Most irritating sayings or expressions

Muppetboy

5 minutes ago, gjcc said:

Never use “regards” at the end of an email. One slip of the finger and it becomes something altogether different and wholly offensive. 

Good tip, btw.

Retards, Morgan

:wink: 

• Replies 298

• ri Alban

• Dawnrazor

• Marvin

Sawdust Caesar

I hate the saying "What doesn't kill you makes you stronger." It's not even close to being truthful.

"The fact that..." I hear this all the time now, it's not needed, e.g. Hearts recent slump is due to the fact that they have lost several key players. Just say Hearts recent slump is due to them losing several key players, there is no need to say "the fact that".  It's started to creep into my language, much to my annoyance.

14 minutes ago, Sawdust Caesar said:

I hate the saying "What doesn't kill you makes you stronger." It's not even close to being truthful.

"The fact that..." I hear this all the time now, it's not needed, e.g. Hearts recent slump is due to the fact that they have lost several key players. Just say Hearts recent slump is due to them losing several key players, there is no need to say "the fact that".  It's started to creep into my language, much to my annoyance.

The fact that you said it here is testament to your post.

It's only a game. Meet someone after a heavy defeat and they say that to cheer you up. Feck off. 

People who say that are not football fans. 

3 hours ago, gjcc said:

Never use “regards” at the end of an email. One slip of the finger and it becomes something altogether different and wholly offensive. 

Those letters are so conveniently close. If I wasn't so professional, I'd be tempted to do it by accident.  :shifty:

2 hours ago, Debut 4 said:

It's probably already been brought up but I need to get this out my system.

The saying ..."who knew?"...

Fckin despise it.   

I thought the genuine answer to that question was always, "Big Jock" whether it was rhetorical or not. 

18 minutes ago, jamboy1982 said:

Lit. What does this even mean? Cool kids using it all the time 

That's got you right in the feels.

On 22/12/2018 at 00:30, red21 said:

"I'll ping it over to you."

The use of the term "annual leave".

Annual leave really boils ma pish. 

Boils ma pish really boils ma pish. 

when a keeper makes a save and the commentator says "he just about saved it" or "he just about got a hand to it" 

no he DID save it / get a hand to it, there is no "just about" in that scenario.

12 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Also almost all modern "business speak" (for want of a better description) pisses me off. You know the sort of crap, blue sky thinking etc etc

Know what you mean, my work has regular blue sky events :sob:

1 hour ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

I thought the genuine answer to that question was always, "Big Jock" whether it was rhetorical or not. 

::troll:: 

....Also, when someone calls me 'dude' within a sentence. :angry: 

I'm not a teenager, a geek or a Yank.  I'm 44 , now **** off!

7 hours ago, Lemongrab said:

Ending an email 'Kind regards'. Especially the type that might tell you something like you've got to work 10 days on the trot. It 'fair rips my knitting', which is another one. 

I sent a few emails at work today whuch I concluded with 'kind regards'. This isnt a phrase Ive ever used before but seen it on this thread and thought Id give it a whirl. 

Can I just throw in 'acca' and 'presser' into the hat along with Morgans previously mentioned 'footie/footie'.

Kind regards.

1 hour ago, Marvin said:

Know what you mean, my work has regular blue sky events :sob:

My work has meetings to discuss salami slicing, and to ensure that our ducks are in a row.

37 minutes ago, been here before said:

I sent a few emails at work today whuch I concluded with 'kind regards'. This isnt a phrase Ive ever used before but seen it on this thread and thought Id give it a whirl. 

Can I just throw in 'acca' and 'presser' into the hat along with Morgans previously mentioned 'footie/footie'.

Kind regards.

Acca and presser are both horrendous.

Regarding football when folk say 'we can get a result today'

Of course you are going to get a result  thing is will it be win,draw or lose.

We got a result on Saturday trouble is the wrong kind.☺

People who say they "killed it" or "smashed it".

When folk say "you've won the internet today".

Arseholes who use yourself and myself instead of you and me. When I am in power the abuse of the reflective pronoun will be punishable by death. 

3 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

add in worldie and baller

Can I throw in ‘lino’?

Lino FFS :facepalm:

Just purely out of interest, what does ‘baller’ even mean?

9 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Can I throw in ‘lino’?

Wish I was a little bit taller wish I was a.......... 

10 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Can I throw in ‘lino’?

Aye lino is for ham shanks.

Mind you it took me a couple of reads to try and work out why a floor covering would upset anyone.

Sorted now though.

3 hours ago, Debut 4 said:

....Also, when someone calls me 'dude' within a sentence. :angry: 

I'm not a teenager, a geek or a Yank.  I'm 44 , now **** off!

I call my 24 yo daughter that in texts/messages, now I'm worried I'm not a cool as *** Dad... :( 

On 23/12/2018 at 17:21, Maple Leaf said:

"Our thoughts and prayers are with ... "

"England", when referring to the UK.

Aye...thoughts and prayers after a catastrophe? A wee bit more thought and less praying...try it!

'Away from home'

Eh?????????????  You're either at home or you're away. 

Tautologies in general wind me up;

ATM machine' is a favourite

together at the same time,

me personally (gives me a headache :D)

I did it myself

Other notable mentions: 

Over exaggerate

The sun is hot today (that genuinely does baffle me, cause at 5778k I'd reckon it's hot every day)

It's got to be somewhere... well aye, unless in the highly unlikely event of disintegration, yes, you're correct!

7 hours ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

I call my 24 yo daughter that in texts/messages, now I'm worried I'm not a cool as *** Dad... :( 

Now I’m feeling guilty. :lol:  

Merry Christmas ???

"Can I ask a quick question?"

I usually hit back with "was that it?" Then ignore them

Pricks who feel the need to shoehorn "in terms of"  into every sentence.

People who use the singular "pound" when talking about an amount "pounds".

For example 50 pound.

Sorry its not 50 pound it's 50 pounds!!!!

11 minutes ago, VladMagic said:

People who use the singular "pound" when talking about an amount "pounds".

For example 50 pound.

Sorry its not 50 pound it's 50 pounds!!!!

Nonsense.

What do you say? 50 quid or 50 quids. And Its a £50 pound note not a £50 pounds note. 

Anyway, Merry Christmas!!!

57 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Nonsense.

What do you say? 50 quid or 50 quids. And Its a £50 pound note not a £50 pounds note. 

In for a penny, out for a pounds...

10 hours ago, been here before said:

Mind you it took me a couple of reads to try and work out why a floor covering would upset anyone.

Sorted now though.

You do need a flair for lino

14 hours ago, been here before said:

Sorted now though.

3 hours ago, LeftBack said:

You do need a flair for lino

Carpet ban for you two coming right up.

3 hours ago, Debut 4 said:

In for a penny, out for a pounds...

As said by the late, great Wallet Mercer.

When you've been looking for something for ages, getting totally to your wits end and someone asks.....'where did you last see it?'.

If I knew that I wouldn't still be f*****g looking for it!!!

Edited by Aaron78

13 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Nonsense.

I think the justification for this is an algebraic thing. If you’re writing a formula where x represents a pound and you have five of them, it’d be 5x...I think I might have got that from  an Irishman justifying his use of “five Euro” rather than “five Euros” many years ago, not sure.