Berwick Rangers

Got gubbed 4-0 by Cove Rangers in the first leg of the League 2 playoff and on the verge of losing their league status.

I find this pretty sad for a club with decent history and unique with being based in England.

Had a few good days following Hearts down there.

• Replies 146

• Nucky Thompson

• sadj

• letsalldothebeattie

• Maroon Sailor

1 minute ago, Jamdub said:

Thankfully we can now remove them from the Scottish football league system.

1 minute ago, Jamdub said:

I don't agree. i would rather have them than another shithole Aberdeen team

1 minute ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I don't agree. i would rather have them than another shithole Aberdeen team

That shithole Aberdeen team are bankrolled and the Highland League will be quite happy to get rid of them if they finish the job off. They are not a well liked team. If promoted i would imagine they wont think twice about spending the money to try and push up the leagues. 

1 minute ago, sadj said:

That shithole Aberdeen team are bankrolled and the Highland League will be quite happy to get rid of them if they finish the job off. They are not a well liked team. If promoted i would imagine they wont think twice about spending the money to try and push up the leagues. 

I know, I read about how they are bankrolled and to be fair, going by the match report,  I think 4-0 flattered Berwick.

You never know though, after seeing the comebacks of the last week

Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

I know, I read about how they are bankrolled and to be fair, going by the match report,  I think 4-0 flattered Berwick.

You never know though, after seeing the comebacks of the last week

Yeah true but Berwick have been in freefall recently even when Albion Rovers were horrendous Berwick weren’t far in front of them. They capitulated when they played Rovers a couple weeks ago and I don’t see any way they can claw back the four goals. 

Only ground I have been thrown out of. Hauled out by my scarf tied round my neck by a big English polisman.

Shite 0-0 draw anyway, went back in for the last five minutes.

Pissed 15 yo about 1979.

Agree with the OP, I would like them back. Even though their ground is shite for watching a game.

Restonbabe

If Berwick get relegated they are in very real danger of being put into liquidation. 

Apart from owning shielfield they struggle to recruit players.

its a good wee club. But sadly won't be missed and perhaps would be better for someone else to represent the spfl 

38 minutes ago, Jamdub said:

Apart from them going into the Scottish Lowland League you mean?

16 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Only ground I have been thrown out of. Hauled out by my scarf tied round my neck by a big English polisman.

Pissed 15 yo about 1979.

Agree with the OP, I would like them back. Even though their ground is shite for watching a game.

I wasn't at that game, but was at a Scottish cup tie that we drew 0-0 in the 90's I think,

I also remember they drew Celtic at home in the SC one year and played the tie at Tynecastle

Jambo-Jimbo
26 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Pissed 15 yo about 1979.

Oh it was shit as well, I was in what passed for the main stand that day.

what is mitch megginson doing playing for cove rangers? 49 goals for them this season, 50+ last season.

I remember going down there on a British Rail football special. Police escort all the way down through the town and over the bridge. Not even allowed into a shop for food or drink. Northumberland Polis not taking any shit. Lucky we all got pissed on the train!

The most intimidated I have ever felt before a game was a cup tie down there. 

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

1967 Scottish Cup. Look it up you youngsters.

A truly horrible day I remember the visiting team (at Berwick) supporters buses passing through before I went to Tynecastle to see Hearts .... a horrible day we lost 0-3 to Dundee Utd!!

And I must confess I went to Easter Road in the next round to support the visiting team!! They had a good goalkeeper that ended up on the management team at Hearts for a while!!

21 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

The most intimidated I have ever felt before a game was a cup tie down there. 

I went there to a pre-season friendly, it was a lovely summers evening, and we went to a friendly pub pre match! I can’t remember the result but the match was dire!

8 minutes ago, Jambo-Fox said:

I went there to a pre-season friendly, it was a lovely summers evening, and we went to a friendly pub pre match! I can’t remember the result but the match was dire!

Just done some research and it must have been July 1974 - Hearts won 1-0 Drew Busby! Also went there for competitive matches!

BelgeJambo

The board should hang their heads in shame

The club has been in decline for to long

Levein’s fault.

132goals1958
5 minutes ago, Jambo-Fox said:

A truly horrible day I remember the visiting team (at Berwick) supporters buses passing through before I went to Tynecastle to see Hearts .... a horrible day we lost 0-3 to Dundee Utd!!

And I must confess I went to Easter Road in the next round to support the visiting team!! They had a good goalkeeper that ended up on the management team at Hearts for a while!!

Youve really jogged the memory. I was only married a few months and was ill at the time living in a grotty room and kitchen. Had the old fashioned transistor radio listening for the score which did nothing to ease the pain at the time. I take. It you are referring to Willie Wilson who started off with my old team Musselburgh Windsor. He went on to greater things whilst I continued to be heavily disguised as a footballer 

I have been following them this season and they have been a disaster.

They started with Robbie Horne as manager and took some heavy defeats but at least beat Albion Rovers.

Robbie Horne quit and Jonny Harvey took over from Penicuik. He brought in four players from Penicuik and released players who joined Albion Rovers.

They continued to get defeated heavily and the best thing was the guy who did the twitter and Jonny Harvey’s post match interviews. 

Albion Rovers has been sitting on 7 points then got 6 in one day as they won and Were awarded the points because Clyde had an illegible player. Albion Rovers continued to improve and cruised past Berwick who failed to turn up in any big matches.

The guy who did the Twitter got sacked as did Jonny Harvey.

The new management team brought in for the last two games show no sign of being able to turn it around.

The worrying thing for Hearts is Berwick are fan owned and their seems to be a real lack of leadership.

I guy a couple of doors from me os from there and an avid supporter who was there in 1967. He talks about that day in the same way we talk about 19 05 12. Personally I will be quite sad if their relegated out of the league.

11 minutes ago, 132goals1958 said:

Youve really jogged the memory. I was only married a few months and was ill at the time living in a grotty room and kitchen. Had the old fashioned transistor radio listening for the score which did nothing to ease the pain at the time. I take. It you are referring to Willie Wilson who started off with my old team Musselburgh Windsor. He went on to greater things whilst I continued to be heavily disguised as a footballer 

My reference was to the Berwick Rangers goalkeeper that played in a famous cup tie in a Berwick victory, I’m sure they played Hibs in the next round .......

...... he was Jock Wallace ...... lived in Wallyford just up from the Levenhall roundabout!

48 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

I have been following them this season and they have been a disaster.

They started with Robbie Horne as manager and took some heavy defeats but at least beat Albion Rovers.

Robbie Horne quit and Jonny Harvey took over from Penicuik. He brought in four players from Penicuik and released players who joined Albion Rovers.

They continued to get defeated heavily and the best thing was the guy who did the twitter and Jonny Harvey’s post match interviews. 

Albion Rovers has been sitting on 7 points then got 6 in one day as they won and Were awarded the points because Clyde had an illegible player. Albion Rovers continued to improve and cruised past Berwick who failed to turn up in any big matches.

The guy who did the Twitter got sacked as did Jonny Harvey.

The new management team brought in for the last two games show no sign of being able to turn it around.

The worrying thing for Hearts is Berwick are fan owned and their seems to be a real lack of leadership.

We won’t have that problem due to the structure. 

They have been awful indeed i think they thought with Albion Rovers basically just signing some junior players they’d not have to worry that 6point swing on the Saturday gave Rovers momentum and they have had some decent results. Berwick just never looked up for it. It was clear if Albion got above them it was done. 

The boards behaviour toward the guy doing social media was a disgrace aswell. Wasn’t the wisest thing to do but how it played out ?

As I posted on another thread, I'm from near enough Berwick-upon-Tweed as makes no difference. 

I'm absolutely gutted at the result. I don't get down to Shielfield as much as I could, and concentrate more on Hearts, as the football is quite incomparable, and I don't find myself in my home town as much as I really should. However, this is absolutely diastruous for the town, and for the club. Going down to the lower level could well be the end of Berwick Rangers. There is barely enough money as it is, and a lower income isn't exactly good news. 

The Board should be ashamed of what has happened recently. It's been an absolute disaster, from backroom recruitment to players on the field. 

The novelty of being the only English club in the Scottish league should be ignored. This is a club with 135 years of history that may well be on the edge of existence. 

Not happy about it, and not looking forward to what might be about to happen to the club. 

Gorgiewave
25 minutes ago, tian447 said:

As I posted on another thread, I'm from near enough Berwick-upon-Tweed as makes no difference. 

I'm absolutely gutted at the result. I don't get down to Shielfield as much as I could, and concentrate more on Hearts, as the football is quite incomparable, and I don't find myself in my home town as much as I really should. However, this is absolutely diastruous for the town, and for the club. Going down to the lower level could well be the end of Berwick Rangers. There is barely enough money as it is, and a lower income isn't exactly good news. 

The Board should be ashamed of what has happened recently. It's been an absolute disaster, from backroom recruitment to players on the field. 

The novelty of being the only English club in the Scottish league should be ignored. This is a club with 135 years of history that may well be on the edge of existence. 

Not happy about it, and not looking forward to what might be about to happen to the club. 

If there's such a financial problem, it would be nice if Hearts/Hibs/Newcastle could arrange a pre-season friendly and get a decent crowd in.

5 hours ago, stuart500 said:

I remember going down there on a British Rail football special. Police escort all the way down through the town and over the bridge. Not even allowed into a shop for food or drink. Northumberland Polis not taking any shit. Lucky we all got pissed on the train!

I had used football specials quite a few times that season where you got off the train and did your own thing, Berwick was something else, I was short of fags and bursting for a piss and we were being force marched to the ground. South of the bridge I managed to sneak into a newsagents for fags and they allowed me to use the staff bogs, was I grateful

Gorgiewave
26 minutes ago, tian447 said:

PS: Is there much of a Hearts support in Berwick?

1 minute ago, Gorgiewave said:

The likes of Eyemouth certainly has a large Hearts support but Berwick itself is more EPL I think

3 minutes ago, Gorgiewave said:

Just now, FinnBarr Saunders said:

The likes of Eyemouth certainly has a large Hearts support but Berwick itself is more EPL I think

Berwick is much more Newcastle than SPFL team supporters. Although there are a few Hearts supporters, a few Hibs supporters, and your usual scattering of Old Firm pish! 

The demise of any Rangers team is good with me. They should be barred from any Scottish League.

About time  Aberdeen had another league team. Good crowd and something to offer football in general. 

Rangers in the name does put off some though. 

BelgeJambo
8 hours ago, tian447 said:

Berwick is much more Newcastle than SPFL team supporters. Although there are a few Hearts supporters, a few Hibs supporters, and your usual scattering of Old Firm pish! 

There is a Berwick Hearts supporters club

Before joining the Navy I used to get on the Eye Valley supporters bus mainly from Ayton and Eyemouth

D02377A1-5F53-49A2-9A61-07FC3FA28DC6.jpeg

132goals1958
12 hours ago, Jambo-Fox said:

My reference was to the Berwick Rangers goalkeeper that played in a famous cup tie in a Berwick victory, I’m sure they played Hibs in the next round .......

...... he was Jock Wallace ...... lived in Wallyford just up from the Levenhall roundabout!

Sorry got mixed up which is a common occurrence at my time of life. Of course Jock Wallace was synonymous with that game. Strange that it figures so prominently in the record books as the tribute act have since struggled against the likes of Annan and Cowdenbeath

BelgeJambo

Sammy Reid, a name that will be forever etched in Scottish Cup history 

RIP

2 hours ago, Sir Gio said:

About time  Aberdeen had another league team. Good crowd and something to offer football in general. 

14 minutes ago, Julie1957 said:

Talking to a Portsmouth fan.He said fan ownership does not work.Run like a bowling green.

Image result for thoughtful gif

1 hour ago, Julie1957 said:

Talking to a Portsmouth fan.He said fan ownership does not work.Run like a bowling green.

Random

I live not too far away from Berwick now and, even though the team are currently REALLY shit, I’ll be very sorry to see them go down if they do. Berwick’s a great town:  very interesting and historical, friendly, and with some brilliant pubs and at least one excellent restaurant. The very least it deserves is a ropey team in SPFL2!

One of the first grounds I visited as a kid and only "lifted over the turnstiles" experience, would be sad for them to go under. 

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope
18 minutes ago, Auld Reekin' said:

I live not too far away from Berwick now and, even though the team are currently REALLY shit, I’ll be very sorry to see them go down if they do. Berwick’s a great town:  very interesting and historical, friendly, and with some brilliant pubs and at least one excellent restaurant. The very least it deserves is a ropey team in SPFL2!

Which restaurant is that?  I'm going to be there in July - would be useful to know.

Phil Dunphy

Used to go to Shielfield reasonably often when I lived down in Duns. 

Would be very sad if they were to go to the wall.

Gorgiewave
21 hours ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

21 hours ago, tian447 said:

Thanks folks.

1 hour ago, fabienleclerq said:

One of the first grounds I visited as a kid and only "lifted over the turnstiles" experience, would be sad for them to go under. 

The very 1st ground I went to watch football. Berwick Rangers 5 Stenhousemuir 2 I think it was.

Did go to the speedway quite a lot on a Saturday Knight as well back in the day.

I hope they manage to survive.