• Maroon Sailor

• Tazio

• Bridge of Djoum

59 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Kirkcaldy

How many times do we hear Kirk Cal Day from south of the border ?

Fal-mouth or Fall-mouth or Fal-mith or Fall-mith

Years ago I used a phone box near the Usher Hall. Afterwards a nosy wee shite of boy, who'd been hanging around, asked me where I'd been phoning. I told him Kirkcudbright, and he looked at me like I was a right idiot and said, "Do you not mean Kirkcaldy." 

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Kirkcaldy

How many times do we hear Kirk Cal Day from south of the border ?

Fal-mouth or Fall-mouth or Fal-mith or Fall-mith

As your Cornish correspondent on Kickback

Mousehole=Mow-zel
Falmouth=Fal-muth
Launceston=Lan-son

This gets more confusing in Aberdeen/shire.

Cults - Coots

Peterculter - Petercooter

Weirdos. 

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Picardy Place got me as a kid

Always thought it was Pic ar day

You're going to have to give me a lesson - I've only ever heard it phonetically: Pick-Ar-Day

2 hours ago, RobboM said:

As your Cornish correspondent on Kickback

Mousehole=Mow-zel
Falmouth=Fal-muth
Launceston=Lan-son

I never knew that the t was silent in Launceston.

Mind you, I know that Holborn (central London) should be pronounced Hoe-bun but I make a point of pronouncing it Hole-born because it annoys people.

1 hour ago, IronJambo said:

This gets more confusing in Aberdeen/shire.

Cults - Coots

Peterculter - Petercooter

Weirdos. 

I'm convinced that I've heard Aberdeenies pronouncing it Cults, just to add to the confusion.

John Gentleman
13 hours ago, Morgan said:

My fat bloater of a sister-in-law:

(Who was born in Edinburgh, btw)

Princess Street.

Prin feckin CESS.

I ask you.  :facepalm:

She writes it too.

Honestly, she does. :vrface:

Ca' canny. It's International Women's Day. A very special day to celebrate and embrace their collective eejitry. 

John Gentleman
12 hours ago, Smithee said:

Milngavie

Camelon

Mulguy and Came-lon.

I dated a lassie from the latter in a previous life. I asked her what the 'official' pronunciation was. She answered 'Cam-e-lon'. "But what do the locals call it? She answered 'Came-lon'.

What's the point having an official pronunciation when everybody who lives there pronounces it differently?
Actually, it's a shithole no matter which way you pronounce it.

12 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Camm us 

Is she also one of those numpties that call it the Scots/Scotts Monument too :facepalm:

She does indeed say ‘Scots Monument’ and further embarrasses herself with gems like ‘I’m going to Waitrose’s today’.

If there is ever a thread on the mispronouncing of foodstuffs, she is your ‘go to girl’.

16 minutes ago, John Gentleman said:

Ca' canny. It's International Women's Day. A very special day to celebrate and embrace their collective eejitry. 

The bloater would say ‘wummin’.

She’s that bad.

6 minutes ago, John Gentleman said:

Mulguy and Came-lon.

I dated a lassie from the latter in a previous life. I asked her what the 'official' pronunciation was. She answered 'Cam-e-lon'. "But what do the locals call it? She answered 'Came-lon'.

What's the point having an official pronunciation when everybody who lives there pronounces it differently?
Actually, it's a shithole no matter which way you pronounce it.

I was cycling along the canal last summer and I saw some graffiti on a garage wall that said Welcome to Kemlin. 

It is a funny one, on the train they say it like Camelot, but everyone there says Came-lin as you say.

3 minutes ago, The White Cockade said:

do you know how the locals used to pronounce Montague Street in the South Side?

Mon tae goo?

18 hours ago, i8hibsh said:

Sciennes by the Meadows and Causewayside.  I'll be honest, I still don't know.

I always say Sheens as in Charlie and Martin.

Sheens, 100%. Typed as a former pupil of the primary school. :smugger:

15 minutes ago, The White Cockade said:

do you know how the locals used to pronounce Montague Street in the South Side?

Mon taigy.

Only recently have I heard it called Montagu.

4 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Picardy Place got me as a kid

Always thought it was Pic ar day

The amount of people in my old job who used to ask me for directions to Picadilly Place. Can you no ****ing read likes?

There's a street in Toronto called Strachan Avenue.  

The locals pronounce it Strawn. 

2 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

Wee Gordon Strawn.  :biggrin:

I’ve always called the road up from the Grassmarket ‘West Bow’ -rhymes with ‘go’ but I’ve heard a couple of older locals saying ‘Bow’ rhyming with ‘cow’.

Oh, and the west coast fishing town is MAL-ig not M-laig.  

And while we’re at it, no-one in Fort William calls it “Fort Bill”.  No-one.

4 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

I believe Strawn is a sept of clan Strachan (or maybe it’s the other way round)

1 minute ago, FWJ said:

I’ve always called the road up from the Grassmarket ‘West Bow’ -rhymes with ‘go’ but I’ve heard a couple of older locals saying ‘Bow’ rhyming with ‘cow’.

Oh, and the west coast fishing town is MAL-ig not M-laig.  

And while we’re at it, no-one in Fort William calls it “Fort Bill”.  No-one.

Fort Weelum?

2 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

You're going to have to give me a lesson - I've only ever heard it phonetically: Pick-Ar-Day

I thought it was Pick Ardy

Teignmouth

I thought this was Tain-mouth

Ends up being Tinmith

I'm convinced that I've heard Aberdeenies pronouncing it Cults, just to add to the confusion.

And they pronounce Aberchirder “Foggyloan”....

I never knew that the t was silent in Launceston.

Mind you, I know that Holborn (central London) should be pronounced Hoe-bun but I make a point of pronouncing it Hole-born because it annoys people.

Funnily enough in the Launceston in Tasmania they pronounce every letter. Lawn-ces-ton

15 hours ago, gjcc said:

Derby. 

Surnames can be a bit sair heid inducing too. 

Menzies

Woolfardisworthy

Marjoribanks

“Ming-is” (because it’s not a ‘z’)

and “March-banks” but I don’t know the middle one - “Wools-lee”?

Wouldn't surprise me in the least. I used to call it Cults just to wind folk up and I always got a glare, followed by a correction.

5 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

Wouldn't surprise me in the least. I used to call it Cults just to wind folk up and I always got a glare, followed by a correction.

Daft Coolnts

Tranent  or Turnent

Haddington or Heditin

Elphinstone or Elfisin

Macmerry or Micmirri

Ormiston or Oarmisin

Prestonpans or Shitehouse

We could compete with that Rangers thread, if we were to start on Gaelic names.

1 hour ago, scottishguy said:

Cockburn Street.

Is that not Coburn.

Drymen is a good one -Drimin.

1 hour ago, Locky said:

Mon taigy.

Only recently have I heard it called Montagu.

Aye that’s how my old man pronounced it 

he lived on Salisbury Street until they moved everybody out and bulldozered them

11 minutes ago, The White Cockade said:

Aye that’s how my old man pronounced it 

he lived on Salisbury Street until they moved everybody out and bulldozered them

My pal lived there when I was younger. My old man lives in Buccleuch Street still, we always called it that.

10 minutes ago, Locky said:

My pal lived there when I was younger. My old man lives in Buccleuch Street still, we always called it that.

Buck lee uch?

:wink: 

1 hour ago, Hugh Phamism said:

Borrowstounness

.........or Bo Ness,

or as the Black Bitches of 'Lithgae refer to it.......

.....Bosnia.

Another Edinburgh one that's been niggling at me since my morning bus started having stop announcements. 

Drumsheugh.

I always said and heard people say Drumshooch with the ch the same as loch. Now it seems to be Drumshoo. 

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

Another Edinburgh one that's been niggling at me since my morning bus started having stop announcements. 

Drumsheugh.

I always said and heard people say Drumshooch with the ch the same as loch. Now it seems to be Drumshoo. 

Drumschooch for me!

16 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Drumsheugh.

Drum shooch for me.

Thunderstruck
2 hours ago, gjcc said:

I believe Strawn is a sept of clan Strachan (or maybe it’s the other way round)

Professor Sir Hew Strachan who introduces himself using ‘Strawn’. 

42C47B62-E6CB-40BD-99D2-8F04240CA12B.jpeg

Thunderstruck

Whiskies associated with places always causes arguments. They are or are from Gaelic where accent/stress might not be on the first syllable. 

Here are some from Islay:-

Laphroaig - LaffROYG

Bowmore - BowMORE

Kilchoman - KilCHOman (the ‘ch’ as in Loch)

Bruichladdich - Brooch-LADDIE (the ‘ch’ as in Loch)

Caol Ila - Cool-EELA

Bunnahabhain - BunnaHAVN

Edited by Thunderstruck