Saudi murder of journalist Jamal Kashoggi

Cade

So, this is shaping up to be a proper diplomatic crisis and the Saudis are in full panic mode.

First, the reporter was reported missing after having a meeting at the Saudi consulate in Turkey.

The Saudis confirmed that he had been there but claimed that he had left safe and well.

CCTV footage of his arrival and departure were mysteriously missing, however.

Then, rumors of a hit squad started swirling around and an audio file of the attack and dismemberment of the body was leaked.

Saudis then admitted that maybe he had died in the consulate after all.

Turkish forensic squads were granted access to the room and found new paint on the walls, new carpets on the floor but still found DNA traces of the journalist.

Saudis then claimed that the meeting had gotten a bit heated then a fistfight broke out, during which the journalist was accidentally killed in a choke hold.

Now we have CCTV footage of one of the 15-man hit squad walking around the city in the dead journalist's clothes and a false beard, which was an obvious attempt to pretend that he was still alive.

The Saudis also say they can't find the body.

In the real world, what happened was:

The Crown Prince ordered the murder.

Kashoggi was lured to the Saudi consulate.

He was met by a 15 man hit squad as well as the Consul.

He was attacked and then dismembered whilst still alive.

Saudis made a total erse of their cover story.

Whilst all this is going on, the western world is making lame tutting noises and continuing to sell weapons to the Saudis (who then use them to kill civilians in Yemen, where 14 million people are on the brink of starvation)

The only western nation that has suspended arms sales to Saudi Arabia is Germany.

Edited by Cade

It's actually terrifying how blatant it is and the fact they're going to get away with it.

One of the hitmen was found dead in a car crash a few days after the story made the news... obviously couldn't be trusted to keep his mouth shut?

Scary stuff

It’s absolutely disgusting. But they’re our allies, right, let’s just shrug our shoulders about it and move on. 

I see Merkel has promised that German arms will no longer be available to them.

It's horrible to think how easily the Western world will ignore these violations on a regular basis for a handful of silver. Especially when countries like America tell everyone that'll listen that the one thing they value over anything else is freedom.

This story has really captivated me. Obviously we're looking at a murder which in itself is horrific but it does make for interesting global politics.

Ive always loved a good conspiracy theory and/or a cover up story but for me, recent history suggests that it'll all end up being swept aside. If you've got big muscles then you flex them until folk stop bothering you. It also helps if folk owe you money.

America -

Reagans arms to Iran

Waco

9/11 not enough questions asked at the time and still many unanswered.

Russia -

Annexing of Crimea.....no-one cares now.....where did the mystery invading soldiers come from? Russia? They said it wasn't them....aah well case closed.

Salisbury poisoning.....just tourists.

Malaysia airline jet shot down.....rebels apparently.

And now this one. This one stinks of SA trying to concoct a story behind the scenes, maybe arrange a fall guy or two....but I would not be surprised if nothing ever comes from it. Even if they came out and went "Yeah....we cut him up......you still want oil?".

If you have enough money and or oil you can do pretty much what you like.

SA threatens to put the price of oil up to $100-$150 a barrel, America/Trump shats it as that increase would trigger a recession not only in the US but globally.

All of this will just go away, as soon as SA offers to invest x* amount in Turkey.

* x amount will have many 0's after it.

This will be just like Russia shooting down that passenger jet over Ukraine.

What should happen is an absolute leathering which knocks the stuffing out of Saudi Arabia (I'd say send them back to the stone age but they're already there). What will happen is sod all - a bit of rhetoric, maybe a few meaningless sanctions and then everything quietly forgotten.

It's almost laughable how spineless the international community is when they're put in these situations. 

Why is everyone surprised and disgusted that this happened. This or similar is a common occurrence in SA. 

My question (not rhetorical) is why did this happen. What did Khashoggi do to warrant this kind execution, particularly in a foreign country. 

Doing this to someone is beyond me especially the actual insensitive act of butchering some alive, if that’s what took place. 

4 minutes ago, Dannie Boy said:

Why is everyone surprised and disgusted that this happened. This or similar is a common occurrence in SA. 

My question (not rhetorical) is why did this happen. What did Khashoggi do to warrant this kind execution, particularly in a foreign country. 

Doing this to someone is beyond me especially the actual insensitive act of butchering some alive, if that’s what took place. 

I’m not surprised. I am disgusted, though. 

I'm more intrigued as to why Turkey felt confident going public.

I'm also slightly annoyed that one man's murder as horrific as it was has drawn more action than the countless brutality and the mass killings in Yemen Syria that the Saudis along with us the USA and western Europe have been complicit in.

Thunderstruck
52 minutes ago, Dannie Boy said:

This is an interesting read. Khashoggi wasn’t, it seems, any angel. That, of course, doesn’t excuse what appears to have happened. 

https://www.spectator.co.uk/2018/10/death-of-a-dissident-saudi-arabia-and-the-rise-of-the-mobster-state/

33 minutes ago, Thunderstruck said:

This is an interesting read. Khashoggi wasn’t, it seems, any angel. That, of course, doesn’t excuse what appears to have happened. 

https://www.spectator.co.uk/2018/10/death-of-a-dissident-saudi-arabia-and-the-rise-of-the-mobster-state/

Fascinating read. I suspected there was more to this execution than a botched job of kidnapping him. 

Erdogan to address the Turkish parliament shortly, he's already said that 'the naked truth' will be revealed today.

Couple of wee snippets released, in that 7 to 9 phone calls were allegdly made from one of the 15 man hit team to MBS's office in Riyadh and are said to be 'explosive'.

Turkish parliament just being called to order now, this could be interesting what is going to be revealed.

John Gentleman

I think this story's still got a lot of mileage left. Erdogan, for whatever reason, seems to want his pound of flesh and there's still the small matter of a body (or parts thereof) to be found. it'll be interesting to hear what he reveals to the Turkish parliament.

I'm not shocked that a member of the Kasshoggi family was killed.

I'd have to add that I'm not bothered about it either

Its up there on the same kind of level as Russia killing off its turncoat spies

- you know the risks when you mess with these people,

don't greet when it catches up with you

Nothing really new in Erdogan's speech, execpt that he's made an 'offer' to the Saudi King to send the 18 people arrested to face trial in Istanbul.

I liked Erdogan's emphasis on the word 'offer' and I took that to mean that if the Saudi's didn't give up the accused then more info would be released.

Ball firmly in the Saudi's court.

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

Here’s one for the conspiracy theorists. Dodi Fayads mother was a Khashoggi! It was always assumed Dodi was murdered along with Diana. Make of that that what you will. 

Erdogan is playing with the Saudis like a cat with a mouse.     It would be a terrible shame if the Saudis extracted some sort of retribution from him at a later date.     

26 minutes ago, Dannie Boy said:

Here’s one for the conspiracy theorists. Dodi Fayads mother was a Khashoggi! It was always assumed Dodi was murdered along with Diana. Make of that that what you will. 

The Khashoggi's are mired in it up to their eyeballs.

weapons dealing, almost certainly conspiracies and other illicit activities and other nasty business

The corruption clamp downs by house of Saud were always going to result in fatalities

The manner of it is brutal , but this is the middle east

Fly with the crows and all that

Its why they keep houses in UK, Paris and so on- its an escape route for when it all inevitably goes south

the trick is to get yourself and your money out before you get burnt

This dude just got his timing wrong

Its why the Oligarchs move out, and why Abramovic is now an Israeli

These guys are totally corrupt

1 minute ago, doctor jambo said:

The Khashoggi's are mired in it up to their eyeballs.

weapons dealing, almost certainly conspiracies and other illicit activities and other nasty business

The corruption clamp downs by house of Saud were always going to result in fatalities

The manner of it is brutal , but this is the middle east

Fly with the crows and all that

Its why they keep houses in UK, Paris and so on- its an escape route for when it all inevitably goes south

the trick is to get yourself and your money out before you get burnt

This dude just got his timing wrong

Its why the Oligarchs move out, and why Abramovic is now an Israeli

These guys are totally corrupt

I can see that now. It’s taken something like this to lift the lid on a can of vipers. 

2 minutes ago, Dannie Boy said:

I can see that now. It’s taken something like this to lift the lid on a can of vipers. 

Even the UK are making some attempt to clamp down on them

we confiscate their property and assets- we go after the material things, the Saudis are going after the people - I almost respect that more !

Breaking News.

Sky News sources say that some/all of the body parts of Jamal Kashoggi have been found buried in the garden of the Consul General's house.

More to follow.

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

7 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Breaking News.

Sky News sources say that some/all of the body parts of Jamal Kashoggi have been found buried in the garden of the Consul General's house.

More to follow.

Hide the body parts in the one place they will never look! OUR HOOSE

2 hours ago, Dannie Boy said:

Always assumed? No.

Speculated? Yes. 

51 minutes ago, Jeff said:

Hide the body parts in the one place they will never look! OUR HOOSE

Well it does make sense to hide the body there, as it's taken weeks of severe international pressure from the Turks, Americans and others which forced the Saudi's to allow the Turkish police to search the Consul General's house & garden, normally embassies and the ambassador/consul's residences are strictly off limits as they are considered sovereign territory of that country.

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

Haven't really followed this story but saw a picture yesterday (which I won't share as some will find it distressing) and it is easily one of the most disturbing things I have seen.

2 minutes ago, Phil Dunphy said:

America were quite happy to turn a blind eye over 9/11, I don’t expect they’ll do much now. 

They may recruit the Saudi squad to go for Assange

2 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

They may recruit the Saudi squad to go for Assange

They won’t have to soon. Think the Ecuadorians are getting a bit fed up of looking after him. 

2 hours ago, Smithee said:

On the plus side, I've been reminded that I really like the Queen song Khashoggi's Ship.

Interestingly a ship that a one Donald Trump owned not long after!! 

He eventually sold it to stop his casino going bust.

1 hour ago, RS86 said:

Haven't really followed this story but saw a picture yesterday (which I won't share as some will find it distressing) and it is easily one of the most disturbing things I have seen.

Where will I find it?? :)

1 hour ago, RS86 said:

Is this meant for the Kyle lafferty thread? 

Vilification in prep of our next foray in the last of the vast oilfields?

All 9f a sudden we are horrified?

At Saudi violence.

Being compared to Gadaffi and Hussein .

The Saudi's forced Kashoggi's son - who apparently isn't allowed to leave the country, into a photo-op with MBS giving his "condolences".

Horrible.

IMG_1841.JPG

21 minutes ago, Ibrahim Tall said:

The Saudi's forced Kashoggi's son - who apparently isn't allowed to leave the country, into a photo-op with MBS giving his "condolences".

Horrible.

IMG_1841.JPG

The one good thing for the son is now he can't just go missing as the world will be watching.

Spoiler

23 hours ago, RS86 said:

22 hours ago, Armageddon said:

Where will I find it?? :)

PM?

:look:

4 minutes ago, AndyNic said:
  Reveal hidden contents

PM?

:look:

There should be a JKB What's App group for this sort of shit!!!!!

• 3 years later...