Gordon Pope - Auchinleck Talbot

Zaba

This wee guy is in the paper today.

”The Hearts boss Paulo Sergio stood and waited at the tunnel and shook everybody’s hands as we walked in, which was quite good of him because 1-0 against Talbot in the 80th minute is not a good thing for him. He got sacked a couple of weeks later.”

Did he aye? Back to delivering post ?

Just now, Zaba said:

”The Hearts boss Paulo Sergio stood and waited at the tunnel and shook everybody’s hands as we walked in, which was quite good of him because 1-0 against Talbot in the 80th minute is not a good thing for him. He got sacked a couple of weeks later.”

Paulo showing his class, Their fella showing his lack of class.

Love Paulo <3

1 minute ago, Jeff said:

Paulo showing his class, Their fella showing his lack of class.

Love Paulo ❤️

Aye Jeff, regardless of only winning 1-0 ,we went through and won the cup, no news here.

What a pellet :laugh2:. Hope we bury these jumped up cloggers tomorrow. Not a very well liked team on the junior scene and this is why. 

King Of The Cat Cafe

I don't see why so many people are losing it over the comment.

Does not appear to be much offence intended in a statement of the facts.

Just now, King Of The Cat Cafe said:

That was my thoughts.

3 minutes ago, King Of The Cat Cafe said:

Sergio got sacked a couple of weeks later is a fact?

Just shows what a rag the DR is.

Can't even check their facts before going to print.

In fact I wouldn't be surprised to find it wasn't the player who said that but the DR journalist who embellished the story.

4 minutes ago, King Of The Cat Cafe said:

How about the fact that Sergio wasn't sacked a couple of weeks later because we only beat Talbot 1-0?

3 minutes ago, Gambo said:

A week is a long time in Ayrshire. 2 weeks probably equates to 4 months. 

Just now, Dino Velvet said:

A week is a long time in Ayrshire. 2 weeks probably equates to 4 months. 

Image result for the land that time forgot

8 minutes ago, King Of The Cat Cafe said:

People are just surprised that just a glaring error of fact was printed.

He's correct about Paulo congratulating each Talbot player on their performance.

He waited for them coming off the pitch. The man was class.

He even stopped us embarrassing Hibs even more than we did.

Nah we beat this diddy outfit on the way to our most famous ever victory.

I really hope we do these ***** tomorrow. No mercy.

He wasn’t even sacked, never mind “a couple weeks later”. :lol: 

Rejected his contract offer IIRC, which the way things were going financially it’s no surprise if it was a lesser amount. 

48 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Just shows what a rag the DR is.

Can't even check their facts before going to print.

In fact I wouldn't be surprised to find it wasn't the player who said that but the DR journalist who embellished the story.

Daily Record eh, that makes sense, total non story then.

1 hour ago, King Of The Cat Cafe said:

It's the obvious inference that only beating the Bots 1-0 contributed to his sacking, which is utter mince and, yet another example of journalists twisting the truth to suit an agenda.

Cheap and petty journalism!

Edited by colinmaroon

2 hours ago, Zaba said:

You would think the Scotsman would have... actually, no... never mind. Standard.

As for Pope, Levein was very complimentary about him in the paper today. So that’s Sergio and Levein who have both shown a bit of class towards him, whilst managing Hearts. That’s the way it should be. 

The time for talking is over now though. Let’s see what happens on the park tomorrow.

Edited by Glib and Shameless Crier

Not offended at all.  I actually appreciate him remembering Sergio’s class. 

But he he was at the club to being the season, and was never sacked.   In fact he was offered a new contract.  So that is what people are annoyed at, and I don’t blame them.  

1 hour ago, Gambo said:

He probably doesn’t give a **** about hearts apart from their big day here.  So what? He got something wrong but the message was our manager was gent, calm the beans man.

16 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

He probably doesn’t give a **** about hearts apart from their big day here.  So what? He got something wrong but the message was our manager was gent, calm the beans man.

You would think The Scotsman would have a bit of a scooby though? Nah? ?

38 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

You're getting annoyed about people getting annoyed. 

1 minute ago, jake said:

Everyday is a school day.

Most days at school were a bit ‘run of the mill’, to be fair. ?

3 hours ago, King Of The Cat Cafe said:

Shame some of the facts are wrong then.

3 hours ago, Gambo said:

Sadly the 5-1 Cup Final win was just a crazy dream.

5 hours ago, King Of The Cat Cafe said:

Exactly. The guy is praising Sir Paulo ffs. Fair enough, he got his timings wrong as far as the sacking goes but the thrust of his argument is sound.

5 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Wont be the first time I've booed a pope at Tynecastle.

Ah but have you done it at Hampden? ::troll::

1 hour ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Exactly. The guy is praising Sir Paulo ffs. Fair enough, he got his timings wrong as far as the sacking goes but the thrust of his argument is sound.

Paulo was never sacked either.

4 minutes ago, Dallas Green said:

Not surprised EC has a disconnect with the truth!

4 hours ago, Glib and Shameless Crier said:

Most days at school were a bit ‘run of the mill’, to be fair. ?

A game of british bulldogs were good though.

1 hour ago, colinmaroon said:

Not surprised EC has a disconnect with the truth!

1 hour ago, Dallas Green said:

Constructive dismissal, let's call it?

The main point, however, is that this is a Junior footballer who was praising our ex - manager. Just because he gets his info a bit mixed up, the paranoid JKB hate mob swing into action. Thought you were a bit more tolerant than that Colin huh?

Edited by Enzo Chiefo

Facts are, we played them in January, Sergio won the cup in May and refused another contract on the same money we were paying him, Not counting the money he was receiving from Portugal.

8 minutes ago, sandylejambo said:

Facts are, we played them in January, Sergio won the cup in May and refused another contract on the same money we were paying him, Not counting the money he was receiving from Portugal.

Less money, half, to be fair.

10 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

paranoid JKB hate mob

Surely you mean the paranoid JKB attack-dog hate mob? 

??.    :527:❤️

16 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

The main point, however, is that this is a Junior footballer who was praising our ex - manager. Just because he gets his info a bit mixed up, the paranoid JKB hate mob swing into action. Thought you were a bit more tolerant than that Colin huh?

I would have thought that an Auchinleck player would have been proud to be able to say that they were closely defeated by the eventual winners.

It was an odd comment he was probably thinking of another manager or the journalist added the sacked bit to the story himself.

I'll be quite happy if CL wins the cup In May after he's been sacked in March.

11 minutes ago, Glib and Shameless Crier said:

Surely you mean the paranoid JKB attack-dog hate mob? 

??.    :527:❤️

That's it..the Phoodle brigade!

38 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

I thought you were the leader of the JKB hate (Hearts) mob.

6 minutes ago, luckydug said:

I thought you were the leader of the JKB hate (Hearts) mob.

Me, a supporter of 41 years, through relegations, promotions, mascot duties ,Cup wins, Euro trips ..Madrid to Majorca, Braga to Bordeaux via Stuttgart?? Nah, mistaken identity Dug. Will I criticise a manager or regime that I don't like?? Absolutely. 

So this is going to lead to a player named “Pope” being booed at Tynecastle. 

I’m sure the media will understand the context  :lol:

9 hours ago, Zaba said:

Should have said. "He won the cup and was a Hearts legend a few weeks later"