• JFK-1

• Maple Leaf

• Justin Z

• Watt-Zeefuik

Its funny how my past happenings so often connect in some way to present occurrences. In 1980 when at Quantico my roommate a Sheriff from New York obtained for me and another man his Senators invitation to visit the White House and Capitol House. There were tours of both but these provided a few perks. We saw a room in the White House where all the gold gifts received from visiting dignitaries, and when the President was visiting another country were stored. The guide suggested that the value of these mementos was sufficient at that time to pay the National debt. We also were allowed to look into the Oval Office.  We went down to the Rose Garden and there  saw Mrs Carter the then Presidents wife.Actually a very attractive woman.

We were then escorted to Capitol Hill where we entered peacefully the building. The actual Senate area where the sessions are held I found to be less spacious than I anticipated There are galleries for public watching the proceedings, they seem to go quite high, but still moderately small. When I watched the happenings on TV last week I was surprised how large the facility seemed to be. It is interesting now to hear that some Senate members are under investigation for taking visitors around the Senate prior to the riots, as they say times change.

3 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Hopefully good will come out of evil. 

It has to, it really has to, because if not there really will be no way back for America.

The last 4 years has allowed an element of American society which up until now has largely been in the shadows, on the periphery of society, to have a major front and centre voice, until Trump came along the conspiracy cranks and nutters had always been kept to the fringes, but through Trump it really was a case of the lunatics taking over the asylum.

The people of America.......and the world need to learn from the Trump debacle, that just how easily the nutters can gain prominence, and make no mistake about it, they have showed that they are totally intolerant of anybody who doesn't share their warped views and they will act violently.

Hopefully America can come back from the brink, it's going to be hard, but it's something they just have to do, because there are people who are way way worse than Trump out there, America has been warned.

33 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

It has to, it really has to, because if not there really will be no way back for America.

The last 4 years has allowed an element of American society which up until now has largely been in the shadows, on the periphery of society, to have a major front and centre voice, until Trump came along the conspiracy cranks and nutters had always been kept to the fringes, but through Trump it really was a case of the lunatics taking over the asylum.

The people of America.......and the world need to learn from the Trump debacle, that just how easily the nutters can gain prominence, and make no mistake about it, they have showed that they are totally intolerant of anybody who doesn't share their warped views and they will act violently.

Hopefully America can come back from the brink, it's going to be hard, but it's something they just have to do, because there are people who are way way worse than Trump out there, America has been warned.

Excellent post JJ.

Remember Ed Balls going over to the Midwest in some documentary. He's no shrinking violet but I think he was certainly out of his comfort zone with some of the attitudes and reaction to any negativity to the right wing viewpoint. To belittle ridicule and bully seemed a big part of the all American brash culture.  that was there anyway, now being manipulated to further extremity.

4 hours ago, Sharpie said:

Its funny how my past happenings so often connect in some way to present occurrences. In 1980 when at Quantico my roommate a Sheriff from New York obtained for me and another man his Senators invitation to visit the White House and Capitol House. There were tours of both but these provided a few perks. We saw a room in the White House where all the gold gifts received from visiting dignitaries, and when the President was visiting another country were stored. The guide suggested that the value of these mementos was sufficient at that time to pay the National debt. We also were allowed to look into the Oval Office.  We went down to the Rose Garden and there  saw Mrs Carter the then Presidents wife.Actually a very attractive woman.

We were then escorted to Capitol Hill where we entered peacefully the building. The actual Senate area where the sessions are held I found to be less spacious than I anticipated There are galleries for public watching the proceedings, they seem to go quite high, but still moderately small. When I watched the happenings on TV last week I was surprised how large the facility seemed to be. It is interesting now to hear that some Senate members are under investigation for taking visitors around the Senate prior to the riots, as they say times change.

I'm going off on a bit of a tangent, but I just watched a documentary on Jimmy Carter (about his love of music, on Sky Arts) and he came across as a genuinely compassionate, honest, caring man. The human rights work he has done since leaving office is remarkable and although his presidency seems to have been regarded as unsuccessful, from what I have read he did many good things and consistently acted in a moral, fair way on most issues and without dragging the US into various conflicts, as has have many of his successors/predecessors. He certainly seems to be the complete opposite of the current president and stands head and shoulders above the vast majority to have held that office (in my opinion).

Edited by Jambos_1874

1 bampot arrested at a Washington DC checkpoint with fake ID, a couple of guns and 500 rounds of ammunition.

I think perhaps that arriving at that checkpoint in his own truck with NRA slogans plastered all over it may have been one of his major errors.

Edited by Cade

Never realised the NRA filed for bankruptcy yesterday.  Surely the timing isn't coincidental, its just something else to further incite the Republicans.

Mike Pompeo has cancelled a farewell trip to Europe.  He was hoping for a leaving party, but no-one in Europe was interested in attending.

It will take a long time for the stench of Trump to clear. 

6 hours ago, Captain Slog said:

Never realised the NRA filed for bankruptcy yesterday.  Surely the timing isn't coincidental, its just something else to further incite the Republicans.

They're moving out of New York where the political atmosphere has changed to the more gun and god friendly, rootin, tootin state of Texas, to be closer to their people. 

Arseholes to a man.  

Edited by The Mighty Thor

7 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

Mike Pompeo has cancelled a farewell trip to Europe.  He was hoping for a leaving party, but no-one in Europe was interested in attending.

It will take a long time for the stench of Trump to clear. 

Europeans Recognize Trumpism for What It Is

The foreign minister of tiny Luxembourg called the president a “pyromaniac,” and the criticism was too much for Mike Pompeo.

Lucky are the foreign ministers of very small, very consensus-driven countries, for those who play their cards right sometimes get to hold office for many years. One of the luckiest card players out there is Jean Asselborn, the amusing polyglot who has been the foreign minister of Luxembourg since 2004.

Although his country is tiny (population 613,000), the longevity of Luxembourg’s top diplomat gives him the confidence to say what he thinks—even if it is, well, undiplomatic.

Last week, following the insurrection in Washington, D.C., Asselborn did exactly that: “Trump is a criminal,” he told RTL, his country’s leading broadcaster.* “A political pyromaniac who should be sent to criminal court. He’s a person who was elected democratically but who isn't interested in democracy in the slightest.”

Nor did Asselborn stop there. “The 6th of January 2021 was a 9/11 attack on democracy itself, and Trump was the one who egged it on,” he said in Luxembourgish.

“The people who are truly responsible are Trump and members of the GOP. People like Ted Cruz and other elected Republicans are responsible because they acted like Trump's poodles.”

Not too long after that, Mike Pompeo, the American secretary of state, abruptly canceled a trip to Luxembourg and Belgium that was meant to be his last trip to Europe.

A New York Times account implied that Asselborn’s comments triggered the decision.

FULL ARTICLE

Edited by JFK-1

10 hours ago, Jambos_1874 said:

I'm going off on a bit of a tangent, but I just watched a documentary on Jimmy Carter (about his love of music, on Sky Arts) and he came across as a genuinely compassionate, honest, caring man. The human rights work he has done since leaving office is remarkable and although his presidency seems to have been regarded as unsuccessful, from what I have read he did many good things and consistently acted in a moral, fair way on most issues and without dragging the US into various conflicts, as has have many of his successors/predecessors. He certainly seems to be the complete opposite of the current president and stands head and shoulders above the vast majority to have held that office (in my opinion).

Carter's presidency was initially viewed by some as a failure. In historical rankings of U.S. presidents, the Carter presidency has ranged from No. 18 to No. 34.

Although his presidency received mixed reception, his peacekeeping and humanitarian efforts since he left office have made Carter renowned as one of the most successful ex-presidents in American history.

The documentary Back Door Channels: The Price of Peace (2009) credits Carter's efforts at Camp David, which brought peace between Israel and Egypt, with bringing the only meaningful peace to the Middle East.

11 hours ago, Jambos_1874 said:

Carter was, and is, a great human being.

Jimmy Carter is a badass - Album on Imgur

1 minute ago, Justin Z said:

Carter was, and is, a great human being.

Jimmy Carter is a badass - Album on Imgur

He's falling down a lot these days. He should be leading a more sedate life in this the twilight of his life.

3 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

They're moving out of New York where the political atmosphere has changed to the more gun and god friendly, rootin, tootin state of Texas, to be closer to their people. 

Arseholes to a man.  

There are a fair number of corporates leaving NY and Ca due to their high taxation. The Ca leavers seem to be heading for Texas while the NY leavers are heading to Florida. It may be the real reason they (NRA) are leaving NY.

Just now, Seymour M Hersh said:

There are a fair number of corporates leaving NY and Ca due to their high taxation. The Ca leavers seem to be heading for Texas while the NY leavers are heading to Florida. It may be the real reason they (NRA) are leaving NY.

Not quite, aside from bankruptcy they're embroiled in fraud allegations. The usual thing. The heid yins skimming off millions to live a life of luxury.

1 minute ago, JFK-1 said:

Not quite, aside from bankruptcy they're embroiled in fraud allegations. The usual thing. The heid yins skimming off millions to live a life of luxury.

Fair enough about the NRA. I'm not that interested in them tbh. I was just pointing out that there is a migration of corporates out of those two states and offered that as an alternative reason. 

2 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Fair enough about the NRA. I'm not that interested in them tbh. I was just pointing out that there is a migration of corporates out of those two states and offered that as an alternative reason. 

Membership revenue has been dropping dramatically in just the  last year alone. They're losing significance and not before time. They have been aggressively opposing common sense gun control measures something over 70% of the population support. Even members support.

NRA Membership Revenue Fell 34% in 2019, Tumbling to a 7-Year Low

2 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

Membership revenue has been dropping dramatically in just the  last year alone. They're losing significance and not before time. They have been aggressively opposing common sense gun control measures something over 70% of the population support. Even members support.

NRA Membership Revenue Fell 34% in 2019, Tumbling to a 7-Year Low

As I said JFK I'm really not that interested in them. If their membership dropped to zero I wouldn't give a hoot. 

Edited by Seymour M Hersh

I saw a video clip of a Texan realtor lady who'd taken a private jet to DC to partake in the riots. Photos of her in the Capitol and other clips of her screaming her head off on the steps of the building.

Now she's been arrested by the FBI she's demanding that "President Trump" gives her an everyone else a full pardon. The lack of self-awareness* of her and people like her is just stunning. She all but confirms that she was there because of Trump's battle call and, by demanding a pardon, admits that she was involved in criminal activity. And, of course, if Trump were to issue pardons, he'd be admitting his part in stirring it all up.

* when I say "self-awareness", I mean, of course, "intelligence".

20 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

I saw a video clip of a Texan realtor lady who'd taken a private jet to DC to partake in the riots. Photos of her in the Capitol and other clips of her screaming her head off on the steps of the building.

Now she's been arrested by the FBI she's demanding that "President Trump" gives her an everyone else a full pardon. The lack of self-awareness* of her and people like her is just stunning. She all but confirms that she was there because of Trump's battle call and, by demanding a pardon, admits that she was involved in criminal activity. And, of course, if Trump were to issue pardons, he'd be admitting his part in stirring it all up.

How about the 'self awareness of this one?

While acting as if the cops were somehow over reacting because she got maced she comments. "we're storming the capitol it's a revolution"

I'm fairly confident revolting against legal government is highly illegal pretty much anywhere. And being maced has historically been the least of their worries for failed revolutionaries.

38 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

even in the raucous atmosphere with everybody shouting and yelling, folk were getting pissed at her shouting and yelling

Edited by Riccarton3

23 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

While acting as if the cops were somehow over reacting because she got maced she comments. "we're storming the capitol it's a revolution"

I'm fairly confident revolting against legal government is highly illegal pretty much anywhere. And being maced has historically been the least of their worries for failed revolutionaries.

2 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

Carter's presidency was initially viewed by some as a failure. In historical rankings of U.S. presidents, the Carter presidency has ranged from No. 18 to No. 34.

Although his presidency received mixed reception, his peacekeeping and humanitarian efforts since he left office have made Carter renowned as one of the most successful ex-presidents in American history.

The documentary Back Door Channels: The Price of Peace (2009) credits Carter's efforts at Camp David, which brought peace between Israel and Egypt, with bringing the only meaningful peace to the Middle East.

Jimmy Carter was unfortunate to be President when the American embassy in Iran was overrun. The hostage situation and the disastrous rescue attempt was too much for Americans. As the main man at the time, he took all of the responsibility for it.

50 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

That's if she was maced, some people online are speculating that she's holding an onion in her hand!!

45 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

Jimmy Carter was unfortunate to be President when the American embassy in Iran was overrun. The hostage situation and the disastrous rescue attempt was too much for Americans. As the main man at the time, he took all of the responsibility for it.

You would think he would get information on visitors to the White House, if so I am surprised he didn't bother to ask me for some advisory help.

7 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

There are a fair number of corporates leaving NY and Ca due to their high taxation.

This has been claimed for several decades, and once again in the wake of the pandemic. Yeah, no.

6 hours ago, SectionDJambo said:

He was probably the last president to take responsibility in any real way for anything bad that ever happened.

6 hours ago, Statts1976uk said:

That's if she was maced, some people online are speculating that she's holding an onion in her hand!!

Some people believe onions can be used to ease the effects of tear gas apparently, bizarre as that sounds. 

Just now, Tazio said:

Some people believe onions can be used to ease the effects of tear gas apparently, bizarre as that sounds. 

And Lemons.

8 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

Didn't hide the onion in the rag very well😂😂😂, even if it does help with getting sprayed with mace, where did she get the onion🤔

Edited by scottishguy

6 minutes ago, scottishguy said:

Didn't hide the onion in the rag very well😂😂😂, even if it does help with getting sprayed with mace, where did she get the onion🤔

I think if you go to a riot (or a potential riot) there will be list online of what to take I'm sure.

40 minutes ago, Cade said:

Marjorie Taylor Greene blocked from Twitter for 12 hours

I’ve read up on her.

She’s completely bonkers.

10 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

He's falling down a lot these days. He should be leading a more sedate life in this the twilight of his life.

Perhaps. But even in his 90s, he still seems to be driven by a strong and admirable humanitarian urge  to  help ordinary people in whatever practical way he can.   It's quite remarkable actually. 

It might  salvage a tiny wee bit of respect  if The Donald copied him.  :whistling:

3 hours ago, Tazio said:

I wish I had known that in 2000 when I did my NBC training in the RAF.  I was one teary, snotty boy that day!!

The mass delusion of many millions in the US that the picture below is acceptable and even desirable in a sane, democratic society. Is to me clear evidence of the dysfunctional nature of this country even before Trump took it yet further into crazy territory.

Imagine how disturbing it would be to see a spectacle like this in Edinburgh, Glasgow, any British city.

_116558262_gettyimages-1230646211-594x59

Small groups of protesters - some of them armed - gathered on Sunday at statehouses in the US, where tensions are high after the deadly riots at the Capitol in Washington.  https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/976/cpsprodpb/66AD/production/_116558262_gettyimages-1230646211-594x594.jpg

Edited by JFK-1

5 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

The mass delusion of many millions in the US that the picture below is acceptable and even desirable in a sane, democratic society. Is to me clear evidence of the dysfunctional nature of this country even before Trump took it yet further into crazy territory.

Imagine how disturbing it would be to see a spectacle like this in Edinburgh, Glasgow, any British city.

_116558262_gettyimages-1230646211-594x59

Small groups of protesters - some of them armed - gathered on Sunday at statehouses in the US, where tensions are high after the deadly riots at the Capitol in Washington.  https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/976/cpsprodpb/66AD/production/_116558262_gettyimages-1230646211-594x594.jpg

What's also scary is the next picture in the BBC article that leads with the above pic.

Biden inauguration: Fortified US statehouses see some small protests - BBC News

The BBC captions them as Bogaloo Bois, but if you'd looked when the original article went  up, the photo wasn't cropped, and the protesters were wearing **** Trump T shirts. and carrying Rainbow flags, and obviously positioned to protect the state capital.

The nutjobs on both sides are just an accident waiting to happen.

18 minutes ago, Captain Slog said:

What's also scary is the next picture in the BBC article that leads with the above pic.

Biden inauguration: Fortified US statehouses see some small protests - BBC News

The BBC captions them as Bogaloo Bois, but if you'd looked when the original article went  up, the photo wasn't cropped, and the protesters were wearing **** Trump T shirts. and carrying Rainbow flags, and obviously positioned to protect the state capital.

The nutjobs on both sides are just an accident waiting to happen.

That's a pretty weird position to take, tbh, if what you're saying is people who choose to stand in direct opposition to anti-democratic fascists trying to overthrow the government are also "nutjobs" for not wanting that to happen. Not to mention it implies both sides are somehow morally equivalent / otherwise roughly equal.

Maybe I'm misunderstanding you. But it's thinking and rhetoric like I just laid out, that was rife in the US in the 1930s and delayed our entry into the Second World War.

7 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

That's a pretty weird position to take, tbh, if what you're saying is people who choose to stand in direct opposition to anti-democratic fascists trying to overthrow the government are also "nutjobs" for not wanting that to happen. Not to mention it implies both sides are somehow morally equivalent / otherwise roughly equal.

Maybe I'm misunderstanding you. But it's thinking and rhetoric like I just laid out, that was rife in the US in the 1930s and delayed our entry into the Second World War.

I can't speak for the other poster but to me, any untrained, heavily armed random member of the public dressed up like it's the Purge comes across as a nutjob. 

So when you have 2 different, idealogically opposed, untrained, heavily armed groups square up to each other, that's an accident waiting to happen. 

Let the police do their job. Strolling up armed, to counter the other group strolling up armed, isn't helpful. 

4 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

If during Biden’s time in office he decides to pack it in what happens next.

Harris takes over. 

If Biden steps back it will be for health issues. He will be protected and supported by his team, he has selected a cabinet that on the surface is competent.

2 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

Sorry Justin, I in no way mean to demean any decent human being that is prepared to defend their democracy.

However, maybe I'm spoiled being brought up in Scotland, I just think there are more appropriate methods of defending that democracy, and that by picking up assault rifles they are reducing themselves to the standards of the other side.  But, and I stress, I truly didn't know how bad things were in the US when I was considering emigrating last year, just how bad the right are, and concede that maybe these people think that's the only defence left to them.

What I do know is that Im glad Dorothy is coming here instead of me going there, and she's getting out of that gun culture.

• Kalamazoo Jambo changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (title updated)
  • Maple Leaf changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (merged)