ultra minimalist lifestyle

Alan_R

Been reading about the minimalist lifestyle. I'm not a minimalist but since moving house I like the notion of decluttering. I've been getting rid of more and more stuff and trying to keep what I use/need but not at a truly minimalist level.

Anyway been reading about this bit of a fad thing where people are living with 100 personal items or less.

There lots of variations but generally furniture isn't counted but clothes and everything else is.

Thought it might be interesting to see what you'd choose. Now let's assume 90 items have been used up by clothes and essentials (toothbrush etc)

What ten personal items would you not live without?

1- phone

2- laptop

3- kettle

4- toaster

5- football boots

6- car

7- TV

8- childhood toy

9- sunglasses

10- wedding ring

Even then. I could live without a few of those easily. Made me realise I don't actually need that much.

11 minutes ago, Alan_R said:

My copy of the Treaty of Lisbon.

Other than that I couldn't care less.

100 items is loads. You could live no problem with less than 50

3 pairs of jeans

2 pairs of shoes

5 t-shirts

2 shirts

1 jacket

2 jumpers 

5 pairs of boxers

5 pairs of socks

TV

Laptop 

Phone

Car

Dog

If furniture isn't counted 30 items is more than sufficient. 

The complete Sherlock Holmes canon

The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists

A good selection of Billy Bragg tunes

The same from The Pogues

Some vintage Faces 

and a penny more than I could spend.

That would do me a good long while.

2 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

Guns

Dogs

Guns 

Dogs. 

8 items left now your sex life is covered. ?

3 hours ago, Alan_R said:

1- phone

2- laptop

3- kettle

4- toaster

5- football boots

6- car

7- TV

8- childhood toy

9- sunglasses

10- wedding ring

Even then. I could live without a few of those easily. Made me realise I don't actually need that much.

Childhood toy ?

5 hours ago, Alan_R said:

Been reading about the minimalist lifestyle. I'm not a minimalist but since moving house I like the notion of decluttering. I've been getting rid of more and more stuff and trying to keep what I use/need but not at a truly minimalist level.

Anyway been reading about this bit of a fad thing where people are living with 100 personal items or less.

There lots of variations but generally furniture isn't counted but clothes and everything else is.

Thought it might be interesting to see what you'd choose. Now let's assume 90 items have been used up by clothes and essentials (toothbrush etc)

Just the Wife and weans

100!

I am utterly minimalist, but my wife isn't.

I never, for example have more than 3 pairs of shoes - 1 for work, 1 pair of trainers for outside work, and my ancient Timberland boots.

All things  I operate on a "1 in and  1 out basis"- if I buy something I throw what it replaced out

32 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

100!

I am utterly minimalist, but my wife isn't.

I never, for example have more than 3 pairs of shoes - 1 for work, 1 pair of trainers for outside work, and my ancient Timberland boots.

All things  I operate on a "1 in and  1 out basis"- if I buy something I throw what it replaced out

I'm sort of doing this now.   It leads to chucking perfectly good stuff but it helps justify incoming stuff.

4 minutes ago, Victorian said:

I'm sort of doing this now.   It leads to chucking perfectly good stuff but it helps justify incoming stuff.

It was done to combat a lack if space

THe overcrowded house-

My wife " we need a  bigger house"

Me- "we need less stuff"

"1 in and 1 out" now applies to pets, children, lamps, feckin everything, and the master has agreed to it after a spent an entire day gutting her wardrobes after an avalanche of clothes fell on me- most still with tags on, as she had "nothing to wear".

She wants a new jumper- fine- but you throw one out first. Don't know why she needs 20 pairs of jeans, 50 jumpers and 100 tops, but that's what we're down to

8 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Taxi

Ipad

TV

Car

Golf clubs

Coffee Machine

Headphones

Fierce aftershave

But hasty to end the list at 8, lucky. Sure you've the taxi and the car but you're going nowhere without the keys :thumbsup:

Edited by Thommo414

Just now, Dino Velvet said:

As long as I had access to porn, I wouldn't need anything else. 

Lifetime supply of kleenex wouldn't go a miss tbh

17 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

THe overcrowded house-

Me- "we need less stuff"

"1 in and 1 out" now applies to pets, children, lamps, feckin everything, and the master has agreed to it after a spent an entire day gutting her wardrobes after an avalanche of clothes fell on me- most still with tags on, as she had "nothing to wear".

She wants a new jumper- fine- but you throw one out first. Don't know why she needs 20 pairs of jeans, 50 jumpers and 100 tops, but that's what we're down to

Tell me about it.    I have to shunt jackets into the loft all the time due to being a hopeless biker / flying jacket addict.      The searching for the perfect biker jacket is unending.    I already have a couple of perfect ones but seems to have to search for the next,  different,  perfect one.

5 minutes ago, Thommo414 said:

But hasty to end the list at 8, lucky. Sure you've the taxi and the car but you're going nowhere without the keys :thumbsup:

:laugh2:  knew I’d forgot something, that’s my 10 now then :jiggy:

It’s muliples that stop me being more minimalist. For example if CDs counted as one thing then that would be ok. If they don’t that’s me into several hundred things already. Then there’s the vinyl and books.  

Ive only just bought a proper house at 36. 

Its pretty empty of 'possessions' other than furniture/pictures and it'll be staying that way. Got rid of all my cds/dvds years ago and give books to the charity shop when I've read them. Its utterly pointless hoarding stuff. 

Nobody has said 'toothbrush' yet. 

Manky *******s ;)

38 minutes ago, Tazio said:

It’s muliples that stop me being more minimalist. For example if CDs counted as one thing then that would be ok. If they don’t that’s me into several hundred things already. Then there’s the vinyl and books.  

Are you likely to read those books again? I donated loads of books a while back - mainly novels but also reference books that were outdated - and i periodically have a sweep of anything else that is not worth keeping. I was originally thinking the kids would appreciate them but that would mean keeping them for at least another 10 years.

I wouldn't expect anyone to throw out a signed 1st edition of Catcher In The Rye, mind.

2 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

THe overcrowded house-

Me- "we need less stuff"

The bit on bold sounds familiar. I am not spending tens of thousands to extend the house just to allow the clutter to expand to fill it.

Need

1. Clothes 

2. Glasses so I can see the football 

3. Season ticket 

4. Any match / train tickets (train pass) 

5. Something to read 

6. Documents - passport, driving licence  etc

Optional 

7. TV

8. Broadband / Wi-Fi 

9. Bed / bedding 

10. Mobile phone 

Nice to have 

11. Washing machine/ tumble dryer 

12. Oven / hob 

My wife and I live a fairly minimalist and simple lifestyle, by choice, except for books! I easily have over 100 of those. 

But, otherwise, nae television, nae car and nae meat and we grow a lot of our own veg' in the garden. Massive financial saving every month and we're in good health. 

Aside from clothes, I'd struggle to amass ten items but if I am on the move anywhere, my bag is always packed with the following essentials:

1. Books: Would usually carry two of my current reading list which currently is: The Bible, 12 Rules for Life by Jordan Peterson, The Strange Death of Europe by Douglas Murray and Churchill by Boris Johnson. 

2. A Broadsheet Newspaper: Those of a similar age to me have largely dispensed with newspapers but I still love to pick up around three or four, usually different, newspapers each week and get ink on my fingers. 

3. Phone and Headphones: Fans of Twitter and big Heavy Metal fan so a healthy slab of good music while walking to, or travelling for, work is always essential.  

4. Cigars, Cigar Cutter and Matches: For those moments, generally outside of winter, when you are sitting in a beer garden and have 30 minutes to spare. 

5. Toilet Bag: Largely because I (used to) travel a lot for work. Always packed with a healthy stash of aftershave. 

EastSideJambo
13 hours ago, Herbert said:

100 items is loads. You could live no problem with less than 50

3 pairs of jeans

2 pairs of shoes

5 t-shirts

2 shirts

1 jacket

2 jumpers 

5 pairs of boxers

5 pairs of socks

TV

Laptop 

Phone

Car

Dog

If furniture isn't counted 30 items is more than sufficient. 

If you're being honest, you could condense that list to a pair of underpants and your dog as the most vital 

So what this thread really demonstrates is that men are still unencumbered hunter / gatherers , whom, without female interference in our lives would all be rich and DE cluttered?

Phone 

Work clothes and shoes (minimal)

Home clothes and trainers (minimal)

TV

Cooker

Washing machine/Drier

wireless headphones (godsend when doing stuff in the house)

I could live in an environment without anything else for myself as I have young children so don’t have much spare time regardless 

37 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

So what this thread really demonstrates is that men are still unencumbered hunter / gatherers , whom, without female interference in our lives would all be rich and DE cluttered?

A fine summary...

31 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Who was it that said if they didn't have ****ies all we'd do is chuck stones at them?

Good example was a couple of months ago. New bathroom fitted. Just me and my two sons in the house all month. Bathroom spotless, like a showroom in a catalogue. Everything in its place, surfaces spotless. Within twelve hours of the wife coming back from abroad, you wouldn't have noticed the difference between the old and new bathrooms, as every surface was covered in bottles of various types of gunk. 

It's the gunk left behind that forms a little circle of rock hard crust that pisses me off and having 6 bottles of shampoo round the bath. I have head and shoulders and a bottle of body wash that always get punted into the cabinet or onto the window so I've to go hunting for it when I'm wet and naked.

2 minutes ago, Herbert said:

It's the gunk left behind that forms a little circle of rock hard crust that pisses me off and having 6 bottles of shampoo round the bath. I have head and shoulders and a bottle of body wash that always get punted into the cabinet or onto the window so I've to go hunting for it when I'm wet and naked.

3 males in our house- me and the 2 boys

our total bathing requirements- 1 bottle head and shoulders, 1 bottle shower gel

2 females in our house-  total bathing requirements- more chemicals than the Assad regime.

7 hours ago, i8hibsh said:

If I were to move house I would not require the hiring of a van put it that way.

Cos no one would give you a hand?

24 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

3 males in our house- me and the 2 boys

our total bathing requirements- 1 bottle head and shoulders, 1 bottle shower gel

2 females in our house-  total bathing requirements- more chemicals than the Assad regime.

I lived alone for years, amount of times My toilet/sinks required unblocking...1.

Married 6 years, lived together 9, 2 girls, 4 and 3. Amount of times toilet and sinks have needed unblocking... I need more fingers and toes.

My shelf in the bathroom... the smallest.

My closet, among many in the house... the smallest

My spot on the very large couch...worst view of the TV.

My den... Private, All mine...MINE!!!

Full drum kit, various Hearts tops dating back to 2000, ticket ,program , news paper cuttings of the, 1998,2006  cup finals and  the same for the  2012  cup final rogering of the vermin. Vinyl record collection, and CD and DVDs too. 3 kids a wife, 4 cats, various pairs of jeans , trainers, tops, jackets . ST for the new main stand, Hearts scarf. Proud owner of a  ticket with  Wayne Foster"s name on it, he got it for me for the 4-0 win over Hibs at Tynie when it was a sell out.  Oh and a mind set that believes  in being yourself no matter the opinions  of others.   FTH,

Edited by maroonlegions

18 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

8 items left now your sex life is covered. ?

Liz Mcclarnon 

Kimberley Walsh 

Jennifer Aniston 

Gillian Anderson 

Rebecca Hall 

Mary Elizabeth Winstead 

Sarah Jane Mea

Hailey Mcqueen 

12 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Liz Mcclarnon 

Kimberley Walsh 

Jennifer Aniston 

Gillian Anderson 

Rebecca Hall 

Mary Elizabeth Winstead 

Sarah Jane Mea

Hailey Mcqueen 

Looking at that lineup, I wasn’t wrong with my comment about your first two choices ?

I do feel that without women the global economy would utterly collapse as all non-food, hardware or Guns and tackle shops would shut.

and possibly the food shops would close too.

Though I would add the caveat that my gay friends seem to buy hunners of cushions and tea lights too, as well as grooming products.

23 hours ago, jonesy said:

Who was it that said if they didn't have ****ies all we'd do is chuck stones at them?

Good example was a couple of months ago. New bathroom fitted. Just me and my two sons in the house all month. Bathroom spotless, like a showroom in a catalogue. Everything in its place, surfaces spotless. Within twelve hours of the wife coming back from abroad, you wouldn't have noticed the difference between the old and new bathrooms, as every surface was covered in bottles of various types of gunk. 

Usually all ****ing conditioners as well with no shampoo.

Boils my piss.

will-i-am-a-jambo

What about things like cutlery and cooking utensils, what do you guys use to cook with? My big problem is keeping my uni notes. I can't bear to part with them as l worked so damn hard to get my degree it seems a waste to just chuck it all away.

ldeally in no specific order:

1. Bicycle

2. Phone

3. Ipad

4. Watch

5. Sunglasses

6. Hearts and Scotland tops

7. Travel bag

8. Hat

9. Books

10. Sports gear