European Elections

AlimOzturk

AlimOzturk

Never felt so meh about something in my entire life. Got my polling card today don't know if I'll even bother turning up to vote.

• Replies 361

• ri Alban

• i8hibsh

• Boris

• AlphonseCapone

The point is that, until we actually leave the EU, we are all EU citizens and need to have representation in the EU parliament.

It's that "democracy" thing that Brexiteers keep banging on about.

Jambo_Gaz

If the treasonous houses of parliament had done what the electorate had voted for we wouldn't be having the elections. Probably. 

Notts1874
Just now, Barack said:

****ed off with it all. Accepted the result quite happily, even though not what I'd want. 

Watched with disgust what's played out in WM, unsurprisingly. If I was a Brexiteer, I'd be seething. Not giving them my time this time. Local elections next up...and I'll be voting in that to protest vote against my local Labour AM.

They can **** off quite frankly. "National interest.   

Voted today. Took a long time to research all standing in my ward and after much consideration voted for the guy that drinks with us (Independent)

Notts1874
5 minutes ago, Barack said:

As good a choice as any, mate.

Well he stands his round at least.

Notts1874

There is a UKIP candidate in our ward. They are hardly standing anywhere today. Only person who didn't have his street on the ballot paper......

Notts1874

Here is a deleted tweet from Boris today about voting in the local elections. There is just one slight problem though.....

C__Data_Users_DefApps_AppData_INTERNETEXPLORER_Temp_Saved Images_D5lp95IW4AQhVbV.png

2 hours ago, jake said:

Always vote mate.

This. If you don't get involved in the system (not just voting but civic participation in general), you have no right to complain about the system. Do your best to change things to how you want them to be.

18 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

In case its of interest here is a wee quiz that might help

https://yourvotematters.eu/en/quiz/start

and I will not be voting for who it says reflect my views...............

That was interesting, although I was abstaining a lot near the end.

Turned out I'm aligned most with the Greens.

20 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

In case its of interest here is a wee quiz that might help

https://yourvotematters.eu/en/quiz/start

and I will not be voting for who it says reflect my views...............

My results are a 90% plus match with the Greens in various countries; 85% plus with Podemos; 75% or so with Labour. And one of my more recognisable Twitter followers, the about to retire Nessa Childers, is at about 85% too. 

9 hours ago, Notts1874 said:

Im fully behind these elections for this reason alone.

C__Data_Users_DefApps_AppData_INTERNETEXPLORER_Temp_Saved Images_D5k-7w3XkAAA7_O.jpg

Harassing some random brown guy in the street, fliming it for his wee website.

Guy got fed up being harassed and launched his milkshake at Steve-O's heid.

This is the second time in three days he's been drenched in milkshake.

Fud.

AlimOzturk
10 hours ago, Notts1874 said:

Im fully behind these elections for this reason alone.

C__Data_Users_DefApps_AppData_INTERNETEXPLORER_Temp_Saved Images_D5k-7w3XkAAA7_O.jpg

Any chance I could vote for the guy that did this please?

9 hours ago, redjambo said:

This. If you don't get involved in the system (not just voting but civic participation in general), you have no right to complain about the system. Do your best to change things to how you want them to be.

Of course you have a right to complain !

If you contribute to the system through any number of ways, paying taxes, you have every right to make your feelings known. 

If that means not voting in protest at this complete farce, then so be it. That action is a statement as much as anything.

An extremely low turn out is a way for people to register their feelings on this whole, sorry saga !

Voting, it could be argued, legitimises their **** up.

It’s a shambles and they can ram it !

Vote for a non-party local candidate standing for local issues.

Not turning up at all or spoiling your ballot isn't  a protest. It's a waste of the right to vote which people have given their lives for.

Apathy only lets the active members of the big parties do whatever they want and entrenches the duopoly.

Just now, Cade said:

Vote for a non-party local candidate standing for local issues.

Not turning up at all or spoiling your ballot isn't  a protest. It's a waste of the right to vote which people have given their lives for.

Apathy only lets the active members of the big parties do whatever they want and entrenches the duopoly.

I’m sure many people would vote for local candidates fighting for local issues.....in the local elections.

This is not that. It’s a ridiculous situation where we are bound by European statutes to participate in an election where the electorate don’t know how long their elected representatives will be in the fecking parliament !

It’s a nonsense and I respect anyone who boycotts this circus; a circus made possible by an inept scarecrow of a woman !

52 minutes ago, Boab said:

Of course you have a right to complain !

If you contribute to the system through any number of ways, paying taxes, you have every right to make your feelings known. 

If that means not voting in protest at this complete farce, then so be it. That action is a statement as much as anything.

An extremely low turn out is a way for people to register their feelings on this whole, sorry saga !

Voting, it could be argued, legitimises their **** up.

It’s a shambles and they can ram it !

Spoil your vote then. The local politicians at last night's counts were commenting that they were reading and taking account of a lot of the spoilt ballots and the (not too kind) comments written on them.

Not voting at all just comes across as apathy.

1 minute ago, redjambo said:

Spoil your vote then. The local politicians at last night's counts were commenting that they were reading and taking account of a lot of the spoilt ballots and the (not too kind) comments written on them.

Not voting at all just comes across as apathy.

Sorry, I should have said that’s what I intend to do.

I meant I respect anyone who doesn’t as a protest. If people perceive that as apathy then that’s a mistake, imo.

1 minute ago, Boab said:

Sorry, I should have said that’s what I intend to do.

I meant I respect anyone who doesn’t as a protest. If people perceive that as apathy then that’s a mistake, imo.

I still feel that we should have a "None of the above" choice on all ballot papers as an official protest vote. Ok, so the reasons for that protest won't be known, but it will still provide a show of feeling. In addition, there could potentially be a rule adopted that if the vote for "None of the above" is greater than the vote for the winning candidate then the particular poll in that electoral constituency should be re-held with entirely new candidates. This obviously would be for cases where the candidates are all crap rather than situations like yours where you are protesting that the vote shouldn't have been held at all.

A “ spoilt “ vote kinda covers that, no ?

Just now, Boab said:

A “ spoilt “ vote kinda covers that, no ?

Yes, but it doesn't have any legitimate standing. I would like to see an option that has to be listed with the rest of the poll options when the results are issued so that folk can easily see the extent of the protest against that particular vote, for whatever reason. Granted, one downside is that this may take some votes away from the smaller parties who traditionally attract protest votes.

I hear that but a large number of spoilt votes will let them know the extent of protest to the way this whole mess has been handled. It’s legitimate in my eyes.

Just now, Boab said:

I hear that but a large number of spoilt votes will let them know the extent of protest to the way this whole mess has been handled. It’s legitimate in my eyes.

Yes, but it's ephemeral and can be ignored. It almost certainly will be ignored by anyone outside the count hall itself.

Check the following out, for example.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/politics/constituencies/S14000026

You have to dig pretty deeply to get the number of spoilt ballot papers for a constituency's vote. The above listing of the results for Edinburgh West is typical - all candidates are listed but the spoilt ballot paper count isn't. Wouldn't it be nice to have that count legally included with the poll results?

I'm not one for spoiling my ballot paper myself, I would always give my vote to one of the smaller parties,  and spoiling your ballot paper is better than not voting at all, but it won't provide any more than a very short-term personal outlet for your feelings as well as potentially be seen by a few folk at the count. Unless the spoilt ballot paper count is abnormally high, as would be the case for example in an organised protest, the count will fade into obscurity almost immediately.

11 hours ago, redjambo said:

That was interesting, although I was abstaining a lot near the end.

Turned out I'm aligned most with the Greens.

I appear to be a green/ Labour/ socialist but I don't think my cross will be going there this time. 

11 hours ago, Notts1874 said:

Here is a deleted tweet from Boris today about voting in the local elections. There is just one slight problem though.....

C__Data_Users_DefApps_AppData_INTERNETEXPLORER_Temp_Saved Images_D5lp95IW4AQhVbV.png

:peek_by_Andrin:

so so many brains and a literal genius! Eh maybe not. He sums up the standard of politicians we have at the moment.  

31 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Yes, but it's ephemeral and can be ignored. It almost certainly will be ignored by anyone outside the count hall itself.

You have to dig pretty deeply to get the number of spoilt ballot papers for a constituency's vote. The above listing of the results for Edinburgh West is typical - all candidates are listed but the spoilt ballot paper count isn't. Wouldn't it be nice to have that count legally included with the poll results?

I'm not one for spoiling my ballot paper myself, I would always give my vote to one of the smaller parties,  and spoiling your ballot paper is better than not voting at all, but it won't provide any more than a very short-term personal outlet for your feelings as well as potentially be seen by a few folk at the count. Unless the spoilt ballot paper count is abnormally high, as would be the case for example in an organised protest, the count will fade into obscurity almost immediately.

Pretty sure that the returning officer details the number of spoilt papers when reading out the results.  But agree that those choosing to report the return should include them e.g. the BBC

11 hours ago, Notts1874 said:

He's a fatuous, lying piece of cumstained bog roll.

41 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Yeah, possibly your idea of a recognised number is a good idea. I just think a low turn out can’t be put down, solely, to apathy. Impossible to guess, so adds to your idea.

The whole thing is a mess really. I’m no expert, as you can probably tell, so, putting yourself in the mind of the electorate at large, what is the point ?

What happens to the elected MPs if this is ratified at the end of the year ?

Or is it an admission that it won’t and will drag on to 2020....or longer ?

Genuine questions as I haven’t really a clue to be perfectly honest.

Edited by Boab

1 minute ago, Boab said:

Yeah, possibly your idea of a recognised number is a good idea. I just think a low turn out can’t be put down, solely, to apathy. Impossible to guess, so adds to your idea.

The whole thing is a mess really. I’m no expert, as you can probably tell, so, putting yourself in the mind of the electorate at large, what is the point ?

What happens to the elected MPs if this is ratified at the end of the year ?

Or is it an admission that it won’t and will drag on to 2020....or longer ?

Genuine questions as I haven’t really a clue to be perfectly honest.

You may be interested in this which I just came across on the web: http://www.votenone.org.uk/protest_votes_count.html

The site suggests that the best way to spoil your ballot paper is to write NONE in large letters over the list of candidates. That makes the reason for your spoilt vote unequivocal.

I'm no expert either, far from it. On the other hand I do admit that I am a Remainer and hope that somehow we won't leave the EU. If we do, I'll then be concentrating on helping the SNP gain independence in the hope that an independent Scotland will become a member of the EU. I know, I'm a dyed in the wool Europhile.

As it is, there is no choice. We are still members of the EU and thus must hold the elections. If there is no agreed deal before that date.

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

You may be interested in this which I just came across on the web: http://www.votenone.org.uk/protest_votes_count.html

The site suggests that the best way to spoil your ballot paper is to write NONE in large letters over the list of candidates. That makes the reason for your spoilt vote unequivocal.

I'm no expert either, far from it. On the other hand I do admit that I am a Remainer and hope that somehow we won't leave the EU. If we do, I'll then be concentrating on helping the SNP gain independence in the hope that an independent Scotland will become a member of the EU. I know, I'm a dyed in the wool Europhile.

As it is, there is no choice. We are still members of the EU and thus must hold the elections. If there is no agreed deal before that date.

Interesting. Thanks for the info.

Leaflet from Herr Farage's lot through the door today.

It's now been torn up, set on fire and the ashes flushed down the shitter.

Pans Jambo
1 hour ago, Cade said:

Wiped the dug erse with it!

He must have spent a fortune on that!

It was addressed to Mrs PJ.Kent better to send it to me!

That welt Farage, the nodding shouting dug on QT last night is a tit of a man. How he gets so much air time is a disgrace.

All these UK being independent people like him, why don't they ever get asked about our union. Surely aa four nations should be independent.

Have I got news for you cancelled because Heidi Allen is a guest, yet Nigel Farage is let loose the night before and Johnny Mercer is on the show the week before. Disgraceful BBC once again.

8 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Have I got news for you cancelled because Heidi Allen is a guest, yet Nigel Farage is let loose the night before and Johnny Mercer is on the show the week before. Disgraceful BBC once again.

Farage was on in the build up to the 2014 Euro Elections. Clear pro-Brexit bias by the BBC.

Jambo-Jimbo
10 hours ago, ri Alban said:

The reason the pre-recorded episode was pulled was seemingly due to OFCOM's rules which apply during an election campaign.

Broadcasting regulator Ofcom's election rules state, among other things, that neither candidates in elections, nor representatives of those candidates, are allowed to "act as news presenters, interviewers or presenters of any type of programme during the election period".

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-48235812

Have I Got News For You is classed as an entertainment programme and falls into the above OFCOM rule, Question Time which both Farage & Anna Soubry appeared on the night before presumably isn't classed as an entertainment programme thus it doesn't fall foul of OFCOM's rules by politicians appearing on it.

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

Bindy Badgy
Just now, Cade said:

I was thinking about drawing a penis on his head, writing 'return to sender' on it and still king it in the post box. Not sure if it would get to him?

1 hour ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

The reason the pre-recorded episode was pulled was seemingly due to OFCOM's rules which apply during an election campaign.

Broadcasting regulator Ofcom's election rules state, among other things, that neither candidates in elections, nor representatives of those candidates, are allowed to "act as news presenters, interviewers or presenters of any type of programme during the election period".

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-48235812

Have I Got News For You is classed as an entertainment programme and falls into the above OFCOM rule, Question Time which both Farage & Anna Soubry appeared on the night before presumably isn't classed as an entertainment programme thus it doesn't fall foul of OFCOM's rules by politicians appearing on it.

He's on Marr this week too, just in case we haven't seen him nod and shout to the rhythm in his own head. About Independence while denying Scotland the same.  Unionists who say this , like Fox, ,IFS, Gove and Johnson shouldn't really campaign against Indyref2, because Farage and those lot would have been on the campaign trail for Euref2 if they'd lost. 

chuck berrys hairline

I don't see any point I voted yes never won it. Then voted leave won the vote but didn't get it. Might aswell waste my vote as I never expected to be voting in this according to our last vote. Surely whoever campaigns for leave will get most votes. Those saying what about leave not respecting Scotland's EU vote. Why would to vote out of one union but want to stay in another?? ? Either want total control or don't ?

Jambo-Jimbo
29 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

He's on Marr this week too, just in case we haven't seen him nod and shout to the rhythm in his own head. About Independence while denying Scotland the same.  Unionists who say this , like Fox, ,IFS, Gove and Johnson shouldn't really campaign against Indyref2, because Farage and those lot would have been on the campaign trail for Euref2 if they'd lost. 

Oh I'd guess there'll be numerous politicians on every one of the Sunday political programmes, some people will like who is on whilst other people will dislike the same politician, swings and roundabouts mate.

I have no doubts that would have happened, you just need to look at Sturgeon & her crew for an example of banging on about another referendum after losing the first one, again it's all swings and roundabouts pal, it's all part of the game called politics.