U.S. Politics megathread (merged)

trex

3 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

He said "If you have a windmill anywhere near your house, congratulations your house just went down 75% in value. And they say the noise causes cancer, you tell me that one, okay?"

https://news.sky.com/story/donald-trump-claims-wind-turbine-noise-causes-cancer-11683102

Who exactly are  'they'?

Hannity, Carlson, Jones, Bannon or some other nutjob whom it seem's have some influence with Trump.

I'm sure if you trawled through Fox in the days before the speech you would find something that has prompted him.

• Replies 32.2k

• JFK-1

• Maple Leaf

• Justin Z

• Watt-Zeefuik

Jambo-Jimbo
7 minutes ago, Notts1874 said:

I'm sure if you trawled through Fox in the days before the speech you would find something that has prompted him.

Either that or a phone call from his best buddy 'Sean'.

Just now, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Either that or a phone call from his best buddy 'Sean'.

Right then. Explain him saying that his father was born in Germany ???

I love Trump, on a daily basis he provides Steven Colbert with the funniest fifteen minutes on television every night.  Old Donald is also getting his , I have to pay him off Attorney General, to write to the Oscars something about not allowing people to say things about Donald at their awards night. I often wonder when Donald will grow a wee square moustache, but in fairness he is the goof that keeps on giving.

1 hour ago, bobsharp said:

I love Trump, on a daily basis he provides Steven Colbert with the funniest fifteen minutes on television every night.  Old Donald is also getting his , I have to pay him off Attorney General, to write to the Oscars something about not allowing people to say things about Donald at their awards night. I often wonder when Donald will grow a wee square moustache, but in fairness he is the goof that keeps on giving.

The Colbert monologues are generally brilliant.

What could be in his tax returns that he is so desperate to keep hidden?

Business dealings with the Russians?  Evidence that he is not as rich or successful as he has been claiming?

One can only wonder.

Mueller's team making careful statements to the press that are careful not to say much but making it clear Barr's letter is, um, shall we say, not a fair summary of the report.

Shocking, I know.

22 minutes ago, Ugly American said:

Mueller's team making careful statements to the press that are careful not to say much but making it clear Barr's letter is, um, shall we say, not a fair summary of the report.

Shocking, I know.

Who'd a thunk it?  But Trump and his acolytes were quick to jump in with a chorus of "Completely exonerated."

Bindy Badgy
30 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

Who'd a thunk it?  But Trump and his acolytes were quick to jump in with a chorus of "Completely exonerated."

Hannity used that phrase even though Barr's statement specifically stated that the report did not exonerate him. And AlfaJambo wonders why no one watches the Hannity YouTube videos he posts up here.

The leaks from Muellers team already starting, if Barr waits too long his release whatever it is will be anti climactic.I have to think some of the Grand Jury stuff they do not want released or in some degree of fairness they are not allowed to release will c ome out on the grapevine and will involve, young Donald. Krsic hner, Eric and Ivanka.  Even the Capones, Gotti, and others were eventually found out and paid for their sins.

I watched a panel including a physchiatrist discussing Trumps my father was born in Germany, and ornges orgins, stuttering comments, the doctor would not give an outright opinion on his mental situation, but did opine that he seemed like a man under intense stress.

Craig Gordons Gloves
21 hours ago, Ugly American said:

Totally normal admin, nothing different from past Presidents 

https://twitter.com/funder/status/1113882856475058178

I'm not doubting the sentiments in this tweet, but sadly Scott Dworkin, along with the Krassenstein brothers are sensationalist arseholes who post alot of pish without any real investigation or back up. 

I dunno if anyone listens to Fighting Talk on 5 live, but last weekend one of the questions was "Who else can't get over their ex?" and the genius answer was Trump.  Rejected by the NFL to be a team owner, has spent his presidency criticising them.  Never stops banging on about Hillary, Obama etc, John McCain and almost anyone who he perceives as slighting him. 

On 30/03/2019 at 13:25, Maple Leaf said:

And now he says that he will close the border.  Oh yeah?  Mexico is America's third-largest trading partner.  The economic effect of closing the border would be hugely negative for both countries.  Hopefully the adults in the room (assuming there is one) will have a quiet word in his ear.

Well, it seems like an adult in the White House convinced President Buffoon that his idea was stupid.

He won't be closing the border after all, but "might do so in a year" if Mexico doesn't act.  *sigh* How much longer does the world have to put up with this cretin.

Teflon Donnie says he will DIE before they get his tax returns. We live in hope!

And..

Interesting that Assange may be punted from the Equador embassy and handed over to FBI.  Collusion burger back on the barbie!

Kalamazoo Jambo
6 hours ago, Craig Gordons Gloves said:

I'm not doubting the sentiments in this tweet, but sadly Scott Dworkin, along with the Krassenstein brothers are sensationalist arseholes who post alot of pish without any real investigation or back up. 

I’d go farther. Dworkin is a grifter. Check where the money from the Democratic Coalition PAC actually goes.

There are, sadly, quite a few “resistance” scam artists and the Krassensteins are definitely also part of that group.

On 05/04/2019 at 14:07, Craig Gordons Gloves said:

I dunno if anyone listens to Fighting Talk on 5 live, but last weekend one of the questions was "Who else can't get over their ex?" and the genius answer was Trump.  Rejected by the NFL to be a team owner, has spent his presidency criticising them.  Never stops banging on about Hillary, Obama etc, John McCain and almost anyone who he perceives as slighting him. 

That's fair -- I honestly don't know anything about him. I was on a train with bad mobile coverage at the time and didn't spend a lot of time researching this.

And yes, there's an unpleasant handful of grifters floating about. Every time a black person is shot by police Shaun King launches a fundraiser but never seems to do anything with the money he raises.

For that matter, there's this failed businessman with his own foundation that promises donations in the millions but never actually pays anything out. Bad piece of work, that guy...

Slightly surprised that the news that, AG Barr will investigate origins of counterintelligence operations against the Trump campaign, has not sequenced top billing on this morning ‘Donald Trump’ thread mystifications.

Barr told lawmakers he had assembled a team of investigators to examine the origins of the FBI's counterintelligence operation against the 2016 Donald Trump campaign for president.

Barr also said he would investigate the application process used by the FBI to convince a FISA judge to grant a surveillance warrant against Trump campaign employee Carter Page.

I find it surprising that you do not add to your comments that Barr is now being widely described as a Toady for Donald Trump. I also listened extensively to Barr at the hearing, I seem to recall he did suggest that he would form a team to look into the genesis of the investigation. It has also been pointed out that  he Barr has history in covering up for Presidents having done so for George Bush in the WMD,s case when he was serving that President. It has been suggested that it is surprising that on appointment if this was so important he has not approached the Inspector General or taken time to read his reports on this exact same subject.

Speaking from experience and training the worst way to enter any investigation is with pre determined opinion and conduct your investigation to convict the individual concerned, and not study the evidence as to how it pertains to the law. It has also been suggested that this is what Barr is doing.

Barr, Kavanaugh and others are Trump direct appointments for very obvious reasons. But then it does take a modicum of intelligence to see and understand that.

Assange being arrested this morning will be sending shockwaves across in the US.

Trumpy and Roger Stone will be papping themselves this morning.

Speaking from experience and training the worst way to enter any investigation is with pre determined opinion and conduct your investigation to convict the individual concerned, and not study the evidence as to how it pertains to the law. It has also been suggested that this is what Barr is doing.

Barr, Kavanaugh and others are Trump direct appointments for very obvious reasons. But then it does take a modicum of intelligence to see and understand that.

Are you referring to your experience and comment with regard to the ‘Trump Collusion Delusion’?

1 hour ago, alfajambo said:

Are you referring to your experience and comment with regard to the ‘Trump Collusion Delusion’?

I am referring to life, career, professionalism, study of people, and training at the highest level and quality, in my chosen career which involved investigation, court preparation and knowledge of the law and rights. I am not aware of what you refer to as delusion, if you mean the now famous meeting attended by his son, son in law and other campaign people there is nothing delusional about that. Did you watch Trump counsel his son on Air Force One to lie about the subject of the meeting and state it was to do with orphans. If there is so much innocence in the Mueller report why are they so abhorrent about making it public.  Why will Trump not do as everyone else in his position has release his tax returns, I would suggest you look up delusion, and you will see it elates totally to the world of confusion, delusion, you live in. 

In my illustrious career I have had the misfortune to mett many idiots, I thought those days were past, but there is always one that will turn up.

In an effort to avoid sinking into the realms of idiocy by assoc iation with one I will never respond to another post of yours.

May I remind you that the conclusion to an exhaustive enquiry was: No Trump Russian collusion.

No mention of this was made in my post. Only reference to a forthcoming enquiry by the AG.

Toady’s and low IQ abusive remarks penned by you aside - and not for the first time -

Perhaps it’s time you followed your own advice with respect to predetermined conclusions.

2 minutes ago, alfajambo said:

May I remind you that the conclusion to an exhaustive enquiry was: No Trump Russian collusion.

No mention of this was made in my post. Only reference to a forthcoming enquiry by the AG.

Toady’s and low IQ abusive remarks penned by you aside - and not for the first time -

Perhaps it’s time you followed your own advice with respect to predetermined conclusions.

If you believe that, you must believe anything. 

Do you want to buy this left-handed screwdriver set?

So Avenatti who exposed Trumps payoffs for the porn star and Playmate has been arrested and faces multiple charges including tax evasion, defrauding clients of millions and others. I said at the time he was more dangerous to Trump than anyone, I described him as an ambulanc e chaser, and he was the type to trip up the likes of Trump. So an old saying it takes a crook to  catch a crook seems appropriate here.

Trump is really a terrible person, people who are with him, and now one of those against him are being charged, convicted and facing jail. The man just lives in an environment of dishonesty and illegality. It just seems to me and I only speak for me, that at some time like all empires and pseudo empires they fall, and his will to.

Jambo-Jimbo

So Avenatti who exposed Trumps payoffs for the porn star and Playmate has been arrested and faces multiple charges including tax evasion, defrauding clients of millions and others. I said at the time he was more dangerous to Trump than anyone, I described him as an ambulanc e chaser, and he was the type to trip up the likes of Trump. So an old saying it takes a crook to  catch a crook seems appropriate here.

Trump is really a terrible person, people who are with him, and now one of those against him are being charged, convicted and facing jail. The man just lives in an environment of dishonesty and illegality. It just seems to me and I only speak for me, that at some time like all empires and pseudo empires they fall, and his will to.

As you well know, patience is a virtue, people like Trump sooner or later always slip up and get their due, so you are not alone in thinking this.

8 hours ago, alfajambo said:

That is the summary of the report written by the Attorney General who replaced Jeff Sessions, who was dismissed for no apparent reason other than that he was insufficiently active in suppressing the Mueller probe. In the wake of Barr’s letter, members of the OSC have made it quite clear that they do not consider the letter to be a fair summary of the investigation’s conclusions. 

This despite the fact that Barr’s letter quoted the report explicitly saying that it does not exonerate the President, nor does it address the original charge for the OSC, which was to investigate obstruction of justice.

If the report does actually dismiss all credible allegations against the President, I’m sure we’ll see it released in full very soon now, right?

1 hour ago, Ugly American said:

That is the summary of the report written by the Attorney General who replaced Jeff Sessions, who was dismissed for no apparent reason other than that he was insufficiently active in suppressing the Mueller probe. In the wake of Barr’s letter, members of the OSC have made it quite clear that they do not consider the letter to be a fair summary of the investigation’s conclusions. 

This despite the fact that Barr’s letter quoted the report explicitly saying that it does not exonerate the President, nor does it address the original charge for the OSC, which was to investigate obstruction of justice.

If the report does actually dismiss all credible allegations against the President, I’m sure we’ll see it released in full very soon now, right?

If only.  I know you were being sarcastic. :thumb:

We'll never see the full, unredacted Mueller report. We'll never see Trump's tax returns.

But I doubt if full disclosure in either case would make any difference.  To the hard-core Trump supporters, the con-man can do no wrong.  He's got about 35% of the electorate in his pocket and he will have them going into the 2020 election regardless of anything that happens in the meantime. imo

On 04/04/2019 at 17:13, Maple Leaf said:

What could be in his tax returns that he is so desperate to keep hidden?

Business dealings with the Russians?  Evidence that he is not as rich or successful as he has been claiming?

One can only wonder.

I think it's simpler than either of those theories. I think he hasn't paid his fair share of tax, cheating the American people out of a fair few million dollars every year.

I came onto this thread today to see whether there was any comment on his denial of knowing anything about Wikileaks, despite his constant quoting or praising of them throughout his election campaign in regards to the Hillary emails. In my view, it's the biggest, most childish lie that I've seen him tell. No doubt he's told others that are much bigger but this would be like me coming on and writing that I'm a first-time poster on JKB. Complete nut-job and anyone who doesn't see through needs help.

Well played, Bob, earlier. It will skite off his skull but needed said.

Trump is losing it completely. I read Woodwards book and even in the early days he was being described by  Whie House persons as unhinged, a moron, unpresidential, a liar and more. The descriptions continue in these current days, his immigration policy has been described as unhinged, he stated recently on TV when asked about changes in Homeland Security he tapped the side of his forehead, indicating again his high intelligence and stated clearly I am, I am in charge.  I will repeat my mantra again and again as long as he is President he is to be kind unhinged, but I would say his mental and phsychological problems are much deeper, and the Sanders, Conway and fellow politicians who support him are doing him no favors. If he does not want and will not seek professional help it would be kinder and more loyal if one of his support and close confidantes told him the problem, and the ramifications of his future legacy if he continues as is.

Jambo-Jimbo
5 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

I think it's simpler than either of those theories. I think he hasn't paid his fair share of tax, cheating the American people out of a fair few million dollars every year.

I came onto this thread today to see whether there was any comment on his denial of knowing anything about Wikileaks, despite his constant quoting or praising of them throughout his election campaign in regards to the Hillary emails. In my view, it's the biggest, most childish lie that I've seen him tell. No doubt he's told others that are much bigger but this would be like me coming on and writing that I'm a first-time poster on JKB. Complete nut-job and anyone who doesn't see through needs help.

Well played, Bob, earlier. It will skite off his skull but needed said.

It mustn't have been on Hannity yet, for if it were you can guarantee that a video would have been posted on here pronto.

Hannity being a balanced fair journalist who wants only to tell the truth..........................................................oh wait, on second thoughts you might be waiting a while then.

2 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

It mustn't have been on Hannity yet, for if it were you can guarantee that a video would have been posted on here pronto.

Hannity being a balanced fair journalist who wants only to tell the truth..........................................................oh wait, on second thoughts you might be waiting a while then.

Having checked JKB rules this seems fine.

Folk who complain about bias at the BBC should take a look at this and reconsider.

The guy has no jounalistic standards or integrity at all. Sorry I watched any of it.

Bindy Badgy
10 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

Folk who complain about bias at the BBC should take a look at this and reconsider.

The guy has no jounalistic standards or integrity at all. Sorry I watched any of it.

That's because he isn't a journalist. He's a propagandist.

Jambo-Jimbo

???   Can't believe you bit:rofl::rofl::rofl:

Naw, actually I was hoping you would. 

I saw a couple of days ago on the news that Trumps man love Kim was coming out with threatening language again if sanctions were not lifted. I didn't see any more as everyone is so tied into Barrs hearings. I have noticed though in Trumps rallies lately he has not been expressing his praise of Kim and his achievement of no testing.  Of course he may know that if Kim does launch something it may not be a test.

Auld Donnie has til the 23rd of April to hand over the last 6 years of tax returns. How have made money, Trump? 

Jambo-Jimbo
3 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Auld Donnie has til the 23rd of April to hand over the last 6 years of tax returns. How have made money, Trump? 

That bastion of truth Sean 'You can trust me' Hannity will be all over this, surely, such an honest truthful journalist such as he is.

Trump orders  a commander in Customs to break the law relative to immigrants, and advises him if he gets caught and jailed he will grant a Presidential Pardon. He has ordered the depositing illegal immigrants into sanctuary cities and areas, he denies this is done in spite. The only defence he will have in the future is to say it wasn't me a big boy Steven Miller told me to do it.

he tweeted about this a few days ago

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-47912105?intlink_from_url=https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/topics/cp7r8vgl2lgt/donald-trump&link_location=live-reporting-story

Edited by milky_26

Did you hear him say he's going to put immigrants in Democrate constituencies.  He has no shame or self awareness.

5 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Did you hear him say he's going to put immigrants in Democrate constituencies.  He has no shame or self awareness.

We've known that since he openly admitted to sexually assaulting women.  

We've known that since we realised that he's a bare-faced liar, repeatedly.

Yet he still has the support of about 40% of the electorate, including the overwhelming majority of Evangelicals, and 40% support means that he is close to being re-elected. 

2 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

We've known that since he openly admitted to sexually assaulting women.  

We've known that since we realised that he's a bare-faced liar, repeatedly.

Yet he still has the support of about 40% of the electorate, including the overwhelming majority of Evangelicals, and 40% support means that he is close to being re-elected. 

Someone decent will take him out.

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

Someone decent will take him out.

I hope not.  I'd rather the voters take him out.

56 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

I hope not.  I'd rather the voters take him out.

At the ballot box.  ?  But I do like your idea.

6 hours ago, ri Alban said:

It’s illegal and immoral but frankly in the short term it would be a vast improvement. A lot of “sanctuary cities” have institutions with a lot of experience taking in asylum seekers. It would be frustrating that we’d probably have to pay for it ourselves but if it meant getting people out of Trump’s immigrant concentration camps, a lot of people would rally and fundraise to take them in and get them out of Stephen Miller’s hellholes.

4 hours ago, Ugly American said:

It’s illegal and immoral but frankly in the short term it would be a vast improvement. A lot of “sanctuary cities” have institutions with a lot of experience taking in asylum seekers. It would be frustrating that we’d probably have to pay for it ourselves but if it meant getting people out of Trump’s immigrant concentration camps, a lot of people would rally and fundraise to take them in and get them out of Stephen Miller’s hellholes.

Trump also suggesting that the Army should be used to build and guard the new encampments for arrested illegals and asylum seekers.

• Kalamazoo Jambo changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (title updated)
  • Maple Leaf changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (merged)