Grand National 2019

Armageddon

Phenomenal from Tiger Roll today. Was behine him all the way despite having other interests in the race! 

Tiger Roll the modern day Red Rum

Incredible horse

To win that race once is such an achievement never mind back to back

10 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Incredible horse

Totally agree.

I can’t believe it’s 45 years since I backed him.

11 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Incredible horse

Red Rum would look at the Aintree 2019 course and think, is that it.(In Horse) Tiger Roll would be glue factory ingredients if it raced in the 70s.

Thats 3 years in a row i had the winner, 66p at 9/2, 3.63 back.

No danger im going to have problems with this gambling lark.

Had 3 other horses at 18/1 , 28/1 and 40/1 with a pound on each.

Another 2 at 14/1 and 16/1 with 50 p on each.

Just a bit fun.

Joy at backing the winner evaporated when I saw the pictures of horses injuries and the news of Up for Review being shot... 

Never betting on it again and think jump racing should be banned. Cant support it after seeing those images.

Jockeys have a choice, horses don't. 

3 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

Thats 3 years in a row i had the winner, 66p at 9/2, 3.63 back.

No danger im going to have problems with this gambling lark.

Had 3 other horses at 18/1 , 28/1 and 40/1 with a pound on each.

Another 2 at 14/1 and 16/1 with 50 p on each.

Just a bit fun.

And that’s exactly what gambling should be Harry - fun. :thumbsup:

28 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Too much money and too much greed. 

Nutshell.

34 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

I agree. No chance though.

Too much money and too much greed. 

This. The sport of so called Kings and Queens.

2 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

This. The sport of so called Kings and Queens.

Only Kings.

9 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Aye and her wee lassie has a face like one...

A03DC6F8-5AF1-4BBE-A8E8-C30F8C96C18B.gif

3 hours ago, muldoon74 said:

Joy at backing the winner evaporated when I saw the pictures of horses injuries and the news of Up for Review being shot... 

Never betting on it again and think jump racing should be banned. Cant support it after seeing those images.

The horse wouldn’t run if it didn’t want to.

like how you had a bet and now never having another bet on it?  I’d imagine you already knew horses died running races? 

? numpty.

9 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

like how you had a bet and now never having another bet on it?  I’d imagine you already knew horses died running races? 

? numpty.

1 hour ago, Irufushi said:

? numpty.

You're right I did know sometimes horses die.. 

I suppose you could equate it to eating fois gras (sp), you know its cruel how they are force fed grain but eat it anyway, then see a documentary or article about it and it hits home so you make a decision not to eat it again. 

Numpty or not, I've changed my mind about horse racing and betting on it. 

10 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Red Rum would look at the Aintree 2019 course and think, is that it.(In Horse) Tiger Roll would be glue factory ingredients if it raced in the 70s.

The fences in Red Rums days were a lot tougher to get over, not like the ones that fall apart now when the horses hit them. What Tiger Roll has done so far is outstanding, but doesn’t come close to Red Rums achievements imo...and that for me still stands if he wins it next year.

5 hours ago, muldoon74 said:

I am in no way for banning this race, they have done so much over the years to make it safer for the horses. The thing that did annoy me yesterday though, was the trainer who said that he would retire his horse after the race, whether it won, or not. The fekn horse is 14yr old ffs, just let it enjoy the rest of its days.

2 hours ago, Irufushi said:

? numpty.

Excuse me, excuse me, get off that horse you’re hur

D3754622-38B2-4AD0-867F-9C60119CA719.gif

If you are gonna be a horse best be a racehorse.

They must rather be running daft round racecourses than working on a farm or being in the police or trooping the colour

47 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

They must rather be running daft round racecourses than working on a farm or being in the police or trooping the colour

And as an incentive to be fast at running there's a chance to be retired as a stud horse. Unless of course they've cut your baws off before your career starts.

59 minutes ago, Tazio said:

And as an incentive to be fast at running there's a chance to be retired as a stud horse. Unless of course they've cut your baws off before your career starts.

Yup, tell Frankel he’s not getting a fair crack o the whip?

I can just remember Red Rum and what a what a special horse he was, was a brutal race then. 1977 National less than a quarter of the field finished.  

6 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

I think they'd rather run wild, with their hosepipe and hawmaws still attached.

10 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Add in the fact they are treated like royalty. The absolute best of the best.

16 hours ago, Uncle Buck said:

Scottish Grand National tomorrow. What’s everyone gone for?

i got taking risks at 25s only £2 each way but still profit and the two other horses i put on placed so up around £80. nice bonus to go with the semi result