Footballers in the wild

Smack

4 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Think it was early 1990.  JS opened the scoring and did an amazing wee dance routine with Scott Crabbe.  Think the game maybe finished 2-2.

Jesus I'd erased that from my mind :facepalm: 

Mike Galloway was nice enough but troubled, I got pished with him while he waited for a train at Waverley. He was heading down south to sign for whatever wee English team he went to after celtic and was a bit down about the move, but I can confirm he still stood his round and enjoyed his time in maroon.

24 minutes ago, Smithee said:

whatever wee English team he went to after celtic

Was actually Leicester City. Arrived 20 years too early...

1 hour ago, kirkierobroy said:

Not a footballer, but about 30 years ago I was interviewed for a job by Brian McGinlay - the greyer among you will remember him as the Hugh Dallas of his day.

I didn't get the job.

Possibly a good thing on your part.

Nothing related to public conveniences I hope!!!

Brighton Jambo

two from me:

1.  In Glasgow nightclub Trash I spotted Arthur Numan and got chatting to him.  He was really sound and we talked loads about his career and his time at Rangers (he had left by then).  I tried to persuade him that a year at Hearts to finish his career was worth doing but he politely disagreed.   Was conscious about not being a pest but he actually bought me and my mate a drink so we could continue chatting, an absolute gent.

2.  I met Czaba Laslo in Zara on Princes Street long after he had left hearts.  I couldn't resist saying how much I regretted his sacking and he was great telling me about his wife and children and how they were happy in Edinburgh and at school etc.  At one point he even started talking about restaurants and how much he liked the food.  Was very complimentary about us as fans and the reception he got wherever he went.  Seemed a lovely man. 

1 hour ago, kirkierobroy said:

Not a footballer, but about 30 years ago I was interviewed for a job by Brian McGinlay - the greyer among you will remember him as the Hugh Dallas of his day.

I didn't get the job.

6 minutes ago, Boris said:

Possibly a good thing on your part.

?  We all agree, Valentine sh@gs McGinlay ?

1 hour ago, BelgeJambo said:

Jim Leishman - Mr Dunfermline, not only in football but now as a public figure in Fife.  Always has the time of day to speak to you and has some great dits.

More importantly, hate Hibs with a passion.  First thing he would do at Easter Road, gob on the pitch.  Career ending tackle against them

Also met him at Contalmaison a couple of years ago and after 30 years, the first thing he asked how my old man was doing

Top man

Not sure what you mean by this, but, JL's career was ended by a Jim Jefferies tackle.

A wednesday night game at east end park, I remember it well.

I had not realised that was his last ever game until he told me at a smoker.

2 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Not sure what you mean by this, but, JL's career was ended by a Jim Jefferies tackle.

A wednesday night game at east end park, I remember it well.

I had not realised that was his last ever game until he told me at a smoker.

I thought it was Easter Road, but I am probably wrong

2 minutes ago, BelgeJambo said:

I thought it was Easter Road, but I am probably wrong

We were having with Leish and I said I was there, the night Big Jeff sorted him out.

he showed me his leg (compound fracture) and told me the story.

I felt terrible, but he was good about it. I didn't realise he never played again. 25 yo.

I totally forgot about this one. When I was in my first year at uni, I was working at trespass. Our cup winning legend of a manager, Big Valdas, came into the shop!

Spoke to him for about 10 mins, a really down to earth and quiet guy. Thanked him for bringing that Scottish cup home!

Sold him a fleece and rain jacket too.

27 minutes ago, Dallas Green said:

I totally forgot about this one. When I was in my first year at uni, I was working at trespass. Our cup winning legend of a manager, Big Valdas, came into the shop!

Spoke to him for about 10 mins, a really down to earth and quiet guy. Thanked him for bringing that Scottish cup home!

Sold him a fleece and rain jacket too.

I spoke with Valdas and Miko on a flight, back in 2006.

They were both so quiet it was untrue!

24 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I spoke with Valdas and Miko on a flight, back in 2006.

They were both so quiet it was untrue!

Coming back from a friend's stag do in Prague, we met Roman Romanov.  He just about shat himself when we accosted him.

He spent the whole flight sitting forward, clutching his briefcase as if his life depended on it.  Strange laddie.

3 minutes ago, Boris said:

Coming back from a friend's stag do in Prague, we met Roman Romanov.  He just about shat himself when we accosted him.

He spent the whole flight sitting forward, clutching his briefcase as if his life depended on it.  Strange laddie.

Aye, Rodders was a weird one.

1 hour ago, Boris said:

It was before that, ahem, story broke in the news...

Funnily enough, I saw Paul Kane in Merchant Square, Glasgow, yesterday. He wasn't a happy chappy but then I suppose after recent events he wouldn't be.

N Lincs Jambo
2 hours ago, Morgan said:

Think it was early 1990.  JS opened the scoring and did an amazing wee dance routine with Scott Crabbe.  Think the game maybe finished 2-2.

Spot on Morgan! Amazing game and amazing atmosphere. I was in Aberdeen for 5 weeks with work doing a course at Robert Gordons. I had 4 English lads with me on the course and persuaded 3 of them to come with me to the game. There must have been about 6K Hearts there that day in a 20K crowd as the Beach end was rammed. It was an eye-opener for them about Scottish football.

Anyway back on topic, have met a few players and officials over the years. Back in the 80s and 90s when Souness had taken over at Ibrox and had signed half the England team, we were at Bar Roma having a bite to eat after a European game at Tynie when a few of the Rangers team came in after their game away in Europe (must have caught a very early flight back). Anyway their England international keeper Chris Wood noticed our Hearts colours on and made a point of coming over to ask how we had got on in our game. Classy gesture.

I used to play golf at Longniddry and that place always had Hibs connections. Lawrie Reilly was a good player and won the men's championship there in the early 70s and he was always very courteous. Tommy Preston, who I think scored twice for them in their Fairs Cup tie against Barcelona in the early 60s was an absolute gent and would always come over for a chat with my parents and me when he saw us. Also Hibs club Secretary for many years was a guy called Cecil Graham. Early 80s I went down for a game one Saturday with my mother not knowing the mixed foursomes was on and we wouldn't be able to get a tee time. Cecil arranged for us to be entered in the competition and he partnered my mum to 1st place that day!

Start of 97-98 season I had been on a night out with my mrs and my best mate, an infrequent poster on here who posts as a city dweller from northern France, we were in Topkapi for a kebab about 4am when Neil Pointon comes in. My mate was pissed and starts laying into Pointon giving him dogs abuse for being out eating shite at 4am when we had been gash a couple of days ago! NP didn't know what to do, got his kebab and jumped into the 1st taxi he could find.

Best of the lot though for me was another Bar Roma experience this time in the early hours of 17.05.1998. Probably somewhere between 2 and 3 am, again me, my mrs and my best mate. Except for the mrs who was expecting our 1st child, we were totally arseholed. Big Pasquale Bruno sees our colours and comes over to sit at our table and spends about 20 minutes sharing our happiness at the previous day's cup win. Totally top guy!!

Used to work in Links round corner from Bowlers Rest -Lawrie Reilly’s pub. 

He was selling up when 1500 office workers moved into the building on the Links. We took over the place and made him a fortune so he kept it on. 

One of the young lads had a few too many one lunchtime and was too drunk to go back to work. Lawrie took him home, gave him some lunch and brought him back for 4:00 to pick up where he left off with the rest of us!  

19 hours ago, Baxfee said:

In an Edinburgh pub and pal went over to Donald park and asked for his autograph (this was about 3 years ago). Totally made his night - don’t think he was used to it. Lovely guy

Funny when I spoke to him he was the same, as if nobody would interact with him or even know who he was but a really nice guy.  Parked beside him prior to the match where they celebrated the opening of the new stand and asked him if seeing the old one coming down held any memories for him.  Quite honest and said that it had to go but you could not help but to like the dark nights, a bit of snow and all the sounds of the stamping of feet coming from up there.  I laughed and then said by the way I have a bone to pick with you, it's ok says I it's not that bad and he laughed.  Said in jest to him that he was, along with the rest of the Hearts players at the time, all to blame for how miserable I was all through the 70's.  His immediate response was, you felt bad, imagine how we all felt, we had turn up and play!!!

Nice guy and obviously well respected in the game given all the positions he has held.

46 minutes ago, Boris said:

I wonder if it was a fax machine he had in the briefcase

Henry Smith coached youngsters when he was at Ayr. My son used to go and was in goals for a bounce game when Henry had a shot which caused a green stick fracture of my boy's arm. We got a call to come for him and met Henry in charge of my son. He met us at Somerset  and was looking after my boy who had seen a lot of Henry when he was at Hearts and was quite happy about the whole thing!

4 hours ago, Smithee said:

Mike Galloway was nice enough but troubled, I got pished with him while he waited for a train at Waverley. He was heading down south to sign for whatever wee English team he went to after celtic and was a bit down about the move, but I can confirm he still stood his round and enjoyed his time in maroon.

tried to cheat me at snooker.

Pointed at my Hearts T-shirt and told him I would have let it go if he still was one of us.

He lived in Mid Calder whan at Celtic, was a complete piss-head.

He came over to me later and told that he had  loved being at Hearts.

Decent guy, just too easily led.

Calebs Grandad

I was very good mates with Stuart Burgess from his Albion Rovers days through to East Fife then Falkirk. We would go out most Saturday nights along with Gordon Marshall if he could get a pass from his girlfriend. Myself and Stuart met up one Saturday, he’d been playing in Methil and I’d been at Tynecastle, at the old Forth Bridges Motel where we spent a decent couple of hours downstairs drinking with Davy Cooper and Jimmy Nichol. Two very nice guys. 

Had dinner with Jim Traynor ( :) ) and Keith Jackson ( :sad: ) in 1997.

Traynor was charming and funny (and picked up the bill), Jackson was, as expected, a right pain.

I went to a Hearts FC Xmas party as a young boy around 1975 to meet the players and get their autographs. Also given several black and white photographs of the team in action during a recent game. I was totally star struck meeting and talking to my legends tucking into their Xmas dinner. What a team ; Cruickshank, Brown, Jefferies, Kay, Clunie, Jefferies, Aird, Callachan, Prentice, Busby, Ford and Shuggy Shaw . . Happy memories

Edited by Graham MacG
Error

My mate a BIG hammers fan is on holiday in Barbados at the moment. He texed me last night to tell me hes on the piss with a George Burley lol

On ‎07‎/‎02‎/‎2019 at 20:09, Morgan said:

Met Jimmy Sandison in the George Hotel on a Christmas night out.  Lovely bloke and very down to Earth.

Which is surprising for a guy who was part of one of Hearts best ever goal celebrations!

Jimmy Sandison is a really nice guy.

Obviously not as nice as his moves in the Sandison / Crabbe dance off at Pittodrie though :)

Game did finish 2-2 and I am on TV singing the Hearts song after the equaliser. Wee note for anyone that missed it when Ferguson scores and the players run off in celebration watch for Bannon (I think) falling over the advertising boarding LOL

It should’ve been 12!

I was in Bordeaux for my first away European trip with the famous with my auld man, twin bro and a few mates.

The night before the game we were catching a few ours kip following a night on the sauce at the Irish boozer (the Connemara I believe).

As we were dosing off in the hotel room, we heard the lift open outside our room and a few folk get out, the standard entoxicated loud, slavering and stoating about and we didn’t think anything of it, just thought it was a couple of jambos merry on the sherry.

All of a sudden our room door bursts open and a few guys stumble in, one of which is Sandy Clark, recognised as my mate calls him out, he and the other guys then mumble something to the effect of sorry wrong room and they go on their merry way, we then look at each other like did that actually happen, bit of a surreal moment which we still talk about to this very day.

I’m sure Sandy was co-commentating the following evening ???

Believe it or not but I met Mark Dr Vries in the old kwick save in Craigmillar. Was doing  fund raising bag packing for our team niddrie all stars. Chucked in a fiver. 

Henry's a postie out our way.  Got chased off winchburgh golf course by him many moons ago.  Also been to the casino with his wife as she worked at gas board - Henry popped in and had a couple beers with us all.  

Gio van bronkhurst- sold him upgrade to his PC 100s of years ago - very quiet but handed in tickets for rangers hearts game few weeks later as a thank you.

Gav hastings - total gentleman.  Again sold PC stuff and he couldn't have been nicer.

Sharleen spiretti? Lead singer Texas - looked like a tramp but bought about a million quid of tech kit from me.  Sounds like a total weegie.

Terry butcher - genuinely nice bloke.  Chatted away for hours about Scottish football.  Was prior to hibs days.

Robbo - must have got him on a bad day as he was total arrogant sod when buying stuff.  Acted Billy big baws 5 minutes after shop shut and wanted special discounts (naw)...   his brother sent us a wedding present. 

Jim Jeffries - really quiet bloke who knew nothing about technology - bit like some of our old staff 

The_razors_edge

Jason Thomson’s wee boy is in my wee boys class at primary school. Often stand and have a chat with him in the playground if we’re both on the school run. Really sound bloke.

used to work in a betting shop a few years ago and a certain Craig Levein was a regular in the shop - this was when he was Scotland manager. Was very pleasant and would happily stand and chat football in between races.

ex Raith Rovers League cup winning legend Davie Sinclair’s wee boy plays in the football team I coach. Another really sound fella.