2 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Bal-green or Ball-green

Edinbruh or Edinburruh

Bal-green 

Edenbury 

2 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Bal-green or Ball-green

Edinbruh or Edinburruh

Almost always mispronounced on the TV in North America.

Edin-bro or Edin-burg.  :verymad:

Sciennes by the Meadows and Causewayside.  I'll be honest, I still don't know.

I always say Sheens as in Charlie and Martin.

Just now, i8hibsh said:

Yep, Sheens for me too.

3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Yep, Sheens for me too.

It's sheens, or at least that's what the locals called it when I lived there. 

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Doll Keith or Dall Keith??

Somewhere in between I reckon, Daulkeith.

I struggled with Dalrymple as a kid, I knew Dalry but I couldn't work out how to say "mple", I vaguely remember it came out something like Dalry-mimply the first time I tried it out loud. 

18 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Ball green.

Edin bruh.

That's how I've always said it but some announcer on Forth One said Bal-green Road and Kelly Ann Woodland always says Edinburruh on the STV news at 6

Edited by Maroon Sailor

23 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Bal-green or Ball-green

Edinbruh or Edinburruh

Best foriegn pronunciation of Edinburgh I’ve ever heard was from Christine Agulera (sp?) during her hosting of the MTV awards in 2003. She got it spot on. I remember her saying that some Scottish roadie has taught her how to say it properly...then she went onto describe herself as ‘a wee midden’ ?

16 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Doll Keith or Dall Keith??

Dull Keith. Literally. 

ArcticJambo
18 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

Edinburugh, sheens, dal keith, ball green gull an and of course porty ya bass. 

All this. ^^

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Bal-green or Ball-green

Edinbruh or Edinburruh

The latter for both

Away from Scotland but I've never understood why Kansas is pronounced as spelled yet Arkansas is pronounced Arkinsaw.

5 minutes ago, Cygnet said:

Ball green.

Edin bur uhh

Hoiyick

Milnguy

Straven

And it’s Ball Cony not Bal Cony ??

Funny you should say that about balcony

I said ball-cony but was told it's no ballcony it's bal-cony

Here’s a couple for you all since I’m currently living in Norfolk 

Happisburgh

Wymondham 

I got picked up for calling it Ports-mouth

Apparently it's pronounced Ports-mith 

2 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Cahlton Hill or Colton Hill? though to be honest I say it with an H where the T is.

Call-tin Hill

GlasgoJambo
1 hour ago, i8hibsh said:

Sheens &

Cause-way-side

Just now, Maroon Sailor said:

Call-tin Hill

So roughly the same as me, and always the way it was pronounced until I started hearing the other version.

Also in the area I've always said Broeton Street now people seem to say Brawtin.

6 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Cahlton Hill or Colton Hill? though to be honest I say it with an H where the T is.

Call tin.

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

So roughly the same as me, and always the way it was pronounced until I started hearing the other version.

Also in the area I've always said Broeton Street now people seem to say Brawtin.

If you ever get the 8 bus the next stop is Brawtin Street

Morningside.

When I stayed there, the ‘fur coat and nae knickers’ brigade were torn between ‘Moaning side’ and ‘Morning sad’.  :facepalm:

I would say ball green, but it should really be bal green. The bal part coming from the Gaelic for a farm; Balerno being another example. I've never heard anyone call that Ball erno.

11 minutes ago, Tazio said:

I think I am guilty of calling it Carlton Hill

16 minutes ago, King prawn said:

Here’s a couple for you all since I’m currently living in Norfolk 

Happisburgh

Wymondham 

Haze-burr-uh

Wind-ham

6 minutes ago, LeftBack said:

Do dundee United not play at Tan-a-deet-che (according to an English newsreader) 

Probably the same newsreader who says Breckin City

7 minutes ago, Lemongrab said:

I would say ball green, but it should really be bal green. The bal part coming from the Gaelic for a farm; Balerno being another example. I've never heard anyone call that Ball erno.

The English never seem to get Falkirk right

It's either Fal-Kirk or FallKERK

9 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Probably the same newsreader who says Breckin City

That'll be Rangers' finest, Gordon Ramsay. The exact way he said it on a recent programme with Gino and Fred. 

1 hour ago, Maple Leaf said:

Almost always mispronounced on the TV in North America.

Edin-bro or Edin-burg.  :verymad:

I just said the word a few times. I have to admit I sound more Edinbro than my original Edinburru. But I have also noticed I have greatly reduced the pronunciation of R it now being much softer.

6 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

The pronunciation of Worcester and Southwell has always seemed odd to me. 

Aye - Wooster and Suth-ill

Edited by Maroon Sailor

Bury

Berry or Buh-ray

Shrewsbury

Shrozebray or Shrewsbuh-ray

Living in Lewis, the locals call our capital edinboro, does my nut in. Keep telling them it's edinburrah. 

As for balgreen, I've always said ball green and I've never heard any other pronunciations, and I spent a lot of time in the area with my mother being from Stevenson drive.

Here's 1 ive heard a couple of ways to pronounce,  is it Easter road or is it shitehole.

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

It is if you're a local.

Ah, just like those Edinburgh locals with their Sheens?:thumbsup:

1 minute ago, Lemongrab said:

Ah, just like those Edinburgh locals with their Sheens?:thumbsup:

Never go to Culross, it will confuse you even more.