Tour de France

Mikey1874

35 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Thomas is the leader. But it's because Bernal is so good. He is actually Bookies favourite. So it is reality of having two cyclists that can win but not knowing how it will go. 

It might also be  to the lessons learned when Froome was better than Wiggins in 2012. 

The reality is they have proven they can work as a team. 

If I was either of them I’d be concerned about where loyalties lie and, if I had a bad day being binned.

Maybe says something about me mind

• Replies 125

• Cade

• Boof

• Adam Murray

1 minute ago, Jamhammer said:

If I was either of them I’d be concerned about where loyalties lie and, if I had a bad day being binned.

Maybe says something about me mind

You have a point. 

Top cyclists must have a selfish streak. 

If you look at some of the other teams it can be utter chaos with their egos. Team Sky / Ineos have been helped greatly at Tour de France by other teams imploding. 

Wiggins being a roving reporter on the back of a motorbike is superb. 

Keep half expecting them to stack it.

Just now, jonnothejambo said:

Cue even more lycra clad twats hooring along the canal. 

Arseholes.

Sorry, you do not have permission to post on this thread.

:wink: 

Nae messin aboot with "prologues" this year, straight into the real racing.

Beast of a crash at the front of the peloton in the lead-out to the sprint.

4 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

Cue even more lycra clad twats hooring along the canal. 

Arseholes.

No, I have checked and that is not on the Tour route this year :)

You are safe :thumbsup:

People actually watch this Live!?!  Same people probably watch Marathons and Paint drying competitions.

One of the stages finishes not too far from where I am now week after next, thinking about heading over to see it as it's meant to be party central.

On 07/07/2019 at 06:42, ri Alban said:

People actually watch this Live!?!  Same people probably watch Marathons and Paint drying competitions.

I do. More for the scenery mind you :lol:

Been to a couple of stages over the past few years whilst it has been in the area. Over in a flash obviously but the atmosphere and stuff the townspeople put on for the day makes it a great occasion. 

Watching it live lets you see the chess game that pro team cycling is.

Not just attacks up mountains or mad sprints at the death.

Eurosport team are great too, wee histories on every chateau and village they pass.

Froome officially awarded the 2011 Vuelta.

He now has 7 Grand Tour titles.

This also means that he was the UK's first Grand Tour winner, ahead of Wiggins.

6 hours ago, Cade said:

Froome officially awarded the 2011 Vuelta.

He now has 7 Grand Tour titles.

This also means that he was the UK's first Grand Tour winner, ahead of Wiggins.

This is the most pleasing bit of this news :lol: 

On 17/07/2019 at 20:48, Cade said:

Watching it live lets you see the chess game that pro team cycling is.

Not just attacks up mountains or mad sprints at the death.

Eurosport team are great too, wee histories on every chateau and village they pass.

This I can relate to.  The stage the other day was a case in point. 

Deadly side wind and EF try to shake things up. didn't work and switched off.  Alaphilippe spots this and squirrels off the front closely pursued by Ineos who were switched on as to what was happening.

cue some big names chasing the Peleton to get back on and manage to close the gap to 10s. Not enough though as they can't quite manage to get back on and in the end lose nearly 2 mins.

Brilliant stuff.  Aided by the excellent Eurosport commentary.

I am actually enjoying this more this year without the usual Sky procession. Ineos might still come out on top in the Mountains but at the moment it is anyone's race. 

Adam Murray
10 hours ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

I am actually enjoying this more this year without the usual Sky procession. Ineos might still come out on top in the Mountains but at the moment it is anyone's race. 

Pretty demoralising fot the other teams though, that the end of the first big mountain stage sees Inneos with all 8 riders, lead the main bunch over the line.

Today's TT should see 5 Inneos riders taking it easy, in preparation for the big mountains over the weekend, with only Thomas, Bernal and possibly Kwiatkowski (possible stage winner) going flat out for time 

The whole Rohan Dennis withdrawal is very strange

:wtf:

Stopped at the side of the road in a feed zone then went missing for a few hours, only to turn up at the team bus at the finish line with his agent.

Refused all media questions at the time but released a statement saying he was "disappointed" to have retired.

Guy's the time trial world champ and today is the time trial, a stage he was a favourite to win.

An utterly bizarre situation.

1 hour ago, Adam Murray said:

Pretty demoralising fot the other teams though, that the end of the first big mountain stage sees Inneos with all 8 riders, lead the main bunch over the line.

Today's TT should see 5 Inneos riders taking it easy, in preparation for the big mountains over the weekend, with only Thomas, Bernal and possibly Kwiatkowski (possible stage winner) going flat out for time 

I would love Alaphillippe to stay in yellow until the end just to see the reaction from the crowds but I fear he will be swallowed up by Inneos in the Alps and it will be same old same old again. Thomas gave the Welsh a huge boost last year and deserved the win but I wish he rode for another team.

Adam Murray
7 hours ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

I would love Alaphillippe to stay in yellow until the end just to see the reaction from the crowds but I fear he will be swallowed up by Inneos in the Alps and it will be same old same old again. Thomas gave the Welsh a huge boost last year and deserved the win but I wish he rode for another team.

Tremendous time trial by Alaphilippe, winning the stage and keeping the yellow jersey into the Pyrenees.

On 08/07/2018 at 16:27, Bridge of Djoum said:

Uuugghhh, hate to do this but it's the dirtiest ''sport'' out there and barely worth watching anymore.

On 19/07/2018 at 22:51, Boof said:

Wondering how 'asthmatic' Geraint Thomas is going to turn out to be...

On 30/07/2018 at 12:31, Costanza said:

Out of interest; given what we know about Team Sky, why should we give Geraint Thomas the benefit of the doubt?

What are people saying about Alaphillipe then? 

2 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Dunno - is anybody saying anything that casts doubt on his performances thus far?

My Thomas quip from precisely one year ago was more directed at the team he was part of.

2 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Well personally I’m saying it’s the same as the great tour Thomas Voekler had a few years ago. Adrenalin and public support can push you on to great things but ultimately it falls short. 

9 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Is he a member of a team who has misused TUE's, had testosterone patches 'accidentally' delivered,  lost laptops with medical records,hired  doctor's who had worked with dopers (after stating a no doping policy), had cyclists faster than confirmed dopers?

I am a bit of a cynic admittedly but it might sway me...

Adam Murray
10 hours ago, Tazio said:

Well personally I’m saying it’s the same as the great tour Thomas Voekler had a few years ago. Adrenalin and public support can push you on to great things but ultimately it falls short. 

Plus, he does have history of being a good time triallist, especially on punchy type courses, which yesterdays was.

His trouble now is, although he was seen by the peleton as a good one day rider, a King of the Mountains contender, and a bit of a breakaway specialist, he will no longer be afforded the chance in future tours and stage races, to be in a breakaway, as this tour has now confirmed that he is now maturing into a genuine GC contender.

Going to be interesting to see how he fares in the high mountains, ultimately I think this tour may be a bit too soon for him, but if he carries a bit luck, you never know.

The Eurosport coverage really is superb.

Doesn't stop me asking daft questions on threads like this, however :lol:

2 hours ago, Boof said:

The Eurosport coverage really is superb.

Doesn't stop me asking daft questions on threads like this, however :lol:

I get annoyed as I love listening to Sean Kelly on Eurosport but I really like Ned Boulting and David Millar on ITV4. 

Adam Murray

Really open, exciting racing this year, with any of the top six standings still in with a chance.

Most riders will have an off day in a three week race, Thomas stating post race that he just didn't feel right from the start today.

Change on it's way

Pinot and Bernal getting away from Alaphillipe 

Thomas was losing more time but now gaining a bit. 

Edited by Mikey1874

Relief all round as Aliaphillipe loses time and performs closer to expectations though he still dug in bravely to still lead. 

Edited by Mikey1874

Anybody could win this tour.

Anybody could suddenly crack.

Anybody could have one great day in the Alps and then coast down to Paris in yellow.

It's been great.

Rest day tomorrow though

tenor.gif?itemid=5114829

Edited by Cade

12 hours ago, Cade said:

Luke Rowe and Tony Martin both thrown off the tour for pushing and shoving each other like a pair of bairns.

Haven't seen much footage other than a bit of handbaggery.

Surely there must have been more to it than that for them to get flung off the tour? No other riders seemed to be endangered...

Oh...update...Sean Kelly saying that the commissars would look at the lifting of hands off bars most severely. Guess that'll be It, though I have seen footage of the 10 best Tour punch ups sometime during this year's event.

Possible thunderstorms today, suggestions that could be good for Pinot.

Big day tomorrow, if he can keep his lead over a minute he has a chance.

Although could all go pear shape on Val Thorens on Saturday, easily lose a lot of time on that 33km climb 

The fans particularly on the mountain stages are incredible. Clearly come for miles. 

Though they don't see much cycling. Saw a guy yesterday with a Welsh flag supporting Geraint Thomas. The way the path went he had about 4 seconds with him in view. 

Usually between 3 and 12 minutes of cycling for those at side of the road  

Would love to see it live but want to see different elements - mountain, sprint finish, feed station, peloton passing through a town...dunno where to start!