Labour

jake

2 hours ago, JamboX2 said:

But for its failings it done more to redistribute wealth than perhaps any preceding government.

Unfortunately, the Blair years will be rememberd most for leading us into/failing to insulate us from the financial crash which followed, and the debacle of the Iraq war.

• Replies 954

• maroonlegions

• ri Alban

• Governor Tarkin

• doctor jambo

3 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Unfortunately, the Blair years will be rememberd most for leading us into/failing to insulate us from the financial crash which followed, and the debacle of the Iraq war.

Indeed. And a no-exit war in Afghanistan.

6 hours ago, JamboX2 said:

Predominantly during the final 3 years when the economy tanked at wages at the lower end of the wealth divide were frozen and stagnated.

The 1997-2010 Labour governments redistributed a lot of wealth via the welfare system and tax credits. Pensioner poverty halved. Child poverty was on course to be almost done away with by 2020. Social housing stock was in a better condition than in 1997 (although numbers hadn't increased substantially). Wages were higher for low pay jobs. More schools and a better NHS in all corners of the UK than that which they inherited.

There were big failures in not rebalancing the economy in the early stages of the Blair years. Brown and Mandelson's proposed loans to firms like Forgemasters in the recession that Osborne cancelled were a sign of that realisation. 

But for its failings it done more to redistribute wealth than perhaps any preceding government.

It's good work lies battered and broken on austerity's table; welfare reform, austerity and abolition of tax credits being the key culprits. 

Yes it did. Brown's deregulation of the city caused a massive boost to the crooks that masquerade as "financial institutions" during which they lined their pockets. As a consequence, for a few years, money was pumped into the economy.

When reality hit and the bubble burst (more like the whole economy went BOOM!) The same thieving parasites lined their pockets again by lending the government the cash to prevent economic collapse. And they continue to do so.

Result - Blair's government made the rich richer when in power and created the foundations for astronomical wealth amongst the same people when in opposition. Meanwhile amongst "ordinary people".........

Edited by Greenbank2

2 hours ago, Greenbank2 said:

Yes it did. Brown's deregulation of the city caused a massive boost to the crooks that masquerade as "financial institutions" during which they lined their pockets. As a consequence, for a few years, money was pumped into the economy.

When reality hit and the bubble burst (more like the whole economy went BOOM!) The same thieving parasites lined their pockets again by lending the government the cash to prevent economic collapse. And they continue to do so.

Result - Blair's government made the rich richer when in power and created the foundations for astronomical wealth amongst the same people when in opposition. Meanwhile amongst "ordinary people".........

Whinge, whinge, whinge.

8 hours ago, Greenbank2 said:

I mean, I did say that in the recession when average and lower earnings froze and stagnated the rich got richer. But Brown did bring in a 50p rate and proposed a raft of tax avoidance measures in his last manifesto.

The largest increases in the wealth gap have come under the Tories and Coalition.

Blair and Brown redistributed more wealth down the way in their time in office than up. 

1 hour ago, JamboX2 said:

I mean, I did say that in the recession when average and lower earnings froze and stagnated the rich got richer. But Brown did bring in a 50p rate and proposed a raft of tax avoidance measures in his last manifesto.

The largest increases in the wealth gap have come under the Tories and Coalition.

Blair and Brown redistributed more wealth down the way in their time in office than up. 

These graphs show inequality getting greater and at it's fastest rate under Labour. https://www.chartbookofeconomicinequality.com/inequality-by-country/united-kingdom/

The graphs show that the largest increases in wealth gap mostly happened under Labour

Labour decreased income tax under Blair as these tables show. https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/709417/Table-a2.pdf

They also show that higher rate income tax was higher under the Tories than it was for more than 90% of the time Labour were in office.

Labour doubled the Tax rate for the lowest earners in the country giving them the highest marginal tax rate of any group at the same time as having lower tax rates for higher earners than the successor Tory government.

This Labour party sold out our future though PFI so they could sustain the low tax rates to their spiv pals and sponsors. The bank rate was at a historical low yet they compelled their local authorities to borrow privately at rates far above this sometimes reaching 15-20%.

This always makes me think of the indentured labour of children when i think the young people of today will have to pay this back. The Labour party have made us slaves to the capitalists. We cannot afford decent services because we have to pay so much to the financiers, some of whom borrowed the money they were lending to councils from UK clearing banks. 

Clearly Labour redistributed money from the poor to the rich and not as you suggest. A good example of this would be when the taxpayer paid hundreds of billions to the banks and other financial institutions to compensate them for their greed, corruption and incompetence and at the same time refusing to help the poorest in society who were swindled by the same people in the farepack fiasco. I can remember Brown telling us that those affected by farepack's collapse could not be assisted as a matter of principle. Privitised profits and socialised losses for the rich, nothing for the poor. 

Incidentally Labour have just supported the most regressive budget i can remember. https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/politics/john-mcdonnell-says-labour-keep-13504881

13 hours ago, coconut doug said:

These graphs show inequality getting greater and at it's fastest rate under Labour. https://www.chartbookofeconomicinequality.com/inequality-by-country/united-kingdom/

The graphs show that the largest increases in wealth gap mostly happened under Labour

Labour decreased income tax under Blair as these tables show. https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/709417/Table-a2.pdf

They also show that higher rate income tax was higher under the Tories than it was for more than 90% of the time Labour were in office.

Labour doubled the Tax rate for the lowest earners in the country giving them the highest marginal tax rate of any group at the same time as having lower tax rates for higher earners than the successor Tory government.

This Labour party sold out our future though PFI so they could sustain the low tax rates to their spiv pals and sponsors. The bank rate was at a historical low yet they compelled their local authorities to borrow privately at rates far above this sometimes reaching 15-20%.

This always makes me think of the indentured labour of children when i think the young people of today will have to pay this back. The Labour party have made us slaves to the capitalists. We cannot afford decent services because we have to pay so much to the financiers, some of whom borrowed the money they were lending to councils from UK clearing banks. 

Clearly Labour redistributed money from the poor to the rich and not as you suggest. A good example of this would be when the taxpayer paid hundreds of billions to the banks and other financial institutions to compensate them for their greed, corruption and incompetence and at the same time refusing to help the poorest in society who were swindled by the same people in the farepack fiasco. I can remember Brown telling us that those affected by farepack's collapse could not be assisted as a matter of principle. Privitised profits and socialised losses for the rich, nothing for the poor. 

Incidentally Labour have just supported the most regressive budget i can remember. https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/politics/john-mcdonnell-says-labour-keep-13504881

Bravo!

The difference between Labour and Tories is that the former made the rich richer through blind incompetence and manipulation by their new "friends" in The City - Tories do it by design.

1 hour ago, Greenbank2 said:

Bravo!

The difference between Labour and Tories is that the former made the rich richer through blind incompetence and manipulation by their new "friends" in The City - Tories do it by design.

:greggy:

9 hours ago, Greenbank2 said:

Bravo!

No they didn't.

His post outlines it was by design.

So you would be forgiven to tread with extreme diligence and care when BBC Scotland fart out facts and figures in comparison  to Scotland and the rest of the UK. 

Like their counterparts in the South the BBC are  nothing more than a Tory biased reporting shiteheap. They have been caught out on numerous occasions either lying or spinning and manipulating facts about Labour and the SNP. 

Puts a different spin on watching it with ones dinner,   

"In response to a complaint over the report, the BBC said that the reference to the growth rate of the UK was intended to be in comparison to the previous year".

"However, the response from Fraser Steel, head of the BBC’s executive complaints unit, added:

“But this wasn’t clear from the script and, as the report concerned the first quarter of 2018, I think viewers would have been likely to understand the statement about GDP growth in Scotland roughly matching the UK’s as applying to that period, with misleading consequences. I’m therefore upholding your complaint".:muggy:

Edited by maroonlegions

58 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

What a clown.

Aye and there is more of this clown"s reactions.

Apparently taking a day off to highlight the fact humanity is facing literal extinction is a matter of small importance to the PM. Cutting school funding is of higher significance to her and her corporate  gangsters .

37 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

So you would be forgiven to tread with extreme diligence and care when BBC Scotland fart out facts and figures in comparison  to Scotland and the rest of the UK. 

Like their counterparts in the South the BBC are  nothing more than a Tory biased reporting shiteheap. They have been caught out on numerous occasions either lying or spinning and manipulating facts about Labour and the SNP. 

Puts a different spin on watching it with ones dinner,   

"In response to a complaint over the report, the BBC said that the reference to the growth rate of the UK was intended to be in comparison to the previous year".

"However, the response from Fraser Steel, head of the BBC’s executive complaints unit, added:

“But this wasn’t clear from the script and, as the report concerned the first quarter of 2018, I think viewers would have been likely to understand the statement about GDP growth in Scotland roughly matching the UK’s as applying to that period, with misleading consequences. I’m therefore upholding your complaint".:muggy:

Questions on BBC bias on Question time were blanked too. Their outright lies about the SNP Scottish government will change at the end of the month. I expect  Chief traitor Bird to be the first casualty of the truth.

38 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

Aye and there is more of this clown"s reactions.

Apparently taking a day off to highlight the fact humanity is facing literal extinction is a matter of small importance to the PM. Cutting school funding is of higher significance to her and her corporate  gangsters .

Ffs at least pupils are doing something about it because politicians are doing sfa about climate change.

Fair play to the pupils.

On 15/02/2019 at 18:41, The Real Maroonblood said:

Ffs at least pupils are doing something about it because politicians are doing sfa about climate change.

Fair play to the pupils.

Yip. 

The way some Tories are lambasting these kids is fecking brutal but one Tory was owned below.

Image may contain: 3 people, text

:greggy:

Being reported that a group of Labour MP's are set to make an announcement today about their future in the Labour Party.

Could this be the beginning of a split in the Labour Party, guess we'll find out later on today.

18 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Being reported that a group of Labour MP's are set to make an announcement today about their future in the Labour Party.

Could this be the beginning of a split in the Labour Party, guess we'll find out later on today.

Seems to be a lot of MPs that would be getting deselected anyway, so jumping before they get pushed.

10 minutes ago, westbow said:

Seems to be a lot of MPs that would be getting deselected anyway, so jumping before they get pushed.

There has been various names floating around in the media for a while now, should find out later today who they are & how many of them there are.

If I was a sensible, middle ground, pro-EU Labour MP, I wouldn't be talking about starting a new party but just getting enough likeminded colleagues to join and takeover the LibDems. 

6 minutes ago, Dannie Boy said:

UK MPs Chuka Umunna, Luciana Berger, Chris Leslie, Angela Smith, Mike Gapes, Gavin Shuker and Ann Coffey quit Labour

And so it begins.

As they have quit the Labour party and will now be standing as Independents, Labour can no longer rely on their support in parliamentary votes thus weakening Labour's stance on anything now.

Remains to be seen if there will be anymore, I certainly wouldn't put money on against there being more Labour MP's resigning.

Will be interesting to see what sort of manifesto they proclaim.

A lot of talk about politics being broken, so one would assume they will advocate changes to th ecurrent political system, perhaps some sort of PR, maybe even a federalised UK?

10 minutes ago, Boris said:

A lot of talk about politics being broken, so one would assume they will advocate changes to th ecurrent political system, perhaps some sort of PR, maybe even a federalised UK?

I suspect it will be more centralist politics from this grouping. I also suspect it will attract others and from the Tories in particular. 

1 hour ago, Boris said:

Maybe they could introduce a change whereby MPs resigning from the party for which were elected should be required to hold a bi-election to maintain their mandate?

5 minutes ago, RobboM said:

Maybe they could introduce a change whereby MPs resigning from the party for which were elected should be required to hold a bi-election to maintain their mandate?

Agree completely! 

10 minutes ago, RobboM said:

Arguably it's the individual that you vote for, not the party.

7 minutes ago, Martin_T said:

Arguably it's the individual that you vote for, not the party.

If even wee Robbo was to stand as the local conservative candidate there is no way I would vote for the wee Tory ****er! ?

You got me thinking though and a wee search highlighted this article post 2017 election which indicates just 6% of (Labour) voters did so primarily because of the individual. I'd guess there would be a similar number who would NOT vote for that candidate because of the individual but would have supported the party.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/labour-voters-reasons-jeremy-corbyn-manifesto-local-mp-mandatory-reselection-a7840856.html

22 minutes ago, RobboM said:

You 'should' have voted for the person and their politics/views, not just blankly for whoever had a blue or red tie though.

The 1st two points haven't changed.

6 minutes ago, RobboM said:

If even wee Robbo was to stand as the local conservative candidate there is no way I would vote for the wee Tory ****er! ?

You got me thinking though and a wee search highlighted this article post 2017 election which indicates just 6% of (Labour) voters did so primarily because of the individual. I'd guess there would be a similar number who would NOT vote for that candidate because of the individual but would have supported the party.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/labour-voters-reasons-jeremy-corbyn-manifesto-local-mp-mandatory-reselection-a7840856.html

I think it's undoubtedly party that most people vote for.

Case in point being Kate Hoey, pro hunting, pro gun ownership, pro Brexit, yet because she stands wearing a red rosette, she gets re-elected with a huge majority every time.

Unless that is the people of Vauxhall in central London are passionate gun owning, hunting, Brexiteers.

Corbyn's zealots will try and muddy the water with this but he's an embarrassment for a leader and I do respect these seven for basically calling him out as such. Hopefully it spells the end for him.

Brighton Jambo

The sad thing is there is now almost an acceptance of the anti-Semitism within Labour.  It is mind boggling that under Corbyn he has managed to turn them into the racist party.  Almost unthinkable even five years ago. 

I think any Tories thinking about joining this group may pause and see how many more Labour MP's jump ship as if the Tories stick together Labour will never under Corbyn be able to generate the numbers needed to form a majority government. 

This could literally be the beginning of the end of the Labour party as a serious force in British politics.  All because of one man and his ideals.

1 hour ago, Brighton Jambo said:

The sad thing is there is now almost an acceptance of the anti-Semitism within Labour.  It is mind boggling that under Corbyn he has managed to turn them into the racist party.  Almost unthinkable even five years ago. 

I think any Tories thinking about joining this group may pause and see how many more Labour MP's jump ship as if the Tories stick together Labour will never under Corbyn be able to generate the numbers needed to form a majority government. 

This could literally be the beginning of the end of the Labour party as a serious force in British politics.  All because of one man and his ideals.

What a pile of utter shite.

Corybn is one of the only MPs to have been arrested at anti racist marchers . You actually belief that he is anti semitism. You should look closer to home within your squeaky clean Tory party .

Image result for pictures of jews who support corbyn

The Tory run BBC have openly admitted that they have misinterpreted and mislead  the public on Corbyn   and so have some right wing papers.   

Image may contain: 7 people, people smiling, text 

Glad these red Tories are fecking off.

Edited by maroonlegions

28 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

What a pile of utter shite.

Corybn is one of the only MPs to have been arrested at anti racist marchers . You actually belief that he is anti semitism. You should look closer to home within your squeaky clean Tory party .

Image result for pictures of jews who support corbyn

The Tory run BBC have openly admitted that they have misinterpreted and mislead  the public on Corbyn   and so have some right wing papers.   

Image may contain: 7 people, people smiling, text 

Glad these red Tories are fecking off.

NOt sure he is anti-Semitic, but he is somewhat reluctant to criticise some of his core minority vote.

He is, however doing a great job of making sure Labour are goosed.

If you want a never ending Tory government, keep supporting Corbyn

Brighton Jambo

I 100% believe that anti-Semitism is rife in the labour party and that Corbyn is doing nowhere near enough to deal with it.  Does that make him anti-Semitic not sure.

Its fascinating that the day the labour party splits with anti-Semitism cited as a major factor rather than accept it and recognise the need for change you just accuse them all of being a 'red tory'.   Its that level of denial that will further split the party.

I think for certain under JC labour will never be in power again. But you crack on and literally watch them disintegrate in front of your eyes without blaming the one man who is ultimately to blame.

Bizarre that these defectors want Labour to push on for a second Brexit referendum yet across the board, both Tory and Labour, there seems little appetite for it - that it would be a slap in the face to the British public. 

And hard  not to see this as career politicians unable to stomach the idea of actually debating their beliefs through argument and taking the knocks that come with the territory (as literally conceded by Umunna)

All seems a bit contrived, a final act after the mass resignations from the PLP, a failed  leadership challenge and other tactics have so far failed to see a change at the top

3 hours ago, RobboM said:

2 hours ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Corbyn's zealots will try and muddy the water with this but he's an embarrassment for a leader and I do respect these seven for basically calling him out as such. Hopefully it spells the end for him.

It's just remainers leaving the party. Nae lose if you ask me.

Forget the anti-semitism  and their complicity in trying to wreck the country for a second, the fact that in nearly 3 years of May's stewardship the Labour party hasn't laid a glove on the worst government in British politcal history should be reason enough for a mass career hara-kiri. 

42 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

I'll never vote Labour under a British banner every again.

“Nae lose if you ask me

Oh the irony of those 7 red Tories deserting the Labour party today. Good riddance i say. 

Tories and the BBC miking this big time but they forget the calibre of those who are quitting. 

Image may contain: 7 people, people smiling, people standing and suit

Oh and old Chunka boy too.

Labour's Chuka Umunna under fire for labelling people 'trash' on elite social network;  He is not a fan of the working class it seems.:lol:

A Labour frontbencher was today accused of being a champagne socialist with "more faces than Armani suits" after he used an alias on an exclusive social networking site to ask for advice on how to avoid "trash".:vrface:

He  is not a fan of your working class it seems.

And here is another of the 7 , a one Angela Smith,  Did not  take Angela Smith long to show her racist views, oh hang on she left labour because they are racist fancy that..... looks like an own goal for their new centralist party then. :lol:

Her comment  "funny TINGE "  on the BBC programme Politics LIve when being interviewed on racists  within the Labour party  is a fecking stoater.

Today, this MP Angela Smith, one of the 7 who  quit the Labour Party  because she said Labour was racist.

Now, listen to this on the link below, her interview on the BBC Politics LIve in which she refers to non whites as  those who have a "funny TINGE".. 

Crucially, the company the 7 MPs join today was set up 13 days before Jeremy Corbyn tabled his amendment to hold a 2nd Referendum on a Labour Brexit Deal. We wondered why they were so livid when Jeremy did this, now we know. It deprived them of their chief excuse for leaving.

And this;

The company that provides a vehicle for the 7 MPs leaving Labour today was founded 33 days ago. Think about that carefully, and reflect upon the last nearly 5 weeks of false outrage & staged confrontations.:whistling:

The 7  are liars  too it seems;

A tiny group of Umunnaites are planning to split from the Labour Party very soon. They’ll claim Jeremy betrayed the Motion agreed at Party Conference on a 2nd Referendum. This is a verifiable lie. One  is the Conference Motion. And two  is Jeremy’s Amendment tabled 29.01.19;

Dzog3H7W0AAoDUg.jpg
Again link below;

DzrrKG6WkAELif1.jpg

Delighted that these 7 muppets  are gone , when you look closer at them they ARE  better off in the Tory party  or whatever red Tory party they are dreaming up. The real champagne socialists .  

DzrrKG6WkAELif1.jpg

Edited by maroonlegions