• Maroon Sailor

• Tazio

• Bridge of Djoum

22 hours ago, Tazio said:

Another Edinburgh one that's been niggling at me since my morning bus started having stop announcements. 

Drumsheugh.

I always said and heard people say Drumshooch with the ch the same as loch. Now it seems to be Drumshoo. 

The latter is an abomination. I had never heard it until recently. Similarly, and in the same area, the pronunciation of Learmonth is now much abused.

Another thing about Edinburgh place names that will soon have me reaching for the Kalashnikov is the disappearance of the definite article from (the) Maybury, (the) Gyle and even, on one occasion, (the) New Town.

“I’m going shopping at Gyle.” No, you ****ing aren’t.

3 hours ago, Smithee said:

I think it's an anglicisation of a French word, in the same way we say cavalier. 

Quite a few years ago, a buddy of mine had a Vauxhall Cavalier as his company car. To make it sound more exotic than it was, he would pronounce is Cav-ah-le-ay - a sort of French thing. Whenever I see that word, that's how I pronounce it.

Ugly bugger, he still never pulled.

I'm one of those Scots who loathes using the throat crackling ''ch'' in names and places. It's lock and Drumshoo, not Loch and Drumsheuch. Pretentious arseholes and tartan wearing nationalist lunatics use the ''ch''. 

4 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

Quite a few years ago, a buddy of mine had a Vauxhall Cavalier as his company car. To make it sound more exotic than it was, he would pronounce is Cav-ah-le-ay - a sort of French thing. Whenever I see that word, that's how I pronounce it.

Ugly bugger, he still never pulled.

10 minutes ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

I'm one of those Scots who loathes using the throat crackling ''ch'' in names and places. It's lock and Drumshoo, not Loch and Drumsheuch. Pretentious arseholes and tartan wearing nationalist lunatics use the ''ch''. 

Och, ye cannae say that!

:look::look:

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Och, ye cannae say that!

:look::look:

Ever tries to read poetry in Scots?

An utter nonsense.

46 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Strath is the anglicisation of the Gaelic word srath which is a large valley, typically a river valley.

Aven/Avon is the anglicisation of abhainn which is a river or stream - in this case the actual river is named "river" (very imaginative ;)).

So, Strathaven most probably means "river valley", or in this case, valley of the Avon/Aven (spelling was a hazy concept in former times), so no "acrosses" at all.

Ha, fair enough. Just goes to show you shouldn’t believe everything you hear!

3 hours ago, leginten said:

The latter is an abomination. I had never heard it until recently. Similarly, and in the same area, the pronunciation of Learmonth is now much abused.

Another thing about Edinburgh place names that will soon have me reaching for the Kalashnikov is the disappearance of the definite article from (the) Maybury, (the) Gyle and even, on one occasion, (the) New Town.

“I’m going shopping at Gyle.” No, you ****ing aren’t.

I’ve heard a few older people refer to Waverley Station as “The Waverley”.

7 hours ago, martoon said:

I remember one of the Wimbledon tennis commentators said umpire John Frame came from "the quaintly named Penny-quick". 

Was once asked for directions to "ork hard brae" and heard a weegie newsreader describe a crime in "more a din". 

Slightly off topic but I've heard some refer to Stockbridge as Stoke-areeeee?

Yep, sounds familiar. I went to school there, a long time ago. 

The missus used to live in Montague St, which Southsiders pronounce Montaygay St. 

1 hour ago, FWJ said:

Sounds right to me.

The train station at the west end was The Caley.

22 hours ago, FWJ said:

Just heard Souness answering a question about the new Arsenal manager provoking friction with players to get the best out of them saying he thinks he's tried to do that from the day he walked in to The Arsenal

The Arsenal

Amhuinnsuidhe.

This was always my favourite when listening to tourists and visitors asking for directions, even some locals up here can't pronounce it properly.

45 minutes ago, superjack said:

Amhuinnsuidhe.

This was always my favourite when listening to tourists and visitors asking for directions, even some locals up here can't pronounce it properly.

That's just an accident with a Scrabble board. Doesn't deserve an attempt to be pronounced.

Edit - how do you folks pronounce "Grabhair"?

Edited by I P Knightley

6 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

That's just an accident with a Scrabble board. Doesn't deserve an attempt to be pronounced.

Gra veer?

My wife said she was having difficulty pronouncing the name of a town in Wales.

I said 'do you mean Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogog"?

She said 'no, it's the one spelt T E N B Y"

Edited by Morgan

1 hour ago, I P Knightley said:

Worked on a fish farm there, pronounced Gravir.

1 hour ago, superjack said:

Amhuinnsuidhe.

Ahvinsooee?

1 hour ago, FWJ said:

Arry ah brroo ach?

Arry vroo och. 

Suppose I'm cheating by using names from Lewis as they are mostly in Gaelic. A bit like when another poster used malt whisky names.

On another note, when I was a bairn and we first moved to gala, I always though that hawick was pronounced ha - wick.

7 hours ago, swavkav said:

Cambuslang is pronounced camslang to the locals 

Sh1thole to everyone else though. 

9 hours ago, swavkav said:

Cambuslang is pronounced camslang to the locals 

Looks like they've missed the bus

Holyrood.

Is it holy rood or holly rood.  I've always thought it shold be the former, and that if it is the latter (because presumably the rood in question was made from holly) then they should have spelt it correctly in the first place.

13 minutes ago, Haken said:

Holyrood.

Is it holy rood or holly rood.  I've always thought it shold be the former, and that if it is the latter (because presumably the rood in question was made from holly) then they should have spelt it correctly in the first place.

No holly involved.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holyrood_(cross)

Remember that spelling wasn't a strong point hundreds of years ago, particularly given that most people couldn't write and dictionaries didn't exist.

Edited by redjambo

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

In Scotland they could. It's more the vowel sounds we use.

Man, you have a very flowery, biased view of your own country.

A few hundred years ago, a great percentage of folk couldn't even spell their own names. The census taker often/mostly used to guess how a name was spelled from how the person said their surname at the doorstep. Hence the very wide range in spellings in Scottish censuses. I should know, I've waded through a lot of them.

https://www.nls.uk/collections/rise-of-literacy

3 hours ago, Haken said:

So it should be pronounced Holy-rood rather than Holly-rood.

Probably, but who's quibbling? Our language has evolved organically, as seen by the weird pronunciations seen all through this thread. There's no real "should". Things are pronounced as we've decided to pronounce them.

2 hours ago, redjambo said:

Man, you have a very flowery, biased view of your own country.

A few hundred years ago, a great percentage of folk couldn't even spell their own names. The census taker often/mostly used to guess how a name was spelled from how the person said their surname at the doorstep. Hence the very wide range in spellings in Scottish censuses. I should know, I've waded through a lot of them.

https://www.nls.uk/collections/rise-of-literacy

Fact bud. Scotland was the most literate country on the planet. Good auld Presbyterians wanting us to read the Bible. ? 

I've waded through it too.

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

Fact bud. Scotland was the most literate country on the planet. Good auld Presbyterians wanting us to read the Bible. ? 

I've waded through it too.

Not at the time that the original Holyrood Abbey was in existence. Bud. ;)

Craig Gordons Gloves

Here's a local town to me, see if you can get it.  

Mahtomedi

My mum is from Wishaw which seems to actually be pronounced Wishy

Hector Riva

Being an airport/golf transfer driver on the Costa del Sol I hear the resorts being pronounced all sort of ways. 

The resorts   =   How it's pronounced  by the Spanish

Nerja       =        Ner -  ka

Benalmadena   =    Benal - ma - den  - a

Fuengirola    =   Foooing - ga - rola

Mijas    =      Me - hass

Marbella  =   Mar - bay - a

Beers  =  San me gel       Mahou   =  Ma - oow

top tips to speak like the locals.

Grassy - arse, me  - o -  me - gos

Edited by Hector Riva

• 4 months later...

Caiystane View on the 400 is pronounced as Key Stain View

Edited by Maroon Sailor

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Caiystane View on the 400 is pronounced as Key Stain View

Ca Muss

or

Kay Muss

1 hour ago, jonnothejambo said:

Pretentious wanks and up their ain erse locals who pronounce Gullane as Gillan. 

Take the bools oot and get tae feck.

Chinless turds. 

Correct!

Gullane is where the Mallard is.

Gillan was lead singer with Deep Purple.

Don’t confuse the two, you Barbour and tweed wearing erseholes.

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Correct!

Gullane is where the Mallard is.

Gillan was lead singer with Deep Purple.

Don’t confuse the two, you Barbour and tweed wearing erseholes.

Ir- vine,  does ma nut right in. 

Just now, ri Alban said:

Ir- vine,  does ma nut right in. 

Hi ri,

yeah, that’s another really annoying one.

5 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Hi ri,

yeah, that’s another really annoying one.

Alright Morgs. There's a few street names in Inverness, that aren't what it says on the sign. :D I gave my workmates a wee laugh, when I said them.

I was once asked directions to "Kor-Storr-Feenay".    :wtfvlad:

Took me a couple of seconds...   :ermm: