Jeans, turn ups.

Is this a new fashion wearing jeans with turnups, certainly not a good look

imo.

Seem to be more folk going for this look, thoughts folks.

download (4).jpg

I

It was certainly the fashion late fifties sixties, so its not new its just another return to the old times.? 

My Levis and Wranglers always had a one inch turnup  in the early seventies mainly to show off my shiny Doc Martens, Checked shirt with thin braces were also worn with a denim jacket or a Crombie(red lining pulled throgh the top pocket to look like a hanky)

A Harrington jacket was also worn on occasion

Edited by systemx

Just now, systemx said:

My Levis and Wranglers always had a one inch turnup  in the early seventies mainly to show off my shiny Doc Martens, 

My Levis always have a one inch turnup because I've got such short ****ing legs they're always too long. 

14 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

imo.

download (4).jpg

There's enough turn ups in that photo to make another pair a troosers

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

My Levis always have a one inch turnup because I've got such short ****ing legs they're always too long. 

brilliant

Mac_fae_Gillie

Terrible look.

Chinos about the only thing turn ups work with.

If trousers too long buy smaller or get properly tailored if your hard to fit.

25 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

imo.

download (4).jpg

Stick with the tracky bottoms Potter.

19 minutes ago, Ricardo Shillyshally said:

I noticed this in London a few months ago. Hope it doesn't catch on.

Looks shite.

I sometimes wear turn ups with my dessie boots. There's ways to wear them and if it's a smart pair of jeans and smart shoes, top and jacket then why not? 

Also if your jeans are like an elephants foreskin at the bottom then turn ups are probably necessary.

Its a route I invariably have to go down thanks to having a long back but short legs. Why do jean lengths always seem to be in odd numbers? An even number would probably do me.

34 minutes ago, Mac_fae_Gillie said:

Terrible look.

Chinos about the only thing turn ups work with.

If trousers too long buy smaller or get properly tailored if your hard to fit.

Who the **** gets "properly tailored" jeans made?

Incidently for the true, hardcore fashionista's amongst us, I noticed today that there appears to be a 25% off sale on the Tui range in Sainsburys.

You need a crisp seam pressed into your jeans too, right down the middle, back and front.

According that is, to some of the Beau Brummells over here.

On topic:  A big no to turn-ups, looks shite.

Mr Brightside
19 minutes ago, been here before said:

Its a route I invariably have to go down thanks to having a long back but short legs. Why do jean lengths always seem to be in odd numbers? An even number would probably do me.

Who the **** gets "properly tailored" jeans made?

Incidently for the true, hardcore fashionista's amongst us, I noticed today that there appears to be a 25% off sale on the Tui range in Sainsburys.

I always found Jean lengths to be in even numbers, but trousers in odd.

By tailoring I assumed he meant getting them shortened to suit. If you spend £100+ on a pair of jeans then and extra £10-£15 to get taken up isn’t that bad, which is what I do.

I’ve done that before. Got a couple pairs that are slightly too long for my wee legs. Means I end up standing on them when not wearing trainers in the house, so for comfort I’ll roll them up like that fashionable geezer in the OP. 

If I go out thy get rolled down again.

Spoiler

Except for one time I forgot. Felt like a right bellend when I noticed on my way home. :levein2:

5 minutes ago, gjcc said:

I’ve done that before. Got a couple pairs that are slightly too long for my wee legs. Means I end up standing on them when not wearing trainers in the house, so for comfort I’ll roll them up like that fashionable geezer in the OP. 

If I go out thy get rolled down again.

Reveal hidden contents

Except for one time I forgot. Felt like a right bellend when I noticed on my way home. :levein2:

Rockabilly-jean.jpg          ?

9 minutes ago, Mr Brightside said:

By tailoring I assumed he meant getting them shortened to suit. If you spend £100+ on a pair of jeans then and extra £10-£15 to get taken up isn’t that bad, which is what I do.

£100+ on a pair of jeans!!!

10-15 quid to get the hems taken up? Whats wring with Wonderweb?

'kinnel. ?

Madness. I grudge paying 20 quid for a pair.

33 minutes ago, Mr Brightside said:

Always get my 511's tailored now since they starting pissing about with the sizing. I 

2 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

imo.

download (4).jpg

Hipsters have been doing it for a few years now. The ****s.

2 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

imo.

download (4).jpg

Being in the bog standard Regular 5’ 9” club sometimes a 32” inside leg can look like a 36” inside leg on me on account of my short arse legs. 

Yes its not a great look but turn up jeans could work well for me ?

2 hours ago, systemx said:

My Levis and Wranglers always had a one inch turnup  in the early seventies mainly to show off my shiny Doc Martens, Checked shirt with thin braces were also worn with a denim jacket or a Crombie(red lining pulled throgh the top pocket to look like a hanky)

A Harrington jacket was also worn on occasion

Guessing the old barnet was of a skinhead variety to finish the look off.:greggy:

Have done it before, with the right jeans it can look smart. 

What I can't abide with "modern fashion" though is the turned up chinos/smart shoes/no socks look... Its not hobo chic, you just look like a pretentious knob

Or even worse the massive white socks look... Aye virgin socks, that's a real good look 

I'm old now

Edited by Bozi

1 hour ago, Ray Gin said:

Hipsters have been arseholes for a few years now. The ****s.

FTFY

1 hour ago, Robbo-Jambo said:

Guessing the old barnet was of a skinhead variety to finish the look off.:greggy:

Funnily enough I had long hair at the time then became a suedehead

Exactly like photo now tho

The most expensive jeans for the young I see here are those that have holes and tears in them, at least turn ups can be turned down.

Zidane was sporting belters of turn-ups a few weeks back when he did his press conference for returning to Real Madrid. 

56 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Zidane was sporting belters of turn-ups a few weeks back when he did his press conference for returning to Real Madrid. 

I thought that was a smart look ,maybe Craig Levein can wear something like that at the cup final at least it would give Michael Stewart something else to talk about.

37 minutes ago, Crete said:

I thought that was a smart look ,maybe Craig Levein can wear something like that at the cup final at least it would give Michael Stewart something else to talk about.

:muggy: 

10874574-6799059-image-m-64_155238992254

8 hours ago, Cade said:

652e2010d6cadaf341f4a1aa95f22d4b.jpg  :jjno:

Saw a guy on the train looking something like this last week but with white socks included. Looked a complete twat.

22 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

Saw a guy on the train looking something like this last week but with white socks included. Looked a complete twat.

White sports socks with Vans are taking over from no socks with brogues in the bellend stakes. 

26 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

That would be a guy that knows his fashion ?

55 minutes ago, Sarah O said:

He looks like he has just taken off his wellies?

Jesus I never thought I would see the day that a football manager pulled off a stylistic combo worse that John McGlynn ?

43 minutes ago, Bozi said:

He looks like he has just taken off his wellies?

Jesus I never thought I would see the day that a football manager pulled off a stylistic combo worse that John McGlynn ?

Maybe one of his pals should have a word in his ear, thats just not on.

5 hours ago, Sarah O said:

My all-time favourite player can carry most looks imo, but that is horrendous.

Seen a pair of jeans like that stuck on a shelf in the library. 

I thought..”that’s a turn up for the books!”...

1 minute ago, Debut 4 said:

Shhhh.....

18 minutes ago, Morgan said:

My all-time favourite player can carry most looks imo, but that is horrendous.

Dont know what hes trying to achieve with this carry on bud.

Certainly an epic fail of the highest degree.

37 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

:getout: