Square sausage

Marvin

Got a story on my news feed to my phone that Aldi are claiming to have invented the Square sausage. Can't be true because I've been eating them for over 40 years. Aldi have barely been around 40 minutes. :wacko:

Slice(d) sausage.

Aldis been around since 1946 and had stores in Britain for nearly 30 years.

Aldi haven't claimed to have invented it at all.

They're just selling it south of the border. 

They've called it "Sausedge".

It's made of pork.

Lorne Sausage is made of beef or beef and pork.

Regal Kingston

Clever marketing. 

Im so angry I’m going straight to Aldi

to buy some slice sausedge. 

32 minutes ago, Regal Kingston said:

Clever marketing. 

They have ran oot.

Shelves are empty.

:greggy:

Brighton Jambo

I'm sure I saw they are also claimed to invent Irn Bru.  It's all part of some clever marketing ploy which is clearly working as we are talking about it on kickback!!!

32 minutes ago, Robbo-Jambo said:

They have ran oot.

Shelves are empty.

:greggy:

4 hour queue, traffic backed up the M8.Radjes fighting in the car park.

20 minutes ago, Cruyff Turn said:

Square sausage 

Exactly, Burniestoun,  its only weegies and the like who have square sausage.

Pronounced 'skwer sosij'.

1 hour ago, Cade said:

Aldi haven't claimed to have invented it at all.

They're just selling it south of the border. 

They've called it "Sausedge".

It's made of pork.

Lorne Sausage is made of beef or beef and pork.

Nips, lips, flaps and sacks.

Sliced sausage :facepalm:

Lorne sausage is for posh folk. 

Square sausage is correct. 

11 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Sliced sausage :facepalm:

Lorne sausage is for posh folk. 

Square sausage is correct. 

Just called sausage in my house. Those odd long things are for foreign types.

roll and sausage needs no further definition

2 hours ago, Regal Kingston said:

Clever marketing. 

I can get mine in Iceland, the only place in Bath that sells it.

mrmarkus1981

My local butcher (in Dunbar) does amazing square sausage, nice and thick with the added deliciousness of a haggis eye. 60p a slice or something. Drooling!!!

My mum just called it 'sausage meat', which I probably did too before moving to Edinburgh. I now call it 'sliced', so that was picked up here.

In Still Game, Winston cooked some 'flat sausage'. Anyone heard it called that elsewhere?

1 hour ago, been here before said:

Exactly, Burniestoun,  its only weegies and the like who have square sausage.

Pronounced 'skwer sosij'.

No , just square. Only suspects call it slice.

39 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

Just called sausage in my house. Those odd long things are for foreign types.

roll and sausage needs no further definition

Links!

Do The Dance
27 minutes ago, Craig_ said:

Manky weegie food.

I used to think that, but you can get some pretty decent lorne sausage. Quite partial to the stuff on the odd occasion now.

43 minutes ago, been here before said:

What about round sliced sausage?

Is that square sausage too?

That's called a monstrosity. 

48 minutes ago, been here before said:

That was called slicing when I was a kid. 

They do skinny slice in there. Its quite nice for next to no fat. 

Growing up it was always called sliced sausage, my dad is from Gorgie and my mum is from Stenhouse. Never heard the term square sausage until we moved to Gala. Always knew the term Loren sausage but never use it, generally square nowadays.

2 hours ago, Tazio said:

That was called slicing when I was a kid. 

My stepdad always called it slicing but he's a fifer so we paid that the respect it deserved and called it square.

What is Lorne by the way? Is it a place?

19 minutes ago, Smithee said:

My stepdad always called it slicing but he's a fifer so we paid that the respect it deserved and called it square.

What is Lorne by the way? Is it a place?

Lorne's a wee town in Argyll.

Feck knows if that was where the sosij came from

Edited by Cade

Sooperstar
7 hours ago, Brighton Jambo said:

I'm sure I saw they are also claimed to invent Irn Bru.  It's all part of some clever marketing ploy which is clearly working as we are talking about it on kickback!!!

Nah, that was a Lidl Tweet taking the piss out of them.

SpruceBringsteen
4 hours ago, been here before said:

That's sliced sausage.

If it's square or rectangular, it's square sausage.

If it's being discussed by some arsehole in Morningside, it's lorne sausage.

And that's the lesson for today.

ALDI also reckon they’ve found a link between pork and beef sausages. 

Edited by Cygnet

6 minutes ago, SpruceBringsteen said:

That's sliced sausage.

If it's square or rectangular, it's square sausage.

If it's being discussed by some arsehole in Morningside, it's lorne sausage.

And that's the lesson for today.

Isnt square sausage sliced then?

How can rectangular be square?

SpruceBringsteen
5 minutes ago, been here before said:

Isnt square sausage sliced then?

How can rectangular be square?

I don't make the rules, I just follow them. :lol:

7 hours ago, mrmarkus1981 said:

My local butcher (in Dunbar) does amazing square sausage, nice and thick with the added deliciousness of a haggis eye. 60p a slice or something. Drooling!!!

Sounds ace! Which Butcher is it?

My parents live down near Coldingham, so might have a wee detour on my next drive down to grab some of that!! :thumbsup:

7 hours ago, mrmarkus1981 said:

The butchers up here do something similar but with local black pudding in the middle.

Square sausage with stornoway black pudding, mmmmmmmmmm.

40 minutes ago, tian447 said:

My parents live down near Coldingham, so might have a wee detour on my next drive down to grab some of that!! :thumbsup:

Butchers in the Mill Centre (Steins) in Blackburn do it with either black pudding or haggis through it. Never tried any of the 2 as I'm only ever in to buy stew pies

59 minutes ago, tian447 said:

He probably means Peter Whitecross butchers on the High Street in Dunbar, certainly they did it when I lived in Dunbar.

4 hours ago, tian447 said:

Was down there during the summer as took my children on a caravan holiday like I used to do when I was young. Went to Coldingham bay and St Abbs harbour and all the memories came flooding back.

Beautiful part of the world 

Square sausage, haggis roond, broon sauce (daddies) and a proper well fired roll. I don't miss Scotland much but I always look forward to a roll like that when I'm heading up.

mrmarkus1981
8 hours ago, superjack said:

The butchers up here do something similar but with local black pudding in the middle.

Square sausage with stornoway black pudding, mmmmmmmmmm.

Aye they do that too, quality stuff

mrmarkus1981
7 hours ago, graygo said:

He probably means Peter Whitecross butchers on the High Street in Dunbar, certainly they did it when I lived in Dunbar.

Correctamundo

Sooperstar
7 hours ago, indianajones said:

Lorne sausage is shite in comparison to the real deal linked sausage.

Finally! Have never understood the love for lorne/square/sliced sausage. It's shite.

14 hours ago, been here before said:

Can you still buy the round slice sausage?

Restonbabe
10 hours ago, tian447 said:

The butcher in Coldingham does it aswell. Granted not as good as Peters but its not a 30 odd mile round trip for it. ( morrisons and lidl in Berwick do them also)