places I should already have visited 

Mr Elwood P
7 minutes ago, been here before said:

On a thread about cup games he's talking about the amount of league games won in 2019. 

The 4 cup games won in 2019 dont count when on a thread about cup games.

:

Couldn’t make it up, well apart from once upon a time in Hamilton!

rick witter

We won’t win all 4 games. 

We have never done it before and this group is tougher than the previous ones!! 

25 minutes ago, rick witter said:

Well, how many do you think we will win Rick?  1? 2?

Stenhousemuir and East Fife will certainly present stern tests and if we can come away with a couple of draws I'll be more than happy.

If the top 2 qualify, I think we might scrape in.

10 minutes ago, Gambo said:

Should be 4 victories, zero excuses.

Sorry, zero excuses was last season.

No doubt Budge and Levein will find some excuse if we don’t win all 4 games. 

3 hours ago, tian447 said:

Was really hoping for a game at Tannadice, for purely selfish reasons :lol: 

Cowdenbeath alright to get to on the train, but Methil will be a pain in the arse - will have to take the car, so won't be able to enjoy a wee bevvy!

I'm sure someone posted last season get a train to Markinch, then a wee taxi trip down the road. We might give that a try if we get tickets.

Mr Elwood P
1 hour ago, rick witter said:

Apart from last year when we won 3 games in 90 mins and 1 game on penalties.

The two Tynecastle games:

P2 W2 F10 A0

Definitely worried about Stenhousemuir coming to visit!

https://us.soccerway.com/teams/scotland/heart-of-midlothian-fc/1900/matches/

rick witter
19 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

"We've never done it before"

In the long history of the Betfred Cup. 

We haven’t though have we. 

Even though we are massive odds on favourites to do it we have not managed to win all 4 group games. 

12 points or else.

I'm working 3 out of 4.

Pish

Properly registered players only please Hearts.

2 minutes ago, been here before said:

Anyone know what the queues are like at the Ticket Office?

Two guys and a dog.

There’s 300 folk on Gorgie Road though,  packing out the all-day breakfast shops.

There are no parking spaces left and they are all discussing moving home and buying new TV’s.

1 hour ago, Mr Elwood P said:

Apart from last year when we won 3 games in 90 mins and 1 game on penalties.

The two Tynecastle games:

P2 W2 F10 A0

Definitely worried about Stenhousemuir coming to visit!

https://us.soccerway.com/teams/scotland/heart-of-midlothian-fc/1900/matches/

Would you be so kind as to clear your inbox?  

Thanks!

Let me know if you have.