Oldies - Name the players

On 07/01/2021 at 18:35, cb1874 said:

There's only 10 in the photo...Dalglish??  is either hidden or still in the changing room lacing his boots

Did Willie Morgan no play in a coupe of games as well.

Dalglish was rotten in that world cup.

• Replies 2.4k

• Maroon Sailor

• Big Drew

• The White Cockade

2 minutes ago, benny said:

Did Willie Morgan no play in a coupe of games as well.

Dalglish was rotten in that world cup.

He played against Brasil and Yugoslavia

Gorgie Boot boy

Éric Dewilder. Did this guy ever sign for Hearts, his name is on a list of former Hearts players. No idea who he is though.

Any Idea anyone ?

Perth to Paisley
On 07/01/2021 at 13:48, John Findlay said:

Was in the same Boys Brigade team as my uncle Robert was Asa.

Who was the commentator who said he was a  "whole hearted  player" after it was discovered he had an actual hole in his heart?

Coleman?

Edited by Perth to Paisley

1 hour ago, Angel eyes said:

6-E232-C8-E-E557-411-A-9-CF6-04-DA4981-D
v Dunfermline 68

Sad to say that I was wearing my rosette and scarf and leaning against the wall at the front of the terrace directly in front of the line of the shot as the ball hit the net. My first of many major disappointments as a Hearts supporter, but 50 plus years later I'm still hanging on in there.  

1 hour ago, Angel eyes said:

18-C3-F291-9-E4-B-47-EE-AD88-73-E94-EFF3

1-B4-D1-C99-5-F7-A-467-D-866-E-F870-D542
no hearts a know some faces look familiar but?

The Big Yin, in the middle?

5 minutes ago, Morgan said:

The Big Yin, in the middle?

Aye.

Im thinking the laddie being held up in the first picture is Joe Miller and Davie Cooper 2 left on the front row of the bottom one. Its a mid 70s Clydebank team so it likely is.

HillmanHearts
9 minutes ago, been here before said:

Aye.

Im thinking the laddie being held up in the first picture is Joe Miller and Davie Cooper 2 left on the front row of the bottom one. Its a mid 70s Clydebank team so it likely is.

Think Jack Steedman ( chairman ? ) far left and Bill Munro the manager at the time in the John Motson coat.

Davie Cooper was some player to be fair. Didn’t like playing against Zico tho.
I mind Gerry McCabe was fecken excellent but I think he must have came a wee bit later than that picture.

WTF ever happened to Clydebank ?

2 hours ago, Angel eyes said:

1-B4-D1-C99-5-F7-A-467-D-866-E-F870-D542
no hearts a know some faces look familiar but?

Mike Larnach holding the bottle on the right

2 hours ago, HillmanHearts said:

Think Jack Steedman ( chairman ? ) far left and Bill Munro the manager at the time in the John Motson coat.

Davie Cooper was some player to be fair. Didn’t like playing against Zico tho.
I mind Gerry McCabe was fecken excellent but I think he must have came a wee bit later than that picture.

WTF ever happened to Clydebank ?

Airdrie bought them and changed the name I think. Not sure this is entirely true, happy for someone to correct me.

Last I heard about Clydebank though they were Junior with Derek Ferguson managing them.

Edited by FinnBarr Saunders

5 hours ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

Airdrie bought them and changed the name I think. Not sure this is entirely true, happy for someone to correct me.

Last I heard about Clydebank though they were Junior with Derek Ferguson managing them.

No correction, your pretty much bang on.

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

20210110_090222.jpg

Dave Bowman and Jackie MacNamara snr? Looks like the snr to me.

Edited by John Findlay

10 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Dave Bowman and Jackie MacNamara snr? Looks like the snr to me.

It is Mac snr but I also thought it was Rae at first

12 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Mike Larnach holding the bottle on the right

Can anyone else see Chris Kamara(back row), Billy Connelly (second back) and maybe a young Nicola Sturgeon (youngster in row 2)?

11 hours ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

Airdrie only did the same as Clydebank, under the guidance of the Steedman brothers, did to East Stirlingshire previously. That’s why they were called ES Clydebank when they were first in the league. 

It took a while for East Stirlingshire fans to win their club back and have them play in Falkirk again.

Fate was to be unkind to East Stirlingshire again, more recently, when they were prevented from playing at Firs Park, due to a property deal. The last I knew, it was still lying empty.

1 hour ago, SectionDJambo said:

Airdrie only did the same as Clydebank, under the guidance of the Steedman brothers, did to East Stirlingshire previously. That’s why they were called ES Clydebank when they were first in the league. 

It took a while for East Stirlingshire fans to win their club back and have them play in Falkirk again.

Fate was to be unkind to East Stirlingshire again, more recently, when they were prevented from playing at Firs Park, due to a property deal. The last I knew, it was still lying empty.

This is Firs Park now

20210110_152721.jpg.fa72e44e0160f1212b520f0709f94a75.jpg

18 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

20210111_152442.jpg

The man standing back row last on the right was one of the two people responsible for my now lack of interest in the national team .

players I recognise Mackay, Bowman,Dick,Westwater, Nevin?, Mcstay 

Perth to Paisley
  • Ian Westwater, ?, Ali Dick,., Gary Mackay, Paul McStay , Brian Rice,?, Andy Roxburgh

Jim McInally, Robert Fleck, ??. Davy Bowman, Pat Nevin

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

20210112_210833.jpg.8671e4b809a7ed2f090d0ce670cb12ba.jpg

Richard Gough?, John Hewitt, Neale Cooper, ......, ....., Gordon Durie, Stevie Nicol, Craig Paterson, John Mcdonald, ......, .....,  Paul Sturrock, Ian Redford,  Jim Bett, ..... .

The one on the left had side of Sturrock as we look at it is annoying me Im wanting to say Ally Dawson?

Bryan Gunn must be in there as he's always in pictures from that era.

48 minutes ago, been here before said:

Richard Gough?, John Hewitt, Neale Cooper, ......, ....., Gordon Durie, Stevie Nicol, Craig Paterson, John Mcdonald, ......, .....,  Paul Sturrock, Ian Redford,  Jim Bett, ..... .

The one on the left had side of Sturrock as we look at it is annoying me Im wanting to say Ally Dawson?

That's McAvennie

Remain Nameless01
5 hours ago, been here before said:

Ray Stewart next to Neale Cooper? Don’t know the next one, then Bobby Geddes, Gary Gillespie?

Who’s next to Jim Bett? Is that John Brough?

Remain Nameless01
18 hours ago, 3fingersreid said:

The man standing back row last on the right was one of the two people responsible for my now lack of interest in the national team .

players I recognise Mackay, Bowman,Dick,Westwater, Nevin?, Mcstay 

Dave Beaumont next to Westwater, John Philliben next to Roxburgh?

8 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Ian McCulloch,  name not ringing a bell at all.

Notts County

Just now, henryheart said:

Was he not also at Killie?

He was but I don't remember him at Killie. Just knew him from panini sticker albums when he was at Notts County !

Seem to get him in every pack !

Ally Alexander
2 hours ago, Angel eyes said:

15-E12732-19-C6-4-CB5-9061-E580332161-AF
billy McNeil & Ian stjohn that’s it for me.

George Thomson and Billy Higgins!

Edited by Ally Alexander
Addition

On 15/01/2021 at 20:11, Angel eyes said:

15-E12732-19-C6-4-CB5-9061-E580332161-AF
billy McNeil & Ian stjohn that’s it for me.

Seen on Facebook and thought it was the same photo. St John & McNeill in same spots.

IMG_20210117_063138.jpg

46 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Seen on Facebook and thought it was the same photo. St John & McNeill in same spots.

IMG_20210117_063138.jpg

Totally different photo. The bottom one has Denis Law and Jim Baxter in it for a start.