• JFK-1

• Maple Leaf

• Justin Z

• Watt-Zeefuik

Just now, The Real Maroonblood said:

Justin, are you back in Scotland?

No. I imagine I won't be for quite some time.

Hugh Phamism
42 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

It should be awakening hearts and minds across the US that the Democratic establishment would rather put Joe Biden up, and lose to Trump, than put Bernie Sanders up, and win in November.

But it's not. To paraphrase what I told someone earlier, America is done, and it needs to burn to the ground and be rebuilt from the ashes in order to change. It is full of absolute morons, and it will take suffering and dying en masse for any of them to let go of their moronic beliefs. The injustice is that that will involve the suffering and dying of a lot of people who in no way deserve it, too, and many of those who do will be more or less unaffected. But that's simply the way it is, and there's little that can be done.

Strong words Justin, but difficult to argue with them. The extreme Jingoism that has been drummed up by Trump and his supporters in the past 18 months is now a permanent feature in American life.

1 hour ago, Justin Z said:

No. I imagine I won't be for quite some time.

Stay safe and mind how you go.

On 07/03/2020 at 00:50, ri Alban said:

He's not wrong about his hunch. This Coronavirus is a mild flu. Good deflection tactic for Governments tho.

Twelve days later, thousands dead, hundreds of thousands infected, the world is in turmoil.

Yep, Trump was right about his hunch. It's just a mild flu.

Do sensible people anywhere actually believe anything Trump says???

1 hour ago, Maple Leaf said:

Twelve days later, thousands dead, hundreds of thousands infected, the world is in turmoil.

What's the flu death numbers? 

24 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

What's the flu death numbers? 

Currently above 10,000 globally if the BBC's numbers are to be believed

1 minute ago, trotter said:

Currently above 10,000 globally if the BBC's numbers are to be believed

Last year 1 billion had it, between 300,000 and 650,000 deaths. 

I put my hands up ages ago about Coronavirus, but the flu is still serious aswell. The difference? There's no vaccine for Coronavirus. Yet!?

2 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

Mapes, you're really gonnae lose yer shit if DT's administration comes up with the vaccine, aren't you. :D

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

Mapes, you're really gonnae lose yer shit if DT's administration comes up with the vaccine, aren't you. :D

It won't be his administration it will be the work of 17000 scientist all around the world working together.Of course Trump will probably claim credit.

Just now, vegas-voss said:

It won't be his administration it will be the work of 17000 scientist all around the world working together.Of course Trump will probably claim credit.

I know, but still. 🤣 Some folk on here will be apoplectic with rage.

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

I know, but still. 🤣 Some folk on here will be apoplectic with rage.

I won't be one of them.  :thumb:

On 18/03/2020 at 10:20, The Real Maroonblood said:

Stay safe and mind how you go.

Cheers bud. I've been inside for more or less a week and a half straight. :lol:

2 hours ago, Justin Z said:

Cheers bud. I've been inside for more or less a week and a half straight. :lol:

Really? Been at work every day with 150-200+ people. Been at gym. Seen elderly in the town in their numbers. I haven't seen any panic that the media report. Maybe Dundee just doesn't have any serious cases yet I don't know. 

15 minutes ago, Wham Bam Austin McCann said:

Really? Been at work every day with 150-200+ people. Been at gym. Seen elderly in the town in their numbers. I haven't seen any panic that the media report. Maybe Dundee just doesn't have any serious cases yet I don't know. 

Really. Especially since I travelled last week, I've taken it seriously. Thankfully, I have lots of audiobook work to keep me occupied.

4 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

Really. Especially since I travelled last week, I've taken it seriously. Thankfully, I have lots of audiobook work to keep me occupied.

Fair enough mate 👍 enjoy.

1 hour ago, Justin Z said:

Personally, I'm going to take the advice of medical professionals in the face of a virological situation like this--and do so long before my idiot president did, too.

https://twitter.com/lbc/status/1241009852224278528?s=21

Your idiot president has finally finished showing just how much he is out of his depth and how deep is his narcissistic "personality" with another ignoramus-filled press conference to his beloved American people.

"You're a terrible reporter" is his retort (for the umpteenth time as you're well aware) to a guy who asks him a question not convenient with how he views himself.

I'm trying to make allowances for this whole horrendous situation he finds himself in, but it's still all about him and nowt to do with said situation.

He's a self-obsessed ******* clown! That doctor standing behind him must be finding it all he can handle to keep from face-palming every time he opens his misinformed, self-gratifying gub.

Edited by J.T.F.Robertson

Mac_fae_Gillie
1 hour ago, Wham Bam Austin McCann said:

Actually social distancing would work great if only 1 person had it in Dundee, they stay at home can't pass it on. But if they go out to the pub pass it 4, they pass to 4 each during the week, by next weekend you got 21 with it. With 21 now infected social distancing still helps but that's 21 people still popping to shop or required work so say 10 of them could still pass it on again to 1 or 2 more. If only 1 had done it this week.

16 minutes ago, Mac_fae_Gillie said:

Actually social distancing would work great if only 1 person had it in Dundee, they stay at home can't pass it on. But if they go out to the pub pass it 4, they pass to 4 each during the week, by next weekend you got 21 with it. With 21 now infected social distancing still helps but that's 21 people still popping to shop or required work so say 10 of them could still pass it on again to 1 or 2 more. If only 1 had done it this week.

Yeah i get that mate. Its been enforced now anyway.

Trump will be annoyed that he has been outdone by BJ and chancellor. Will he have the cojones to announce similar measures or is that too Socialist?

51 minutes ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

Your idiot president has finally finished showing just how much he is out of his depth and how deep is his narcissistic "personality" with another ignoramus-filled press conference to his beloved American people.

"You're a terrible reporter" is his retort (for the umpteenth time as you're well aware) to a guy who asks him a question not convenient with how he views himself.

I'm trying to make allowances for this whole horrendous situation he finds himself in, but it's still all about him and nowt to do with said situation.

He's a self-obsessed ******* clown! That doctor standing behind him must be finding it all he can handle to keep from face-palming every time he opens his misinformed, self-gratifying gub.

That's a beautiful rant. The best. 

Trump isn't responsible for COVID-19 being in the USA, but he is responsible for the Administration's reaction to it, and for the country's preparedness.  According to this article, he has failed, despite being given plenty of warning:

https://www.cnn.com/2020/03/20/politics/us-intelligence-reports-trump-coronavirus/index.html

"Donald Trump may not have been expecting this, but a lot of other people in the government were -- they just couldn't get him to do anything about it," the official noted to the Post. "The system was blinking red."

Within the administration, Trump's aides tried in vain to convince him of the virus's seriousness, according to the Post. Health and Human Services Secretary Alex Azar was unable to discuss the virus with Trump until January 18, two senior administration officials told the Post -- at which point the President interrupted him to ask when sales of flavored vaping products would resume, senior administration officials told the paper.

I see the esteemed president is refusing to call the Defence Act and force companies to assist with efforts to deal with Corona Virus. I mean it has passed through all phases and now all it needs is Trump to call it. He simply refuses to do because Business is his friend and he needs their support to fund election campaign.

He is also rumoured to want to relax self-containment measures as they are causing problem on publics abilities to go out and spend money, and he needs the economy to be boosted as he wants to be re-elected.

God Bless America indeed.

20 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

I'm not saying I want him to catch coronavirus, but I wouldn't care if he did.

I don't want him to catch it ... I want him to REALLY catch it!

Edited by JackLadd

2 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

I don't want him to catch it ... I want him to REALLY catch it!

Greed will destroy America.

His latest presser just shows that the pressure is still on for everyone to go to work to make money for the Corporations.     Pence just said, if you don't show any symptoms, just go to work.  Today!  The 23rd of March.

The US needs a hard reboot, and it looks like its about to get one.

Even rich people wont have a cure.    **** Them.

2 hours ago, leginten said:

You have to admire this crystal-clear explanation of the interest rate cut.

Wow! Just wow! Anyone who votes for this utter imbecile should be ashamed of themselves. He is a nae richter!

10 hours ago, leginten said:

Dearie me.

Jambo-Jimbo
11 hours ago, leginten said:

Image result for trump abacus

Its so sad the Country and people in chaos. Deaths, economic problems for the nation and individuals, and this man President of the United States is carrying out election campaign rhetoric with his usual everything is the best in the world, we have the greatest economy ever, it seems even some of his advisers have had enough and are not attending his briefings. Questions asked about why some with no symptoms are getting tested when others cannot get examined. Suggests there will be big changes in eight days which even I can see the is just bull. He calls for a cessation of harassing and insulting of Asian Americans, probably being done by some of his ardent supporters who are acting on his description of Covid as being Chinese. Despite all this much to my disgust and prophesy that he would not finish his first term, the possible absence of a traditional form election may work in his favour for reelection.

1 hour ago, DarthVodka said:

WHO expecting US to be the epicenter shortly.  If Trump does nothing (or less) it will get so much worse

He is going to send everyone back to work

6 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

He is going to send everyone back to work

If a few Americans die, then that would be a sacrifice that Donald Trump is willing to make. He has 1 priority and 1 alone. He wants re-elected.

1 hour ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Wouldn’t surprise me.

He has just tweeted that. Putting the stock market before people. Utter utter *****.

1 minute ago, Notts1874 said:

He has just tweeted that. Putting the stock market before people. Utter utter *****.

He has no shame. 

8 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Wanting anyone to catch Corona or any other virus is a bit shite. 

It is indeed, ri.

• Kalamazoo Jambo changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (title updated)
  • Maple Leaf changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (merged)