Hoods/Hoodies

Morgan

Why do folk slouch about the streets with their hoods up, especially when it's not raining, not windy, not cold and not even 'cool'?

:qqb010:

50 minutes ago, Dunks said:

Even in France?

Yes, when it’s about 23 degrees they’re still at it.

Captain America

Hiding from the the feds or les Federaux when in France?

:clyay:

But seriously, I do it when I'm in a can't be arsed with people mood, headphones on and hood up, try to close myself off if out walking etc. 

Sometimes cap on under the hood aswell as extra " don't bother me" message. 

Edited by Captain America

1 hour ago, Captain America said:

But seriously, I do it when I'm in a can't be arsed with people mood, headphones on and hood up, try to close myself off if out walking etc. 

I’m the same Captain, that and a wee penalty spot has appeared that I hate so another reason to have the hood up. 

2 hours ago, jonesy said:

Makes them look like terrorists, to be honest.

The ones here just look like thugs, or wee boys that have done something, or are about to do something, wrong.

They also look like arseholes when everyone else (probably them too, but too ‘cool’ to admit it) are sweating in the afternoon sun.

They also must have very bad neck posture, they are usually bent right over, hood in eyes, trying to read that ‘all important ‘ text from fellow arsehole.

2 hours ago, Victorian said:

Hoods.    The motif of the pure scruff.

Nailed it as succinctly as usual, Vic. :thumbsup:

5 minutes ago, Cade said:

The look is not complete without yer tracky bottoms tucked into yer socks

You’ve missed the bumfluff.

Don’t, for heavens sake, forget the bum fluff beards, they’re an integral part of the ‘jakey look’.

3 hours ago, Victorian said:

Hoods.    The motif of the pure scruff.

Is it alright if you often wear a hoodie but you never wear the hood up? Asking for a middle-aged friend.

3 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Is it alright if you often wear a hoodie but you never wear the hood up? Asking for a middle-aged friend.

No that's worse.   Hoodie wearers are filth.   

Does it matter which type of hoodie are they? Asking for red's friend :whistling:

Plain - solid colours

Plain - pastel shades

Brand - tastic

Harry Potter - school of choice

Game of Thrones - Winter is coming types

Edited by Dunks

GlasgoJambo

I’ve continously owned hoodies since I was 11 years old. Easy to wear without looking like a thug and keeps your head warm on a nippy Scottish day. 

Appreciate Victorian’s comments and might stop wearing them when I eventually hit adulthood.

9 minutes ago, Dunks said:

Does it matter which type of hoodie are they? Asking for red's friend :whistling:

Plain - solid colours

Plain - pastel shades

Brand - tastic

Harry Potter - school of choice

Game of Thrones - Winter is coming types

I'm hoping, for my friend's sake, that solid dark magenta is acceptable. :peepwall:

7 hours ago, redjambo said:

I'm hoping, for my friend's sake, that solid dark magenta is acceptable. :peepwall:

My middle aged friend would like to know about black hoodies.

Also, he was wondering if dark zoodies are acceptable.

4 hours ago, superjack said:

My middle aged friend would like to know about black hoodies.

Also, he was wondering if dark zoodies are acceptable.

My middle aged wife is asking what the Hell is a zoodie?

Turns out my friend is a zoodie wearer. Who'd a thunk it :D

Wonder what we call a cyclist wearing a zoodie and leggings?

6 minutes ago, Dunks said:

Turns out my friend is a zoodie wearer. Who'd a thunk it :D

Wonder what we call a cyclist wearing a zoodie and leggings?

They’re  known over here as a ‘camel toed zegging’.

Hope that helps?

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

They’re  known over here as a ‘camel toed zegging’.

Hope that helps?

It does :thumbsup:

13 hours ago, redjambo said:

On a similar vein.

Is it ok to wear sunglasses when it’s raining and also to wear scarves when it’s not cold?

Asking for an Italian friend.  :) 

Captain America
18 hours ago, Captain America said:

Point proven today in Livingston centre.

Walking through the centre with my headphones on and get tap on shoulder, some Hibs looking guy ( You know the type, few teeth, unwashed, sh*te clothes) asks me if I had a 50p piece he could swap his hand full of smash for. He was told to

:bolt:

The whole interaction could have been averted if I had my hood up I reckon. 

Walking through the centre with my headphones on and get tap on shoulder, some Hibs looking guy ( You know the type, few teeth, unwashed, sh*te clothes) asks me if I had a 50p piece he could swap his hand full of smash for. He was told to

Do they still do that? It happened to me a few years ago when I last visited.  Similar scenario, got asked if I had a spare pound so the guy can get home to Bathgate. He also got told to :bolt:

Captain America
1 minute ago, Marvin said:

Do they still do that? It happened to me a few years ago when I last visited.  Similar scenario, got asked if I had a spare pound so the guy can get home to Bathgate. He also got told to :bolt:

It has never happened to me before in the centre, most likely as I have my hood up most of the time.

There may be a generational thing here. What is "smash"? All I can imagine is a guy with a handful of steaming hot instant mashed potatoes, probably dripping through his fingers.

3 minutes ago, redjambo said:

There may be a generational thing here. What is "smash"? All I can imagine is a guy with a handful of steaming hot instant mashed potatoes, probably dripping through his fingers.

:lol: I have always used smash when referring to loose change. Hope that helps ;)

Captain America
1 minute ago, redjambo said:

Mixture of 1p, 2ps and 5ps.

Don't know if generational or regional thing, I am born and bred in South Lanarkshire so maybe that. 

Just now, Marvin said:

:lol: I have always used smash when referring to loose change. Hope that helps ;)

Yes it does. :D

Just now, Captain America said:

Don't know if generational or regional thing, I am born and bred in South Lanarkshire so maybe that. 

Ah, I was brought up in the North. Never seen the expression before, but I'll need to ask my nephews to see if it's just because I'm an old git that I've never heard it.

22 minutes ago, Captain America said:

No not generational or regional imo.

I’m Edinburgh born and have always known the term ‘smash’ to mean wee money.

25 minutes ago, Marvin said:

Captain America
1 hour ago, Morgan said:

No not generational or regional imo.

I’m Edinburgh born and have always known the term ‘smash’ to mean wee money.

:fing10:

Les Izemore

I’m in my fifties and will wear my hoodie if I’m going out and the weather looks like it could turn nasty. I keep the hood tucked into my jacket unless I need it but I’ve no qualms about using it. 

Umbrellas on the other hand as for bams. 

On 28/03/2019 at 18:26, Morgan said:

Why do folk slouch about the streets with their hoods up, especially when it's not raining, not windy, not cold and not even 'cool'?

:qqb010:

Neds/Arseholes/Junkies who are that worried that the world is ‘after’ them that they dont want to be seen as they are shitting themselves and have social anxiety issues because of their drugs misuse. 

IMO of course. 

17 hours ago, Marvin said:

Yup. It’s always been either ‘smash’ or ‘shrapnel’ roond these parts ??

38 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said:

Another term I'm familiar with.

51 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said:

Not to be confused by thrupenny bits :whistling:

2 hours ago, Mr Sifter said:

Aye, ‘shrapnel’ is another that I’ve used for donkeys.

My old mum used to call it ‘pin money’.

1 hour ago, Dunks said:

Not to be confused by thrupenny bits :whistling:

Now, that’s another thing completely. :lol: 

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Aye, ‘shrapnel’ is another that I’ve used for donkeys.

My old mum used to call it ‘pin money’.

Is that because she'd keep loose change in her pinny?  My long departed Nana said the same.

3 minutes ago, Marvin said:

Is that because she'd keep loose change in her pinny?  My long departed Nana said the same.

No, it wasn’t for that reason, Marv.

She used to say it when my dad gave her some money for her own personal use, as opposed to when he gave her the weekly ‘housekeeping money’.

She didn't work and therefore had no other way of getting some money of her own.

Apparently this ‘pin money’ was quite literally used for the purchase of small items, like pins.

As far as I’m aware!

6 minutes ago, Morgan said:

No, it wasn’t for that reason, Marv.

She used to say it when my dad gave her some money for her own personal use, as opposed to when he gave her the weekly ‘housekeeping money’.

She didn't work and therefore had no other way of getting some money of her own.

Apparently this ‘pin money’ was quite literally used for the purchase of small items, like pins.

As far as I’m aware!

As far as I can recall my nana used to keep any loose change in her pinny (pin money) so it was there to pay the coal man, milk man even the papers at the local shops etc 

2 minutes ago, Marvin said:

As far as I can recall my nana used to keep any loose change in her pinny (pin money) so it was there to pay the coal man, milk man even the papers at the local shops etc 

Well, there we are then!

On a thread about hoods and hoodies, you and I have single-handedly (you know what I mean :) ) solved the age-old quandary about ‘pin money’. :biggrin2:

See you on the match thread later. :thumbsup: