Dummy dykes or Dumb bay dykes?

19 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Holy rood or Holly rood Palace?

Dummy and Holly

1 hour ago, King prawn said:

Here’s a couple for you all since I’m currently living in Norfolk 

Happisburgh

Wymondham 

It's Haysburruh & Windham, I lived in Norfolk for 3 years in the 1990's.

46 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Bal-green or Ball-green

Edinbruh or Edinburruh

Ball-green

Edinburruh

Anyone who ever comes out with 'Embra' is a dick.

Had a conversation with a colleague only yesterday, in which he hadn’t heard of either Nitten or Gorebrig. Had to explain I was talking about Newtongrange and Gorebridge...the guy was from Leith ffs, how did he no ken where I was talkin aboot? ?

41 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Never go to Culross, it will confuse you even more.

Or Strathavon.

2 hours ago, Morgan said:

Ball green.

Edin bruh.

:thumb: a fine spam valley chap

2 hours ago, i8hibsh said:

Sciennes by the Meadows and Causewayside.  I'll be honest, I still don't know.

I always say Sheens as in Charlie and Martin.

Sheens, spent the first 11yrs of my life there

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

Cahlton Hill or Colton Hill? though to be honest I say it with an H where the T is.

Call tun

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

If you ever get the 8 bus the next stop is Brawtin Street

Bro tun

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Thorny bock or Thorny boak?

Thorny bock

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Morningside.

When I stayed there, the ‘fur coat and nae knickers’ brigade were torn between ‘Moaning side’ and ‘Morning sad’.  :facepalm:

Spam valley when I lived there from the age of 11 in to my mid twenties

47 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Holy rood or Holly rood Palace?

Holly rood

Corstorfin or Corstorfine?

Nid ray or Ni Dry?

1 hour ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

The pronunciation of Worcester and Southwell has always seemed odd to me. 

Continuing the horse racing theme. Towcester being pronounced toaster always confused me.

Corstorfin

Better than the woman who asked me last week what bus went to Cors Torp Hine

38 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

:thumb: a fine spam valley chap

Sheens, spent the first 11yrs of my life there

Call tun

Bro tun

Thorny bock

Spam valley when I lived there from the age of 11 in to my mid twenties

Holly rood

Corstorfin or Corstorfine?

Nid ray or Ni Dry?

Corstorfin.

Nid ray.

My fat bloater of a sister-in-law:

(Who was born in Edinburgh, btw)

Princess Street.

Prin feckin CESS.

I ask you.  :facepalm:

She writes it too.

Honestly, she does. :vrface:

43 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Corstorfin

Better than the woman who asked me last week what bus went to Cors Torp Hine

Thee noomber tweenty seeks.

Oar, the thurty won.

Just now, Tazio said:

Cam-oo if you’re thinking of the French literary figure. 

Ooooh la la!

6 minutes ago, gjcc said:

Derby. 

Surnames can be a bit sair heid inducing too. 

Menzies

Woolfardisworthy

Marjoribanks

Farquhar.

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

The English never seem to get Falkirk right

It's either Fal-Kirk or FallKERK

They can’t get ‘shire’ right either.

Its like ‘sheer’....I don’t know why but it’s when Tarrant used to introduce contestants on Who Wants To Be a Milionaire that I remember it from.

Buckinghamsheer, Lincolnsheer... etc....

3 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Depends if you or from Widburn or Woodburn. 

I honestly don't think I've ever heard anyone say "woodburn!"

2 hours ago, Lemongrab said:

Somebody told me Anstruther was pronounced Ainster.

:Aye:

My grandparents lived there all their lives and would always correct me if I said Anstruther.

Mon the back sea beach!

Thunderstruck

Tynecastle - the stress on the first syllable or, as in NewCASSEL, with stress on second syllable?

Who says ‘St Andrew’S Square?

Down the South West:-

St Austell - Snozzle?

Launceston?

And then there’s Wales:-

Dolgellau (it’s not Dolly-gel-ow)

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

Featherstonehaugh. 

Beat that!

OR of course Cholmondeley.

So nobody willing to jump in and give the pronunciations? 

Fanshaw and Chumley.

Just how?

3 hours ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

The pronunciation of Worcester and Southwell has always seemed odd to me. 

These 2 are weird the way they are pronounced.

26 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

They can’t get ‘shire’ right either.

Its like ‘sheer’....I don’t know why but it’s when Tarrant used to introduce contestants on Who Wants To Be a Milionaire that I remember it from.

Buckinghamsheer, Lincolnsheer... etc....

Was just about to ask this one.

Are you saying it is shire?

I live down in Warwickshire and I'm forever being told off for saying Warwick Shire rather than Warwick Sheer.

Hobbits don't live in the Sheer.

21 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Camm us or Came us?

Camm us 

26 minutes ago, Morgan said:

My fat bloater of a sister-in-law:

(Who was born in Edinburgh, btw)

Princess Street.

Prin feckin CESS.

I ask you.  :facepalm:

She writes it too.

Honestly, she does. :vrface:

Is she also one of those numpties that call it the Scots/Scotts Monument too :facepalm:

2 hours ago, King prawn said:

happy sberg was my first attempt when I moved here :facepalm:

I'm at a slight advantage as my Dad stays down that way. Wymondham's pronunciation got me an answer on Uni Challenge. :lol:

5 hours ago, Morgan said:

Ball green.

Edin bruh.

Any alternative answer is deviancy.

3 hours ago, Tazio said:

Featherstonehaugh. 

Beat that!

OR of course Cholmondeley.

I know a family called Featherstonhaugh. They pronounce it with all three syllables, even though PG Wodehouse taught me that it should be Fanshaw. Mind you, old Plum wouldn't pronounce his own name phonetically so can we really trust him?

1 hour ago, Thunderstruck said:

Tynecastle - the stress on the first syllable or, as in NewCASSEL, with stress on second syllable?

I pronounce it the same way as the song. 

Have we had Mousehole yet? Or Marylebone? Leominster.

There's a few others round London: Ruislip, Plaistow, Chiswick...

9 hours ago, Tazio said:

Never go to Culross, it will confuse you even more.

I would love to know how they got cooris from culross. 

6 hours ago, Taffin said:

Was just about to ask this one.

Are you saying it is shire?

I live down in Warwickshire and I'm forever being told off for saying Warwick Shire rather than Warwick Sheer.

Hobbits don't live in the Sheer.

We say it a bit like ‘shir’, don’t we?

I lived in Manchester for 17 years. There’s a suburb called Blackley. The pronunciation shouldn’t be under question with spelling like that but.......the eejits call it blake-ley. Eh?!?!?!? How do they get blake when it is clearly black. 

29 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

We say it a bit like ‘shir’, don’t we?

I say full blown shire like spire.  Guess I'm wrong in everyone's books ?

1 hour ago, Herbert said:

I would love to know how they got cooris from culross. 

It's in Fife and there's no explaining Fifers.

21 minutes ago, Serge said:

We should agree to keep Aberdeenshire place names out of this thread. It would cause too much seethe!

Peterculter, ffs! I can just about get the "Peter-coo-ter" bit but I believed therefore address there was a separate place called Culter (pronounced coo-ter). Apparently Peter is to difficult for many to pronounce. And why's Cults not Coots? 

Then you've got Footdee. 

But when you consider that they're Aberdeenies with little else to keep them amused, it sort of makes sense. 

Kirkcaldy

How many times do we hear Kirk Cal Day from south of the border ?

Fal-mouth or Fall-mouth or Fal-mith or Fall-mith