Hybrid Cars

I P Knightley

I P Knightley

Time has come to replace the F*nn7 Magnet. London's about to introduce an "Ultra Low Emission Zone" which has got me thinking about going for a hybrid car.

Are there any KBers with experience of owning one of these beasts of the road and any recommendations for one which isn't a Prius (I don't want passers by thinking I'm an Uber driver)? It's a family car having to transport three growing lads in the back quite often, along with a boot load of kit.

And it's got to be maroon.

Sexton Hardcastle

Got a golf GTE and love it. Make the most of the free chargers (when they aren’t blocked by idiots who drive the enterprise rentals) as the council will be charging for use soon enough. Be interesting to see how that affects uptake as one positive is free charging when out and about. 

GTE still has over 200 hp so can fly in gte mode. I average about 70 mpg per week doing a 70 odd mile daily trip from out of town and some time on the bypass.

space in the boot is not much given the battery location but I’d certainly check one out. Colleague has a nice bmw which is more spacious but not as good on the running costs/battery.

I had a PHEV Mitsubishi Outlander about 3 years ago. 

Shite. 

About 25 miles on the battery only. 

When the battery ran out you can charge it slightly as you drive but that wasnt great either. 

When you are not using the battery you are using fuel to carry around a huge lump of a battery cell and the car itself is around 2.5 tonnes so your mpg is shit on petrol. 

I got rid. 

IT IS NOT ENVIRONMENTALLY GREENER!

Quite the opposite (although it is cheap on tax as a company car). 

Really fancy the Golf GTE but they stopped making them sadly. 

Suffolk Jambo