• Jammy T

• been here before

• All roads lead to Gorgie

6 hours ago, Graeme Russell said:

Not in any way ITK but heard this morning that we are signing a young boy from abroad.

He is a 16 year old Croatian and he is dubbed as the new “Messi” with the same stature.

We are seemingly waiting on paperwork clearance before being announced..

Interesting to hear. The Ukranian trialist during pre-season was mistaken initially to be Croatian so wonder if it is actually him. Though that player sounded more like a central midfielder than a Messi style of player.

Always fascinating to sign interesting talent. I know Alex Petkov who is in the reserves was signed around 16 but took a while due to paperwork. 

If it goes through I will be interested see how he plays and progresses.

We have had players that we seen as wonderkids early on but never lived up to the hype, but still players like that as all it takes is one to reach their potential and it makes it worthwhile.

Suppose we must hit lucky eventually, the amount we have wasted on trying this has stopped investment elsewhere. 

Only one I felt sorry for was the Austrian who got a bad leg break at Penicuik in a friendly.

6 hours ago, Jammy T said:

I don’t think Novikovas was ever labelled a wonder kid - he just signed for us when he was young....

When he put in that cross for big KK to sink the vermin, I thought 'that kid is wonderful'.  Still do.

21 minutes ago, Lfhearts said:

Suppose we must hit lucky eventually, the amount we have wasted on trying this has stopped investment elsewhere. 

Only one I felt sorry for was the Austrian who got a bad leg break at Penicuik in a friendly.

Wagner. What happened to Park? Didn’t he get a similar horror injury?

2 hours ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

The game I always remember with the wonderkid tag is the schoolboy international in 1980

England 4 v 5 Scotland

Attendance 69,000 at Wembley

Teams were

England – P Lara (Heston Comprehensive School), M McGinty (Bishop Ullathorne School), D McClure (Edgware School) (captain), D Byrom (St Augustine’s School), W Donald (Furze Platt School), P Wimbleton (Broomfield School), D Willis (Benfield School), P Rideout (Kingsdown School), G Parris (Seven Kings High School), R Jones (Woodlands School)

Sub: P Brown (Washwood Heath School) for Jones

Scotland – A Bruce (Craigmount High, Edinburgh), E MacDonald (Belshill Academy), A O’Connor (St Ambrose High, Coatbridge), C Plenderleith (Currie High, Edinburgh), R Coyle (St Gerard’s Secondary School, Glasgow), P Nicholas (Holyrood Secondary, Glasgow), J Robertson (Portobello High), P McStay (Holycross High, Hamilton) (captain), J Sludden (St Mungo’s High, Falkirk), S Rae (Musselburgh Grammar), A Dick (St Modan’s High, Stirling)

Subs: C Currie (Wishaw High) for Nicholas, D McKay (Lourdes Secondary) for Dick

I prefered the 74 game (I think?) when 2 wonder kids from Blackburn Academy played, 2-1 Scotland I think.

Andy Johnson who signed with Liverpool on a schoolboy contract but never made it and Derek Strickland who played for old Rangers, Leicester, us and Motherwell

2 hours ago, Madjambo21 said:

Really though Janczyk was going to be great. Still watch his assists against Hibs.

Was talking to Tapping in the gym a couple of months ago nice lad and spoke well of the Jambos

Janczyk had a wand of a left foot.  smashing player.

However, If I remember correctly loved the beer and nightlife just a tad too much for a professional footballer (allegedly before anyone goes in the huff) including a drink driving conviction which resulted in him, shall we say, not kicking on in his late teens as he ought to have.

farmed out to St Johnstone > brechin > east fife etc before ending up playing junior at Penicuik.

Still had a wand of a left foot there!

story of what might have been if he'd had the dedication.  

7 hours ago, Jammy T said:

I don’t think Novikovas was ever labelled a wonder kid - he just signed for us when he was young....

His signing was seen as something of a coup as I remember it, I've got in mind Porto or Benfica were in for him but he chose us. 

37 minutes ago, bikerjambo said:

I prefered the 74 game (I think?) when 2 wonder kids from Blackburn Academy played, 2-1 Scotland I think.

Andy Johnson who signed with Liverpool on a schoolboy contract but never made it and Derek Strickland who played for old Rangers, Leicester, us and Motherwell

Remember those guys , was at school with Andy, Derek Strickland was a year above me , both really good players.

1 hour ago, EH11 said:

When he put in that cross for big KK to sink the vermin, I thought 'that kid is wonderful'.  Still do.

Beslija put in a wonderful cross once too.

Everyone thought he was shit. Still do.

11 minutes ago, Smithee said:

His signing was seen as something of a coup as I remember it, I've got in mind Porto or Benfica were in for him but he chose us. 

The only Lithuanian signing that was a coup was Janny.

The rest, including Novikovas, just kept on coming on the Romanov Lithuanian bus...

Romanov told us they were all great players 

51 minutes ago, bikerjambo said:

Andy never made it because Graeme Souness gave him a serious knee injury in a training game. He came back to Scotland and had a go with Hibs but his knee caused to many issues. He joined the police and has now retired. Was great for the Lothian & Borders team and murder to play against at fives as he passed around you the whole game.

15 minutes ago, chazza74 said:

Remember those guys , was at school with Andy, Derek Strickland was a year above me , both really good players.

I was a year under you then

1 minute ago, Deek said:

Andy never made it because Graeme Souness gave him a serious knee injury in a training game. He came back to Scotland and had a go with Hibs but his knee caused to many issues. He joined the police and has now retired. Was great for the Lothian & Borders team and murder to play against at fives as he passed around you the whole game.

That rings a bell with him signing for the Hobbits Deek, never knew he ended up in the police though, must be 40 years since I seen him

2 hours ago, Gav M said:

I was 5 at the time so my opinion may be a bit skewed ? Scotland were runners up to a Saudi Arabia team that looked like they were well in to their 20's! (Turns out it was the u19 world cup)

Went to 4 of the games . Scotland did well and should have won the final . Ran out of steam against , clearly , much older opponents .

Semi final we were extremely lucky . Portugal played us off the park . Referee was a homer . Great occasion at Tynecastle though .

29 minutes ago, Smithee said:

That’s how I remember it too.

36 minutes ago, Jammy T said:

I’m sure Piliabitis aka Pillowbiter was said to be a wonder kid by Romanov or one of his henchmen.

Oh, Jammy! I forgot how much you irrationally despised our Vlad signings.

Some were brilliant, some were very good, some were meh, and some were pish.

Edited by Bez

8 hours ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Reckon FF is the guy to ask about this he is very well itk about the youth football side of things.

1 minute ago, Bez said:

Oh, Jammy! I forgot how much you irrationally despised our Vlad signings.

Some were brilliant, some were very good, some were meh, and some were pish.

Wrong recollection actually.

What you quote is just an example of what we were told about one of the many Lithuanians that signed for us.

As an aside I saw from an early stage that Velicka was an excellent striker and a lot of people argued against me about that - said he was a cart horse.

I also rated Audrey who was underrated by most fans.

Other than that and Miko and Chesney they were all mostly shite.

8 hours ago, indianajones said:

We already have one of Europe's most promising wonder kids in Cochrane! 

And Aaaron Hughes !! One to watch  :jambobanana:

9 hours ago, Graeme Russell said:

Not in any way ITK but heard this morning that we are signing a young boy from abroad.

He is a 16 year old Croatian and he is dubbed as the new “Messi” with the same stature.

We are seemingly waiting on paperwork clearance before being announced..

The new Copil? Or the new Kostadinov?

Morgaro Gomis
26 minutes ago, Jammy T said:

What you quote is just an example of what we were told about one of the many Lithuanians that signed for us.

As an aside I saw from an early stage that Velicka was an excellent striker and a lot of people argued against me about that - said he was a cart horse.

Think you may be forgetting Jankauskas and Zaliukas, they weren’t “mostly shite” either. 

13 minutes ago, Morgaro Gomis said:

Think you may be forgetting Jankauskas and Zaliukas, they weren’t “mostly shite” either. 

I complimented Janny elsewhere on this thread - confirming he was a coup when we signed him. By far our best lithuanian player on our books - for 12 months anyway 

Zaliukas was mostly shite when he was with us. Was it 5 or 6 years? He was only above average for us his last two years.

Edited by Jammy T

4 minutes ago, Jammy T said:

I complimented Janny elsewhere on this thread - confirming he was a coup when we signed him. By far our best lithuanian player on our books - for 12 months anyway 

Zaliukas was mostly shite when he was with us. Was it 5 or 6 years? He was only above average for us his last two years.

Zal was a very good player but he was a bombscare at times

2 minutes ago, bikerjambo said:

Zal was a very good player but he was a bombscare at times

He was totally shite for his first 2 years with us.

He was then mediocre for a bit.

Then he eventually got to SPL standard for us for 2 years until he left and went on to do nothing at Leeds or Rangers.

Edited by Jammy T

3 hours ago, Jammy T said:

I’m sure Piliabitis aka Pillowbiter was said to be a wonder kid by Romanov or one of his henchmen.

Wonder kid for me as I’m sure if memory serves correctly he helped bring about the demise of the old Rangers by knocking them out of Europe

5 hours ago, Peebo said:

And Croatia best player is a scrawny short-arse who grew up in a war zone.

Funny old game. 

Yes but he was competing with bigger stronger more athletic players all the time. It must have helped toughen him up.

7 minutes ago, innerjambo said:

So..... 3 pages of crap, started by a guy who heard a rumour from another nameless guy, who might not know what he's talking about..... ?

pretty accurate summary...

7 hours ago, Bez said:

Was Wagner not at Hibs before us? I think a part of this debate comes down to whether or not they were hyped locally or internationally tbh. I’ll admit (obviously) that some were more hyped and recognised than others outside of Edinburgh.

Some list that! Wasn’t aware of Jos, either. 

Copil and Kostadinov were the most obvious serious stand outs from the list, but the others were expected to go on to big things too.

That's not Jos. 

That particular GOC was a goalkeeper IIRC.

Denis Prychynenko was potentially a world class set piece specialist.

Young players develop at different rates, for a whole host of reasons; physical, understanding of the game and natural talent being three key factors. Alongside attitude (a broad description, I guess), which is also critical. 

Kevin Thomas scored on his debut and we thought he was the new Robbo. Dale Carrick looked lost for a while, then hit a run of form (his goal was crucial in relegating hibs) but injury effectively put and end to his career. Craig Gordon shipped four at Falkirk, did ok for us I suppose ?. For some reason, we didn't sign Deschamps.

Worth taking a punt on young players, in my opinion, but help them develop skills to succeed outside of football too.

1 hour ago, Uncle Mulk said:

Young players develop at different rates, for a whole host of reasons; physical, understanding of the game and natural talent being three key factors. Alongside attitude (a broad description, I guess), which is also critical. 

Kevin Thomas scored on his debut and we thought he was the new Robbo. Dale Carrick looked lost for a while, then hit a run of form (his goal was crucial in relegating hibs) but injury effectively put and end to his career. Craig Gordon shipped four at Falkirk, did ok for us I suppose ?. For some reason, we didn't sign Deschamps.

Worth taking a punt on young players, in my opinion, but help them develop skills to succeed outside of football too.

would agree.

I think people think its a straight forward path for a player to reach potential and if they dont make it then its down to the player not working hard enough, but there is so many footfalls for a player aged 15/16 to actually reach that potential ability. Not putting enough commitment and not making the necessary sacrifices can be one, it could be making the wrong move at that age (be it that they are not given competitive opportunities or personal issues of moving to a new place.) Injury could play a part, could be that they are used in the wrong position. And so on.

So a club wanting to develop the best young talent to be the best players need to have a plan in place to minimise these potential stumbling blocks. Sadly you get English premier league clubs which just stockpile these players and play the odds that if we sign 20 youngsters who are potential wonderkids then 1 will be big, and they dont seem to really look to develop properly, instead just loan them out to the lower league to sink or swim.

I would hope that we would on top of Scottish players through the academy, be able to take a chance on one or two special non-Scottish players who we could be able to develop into something special. That we can be seen as a good finishing school for talent like that.

3 hours ago, Uncle Mulk said:

This sounds exactly like our "Dead Ball Specialist", Malaury Martin - we all know how that worked out :(

14 hours ago, Gav M said:

I was 5 at the time so my opinion may be a bit skewed ? Scotland were runners up to a Saudi Arabia team that looked like they were well in to their 20's! (Turns out it was the u19 world cup)

My wee brother played in that. The Saudi team was a joke. They all had full beards and their kids on the sidelines. Never U19.

8 minutes ago, TypoonJambo said:

My wee brother played in that. The Saudi team was a joke. They all had full beards and their kids on the sidelines. Never U19.

Aye?

CfBtQJyXEAAGSYV.jpg.c28c114e638e40d7db2ea7273135b13c.jpg

2607570_xbig-lnd.jpg.288d272cd7212118a9e53e4592e3cd62.jpg

240689-under-16-jvc-world-cup-final-saudi-arabia-u16-v-scotland-u16-BJJCAH.thumb.jpg.69923c3ebc6eccbb8435185cdf708fe0.jpg

1343089108_Dickovinfinal.jpg.9518d8e1b0e89f6ed7739d54b59d4d41.jpg

Where?

19 hours ago, everton_jambo said:

One of the best crossers of a ball we’ve had in my time. Had things been a little different at the club during his time here he could have been a top player imo 

Watched him in the polish leagues on holiday. He was the best player on the park

16 minutes ago, Alan_R said:

Watched him in the polish leagues on holiday. He was the best player on the park

Who are we talking about?

Juan Jose Carricondo Perez

Wonder if this is the same kid we had on trial over the summer. If it is then his name is Max. At least that’s the name the coaching team were shouting at the friendly vs Tynie. 

Very small, slight guy but played a few lovely defence splitting passes. 

1 minute ago, Juan Jose Carricondo Perez said:

Wonder if this is the same kid we had on trial over the summer. If it is then his name is Max. At least that’s the name the coaching team were shouting at the friendly vs Tynie. 

Very small, slight guy but played a few lovely defence splitting passes. 

A wunderkid named ‘Max’? Count me in. :)

13 hours ago, Jammy T said:

Captain Zal? I disagree that he was mostly shite. I'd say above average over his time here. As you say poor first 2 seasons, average to decent, middle 2, very good last 2.

Edited by Normthebarman

I got Conal Murtagh on the back of my top as he was meant to be a big thing, doesn’t even appear on Wiki so clearly did nothing after leaving Hearts ?