U.S. Politics megathread (merged)

trex

Just now, Kalamazoo Jambo said:

I’d be careful using ‘precincts reporting’ as a guide as that probably doesn’t account for absentee ballots.

Fair point, AP have it reported as 88% counted. That has it as almost all votes counted. 🤷

• Replies 32.4k

• JFK-1

• Maple Leaf

• Justin Z

• Watt-Zeefuik

Kalamazoo Jambo
1 minute ago, Cruyff said:

Fair point, AP have it reported as 88% counted. That has it as almost all votes counted. 🤷

Even the 88% is only an estimate. So if you’ve not got hard numbers on ballots yet to be counted, best just to ignore.

3 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

Not since Clinton got in.

She was incredibly anti-business (in the free market sense), and incredibly cronyist. 

Biden is a segregationist - have you seen his website? He has policies for every demographic group you can imagine. What happened to people being individuals? No Tory would do that here but I do appreciate that America has a cultural problem with self-segregation. 

Looks like Biden will win now but definitely not over for Trump - even if Biden is declared victor.

2 minutes ago, Barack said:

Georgia will have all in today.

Decent proportion of those 61k confirmed in Democratic counties.

Just saw that update - really tight margins there. 18k deficit for Biden just now - would be a body blow for Trump if he loses it by a 3 or 4 figure sum.

5 minutes ago, JJ93 said:

She was incredibly anti-business (in the free market sense), and incredibly cronyist. 

Biden is a segregationist - have you seen his website? He has policies for every demographic group you can imagine. What happened to people being individuals? No Tory would do that here but I do appreciate that America has a cultural problem with self-segregation. 

Looks like Biden will win now but definitely not over for Trump - even if Biden is declared victor.

I was on about Bill

1 minute ago, JJ93 said:

Dems believe in Keynesian Economics. Where as Reps believe in Neo-Liberalism. Both are Capitalist economics. Certainly not left wing in the slightest. 

2 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Dems believe in Keynesian Economics. Where as Reps believe in Neo-Liberalism. Both are Capitalist economics. Certainly not left wing in the slightest. 

The more interference in the economy = the more left wing.

The Dems are, by the above, very far left. The Republicans aren't great either but the Dems are very far to the left - regulatory and in terms of tax.

4 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

When you look up conservative in the dictionary it really sums up Republicans support perfectly and you can see why some just never ever be swayed to change.

Edited by vegas-voss

3 hours ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

My fag packet maths thinks there is 66k votes to count and Biden needs 72% of that, and as the postal vote is blue, its going to be very tight

CNN stating Trump 18,000 ahead in Georgia with 60,000 votes to be counted. 65% for Biden gives a tie.

Just now, Stokesy said:

CNN stating Trump 18,000 ahead in Georgia with 60,000 votes to be counted. 65% for Biden gives a tie.

Think he is going to just fall short.

Just now, JJ93 said:

The Dems are, by the above, very far left. The Republicans aren't great either but the Dems are very far to the left - regulatory and in terms of tax.

Dems aren't left wing economically. They are perhaps more left leaning in the right wing sphere of Capitalist economics.

If they were left wing, such as in European Economies, they would have a mixed economy for example, i. e. A Public Sector and a Private Sector. They don't believe in that whatsoever. 

5 minutes ago, Barack said:

If it stretches out coverage involving Erin Burnett & Abby Phillip... :sadrobbo:

Aye that Erin is a bit of alright.

5 minutes ago, JJ93 said:

Baloney

Next you will be spouting Socialism as a Democratic party policy

28 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

That's how they may see it though. But I agree, Biden would be a Tory in this Country. 

I agree. He's referred to as a right-wing Democrat.

6 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

Got to say though compared to other news networks in the US CNN is in a different league just for how professional it seems.

CNN is the bees knees. Hence why Trump hates them 

2 minutes ago, SwindonJambo said:

Dems now 6-1 ON to take Penn. They're also strong favourites for Nevada, Arizona & Georgia.

This will end up being a bit of a thumping which is 

Also makes Trump’s legal threats empty because he couldn’t possibly hope to overturn so many results.

Cheerio you weird looking fud (not you Swindon)

CavySlaveJambo
18 minutes ago, JJ93 said:

By European Standards the Democrats are at the very least centre, centre right or further right.  

Very bizarre for Trump’s campaign manager to say he is alive and well. I presume she meant more of a still in the fight message but worded it badly. 
Unless he’s going to fake his death and live the rest of his life in a hollowed out volcano somewhere. 

1 minute ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

This will end up being a bit of a thumping which is 

Also makes Trump’s legal threats empty because he couldn’t possibly hope to overturn so many results.

Cheerio you weird looking fud (not you Swindon)

The thing is, the republicans' natural sister party here are the Tories, of whom there are many where I live and even most of them hate Trump too! 

6 minutes ago, Barack said:

Georgia update: 9k votes due soon from Fulton County.

Was: 18k Trump lead. 

That's a Dem stronghold! Should close the gap further.

Just now, And he’s not praying! said:

Georgia going to end up extremely tight.

A recount either way.

I wonder if it ends up a couple of hundred in his favour will he then sue to stop a recount 🤣

Rudy Giuliani on the news last night was something to behold. 

Saw John Oliver had a video on the slimy git. Worth a watch..

And he’s not praying!
Just now, Barack said:

Allegheny County update. 29k set aside for a legal challenge, agreed by all sides. After 5pm Friday deadline they'll be dealt with.

Another 6k batch were too creased. So they're being manually handled on Friday.

In other words...following State laws.

Who’s the blonde?

:pinilla:

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Anyone watching these liars on sky news. 

Like the guy who was asked to leave the counting room when there was at least an hour left of counting, or the wifey who went to vote and was told that someone had already voted using her name.  But team Trump would let any questions to be asked.

Well that's me convinced.................................................that team Trump are lying barstewards.

2 minutes ago, Barack said:

They can now watch counting from 6ft away as opposed to social distancing that was in play before.

Means absolutely nothing in grand scheme.

It's all smoke & mirrors, it's all designed to sow seeds of doubt in the whole voting/counting system, which whips up the crazies, who then take to streets and counting halls to try and disrupt the count.

so the gap in Penn is now 122k from 600k yesterday

Trump is going to hold georgia just, but there is new shortly as is Nevada

1 minute ago, Stokesy said:

CNN saying Bden needs 63-65% for Georgia.

What has he been doing about 58 ?

Think he is just falling short

2 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

Over 70% in some areas. Not sure what his support is like in the areas still to be counted. It'll be within recount territory whichever way it goes.

2 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

He's 13-8 ON to win it, Repubs 5/4 against.

Kalamazoo Jambo
1 hour ago, Barack said:

Ummm...whit? 😄

Screenshot_20201105-154921_Twitter.jpg

I too was in WTF mode over this but there’s a good explanation...

1 hour ago, I P Knightley said:

Where's the most up-to-date count available? I've been looking at the Economist and the BBC and have a feeling I'm a couple of hours behind.

I've just been flirting between the BBC, the Guardian and CNN. I haven't found one single source that's more up to date than the others.

Kalamazoo Jambo
Just now, Barack said:

I actually got this one right, in explaining it a bit further up the page. :lol:

Missed that - but congratulations :laugh2:

• Kalamazoo Jambo changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (title updated)
  • Maple Leaf changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (merged)