Answers you can't find on google

Post your questions here.

So, here's mines.

I've been trying to find out the year Tesco started operating In Scotland as cannot remember them being around my whole life and cannot for the life of me find the answer on the interweb

Any others you've tried but came up with a blank (p.s If you know any of the answers, pop them on her please)

5 minutes ago, chester copperpot said:

So, here's mines.

I've been trying to find out the year Tesco started operating In Scotland as cannot remember them being around my whole life and cannot for the life of me find the answer on the interweb

Any others you've tried but came up with a blank (p.s If you know any of the answers, pop them on her please)

Not sure about Tesco exactly but I started in WmLows in 1992/1993 and it was not long after that Tesco bought them over and Lows was rebranded as Tesco.

1 minute ago, Barack said:

What time does the ticket office open at Tynecastle?

Where is good for lunch in Edinburgh?

Where is good for Parking in Paisley?

Why haven't we signed Zeefuik?

(*A poster was having trouble with these. Always made me wonder...)

???

23 minutes ago, chester copperpot said:

So, here's mines.

https://www.greenocktelegraph.co.uk/news/13996387.tesco-store-was-a-trailblazer/ 

answer here for ya ?

38 minutes ago, Barack said:

Bravo.

Will the wife put out for me on my birthday again this year?

Edit: Ah shit, my birthday's past.  :( 

Edited by graygo

I have this memory of a cartoon film from the 80s, about mice moving to America. It featured a song called There Are No Cats In America, to the tune of America from West Side Story. Googling it turned up a cartoon that exactly fits the bill, but the tune used in the song is completely different.

Google Isn’t giving me the answers!

2 hours ago, Barack said:

If I close my eyes, I can just imagine it being JiH!

Jambothump
6 hours ago, sadj said:

Not sure about Tesco exactly but I started in WmLows in 1992/1993 and it was not long after that Tesco bought them over and Lows was rebranded as Tesco.

???

I was part of that in 1997, their head office was Dundee at the time.

Anyone able to find the public service broadcast from the 70s or 80s, for hyperthermia(Possibly) Yet!. The  one with the guy struggling in the snow.

I seem to remember a Harrier jump jet . 

4 hours ago, chester copperpot said:

Merci buckets pal. Please tell me you didnt find that on Google :lol:

One will say nope , just to spare your blushes ??‍♂️?

6 hours ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

I have this memory of a cartoon film from the 80s, about mice moving to America. It featured a song called There Are No Cats In America, to the tune of America from West Side Story. Googling it turned up a cartoon that exactly fits the bill, but the tune used in the song is completely different.

Erased from Google.   Turns out there are cats in America.

crunchy frog
2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Anyone able to find the public service broadcast from the 70s or 80s, for hyperthermia(Possibly) Yet!. The  one with the guy struggling in the snow.

I remember it from the 70s, the guy had ginger hair?

Looks like folk have been trying to find it for years....

https://www.cyclechat.net/threads/does-anyone-remember-the-public-information-film-about-hypothermia.45654/

I'm sure I remember Celtic's kit deal ending, them signing up with Gola, releasing kits, then withdrawing them and going with someone else after a couple of weeks as they were falling apart in the wash.

I can't find a link anywhere but I swear it happened, probably late 90s. Anyone else remember it?

Edited by Smithee

2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Was it not a Helicopter?

20 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I'm sure I remember Celtic's kit deal ending, them signing up with Gola, releasing kits, then withdrawing them and going with someone else after a couple of weeks as they were falling apart in the wash.

I can't find a link anywhere but I swear it happened, probably late 90s. Anyone else remember it?

A fairly crucial consideration for the globetrotting Celtic legions.

2 minutes ago, Victorian said:

A fairly crucial consideration for the globetrotting Celtic legions.

Indeed, they might only have got a season's wear out of it.

30 minutes ago, Smithee said:

The fact that it took a couple of weeks for Celtic fans to discover they were falling apart in the wash tells you everything you need to know about them :lol: 

2 minutes ago, tian447 said:

The fact that it took a couple of weeks for Celtic fans to discover they were falling apart in the wash tells you everything you need to know about them :lol: 

I always assumed they were talking weegie washes myself

Lacura-Men's-Galactic-Body-Spray.jpg?o=@

14 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Indeed, they might only have got a season's wear out of it.

I thought that was the Celtic fan's definition of a scaff.... someone who wears last season's strip.

7 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I always assumed they were talking weegie washes myself

Lacura-Men's-Galactic-Body-Spray.jpg?o=@

Ahh, the infamous "Dundee Shower" :lol: 

That brand seems a bit high end for Celtic fans.  Can probably get 3 of these for a pound in Home Bargains:

81qQoTE7bkL._SY879_.jpg

1 minute ago, tian447 said:

Ahh, the infamous "Dundee Shower" :lol: 

That brand seems a bit high end for Celtic fans.  Can probably get 3 of these for a pound in Home Bargains:

81qQoTE7bkL._SY879_.jpg

I was very careful to choose Aldi's best - 45p a can!

5 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I was very careful to choose Aldi's best - 45p a can!

Bargain!  And some of their fans still have to be reminded of the existence of the stuff!!

10 hours ago, graygo said:

Will the wife put out for me on my birthday again this year?

Edit: Ah shit, my birthday's past.  :( 

Don't you have one of those contracts where your unused credit rolls over?

2 hours ago, Victorian said:

Erased from Google.   Turns out there are cats in America.

Ha, of course!

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

"Do not lie down and sleep".

Was mentioned in a thread on here a few years ago: https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/149203-favourite-old-adverts/&page=2

but I can't find the video on the web.

Edited by redjambo

37 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Don't you have one of those contracts where your unused credit rolls over?

Those are real things? 

She told me they weren't.  :( 

1 hour ago, Boris said:

Was it not a Helicopter?

Could be a rescue helicopter for a fighter pilot. :D You're probably right.

Can't find it. But some of the others are a bit dark. :(

8 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

I was a kid in the States when this came out and Mr President's link is the correct tune... Interestingly you appear to be creating a memory here of a different tune! Mandela Effect...

https://www.snopes.com/fact-check/sinbad-movie-shazaam/

I’m beginning to think this is might be the case, aye!

Denis Atomic

If a normal sized adult lives with a little person (midget), what does the inside of their house look like? 

5 hours ago, ri Alban said:

I remember it but I don't think it was a public service broadcast, soldier pissed in the snow wasn't it?

16 minutes ago, graygo said:

I remember it but I don't think it was a public service broadcast, soldier pissed in the snow wasn't it?

:D something like that.

In primary school, we used to get these videos . Possibly bbc schools or something? Anyway we used to watch one that terrified me as it had (I think) a giant raven in it, this would’ve been around the mid to early 90s. Anyway know the name of it or remember it? ?

1 hour ago, Dino Velvet said:

Will I have sex with the hot blonde at my work. 

Have you spoken to him?

Did he give you any encouragement?

Is he single?

If the answer to these questions is yes then go for it.

Good luck.

4 minutes ago, graygo said:

Have you spoken to him?

Did he give you any encouragement?

Is he single?

If the answer to these questions is yes then go for it.

Good luck.

Thanks, google? 

5 minutes ago, Dino Velvet said:

Thanks, google? 

No mate, that;s gold medal advice that can't be found on google.  :thumbsup: 

3 minutes ago, graygo said:

No mate, that;s gold medal advice that can't be found on google.  :thumbsup: 

Much appreciated. My dad always told me to trust strangers on the internet and it seems he was right. 

2 minutes ago, Dino Velvet said:

Much appreciated. My dad always told me to trust strangers on the internet and it seems he was right. 

peter_hmfc

How do you become a drag racer? Does some just watch you drive and think "Wow, that guy really impressed me driving forward for 50 metres then stopping like that!"? What sets one person driving forward in a straight line from the other?

1 hour ago, peter_hmfc said:

How do you become a drag racer? Does some just watch you drive and think "Wow, that guy really impressed me driving forward for 50 metres then stopping like that!"? What sets one person driving forward in a straight line from the other?

It's an American test of manhood. Probably. 

6 hours ago, Irufushi said:

In primary school, we used to get these videos . Possibly bbc schools or something? Anyway we used to watch one that terrified me as it had (I think) a giant raven in it, this would’ve been around the mid to early 90s. Anyway know the name of it or remember it? ?

There's this.

On 17/05/2019 at 02:15, A Boy Named Crow said:

I remember seeing a bunch of cartoon mice doing a parody of "I want to be in America" with the lyric, "There are no cats in America." Can I find it? Naw, ah cannae! Could it be that the copyright lawyers have stifled it?