• Jambof3tornado

• Herbert.

• cosanostra

• Unknown user

mrmarkus1981
1 hour ago, LeftBack said:

Is that a border terrier? My late mum adored those dogs. She worked at Gorgie pet shop and at her funeral i found out she sold one to the Thai Princess! 

It is aye. He's a wee nutcase!!

3 hours ago, cosanostra said:

Do it, they're great animals.

He's so gentle with my kid.

IMG-20200229-WA0003.jpg

That's a wonderful pic. I take it he is very protective 

As others have said Leftback, greyhounds are great dogs as pets. Depending what age they are some can take time to get used to the house environment as they may have always been kept in a kennel during their racing career. Occasionally they might need some training to get use stairs if you have them in you're house and some don't like small dogs or cats just because of the nature of the sport they are trained for. However, if you're planning on re-homing a greyhound the staff will do background checks on the new owner and that the property where the greyhound will be re-homed are suitable.

There is a greyhound re-homing place at Alnwickhill its called Edinburgh Greyhound Trust, google will assist ( I would put a link up but don't want to be breaking any forum rules as might be seen as advertising although I'm not connected to the re-homing centre whatsoever ) 

They have Sunday morning monthly walks for owners and their hounds and have quite a gathering for these walks and then back to the kennels for a roll and coffee.

You won't be disappointing owning a greyhound, lovely dogs and although bred for speed they enjoy nothing more than a lazy day sleeping on the couch🙂

annushorribilis III
4 hours ago, Jambo314 said:

As others have said Leftback, greyhounds are great dogs as pets. Depending what age they are some can take time to get used to the house environment as they may have always been kept in a kennel during their racing career. Occasionally they might need some training to get use stairs if you have them in you're house and some don't like small dogs or cats just because of the nature of the sport they are trained for. However, if you're planning on re-homing a greyhound the staff will do background checks on the new owner and that the property where the greyhound will be re-homed are suitable.

There is a greyhound re-homing place at Alnwickhill its called Edinburgh Greyhound Trust, google will assist ( I would put a link up but don't want to be breaking any forum rules as might be seen as advertising although I'm not connected to the re-homing centre whatsoever ) 

They have Sunday morning monthly walks for owners and their hounds and have quite a gathering for these walks and then back to the kennels for a roll and coffee.

You won't be disappointing owning a greyhound, lovely dogs and although bred for speed they enjoy nothing more than a lazy day sleeping on the couch🙂

I have two neighbours who have greyhounds - 

one is always muzzled as it will attack anything that moves 

the other just attacked another greyhound and landed the owner with a £600 vets bill. 

I used to see another one that should have been muzzled as it's a nasty piece of work (as is the owner) but after we had a frank discussion he decided to walk his dog elsewhere. 

Forza Cuore
3 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

Cavapoo? 

Looks a lovely wee things and looks similar to our family dog. 

Yep Cavapoo. We also have a Cockapoo who is 7...not quite pals yet. The older one cant be bothered with all the bouncing around 😀

1 hour ago, annushorribilis III said:

I have two neighbours who have greyhounds - 

one is always muzzled as it will attack anything that moves 

the other just attacked another greyhound and landed the owner with a £600 vets bill. 

I used to see another one that should have been muzzled as it's a nasty piece of work (as is the owner) but after we had a frank discussion he decided to walk his dog elsewhere. 

Although greyhounds aren't required by UK law to wear a muzzle, I would highly recommend doing so, especially off the lead.

I see that the annual display of dogs that are overbred to hell to win prizes that is Crufts has been on.  However I saw this tweet about a wee girl at a dog show and her “dog” and it’s nice to see.

32 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

The winner of crufts stops for a shite on its lap of honour🤣

The team should do that in its lap of honour at Hampden, especially if we have just beaten Celtic :robboyas:

On 07/03/2020 at 11:08, Sooperstar said:

This is Madge and she's not as innocent as she looks. 12 weeks old.

FB_IMG_1583579283160.jpg

Bonnie Dug. 

On 27/01/2019 at 08:14, cosanostra said:

This is my big mate. He's called Captain.

He's a former racing greyhound that i rescued and i couldn't have hoped for a better dog.

No dog will ever love you like a greyhound. He doesn't really bark, he doesn't chew stuff, he has silky soft fur that doesn't cast or smell and he's incredibly friendly and loyal.

There's loads of greyhounds that need good homes so if you're thinking of getting a dog, consider one. They cost very little to rescue and they are remarkable animals. 

They also do well in flats / appartments and they need very little exercise.

IMG-20190127-WA0000.jpeg

Cracker. 
Surprised at the “very little exercise” comment. I always assumed they need walked for miles every day. 

4 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Cracker. 
Surprised at the “very little exercise” comment. I always assumed they need walked for miles every day. 

Completely the opposite.

They don't really like excercise.

Prefer relaxing on a couch. The laziest dogs you coud meet.

8 hours ago, cosanostra said:

Completely the opposite.

He does look like hes enjoying his “rest” right enough 👍

On 07/03/2020 at 11:58, Forza Cuore said:

This is our new dug, Ralf. Hes 18 weeks and a right daft radge. 😄

20200307_115717.jpg

He's a beauty.

I've been looking at getting a dog for a while now, and have decided to get a cavapoo.

Where did you get him?

Edited by Lovecraft

Forza Cuore
4 hours ago, Lovecraft said:

He's a beauty.

I've been looking at getting a dog for a while now, and have decided to get a cavapoo.

Where did you get him?

Hi mate, 

We've had 2 dogs from this breeder 7 years apart.

He is based over in Fife beside the Tay.

www.glendreamcockapoos.com

Highly recommend him. The wee dugs are quite expensive, but it is definitely a case of you are getting what you pay for.

Good luck 👍

Edited by Forza Cuore

1 hour ago, Forza Cuore said:

Hi mate, 

We've had 2 dogs from this breeder 7 years apart.

He is based over in Fife beside the Tay.

www.glendreamcockapoos.com

Highly recommend him. The wee dugs are quite expensive, but it is definitely a case of you are getting what you pay for.

Good luck 👍

Cheers mate.

Checking now

On 07/03/2020 at 11:50, cosanostra said:

Do it, they're great animals.

He's so gentle with my kid.

IMG-20200229-WA0003.jpg

Can you recommend somewhere for adopting? The dug, no the bairn.

6 hours ago, Smithee said:

I can in Western Australia. 😆

I'll take a look. There are numerous charities and they all run Facebook pages so you can see the dogs they have available.

Are you seriously thinking about it?

Greyhound Trust is who you should speak to. Look for them on social media and you'll find them. If you see a dog you like the look of, they live with kind fosterers. I still keep in touch with the guy who fostered Captain. He's a great guy and an all round expert on greyhounds.

Good luck with your search. 🐕🤘

WoolfordsHearts

I'd also recommend trying Help a hound in Stirling.

We got our new 4 year old girl from there a few months ago and all the volunteers do a great job.

We've now got 3 greyhounds and in my biased opinion,you'll not find a more loving breed.👍

11 minutes ago, cosanostra said:

Greyhound Trust is who you should speak to. Look for them on social media and you'll find them. If you see a dog you like the look of, they live with kind fosterers. I still keep in touch with the guy who fostered Captain. He's a great guy and an all round expert on greyhounds.

Good luck with your search. 🐕🤘

Cheers, I've had a PM from a helpful poster already who said the same. I'll have to wait for Mrs S to finish her course but the only discussion now is breed, not whether I'm allowed. 

A couple of friends already recommended greyhounds and I've read up a bit on them, smashing creatures. I think this thread is just hammering the nails home really :thumbsup:

29 minutes ago, WoolfordsHearts said:

I'd also recommend trying Help a hound in Stirling.

We got our new 4 year old girl from there a few months ago and all the volunteers do a great job.

We've now got 3 greyhounds and in my biased opinion,you'll not find a more loving breed.👍

I'm closer to Stirling, I'll look them up too, cheers

26 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Cheers, I've had a PM from a helpful poster already who said the same. I'll have to wait for Mrs S to finish her course but the only discussion now is breed, not whether I'm allowed. 

A couple of friends already recommended greyhounds and I've read up a bit on them, smashing creatures. I think this thread is just hammering the nails home really :thumbsup:

Great!

They are phenomenal pets. They are the most loving and loyal dogs I've ever had. Had mostly labs, spaniels and Jack Russells before and they were all great in their way but I'll most likely only adopt greyhounds from now on.

They do this weird thing that is particular to their breed. They chatter their teeth like they are shivering cold but it's a sign that they are blissfully happy. It's a vague approximation of a cat's purr. It's really odd at first but they do it all the time.

They also cost very little to adopt and the breeders are careful to breed all of the genetic weaknesses and issues out of them. They are like fully healthy, olympic sprinters in their early 20s (2-3yr old) when they discard them. They usually live to 10-12.

WoolfordsHearts
On 08/03/2020 at 22:48, cosanostra said:

Completely the opposite.

I can verify that.😀

My 14 year old girl and 11 year old boy.

Screenshot_20200310-133648_Photos.jpg

28 minutes ago, WoolfordsHearts said:

I can verify that.😀

Can you change their name?

12 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Can you change their name?

Yes, the re-homing place should complete all the necessary paper work to send to the GBGB to inform them that the greyhound has finished racing and who the new registered owner will be.

1 hour ago, Jambo314 said:

Yes, the re-homing place should complete all the necessary paper work to send to the GBGB to inform them that the greyhound has finished racing and who the new registered owner will be.

Just as well.  Shouting "Here, Salcares Django" or "Stay, Rocket Robbie" might get you a few strange looks. :) 

Quite fancied a Greyhound but we have cats. Ended up with this lunatic

E4D286F6-38E5-4772-BE16-0A8906CEFE24.jpeg

Edited by Jamhammer

WoolfordsHearts
57 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

Quite fancied a Greyhound but we have cats. Ended up with this lunatic

E4D286F6-38E5-4772-BE16-0A8906CEFE24.jpeg

We know a couple that have rehomed a greyhound with cats so it can be done.

You've got a wee cracker anyway.

Please tell his/her name isn't Yoda mate.😀

2 hours ago, WoolfordsHearts said:

We know a couple that have rehomed a greyhound with cats so it can be done.

You've got a wee cracker anyway.

Please tell his/her name isn't Yoda mate.😀

Ziggy. Suits him. Zig zags everywhere even though we named him after Ziggy Stardust. 

9 hours ago, WoolfordsHearts said:

I can verify that.😀

14 is a great old age for a long doggy.

They both look like superb dogs. 👌

WoolfordsHearts
4 hours ago, Jambo314 said:

Lab's like a wee snooze tae ...

IMG_4816.thumb.JPG.72c54904e2df56893f545763f4a50b2b.JPG

It's a dog's life right enough.😀

Would you believe, i finally gave in and started looking for dogs... At the same time this started. Would love two dogs, rescue if possible, bitches, medium sized. Under three. If anyone hears... 

• 3 weeks later...

Definitely now looking at buying a couple of puppies. Labs or spaniels. Anyone know of reputable sellers. Obviously been online but recommendations welcome. Ideally around Glasgow but wider could be considered. 

The other half's new lurcher puppy just stole and ate a block of cheese, complete with plastic wrapping.

Apparently the next jobby came out pre-wrapped in the plastic.

1 hour ago, LeftBack said:

Definitely now looking at buying a couple of puppies. Labs or spaniels. Anyone know of reputable sellers. Obviously been online but recommendations welcome. Ideally around Glasgow but wider could be considered. 

For Labradors give "Leadburn" or "Broadlaw" gundog kennels a look, old and young Billy Steel have about 80 years of breeding and working Labradors between them, they're based in Leadhills so not so far away, they may not have pups themselves but have some great stud dogs, health tested and great temperaments, I'm taking a bitch I have to young Billy's dog when she's in season again, they'll put you in touch with suitably bred bitches that they've lined.

For Springers and Cockers, try Buccleuch gundogs, based at Drumlanrig, David Lisset is one of the very best trainer and breeder in the country, agin, you'll get health tested pups with good, even trainable temperaments.

Just now, Dawnrazor said:

For Labradors give "Leadburn" or "Broadlaw" gundog kennels a look, old and young Billy Steel have about 80 years of breeding and working Labradors between them, they're based in Leadhills so not so far away, they may not have pups themselves but have some great stud dogs, health tested and great temperaments, I'm taking a bitch I have to young Billy's dog when she's in season again, they'll put you in touch with suitably bred bitches that they've lined.

For Springers and Cockers, try Buccleuch gundogs, based at Drumlanrig, David Lisset is one of the very best trainer and breeder in the country, agin, you'll get health tested pups with good, even trainable temperaments.

Thanks!! 

57 minutes ago, WoolfordsHearts said:

How's everyone's dog acting on lockdown?

I'm worried about my big boy.

Screenshot_20200415-225856_Gallery.jpg

Hahahahaha

• 3 weeks later...
CavySlaveJambo

I am currently researching for Dog number 2.  It shall either be a Golden retriever. Lab, or Standard Poodle

This time it will be a working dog (assistance dog) for me.  But the time is not right, because it cannot be socialised properly for work in this environment

Fro is my fur baby, but support, and parent are in agreement an assistance dog will be great for me.  Just need to figure out the logistics, and how to fund the dog if it comes from Autism Dogs.