Leigh Griffiths

Phil Dunphy

26 minutes ago, lewis2006 said:

Steven Naismith out there plating up meals for the homeless.

Leigh Griffiths out there blowing thousands at the bookies and banging bingo up his hooter. 

Think I’ll pass up on the well wishes.

LOL  charming in its accuracy 

• Replies 632

• Forever Hearts

• jack D and coke

• Jamhammer

28 minutes ago, Glib and Shameless Crier said:

Nah. Your agenda comes across more as Hearts’ racists should be treated with more sympathy because they happen to follow the same football team as us. In my opinion of course... seeing as how there is no obvious evidence to back up your assumptions that folk are offering more sympathy towards Griffiths compared to the wankers in our support. Again, all in my opinion obviously... Just what I reckon y’know.

Cool. I reckon he’s not particularly fussy about people being racist, and that he places who someone supports above their behaviour.

And you are entitled to your opinion.

40 minutes ago, lewis2006 said:

Steven Naismith out there plating up meals for the homeless.

Leigh Griffiths out there blowing thousands at the bookies and banging bingo up his hooter. 

Think I’ll pass up on the well wishes.

Exactly this. £250K owed to the bookies. Full of the Ching. Pumps any Nidron with a pulse. 

Merry Christmas Sparky. 

17 minutes ago, ZEUS said:

Exactly this. £250K owed to the bookies. Full of the Ching. Pumps any Nidron with a pulse. 

Merry Christmas Sparky. 

Even snidier using the old “mental health” comfort blanket.

Naw mate yer just on a come down because your in a mountain of debt racked up due to your own stupidness.

44 minutes ago, Victorian said:

What is this chat about money owed to the bookies?      Have they started running credit lines like?

I do believe that certain bookies / casinos may offer a line of credit to the more discerning customers, but in the case of Thumb (and Lafferty) it is more about owing large sums to loan sharks.

34 minutes ago, Geoff the Mince said:

He's got 5 bairns and for thier sake i hope he sorts himself out .

Agree with that. 

15 minutes ago, Tasavallan said:

I do believe that certain bookies / casinos may offer a line of credit to the more discerning customers, but in the case of Thumb (and Lafferty) it is more about owing large sums to loan sharks.

Not convinced.    Surely someone of the Thumb's high earnings would have substantial credit facilities of more conventional means.     

If he is (as suggested) around £250k in the red then that represents about 3 months net earnings for him.    He's on a long contract as well.     The easiest thing his club could do is to advance him that money from his future earnings.     The immediate debt problem is instantly eased.

Common human decency makes me hope he sorts himself out.Most of the pricks on social media treating him like a hero figure will be the same ones who walk past the truely desperate who are forced into begging on the streets.Cant bring myself to wish LG any harm but a bit of perspective from some would be grand.

My mum and dad were quite friendly with his mum years ago due to her running the Galleon in Portobello.

Met Griffiths a few times and he was sound. Hated Hearts but I wouldn't expect anything less from a dyed in the wool Hibs fan.

I wouldn't wish mental health problems on anyone. 

Has he made mistakes? **** aye he has but the human in me never wants someone to suffer.

Guess I am not a majority speaker on here but from someone who went through a marriage break up on his own and felt suicidal at times, I would never wish that on anyone.

Hope he gets the help he needs. I honestly hate the guy on a football park but I do that with everyone who tries to score against my team. 

Football supporting and being humane are 2 different things. I find people who can't differentiate between the 2 quite strange.

2 hours ago, Victorian said:

Not convinced.    Surely someone of the Thumb's high earnings would have substantial credit facilities of more conventional means.     

If he is (as suggested) around £250k in the red then that represents about 3 months net earnings for him.    He's on a long contract as well.     The easiest thing his club could do is to advance him that money from his future earnings.     The immediate debt problem is instantly eased.

Perhaps they already have - a good few times? 

8 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

Perhaps they already have - a good few times? 

Maybe.   It's possible that his losses are eye watering.     Speculation of course.

On 14/12/2018 at 18:18, Victorian said:

Maybe.   It's possible that his losses are eye watering.     Speculation of course.

id highly doubt the amounts wagered were nominal

Hibs fans taking the moral high ground against anyone speaking out against LG, while continuing to sing songs about Wallace Mercer. 

They're a confused wee bunch. 

On 14/12/2018 at 18:18, Victorian said:

Allegedly £250k in the hole to some rather unsavoury characters. Went to a casino with £50k to try and win it all back and lost the lot. 

To be fair to Leigh, it must be hard having nightmares about this every single night:

post-7814-12689900480188_thumb.jpg

Would take a toll on anyone's mental health.

On Friday, December 14, 2018 at 15:08, Tasavallan said:

Having spent the best part of 10 years working in the casino business I can say there are absolutely no lines of credit for anyone. 

There would need to be a major relaxation of gaming laws. 

Edited by jambogemz

On 20/12/2018 at 14:40, jambogemz said:

Having spent the best part of 10 years working in the casino business I can say there are absolutely no lines of credit for anyone. 

There would need to be a major relaxation of gaming laws. 

independent bookies do it all the time over the phone

On 20/12/2018 at 13:50, tian447 said:

To be fair to Leigh, it must be hard having nightmares about this every single night:

post-7814-12689900480188_thumb.jpg

Would take a toll on anyone's mental health.

Absolute classic that!!!

woukd love to read that again.

I see he's not covered himself in glory after ending his self imposed social media silence.

"Never kick me when I'm down because when i get back up...you're ****ed"

:facepalm::rudi:

Edited by Seymour M Hersh

22 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

I see he's not covered himself in glory after ending his self imposed social media silence.

Just another in a line of poorly educated players who lack the brain power or ambition to make the best of the opportunity given to them to climb out the gutter. I'd say that clubs and agents should teach these guys when they are young and earning a lot of money relative to their mates, how to manage money, to develop themselves as people. Advise them on how to conduct themselves on social media etc. 

On 20/12/2018 at 13:15, Phil Dunphy said:

Hibs fans taking the moral high ground against anyone speaking out against LG, while continuing to sing songs about Wallace Mercer. 

Whilst exploiting a mythical debt to a poppy charity for point-scoring purposes.

1 hour ago, Gizmo said:

Just another in a line of poorly educated players who lack the brain power or ambition to make the best of the opportunity given to them to climb out the gutter. I'd say that clubs and agents should teach these guys when they are young and earning a lot of money relative to their mates, how to manage money, to develop themselves as people. Advise them on how to conduct themselves on social media etc. 

That's what Hearts are doing and TBF I think Romanov mentioned this and was attempting to implement this attitude as well. 

We seem to always produce and attract a classier player than Hibs. And when they do atttack the decent sort I.E Sauzee they leave hating the club. 

Edited by AlimOzturk

2 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Attention seeking racist tea leaf. 

3 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

But Leigh, you may not get back up. 

Wouldn’t that be ironic !

He clearly makes chronic decisions.  I dont know if that's mental health or sheer stupidity.  I suspect the latter.

Dont feel one iota more sorry for him than anyone else with addictions- if he does have addictions.

Singing the refugee song said a lot about his character.

Can’t imagine the heirarchy at Celtic being impressed with his coverage in the tabloids today . Attending Newcastle races, betting “wads of £10 notes” and drinking pints . 

A nice bit of humour thrown into the article in the Sun saying “he stuck out like a thumb in his bright red jacket “ ?

8 minutes ago, Meadows said:

Can’t imagine the heirarchy at Celtic being impressed with his coverage in the tabloids today . Attending Newcastle races, betting “wads of £10 notes” and drinking pints . 

A nice bit of humour thrown into the article in the Sun saying “he stuck out like a thumb in his bright red jacket “ ?

Stinking little vermin *****.

2 hours ago, Meadows said:

I dont mind the boy tbh...he can give and take the banter...but in the cold light of day his conduct off the pitch has had a drastic negative effect on his playing career...if he had screwed the nut and been more focussed he could have had a sensational career outwith Scotland, named his price and maybe helped us get to a major tournament....quite a sad situation he has made for himself...

On 20/12/2018 at 13:15, Phil Dunphy said:

A song that LG sang as well as the one he was charged with in the Roseburn pre Derby

A lot of bad decisions / life choices made , his employers have stood by him more than once . On the same day his team mates fly out to Dubai , Griffiths decides to go drinking and gambling in Newcastle ! 

Shoogly peg time methinks . 

Geoff the Mince
2 hours ago, BangkokHearts said:

He's not 'mentally ill' he's just an erse.

The end.

I'm with this . 

The boy is just another of many Hobo Verminous neds ! 

3 hours ago, BangkokHearts said:

The end.

Correct. Disrespectful for those with genuine mental health issues.

31 minutes ago, chester copperpot said:

Screenshot_20190106-091854_Twitter.jpg

They say the first stage of overcoming addiction is admitting you have a problem.

He's only kidding himself on if he thinks anyone is going to believe this pish.

Geoff the Mince
43 minutes ago, chester copperpot said:

Screenshot_20190106-091854_Twitter.jpg

Whatever the reasons are for his problems ;  gambling and drinking are not going to help !  If he's seeing someone about his issues it's obviously not getting through to him . He's a silly silly lad who shows no signs of growing up .

A silly boy. If he had been properly mentored he might have gone on to be a Scotland Great".  To late for him now though.

2 hours ago, lewis2006 said:

They say the first stage of overcoming addiction is admitting you have a problem.

He's only kidding himself on if he thinks anyone is going to believe this pish.

Aye that’s what I thought too.  Either isn’t ready to admit there’s any problem or is too thick to realise a gambling addiction is also part of mental health. 

There is probably more to the story than the public know and tbh part of it makes me uneasy getting into some guys issues but just doesn’t sound like he’s getting the help he needs if that’s still how he’s behaving.  Sounds like Celtic are doing the right thing but I’m sure Griffiths probably has a fair few of “hangers on” in his social circle who will encourage him to be like that as he fuels their lifestyles too. 

On 14/12/2018 at 14:10, lewis2006 said:

Even snidier using the old “mental health” comfort blanket.

Naw mate yer just on a come down because your in a mountain of debt racked up due to your own stupidness.

7 hours ago, BangkokHearts said:

The end.

This is also :spoton: .

14 minutes ago, Phil Dunphy said:

He'll be another Hibs ***** who has completely chucked his career away.

He’ll probably end up back there in the very near future!