Eurovision Song Contest 2019

FWJ

The only European competition that matters.  The first semi-final is tomorrow at 8pm the second in Thursday and the Final on Saturday.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m0002fsf

Israel is in it because it is in the EBU (European Broadcasting Union).  Australia is in because they have a special invite as it’s so popular there.

• Replies 488

• FWJ

• Lovecraft

• Shanks said no

• neilnunb

My BDS stance means I'll not be paying any attention to Eurovision this year, which is a shame as it's one of the best drunken nights in of the year.

Hope to read about the Icelanders doing something crazy though.

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

Wierdos watching weirdos.

I don't listen to the songs, but like to watch the voting. Does that make me more or less of a weirdo?

1 hour ago, Lemongrab said:

I don't listen to the songs, but like to watch the voting. Does that make me more or less of a weirdo?

The voting is the best bit.

5 hours ago, Cade said:

My BDS stance means I'll not be paying any attention to Eurovision this year, which is a shame as it's one of the best drunken nights in of the year.

Hope to read about the Icelanders doing something crazy though.

BDS?

23 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

BDS?

Boycotts, Divestment, Sanctions

Taking a leaf out of the playbook of the Anti-Apartheid Movement of the 60s, 70s and 80s and applying it to the wannae Apartheid state that Netanyahu is building.

3 hours ago, FWJ said:

The voting is the best bit.

Love the voting. Trying to guess who'll give full points to who based on geopolitics is my favourite part. 

6 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Wierdos watching weirdos.

WAtched it 50 years ago with mum and dad, saturday night, its a conn/joke now, 

Got victoria to watch ha ha

7 hours ago, neilnunb said:

Netherlands to win!

Friend at work said this too.

I’ve not heard any of the songs but I am going to a Eurovision party on Saturday. Last time I drank loads and barely watched any of it on the telly. Was still fun though. 

1 hour ago, Cade said:

Boycotts, Divestment, Sanctions

Taking a leaf out of the playbook of the Anti-Apartheid Movement of the 60s, 70s and 80s and applying it to the wannae Apartheid state that Netanyahu is building.

Glad i asked :lol:

42 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

WAtched it 50 years ago with mum and dad, saturday night, its a conn/joke now, 

Got victoria to watch ha ha

The year that Lulu won in a 4-way tie.

2 hours ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Love the voting. Trying to guess who'll give full points to who based on geopolitics is my favourite part. 

"Aye, were getting 12 from Ireland nae bother" 

3 Great Britain

"Whit the ****? **** YOU IRELAND" 

peter_hmfc

Looks like its not just the UK that's thrown in the towel, Poland have well and truly given up.

peter_hmfc

Georgia the second worst after Poland.

At least Australia always try even if they shouldn't be in it.

Was Iceland using a vocoder?  Thought they weren’t allowed.

Estonia nice and safe.  Can’t hit those high notes though.

peter_hmfc

Australia deserving 1st place but the competition is weak. Estonia 2nd and a big gap until 3rd with Iceland.

Estonia going for a Tom Dice style song, he did very well himself (6th in 2010 for perennially unfancied Belgium).

Edited by peter_hmfc

peter_hmfc
1 minute ago, FWJ said:

Was Iceland using a vocoder?  Thought they weren’t allowed.

Estonia nice and safe.  Can’t hit those high notes though.

I think another act (Norway?) used something similar a few years ago and the rules changed since.

peter_hmfc

San Marino deserve a break and a qualification to the final, but not with that shite. Terrible.

Yup.  Might San Marino for me!  Can’t sing, but love the na na na’s.

Similar lyrics worked for Massiel....

Edited by FWJ

peter_hmfc

Cyprus, Australia, Iceland, Estonia to go through.

Poland going through would be a travesty. Things like Portugal is why people make fun of the whole thing.

Sooperstar
3 minutes ago, peter_hmfc said:

Cyprus, Australia, Iceland, Estonia to go through.

Poland going through would be a travesty. Things like Portugal is why people make fun of the whole thing.

Poland have no chance!

peter_hmfc

Australia through, must be on good odds to win the whole thing.

Edited by peter_hmfc