123 Years, 14th March 1896

dannymack

In response to the'  30 Years !!! '

(München)  thread I would like to remind my fellow Hearts fans of this special date back in 1896.

Heart of Midlothian 3 v 1 Hibernian 

IMG_20181204_211655.jpg

IMG_20190313_234335.jpg

IMG_20190313_234629.jpg

IMG_20190313_234541.jpg

18 minutes ago, dannymack said:

In response to the'  30 Years !!! '

(München)  thread I would like to remind my fellow Hearts fans of this special date back in 1896.

Heart of Midlothian 3 v 1 Hibernian 

IMG_20181204_211655.jpg

IMG_20190313_234335.jpg

IMG_20190313_234629.jpg

IMG_20190313_234541.jpg

❤️

Cory McNamara

IMG_20181204_211655.jpg

Such a big penalty box, so goalie can grab the ball everywhere.

IMG_20190313_234541.jpg

Boyos have straight faces; photo was a ritual at that time. Nice to have past time in a form of picture

Edited by Cory McNamara

Extra Stella tonight for me.  Was that the start of the Natural Order or had it kicked in before that?

4 hours ago, Kiwidoug said:

Extra Stella tonight for me.  Was that the start of the Natural Order or had it kicked in before that?

It started in 1874 before they were even born.

John mcCartney

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Logie_Green

Ive  allways struggled with picturing the direction the camera is looking in this fantastic old pic (south ?)
That the Old Logie Green mansion n all perhaps ?
On checking out the coordinates on that link,I reckon that is Broughton Road tenements in the background....but that railway
embankment with the wagons on it,where the fark did that go....Scotland Street tunnels and yard ?

OK, I am going to get a red face here but honestly what is the significance? Some world championship thing? 

I imagine others also may want to know so I will take the hit.

3-1 then 1-5 will the next one be 7-1??

Edited by 3fingersreid

39 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

3-1 then 1-5 will the next one be 7-1??

1896 3-1

2012 5-1

We'll have to wait until  2128 for that. 

'Whats the space ship docking bays like round Hampden?'

'Where's a good place to rehydrate my mince pie supper pill before the game?'

'Anyone know if teleport tickets will be available for walk ups?'

Didn’t the police warn our team not to score any more for fear of a riot?

Or was that another derby that we dominated?

What a day that was. Got the 22 horse down to Logie Green best top hat on. Memories. 

Absolute  :scenes:

11 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

What a day that was. Got the 22 horse down to Logie Green best top hat on. Memories. 

Absolute  :scenes:

Aaron Hughes played a blinder that day.

58 minutes ago, Locky said:

No doubt this was a 12.15 kick off for TV. They don't care about us fans.

Not for TV don't be stupid. 

It was the only time the carrier pigeon could get the reports back 

6 hours ago, i8hibsh said:

OK, I am going to get a red face here but honestly what is the significance? Some world championship thing? 

I imagine others also may want to know so I will take the hit.

1896 Scottish Cup Final .... Are you pulling our chains here ? ?

6 minutes ago, Kiwidoug said:

Hope Maple Leaf comes on to describe the experience for us.  He would have loved it.

He gave wee Bob Sharp a lift over the turnstile.

Do you recall that @bobsharp ?

6 hours ago, Locky said:

No doubt this was a 12.15 kick off for TV. They don't care about us fans.

Never did TV then though the artist sketches up dates were great !

1 minute ago, jock _turd said:

Aye mind and he was gettin on a bit then!

And he still gets International call-ups!

6 minutes ago, Morgan said:

And he still gets International call-ups!

Already had 20 caps prior to that game ! Little did anybody know that there was much more to come.

50 minutes ago, jock _turd said:

Already had 20 caps prior to that game ! Little did anybody know that there was much more to come.

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

He gave wee Bob Sharp a lift over the turnstile.

Do you recall that @bobsharp ?

He's a lot younger than me and I didnae hang about wi'wee boys. Great gemme though, the boys were good.

10 hours ago, John mcCartney said:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Logie_Green

Ive  allways struggled with picturing the direction the camera is looking in this fantastic old pic (south ?)
That the Old Logie Green mansion n all perhaps ?
On checking out the coordinates on that link,I reckon that is Broughton Road tenements in the background....but that railway
embankment with the wagons on it,where the fark did that go....Scotland Street tunnels and yard ?

I think it’s maybe looking the other way to the back of the posh houses in Warriston Crescent, with the Water of Leith unseen between the stadium and the buildings.

51 minutes ago, bobsharp said:

He's a lot younger than me and I didnae hang about wi'wee boys. Great gemme though, the boys were good.

Cheers Bob. :thumbsup:

JKB’s Archie MacPherson.

John mcCartney

Right enough, the ground was situated  pretty much on the site of the Haig Poppy factory,
The back of the housing in the distance is indeed Warriston Crescent with railway in background right enough being nowadays a cycle path with that gem of a bridge over the Water of Leith /Warriston road one way from Cannonmills probably behind the mansion/gaff.
  Mentioned is a new stand built for the game to the north of the ground n all.

Top stuff !!!!!

https://www.google.com/maps/place/Logie+Green+Rd,+Edinburgh/@55.965112,-3.1955494,16.75z/data=!4m5!3m4!1s0x4887c7eda4ca3339:0xb9d8d083cc3f7132!8m2!3d55.9648069!4d-3.1964551

Edited by John mcCartney

RobbofordGHC
35 minutes ago, graygo said:

Wonder what happened to those mahoosive flags?

Sadly it's likely to have met a fate similar to this........

image.jpeg