U.S. Politics megathread (merged)

Dennis Denuto
Posted
23 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

You reckon she got pregnant as a way out of her job? 
Well, this thread has certainly provided some entertainment. 😂

That’s the question the person who broke the news first asked. I suspect it might give her a convenient out if she wants one, highly unlikely they planned a baby to get out of the White House. There is already a large baby in the White House and he likes firing people so if Karoline wants a new job she should be fine leaving her current one. 

• Replies 52.7k

• JFK-1

• Watt-Zeefuik

• Maple Leaf

• Justin Z

Posted
34 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said:

That’s the question the person who broke the news first asked. I suspect it might give her a convenient out if she wants one, highly unlikely they planned a baby to get out of the White House. There is already a large baby in the White House and he likes firing people so if Karoline wants a new job she should be fine leaving her current one. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Mac_fae_Gillie said:

Gives her a good way out of the White House without it been political, no idea if she really wants to be there spreading hate and lies. I know she is right wing but even she must be dumbfounded by some of Trumps rubbish, so she can leave quietly before he falls and she is booted.

Is everyone forgetting she had not long since had a kid at the time she was appointed his mouthpiece. This will not make one iota of difference. 

Posted
6 hours ago, lost in space said:

Ked, what's a "penis mate"?

Would that be your hand?

You're so not with it.

58a9ce03fe4afd9d.gif&f=1&nofb=1&ipt=93db

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
10 hours ago, XB52 said:

Wonder who the dad is 🙂🙂

A lot of nasty, cynical stuff about this woman’s future baby and the woman herself. Disappointing. 

lost in space
Posted
10 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

You're so not with it.

58a9ce03fe4afd9d.gif&f=1&nofb=1&ipt=93db

😆😆

I usually trust new technology - but there is no way that I am trying that. 

Good luck with your new Xmas present though!!

Posted
34 minutes ago, Jacques de Gauthier said:

A lot of nasty, cynical stuff about this woman’s future baby and the woman herself. Disappointing. 

Thoughts and prayers.

Dennis Denuto
Posted
46 minutes ago, Jacques de Gauthier said:

You’re the dinosaur that suggested a pregnant women should give up her career. 

Posted
58 minutes ago, Jacques de Gauthier said:

She is a lying piece of hypocritical shite. Flaunting her 'Christianity' while supporting the rapist. Sorry if that upsets you 

Posted
26 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

X63oAw.gif&f=1&nofb=1&ipt=68c3f675f2f744

🤣🤣

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
1 hour ago, Dennis Denuto said:

You’re the dinosaur that suggested a pregnant women should give up her career. 

I’m yet to be convinced women should have careers in the first place. 

Dennis Denuto
Posted
1 minute ago, Jacques de Gauthier said:

You think that's funny.......

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
1 hour ago, XB52 said:

She is a lying piece of hypocritical shite. Flaunting her 'Christianity' while supporting the rapist. Sorry if that upsets you 

She’s a press secretary for a mental president of the weirdest country in the world. If she didn’t lie I’d be disappointed. 

I had hoped people could perhaps put their political views to one side and be happy for her, but that would appear to be beyond them. 

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
Just now, Dennis Denuto said:

You think that's funny.......

No, I think it’s true. 

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
1 hour ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Thoughts and prayers.

Thanks man. Means a lot. 

Dennis Denuto
Posted
1 minute ago, Jacques de Gauthier said:

No, I think it’s true. 

You think women should not have careers, wow, I mean ****, wow.

You have then posted about political views, when you started this wondering if pregnancy meant her career was over.

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
Just now, Dennis Denuto said:

You think women should not have careers, wow, I mean ****, wow.

You have then posted about political views, when you started this wondering if pregnancy meant her career was over.

:winkiss:

Dennis Denuto
Posted
3 minutes ago, Jacques de Gauthier said:

:winkiss:

Ok so you know you are a ****

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
16 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said:

Uncalled for. 

Anyway, I’m sure we can all agree wish Ms Levitt and her family the best for the future, no matter her employment status or political views. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Jacques de Gauthier said:

She’s a press secretary for a mental president of the weirdest country in the world. If she didn’t lie I’d be disappointed. 

I had hoped people could perhaps put their political views to one side and be happy for her, but that would appear to be beyond them. 

So she happily gets to spout whatever shite her boss tells her to without any thought of the consequences, and yet as soon as she gets pregnant we are all supposed to fall over ourselves with happiness as if nothing else has happened? Good one. 

The old Nuremburg defense, 'I was just following orders'  

Posted
2 hours ago, Dennis Denuto said:

Nah he's just a troll. Not worth bothering with.

14 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

Tut tut @Ked

You had Maga hat on with that one.:laugh:

Never comes off, you just can't see it because it's usually covered in tinfoil.

Posted
1 hour ago, Ulysses said:

I'm kind of meh on Khanna. I mean yeah, doing bipartisan stuff that isn't the mushy capitulation knows as "centrism" is good. But he's a venture capital/silicon valley guy to the core and it shows when things like tech policy come up. I don't mind him where he is but occasionally he gets floated for something bigger and I wouldn't be a fan. But no question he's done some good stuff with that work.

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
5 hours ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

Nah he's just a troll.

Poor form. 

Posted (edited)
10 hours ago, Jacques de Gauthier said:

Thanks man. Means a lot. 

Not for you, ffs, for yon Levitt bursd.

She'll surely be seething at a few gobs on a stick on an obscure football forum being horrible about her.

10 hours ago, Jacques de Gauthier said:

:sadrobbo:

There could be something in that. 

7 hours ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

Nah he's just a troll. Not worth bothering with.

Nice and Christian of you. At this time of year as well.

7 hours ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

Never comes off, you just can't see it because it's usually covered in tinfoil.

That's quite funny on the face of it, but the subtext is pretty ugly. You want to try growing up on an Edinburgh council scheme in the '70s and '80s, you'd be surrounded by utter mentalists with some ****ed up ideas who really aren't bad people. We're all Jock Tamson's bairs, no?

There's probably very little intellectual disparity between you and Ked, given ideal circumstances, but your points of departure could well be on different planets.

Poor form*. 

*Transatlantic intellectual pomposity.

Edited by il Duce McTarkin
Chairman of the Bored
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Not for you, ffs, for yon Levitt bursd.

She'll surely be seething at a few gobs on a stick on an obscure football forum being horrible about her.

:sadrobbo:

There could be something in that. 

Nice and Christian of you. At this time of year as well.

That's quite funny on the face of it, but the subtext is pretty ugly. You want to try growing up on an Edinburgh council scheme in the '70s and '80s, you'd be surrounded by utter mentalists with some ****ed up ideas who really aren't bad people. We're all Jock Tamson's bairs, no?

There's probably very little intellectual disparity between you and Ked, given ideal circumstances, but your points of departure could well be on different planets.

*Transatlantic intellectual pomposity.

You had me up until you used ‘intellectual’ for both the Septic and the Kedster. 

FWIW I thought the post about KL was a chance for everyone to finally be on the same page on this thread. A chance to rise above political/ideological pettiness and anger, an opportunity to show that, despite differences in worldview, those who claim to be more tolerant than others would be able to wish a young mother-to-be well. If that’s trolling, then so be it. What a shower of husk-hearted grinches there are on here masquerading as well-intentioned progressive types. 

Edited by Jacques de Gauthier
Cameronstheman
Posted
10 hours ago, trotter said:

So she happily gets to spout whatever shite her boss tells her to without any thought of the consequences, and yet as soon as she gets pregnant we are all supposed to fall over ourselves with happiness as if nothing else has happened? Good one. 

The old Nuremburg defense, 'I was just following orders'  

Head shot 

Dennis Denuto
Posted

You had me up until you used ‘intellectual’ for both the Septic and the Kedster. 

FWIW I thought the post about KL was a chance for everyone to finally be on the same page on this thread. A chance to rise above political/ideological pettiness and anger, an opportunity to show that, despite differences in worldview, those who claim to be more tolerant than others would be able to wish a young mother-to-be well. If that’s trolling, then so be it. What a shower of husk-hearted grinches there are on here masquerading as well-intentioned progressive types. 

No you invited comment about her employment status and career opportunities now she was pregnant. 

Posted (edited)

Harsh on Ked, imo.

Meh, Levitt knows the murky waters that she swims in to make her living; if she drowns in them it's on her.

I do find the posts quesrioning the child's parentage distasteful, though.

Edited by il Duce McTarkin
Chairman of the Bored
Posted
43 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said:

No you invited comment about her employment status and career opportunities now she was pregnant. 

And by extension, a hearty round of congratulations to the young lady. 

Dennis Denuto
Posted
On 28/12/2025 at 06:03, Jacques de Gauthier said:

https://www.foxnews.com/politics/karoline-leavitt-expecting-baby-girl-may-2026-says-motherhood-closest-thing-heaven-earth.amp

Karoline Leavitt is pregnant. Wonder if that’ll lead to her stepping down from her role permanently?

12 minutes ago, Jacques de Gauthier said:

And by extension, a hearty round of congratulations to the young lady. 

Why not do that yourself then? 

Posted

Now we've got 2 trolls trolling each other😀😀.

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
30 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said:

Why not do that yourself then? 

I DM’d her. 

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
15 minutes ago, XB52 said:

Now we've got 2 trolls trolling each other😀😀.

Trump and Newsome?

Posted

Whatever you think of the events discussed at length in the last page or so she is like a signifier of the ethics of the current regime. The dedicated Christian who holds team prayer meetings before work and is a loud and proud dedicated catholic whose whole existence is based on it. Yet waited until after her first child was born to get married. Do as I say, not as I do.  

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
7 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Whatever you think of the events discussed at length in the last page or so she is like a signifier of the ethics of the current regime. The dedicated Christian who holds team prayer meetings before work and is a loud and proud dedicated catholic whose whole existence is based on it. Yet waited until after her first child was born to get married. Do as I say, not as I do.  

Nobody can change the past, Taz. We’re all hypocrites in some form or another. 

Posted

It's not the chlorine itself which is the problem.

The problem is that chlorine is used to bleach the skin to hide things like hock burn.

Hock burn comes from chickens who are so tightly packed that there is no room to move around or are so genetically obese that they can't move. They end up sitting in their own acidic waste and develop burns from this. When processed these burns are easily identified as they are bright red against the white skin. So chlorine is used to hide them.

The issue is the lower welfare status of chlorinated chickens. This is not just an ethical issue, but an economic issue as well as chickens produced that intensively will be cheaper than higher welfare ones such as we have over here.

We'll be flooded with cheap, low welfare shite from the USA and the UK poultry industry will be put under more pressure.

Posted

In non US news British farmers are complaining that the beef deal with Australia has essentially turned into a one way street. 

Posted

Seems legit

db68cfded2607298.jpeg

Posted
2 hours ago, Tazio said:

In non US news British farmers are complaining that the beef deal with Australia has essentially turned into a one way street. 

You mean that the genius negotiation team lead by BoJo made yet another horses arse of making an agreement, hopefully they agreed a break clause!

Posted

The Auzzies couldn't believe we signed that deal.

They produced an insanely insulting list of demands and Boris said aye nae bother.

Boris at that time was desperate to have A Deal. Any deal. With anyone. So the British farmers got shafted once again.

Posted (edited)
20 minutes ago, Cade said:

They produced an insanely insulting list of demands and Boris said aye nae bother.

Boris at that time was desperate to have A Deal. Any deal. With anyone. So the British farmers got shafted once again.

I do recall the Aussie PM, I think, basically saying the deal massively benefitted Australian farmers, and further he went on with words to the effect, "It's my job to ensure we get the best deal for Australia, what the other side do isn't my business".

Like I said, hopefully there is a break clause in place...

Edited by Konrad von Carstein
Cameronstheman
Posted
44 minutes ago, Cade said:

Wonder how many farmers are Tory's  

Posted
4 hours ago, Tazio said:

Posted
17 hours ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

I'm kind of meh on Khanna. I mean yeah, doing bipartisan stuff that isn't the mushy capitulation knows as "centrism" is good. But he's a venture capital/silicon valley guy to the core and it shows when things like tech policy come up. I don't mind him where he is but occasionally he gets floated for something bigger and I wouldn't be a fan. But no question he's done some good stuff with that work.

Interested to hear that.  I'd heard his name, but not much more than that.  I'm not convinced that you can or should do deals with this version of the GOP, but he obviously sees things differently.  The thing is that doing stuff like that works for single issues, but it's hard to see how it would give anyone enough of a platform for anything other than being someone a little more famous than the average in the House.